2011 Perodua Myvi – bookings open from June 4

It looks like the launch of the new 2011 Perodua Myvi is around the corner – the company sent an email stating that it will begin accepting bookings for the new car from this Saturday, June 4. Unfortunately, the press release that was supposed to be attached wasn’t there in the mail, so we can’t say what other info there is on the release.

The car itself has already been spotted many times – in disguised form – out on the road, so the shape of the new form isn’t a stranger. What remains to be seen is whether a 1.5 litre version will come about with the D54T, as initially mentioned months ago. Guess the answers to all will be revealed soon enough.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ash Menon on May 31, 2011 at 7:40 pm

Perfect timing. Was thinking of getting a new car.

• Angry Bird on May 31, 2011 at 8:31 pm

interest bank makin naik…perfect time? hahaha..

• Haha…not much ppl care abt the loan interest rate up or down. Rakyat still need buy car when need it especially in Msia. The new Myvi will sell well bcos when u looked at the old myvi sales records, 8593 Myvis in March and 6262 Myvis in April 2011…fantastics

• lalazhai on May 31, 2011 at 9:55 pm

myvi pwns all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• myvi pwnes all!!!!!!!!!

1.6 saga? no abs, no airbag.

lu langgar, lu mati,aahahahahahaa

• almostthere on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:16 am

Mate, you got half of it wrong. 1.6 FL has two airbags. TLDR before trolling

• @Kl

Saga 1.6 FL got airbag. Just no abs. For a 1.6 47k saga not badla. If myvi 1.3 47k also no abs what

• Bob Vettel on Jun 01, 2011 at 6:38 am

That’s the old taxi Saga, the new one does come with dual airbags.

Although Saga’s body is already toughened to absorb impact forces. Can’t say the same about Perodua’s offering.

• saga 1.6 got 2 airbag

• To me, no matter how safe the car is, you drive recklessly you will naik atas faster lah..

• Ash Menon on May 31, 2011 at 10:39 pm

I just say planning on getting a new car and already 15 thumbs up and 31 thumbs down. Goodness.

• Shhhhhh. Thanks. on May 31, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Nah thumbs down’s increasing. Too bad hahaha.

• wuha-wuha on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:45 am

because you looking to buy a Perodua

• im not clicking up or down, but possibility that many ppl vote it since they not think so now is a good timing, since bank interest rate up, electricity up, transportation fee up, everything price goes up only salary maintain.. sure the inflation up >10% (but the G will always claim that the inflation only 2-3%)..

• Prismo on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:44 pm

Same shit different day… yawn

• Mr Rayz on Sep 19, 2011 at 12:05 pm

watch out with power window switches

• sofa!

• Hope its much improved than the last..

• mini cooper freak on May 31, 2011 at 9:12 pm

I think ur comment had a some bad ratings because most of the bad ratings are contributed by people who is currently driving a Myvi.

• yeah…first..

• the highest spec of 1.3 will be 56k, i have no idea how the price of 1.5 gonna be -,-

• dollah on May 31, 2011 at 8:15 pm

salesman told me price will be up by 3k for 1.3 litre engine.

1.5 litre coming in august

• 3k up worth kah???? Viva 850cc & Viva 1000cc, 150cc diff only cost about 4k diff…. so 1.5L & 1.3L myvi diff 7k??? 56k + 7k = 63k??? = Alza price??? that’s really a heart attack price!!!! So, 1.6L Saga-FL will sell…… RM 63k Vs 49k “here”

• maserati on May 31, 2011 at 8:21 pm

Sure sell like hot pancakes!

• y perodua jus dunwan to sell something like sedan, is it becoz of toyota is selling vios altis camry here already?. i was waiting for it from perodua… (if i dunwan to choose proton) for national car.

• kimi fans on May 31, 2011 at 11:52 pm

are those who click thumb down are myvi lovers ? lol

• reasda on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:41 am

coz the second national car manufacturer dun want to compete directly with the first national car manufacturer in the same segment

• Samson on Jun 08, 2011 at 9:02 pm

It is the Government regulation and Perodua is not allowed to assemble Sedan cars.It is only allowed to assemble compact cars such as Myvi ,Viva etc all based on Japanese Kei car models.Quality wise these cars are much better than Proton ,which is using Campro engine .MyVi is using K3VE engine the one used for Toyota Avanza.That is why the 2nd hand value of Myvi is high.If Perodua venture into Sedan car segment,than Proton sales will be down and finally close shop.

• Fat Bear on May 31, 2011 at 8:22 pm

Hmmmmm, looks a lot like the existing one……..

• speedywinger on May 31, 2011 at 8:24 pm

actually i don’t find there’s lot of difference between the current model and the upcoming one.. hmm.. how bout interior difference?

• Hp Tan on May 31, 2011 at 8:26 pm

hmmm….wasn’t bad overall…looking forward for the touchscreen lcd on the centre console..hehe :D

• Out of Luck on Jun 01, 2011 at 4:07 pm

In that case, you better hope that P2 upgrade the speakers as well. In the past, P2 cars always have poor quality speakers. Any P1 cars will have better stock speakers with more bass and sound fidelity compared to P2 car speakers. So a RM3k price increase over previous models with some cosmetic changes and nice in-dash entertainment system is not justified at all. In my opinion, it’s better to offer the same quality ICE as previous model and sell at the previous model’s price. Let the buyer use the RM3k to upgrade the ICE themselves if they wanted….unless P2 wants to milk more $$$ (a.k.a ‘patriotric charges’) from the Malaysian buyers.

• inb4 this car look like …

• CHONG KAT on May 31, 2011 at 8:33 pm

what with the kamen rider spoiler style nowday?

• timlin on May 31, 2011 at 8:33 pm

I’ll buy one for sure.

• Whatever on May 31, 2011 at 8:36 pm

Yawn. I am so sleepy of looking at this car. Berukdua

• 1.5L? being such a light car and it’s for city usage, 1.5 will bring more fuel consumption burden. !.5L may be good for people who considering Myvi as a balik kampung car. But if for balik kampung, why not just wait for the Proton Persona R? sure more cool and similar fuel consumption also, if use cvt, may even beat Myvi’s fuel consumption kao kao.

• ayamxxx on May 31, 2011 at 10:44 pm

hah wait for Persona R??

you wait another 2 year la, then only the Persona R come out!

• farghmee on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:49 am

xpe2..rasa ko nk bli d54t ni, ko beli la.
        kalu aku, baik tunggu kejap lg utk tgk spec persona-r cmne.
        rasa2nye dh xlama lg persona-r tu :)

• kivatt0024 on Jun 02, 2011 at 11:52 pm

persona R pki N/A turbo..lg jimat maa mcm volvo s40…siap pki cvt lg….D54T mcm ssh nk g je…

• wuha-wuha on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:41 am

Persona R… how many years have to wait?

2003 Gen2 can transform into 2007 Persona
      2000 Waja is still the same chasis and body
      Stone-age 1998 Perdana still sell until today

Yet in before Proton is own R&D while Perodua is rebadged, as a consumer i don’t give a damn.

• apexg2 on Jun 01, 2011 at 7:45 am

i think waja stopped oledi and Perdana, sure stop oledi! which country do u live?

• Waja stop already because of Inspira.. Perdana as well

• wuha-wuha on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:09 pm

nah.. check here please…

http://www.proton-edar.com.my

isn’t Proton website is very up to date? There is Saga FL 1.6

• production stopped doesn’t mean there’s no leftover units to be sell….

• u said “If” & “may even beat” = Not sure or No confident will beat Myvi….. if myvi driving over 3k rpm it wont save fuel at all… 1/2 tank = 200km only

• WhySoSerious on May 31, 2011 at 8:49 pm

more myvi on the road after this..hmmmm..

• seriusly…..sooooo boring

• Pilof on May 31, 2011 at 8:51 pm

Suzuki Swift and Ford Fiesta owners will cry.

• WhySoSerious on May 31, 2011 at 9:32 pm

can u tell me which angle/view of this car can make suzuki swift and ford fiesta owners crying?

• an651 on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Fiesta onwer is crying here… cause I have voice control, 6 speed dual clutch, oval logo with blue background, stylish center console, hot hatch look, better handling.

Gosh… I am swimming in my tears now

• pacifictuna on May 31, 2011 at 9:51 pm

why should we cry?

• NO! they will not cry!

• mizzuddin on May 31, 2011 at 11:34 pm

haiyyaa….

• captain_gaban on May 31, 2011 at 11:58 pm

WTF???? I bet u have both swift and fiesta….

• i think they will laugh at all the clowns buying this piece of shit…60k? OMG!!!!

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:16 am

they will gelak until keluar air mata seeing too many passo-wannabe on the road, and also on the tree………

• booking already open since few weeks back..1.3 launched first before 1.5 which will be by the end of the year..hmm thinking of buying 1.3 elegance..nice or not nice?

• TallPan on May 31, 2011 at 8:56 pm

uhh just curious… what’s with all the thumbs down? why’s everyone so negative? (with the exception of that childish qeem la)

• you got one from me.

• Coz a lot of P1 & P2 salesmen here… P1 salesmen supporting P1 and critic p2, same thing happens to P2 salesmen. They are protecting their own bowl…

• my fren told me he ad booked new myvi, 1.3 SE purple colour and will get it on june…dunno its true or he just confuse the current 1 and upcoming 1.

• Even daihatsu setting their RND offfice at Indonesia, Perodua will copycat forever… Aiyoh…

• OMG…so fast can booking the new Myvi. Luckily i dont go book the P1 1.6 saga.

• rosdi on May 31, 2011 at 9:08 pm

Why get this when SAGA is 1.6 and is cheaper with BIG boots??

• saga pre-fl is better looking..

• Driver on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:01 am

To me, this one doesnt look good either.. Put appearance aside, at least saga is more practical.

• ayamxxx on May 31, 2011 at 10:46 pm

why should get saga campro 1.6 junk engine?

unless put cps then can consider

• only “Junk” ppl understand what is “Junk”….. u respect others, others respect U… Peace… Sinking other ship doesn’t make u better~

• oleoresin on Jun 01, 2011 at 7:21 am

Basher always basher. No matter campro or cps, disc brake or whatsoever, you always have a point to bash. Consider what? Consider to bash?

• later put CPS you rev kaw kaw you say bad FC… then go up the tree you say crap lotus handling…

• Nasai on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:29 am

Just hope that this New MyVi is generously equipped with sophisticated features. I’ve noticed that the rakyat have been conned by most local carmakers. For instance, the JDM Toyota Passo Sette has a lot of features which the Alza does not have (e.g. keyless entry like Forte, DVD LCD screen, automated adjusted side view mirrors for reverse, reverse camera, etc). The Alza seems to be like the base line model if compared to the Passo Sette:
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBGRbETIWNY&feature=related

Well, at first I’ve always thought that the Proton Saga (RM40k highest spec, proper sedan sized car with proper backside/butt/boot) is much more worth to buy than the Perodua Myvi (RM5+k for smaller sized boot/ugly butt hatchback).

But after looking at the picture of the Proton Saga in which the Vietnamese woman fall onto, the car seems to be badly damaged as if the car is made of ‘milo tin’. If that incident happened to a Perodua Myvi instead, would it be the same result? Cant find the picture but it was reported on Sunday’s NST 28th May 2011. Seriously I cant believe a human body can damage the car until like that. Maybe it’s also due to gravity falling + the weight of the human body which made the impact so strong:
      http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v5/newsindex.php?id=589912

On the brighter side, have a look on this vid in which the upcoming Perodua Myvi is based on; the Toyota Passo:
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duCTevU4ywQ
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UZRUIXnI2E&feature=related

Cheers.

• Bob Vettel on Jun 01, 2011 at 6:43 am

The force of a human body falling 13 stories is very high, just like a crash into a brick wall at speed. You can’t say just because a body fell on a car and there’s damage it’s no good. Put a Volvo or a BMW in the Saga’s place and it’ll have similar damage.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:07 am

Over 100 pounds of weight falling from a height of 50 meters will equal a force of a few tons. The Saga only ended up with a dented boot, which was surprisingly good considering the force of impact. If it was a Myvi, there are two possibilities.

1) The body hit the road because the Myvi doesn’t have a boot
        2) The body lands on the Myvi’s roof, causing massive damage because the roof has a larger deformable crumple zone compared to the boot. It’s also one of the weakest points of a car, and energy directed towards it will only be dissipated by the structure bridging the A, B and C pillars.

• farghmee on Jun 01, 2011 at 10:12 am

1. Classical Newton Mechanic

Gravitational Potential Energy = mgh
        assuming mass of 45kg, g=9.81m/s^2, h=13floor * 3m/floor =39m,
        then GPE=17.2kJ

upon impact, assuming all Gravitational Potential Energy is converted into Kinetic Energy, i.e. mgh=0.5mv^2,

then v = (2gh)^0.5 = 27.6m/s.

a man can run 100m in 10s .i.e., 100/10 = 10m/s.

so an object falls 2.7times than that running man.
        or in other word, that object falls faster than the running man.

ok.
        i make it easy for you.
        say if u punch a windscreen of a car slowly(low speed), the windscreen will not shatter & ur hand will not hurt.
        different thing happen if u punch a windscreen of a car fast(high speed), the windscreen will shatter & ur hand will hurt.

2. If it falls on myvi.

dun worry, that myvi dun bent or even deflected a bit..because..
        myvi DOES NOT HAVE A BOOT.

3. myvi = passo?

ok, let’s crash test this d54t. will it have the same result as passo?
        as u said earlier, many visible items available for jdm, yet absent from perodua.
        that is visible man, how about the unseen?

• becos it’s a proton

• adui people common la use you common sense.. She fell from the 13th floor le… Don’t tell me you dunno about gravity.. If you put a branded car in the saga’s place I’m sure it will have the same damage as well… Just look at this similar case which a woman falls onto a ford fiesta taxi: http://www.cbc.ca/gfx/images/news/photos/2011/01/25/banner-buenos-aires-plunge-tax.jpg
        So next time, to safe yourself from being malu, stop all these unprofessional bashing!!

• The problem is P1 still trailing P2

• u’re right… absolutely right… because it’s a Proton…

if we put yellow chevy camaro over there sure it’ll transform to bumblebee and save the woman…

• Zacke on May 31, 2011 at 9:12 pm

How new is new? P & P (Proton & Perodua) are known to facelift their cars year after year and still people will buy because there’s no other option.

• pacifictuna on May 31, 2011 at 9:54 pm

bro, this is new because it is based on the new boon/passo in japan. the only thing is this looks more ‘garang’ compared to the ‘amoi’ japanese version. facelift is a standard practise in the industry just that the old P1 saga over did it…

• Ha Gnih on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:23 am

Have to understand those with less options dude. A car is a car. It gets them from point A to point B, safe and sound. Don’t need cost incurring gadgets on board. I have a staff who drove his square lamp kancil for so many years and later last year upgraded ALSO to another kancil but the oval lamp version. Asked him, why Kancil and his reply was “Boss, kita budget budget cukup untuk kancil saja. Lagipun, bawa bini dan anak seorang sudah cukup” My respect goes to him and parking the Sonata next to his kancil makes me wonder, what if I don’t have options as well ? Most probably end up driving a Kancil as well and be happy about it. :)

• Brandon on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:34 am

That dude deserve ultimate respect man! Salute!

• Fazzurri on Jun 01, 2011 at 7:24 pm

U have option man.. How bout you increase his salary.. Maybe he still drive a Kancil but at least u can put a smile on his face.

• Ha Gnih on Jun 02, 2011 at 2:48 am

Haha. Thanks but I don’t think I need you to teach me how to be a good boss. Guess thats why my staffs never leave because I give them PAY RAISE on a yearly basis and somemore up to 6 months performance bonus and contractual 1 1/2 months year-end bonus. Would that be able to put a smile on the faces of many out there ? :)

• asgard on Jun 02, 2011 at 12:32 am

the guy actually enjoys his life, that what people should do nowdays

• Ha Gnih on Jun 02, 2011 at 11:30 am

asgard, you are SO right ? Regardless of what car we drive, as long we are happy, that’s the most important matter.

• kuncisudu on May 31, 2011 at 9:16 pm

i cant wait what jeremy clarkson will say about this car. will he explode it?

• already got advertisement at mudah..and also price..
    http://www.mudah.my/Perodua+MYVI+TERBARU+D54T-9942810.htm

• umpgambang on May 31, 2011 at 9:35 pm

built in navigation system is an cool add on for such car. really cool for that.

• ntahaaa on May 31, 2011 at 10:20 pm

wahhh… dah ade gamba betol da…

• happyone on May 31, 2011 at 10:48 pm

thx for the pic
      it seems the front looks shorter

• Shhhhhh. Thanks. on May 31, 2011 at 11:39 pm

The speedometer’s same as Camry. You gotta be kidding me.

• captain_gaban on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:04 am

Hahahahaha…can easily be found @mudah even before its official launch??!! Cum on P2, can u guys do better than this??

• Ha Gnih on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:31 am

The display panel looks (almost) like the one Camry has. But overall, not bad upgrade. But I can bet one thing tho, the 1.3 is still using the same engine and the 1.5 will (most probably) be using the ones in Alza. Biasa lah tu, macam main jigsaw puzzle aje. Ambik dari A masuk dalam B. Ambik dari C masuk dalam A. Hahahaha. But yeah, don’t mind buying one for mom to drive to the market.

• Nasai on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:50 am

So we can conlcude that this MyVi is a poor man’s Camry since most ppl said its instrument panel speedometer looks like the Camry? Does that double din DVD player really function as a GPS Navigation System? If so, than it’s cool but is it worth the price? Maybe that feature is only available for ‘Advance’ or Special or Limited Editions only.

Camry’s panel, same meh?
      http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Toyota-Camry-Facelift-Launch&image=P1050365.JPG

• With 60k price ++ Assume is same lah~~ tutup 1 mata, u paid 60k+++ u want get 175k camry spec????

• 1.3 LITER on May 31, 2011 at 9:20 pm

yeah. its 1.3cc only maa.

• armandd on May 31, 2011 at 9:27 pm

it’s just a facelift.. booriingg…

• SeriuosSAM on May 31, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Finally …

I think Perodua should bring their concept car into production line after all these forever editions parade of their current line up

• DonkeyKong on May 31, 2011 at 9:35 pm

It will still be an accident death trap. Myvi and Viva suck at crash safety.

• at least its cloned from a car that has NCAP ratings, educated yourself and google Daihatsu Sirion and Daihatsu Charade NCAP test ratings

• Jesse James on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:28 pm

So???

• farghmee on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:46 pm

yeah balb..so?

myvi crashtest result = passo crashtest result ?

• Unforgiven on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Erm, the Daihatsu Sirion is not P2 Myvi. P2 Myvi got no Euro NCAP.
        The Inspira is not Lancer since Lancer scored 5-star Euro NCAP.

Daihatsu Sirion is with the original badge, which Indonesia is enjoying it, the real thing. The materials from certain suppliers may be different.
        The Japanese are highly brand conscious.

In M’sia, when you earn 5k a month ppl may say it’s good.
        In the US, when you earn 5k a month ppl may say it’s too low.

In M’sia, if you spend 90k on Inspira ppl may say it’s cheap.
        In the US, if you spend 90k on car ppl may say you are crazy, that’s the price for a brand new Porsche Panamera. Lexus is only 40k.

Make sense?

• DonkeyKong on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:48 pm

All Proton cars these days have equivalent of at least 4 stars NCAP. If you know any car knocker, ask them how it’s like to straighten a Myvi, a Savvy, a Saga BLM, and a Persona. Then you’ll know which car has better strength.

• Unforgiven on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Hard to say because not just the outer but the inside plastic material may take into consideration for the Euro NCAP… the overall design as well…

• zorro on May 31, 2011 at 9:40 pm

old myvi can convert to this new facelift myvi.. better save your money…

• wahedenator on May 31, 2011 at 9:55 pm

For additional info :
    1) This coming June, booking only available for 1.3 series
    2) 1.5 series will came out only end of this year

Source : Perodua sales agent

• bibu bibu on May 31, 2011 at 9:55 pm

Not much different, difficult to attract people unless he/she is a new car buyer .

• faceless void on May 31, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Myvi again and again and again…
    Lack of Ingenuity
    Of Course Boring…Boring…and Boring

• I don know why so many Myvi owners always cucuk my VW Polo butt then i turn left but they still cant potong me ==’

• johns lim on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:36 am

If Myvi 1.3 with Turbo…”donno why cant see VW Polo headlight also from rear mirror… “

• Myvi Turbo r joke lolx!Polo get Euro NCAP 5 star rating but Myvi?i can’t imagine if the Myvi crash omg!the Polo r way better looking than the Myvisss…at least i drive German brand car ah haha

• Ha Gnih on Jun 02, 2011 at 2:57 am

Don’t be too proud of the German la. Once rosak, see whether you can still laugh your way to the service centre or not lo. Jangan nangis sampai terkeluar hingus cukup la.

• Kalau kereta saya rosak,aku akan tukar kereta baru…small matter.

• kancil on Jun 02, 2011 at 11:49 am

yes, its true that u own German brand car but pls drive at slow lane if u r not going faster…u r so d*mb to own a German brand car if u keep on driving slowly at fast lane and the worst is even a myvi can cucuk ur German brand car…dude, u r so funny…

• Ha Gnih on Jun 02, 2011 at 6:19 pm

dude, shows how some German-brand-driving people don’t really know how to drive. Whether to keep right or keep left. I’ve seen many of these people around and yes, I always cucuk their rear with either my Korean or Jepon ! :D

• i dont know why u bash him for being slow and hogging the lane… he already give way but that myvi still can’t overtake him… u r very funny…

• kancil on Jun 03, 2011 at 2:16 am

yes, he already gav way but, if myvi can cucuk him, means he is slower in fast lane and definitely after he changed lane, he is not slower anymore, instead he even speed up so that myvi can’t potong him…anyway, if u r ever drive slower in fast lane and change to slow lane wit the same speed (pls dun go faster after change to slower lane), i’m sure any car can’t potong u…again, pls drive faster if someone cucuk u (and also not drive faster after u giv way, no point to giv way and drive faster, u could always drive faster if someone cucuk u and dun giv a damn answer like i alraedy giv way but that car still can’t potong me)…

• just because I’m slower than that MyVi doesn’t mean I can’t overtake a car slower than me… cannot wait till cucuk2 r??? wanna go to the toilet that bad??

just because you come behind me while i’m overtaking leisurely doesn’t give you any right to cucuk2…

• MRL r right!hey Kancil yes i get in the slow lane but does not mean i cant go faster and if ur car is fast i think u just need take a few seconds to potong me!if u cant that’s mean ur car is slow!i should slow down b4 he potong me?!!what the…think first b4 u cucuk ppl coz it’s so dangerous!if you want to go faster why don you just turn on ur warning light to shoot me?why cucuk ppl?lolx

• of cos la, ur polo cost as much as 2.5 myvis.

• The myvi owner damn like your VW Polo, they not cucuk your car, but they just want to see your car only maaa….. want to buy VW Polo no money, Malaysia tax very high maaa….

• kancil on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:51 pm

its just bcoz u drives the same speed as that myvi (even after u change to slower lane), isnt it so hard to think of?
      logically, if someone can cucuk u, means u r slower, go faster or give way to faster car even if its a kancil…fast lane is for faster car not for more expensive/powerful car (but slower)…LOL…

• as I know it will use EPS (Electric Power Steering)..almost same as new Vios..

• It’s just like a girl who focus only on external beauty without upgrading the internal beauty. And the OMG thing is, this external beauty makes thing worse!

• m.fahmi88 on May 31, 2011 at 10:41 pm

nice bodykit..

• no wooww… sure overpriced..!!

• Looks like a facelift model, after how many years?

• if the 1.5 happen to come, will be the the avanza/ rush engine or the vios engine?
    do u guys know
    cant wait to get more details…..

• Peter on Jun 01, 2011 at 10:58 am

It’s the Avanza/ Rush/ Alza 1.5 L engine…

Maybe wait for another 5 years, it will be the vios 1.5l engine

• BeemerFreak on Jun 01, 2011 at 6:49 pm

As far as both engine blocks are concerned, they are both out dated. the 3SZ-FE for the Alza and the 1NZ-FE for the vios are pratically the same thing with slightly smaller bore and stroke only. Capacity and horsepower output are also identical. Both also feature VVT-I on the intake. Perodua should have instead sourced for Toyota’s new 1.33L 1NR-FE dual VVT-I and give Malaysians something more for our money

• redboy on May 31, 2011 at 11:12 pm

i think people will start to get tired of this car no matter what rim, bumper it changed. It just get boring..

• myvi is a pussy car…everyone owned myvi….and the new 1 it’s like ‘cacat’ to me…

• rexis on May 31, 2011 at 11:49 pm

Just like McD.

Big Mac
      Big Mac + Fries
      Big Mac + Fries + Drink
      Big Mac + big Fries + big Drink
      Big Mac value meal
      Big Mac + naked cola cup
      Big Mac delivery
      Big Mac double meat
      Big Mac free Big Mac

Its the same friggin dry beef…

• P2basher on May 31, 2011 at 11:41 pm

I enjoy giving on thumbs down on this page. Well thumbs down for this car too.

• kimi fans on May 31, 2011 at 11:45 pm

its a “frinkin joke” !!!!!!!!!!!!! really OH NO!!!!!!

• ilovemyvi on May 31, 2011 at 11:46 pm

this car was too much overpriced all the white, yet the 1.5 version will be more expensive… p2 take note of that, at that price range people have many choices..

• Mega/Liverpool on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:02 am

Did i hear right that a two cyinder engine is on the way….a 660 cc turbo?
    Very low CO2
    Mike/Liverpool Uk

• Lim Kopi on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:02 am

Malaysian way of doing business ….

Ask people to book first before testing or even seeing the car …

Surprise it works …

• me too bro… hehe..

nvr like myvi before, nvr like myvi now… :) sorry myvi lover…

• exJAVANESE on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:18 am

Myvi Sukan Version..? ahhhh….so cute! what a day…..hahahahahah

this machine are not secret anymore… (dah bersepah2 dah picture leaking..pedaa..)

• who cares what jeremy clarkson says? he’s not God.
    if you like the car, buy it. if you don’t, don’t.

• Angra on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:36 am

Another overpriced facelift by a scientifically bankrupt company…………

• OMG. you cant see the interior and exterior got differences compare the old Myvi. It clearly shown that this is not FACELIFT lah…

• Carl Wong on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:07 am

Using Japanese technology, sorry to be direct but it’s better than Proton Campro engines any time. The Campro engine have pitifully low torque at low RPMs and is not really that fuel efficient for city driving.

It should be one of the best option at that price, there must be a reason why it’s the best selling car. But I don’t have one LOL :).

• salesman….. just the price always give buyers shock & heart attack…. Overprice for a small car…. P1 can give u better Spec like larger car & larger engine, which some lower income ppl need (size 6~9 ppl in one car, P1 S-FL at least can give u better boost space) just a bit thirsty with Fuel, hopefully the coming CVT can solve the problem….

• oleoresin on Jun 01, 2011 at 7:28 am

No need to explain la….. When using our own tech, you said japs is better than our. When P1 bring inspira, you said why japs….. dont we have good engineers. Then suddenly you became patriotic…..

Lidah bercabang….. Klu nak bash P1 tu…. ckp je….. Tak usah nak pusing2 citer

• mujahid on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:01 am

yeah go buy it, i’m stuck with the loan now….. wish can change for a better car… handling mcm harem…. sana goyang sini goyang….

• samsam on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:19 pm

i agree wat u saying, those owner drive their own myvi everyday or watever cannot feel the car? or maybe they just drive watever they parent/girlfriend get them?

check before thumb down, boo!

• saga = good/practical car with junk engine.

myvi = good engine with junk cabin/chassis.

u choose.

• ntahaaa on Jun 02, 2011 at 12:16 am

i dont think myvi chasis is junk.. i think myvi engine is junk..
        but have good fuel consumption..
        maybe 1.5 can improve those junk.. here and there..
        not top speed aaa..

• alza use same engine with myvi or not? damn fast.. cilok2 like small kelisa..

yeah, myvi fuel consumtion better than saga. thats y i said saga engine is junk..

i drive saga btw.

• Nizam80 on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:16 pm

I agree with your comment….. BUT only for this line:

“The Campro engine have pitifully low torque at low RPMs and is not really that fuel efficient for city driving.”

Yes, definitely Campro engines are a bit sluggish for city driving. Which is why they are rolling out Turbocharged engines + CVT.

• ntahaaa on Jun 02, 2011 at 12:20 am

have you drive myvi (manual) for city driving..?
        also very sluggish..
        but the fuel consumption is good..

• Carl Wong on Jun 02, 2011 at 2:59 pm

Okay I drove my friend’s Myvi with 4-speed automatic transmission some time ago, 0-60km/h acceleration/response is actually quite good and the car feels very light. I have an old Campro engine with manual transmission and that is sluggish. Below 2500rpm, there’s almost no response even if you flat out the throttle, so higher rpms are needed, especially for slopes. But I’m satisfied with the car, and manual is fun.

When I’m driving a Honda City VTEC with CVT, I don’t even need to exceed 2000rpm for the entire journey :).

Looking at a new Honda hybrid if I have the money.

• ntahaaa on Jun 02, 2011 at 9:47 pm

i think u should try manual myvi, floor the pedal when below 2100 rpm..

• SoMeOnE on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:15 am

err…..what has changed??….i have seen some myvi’s on the road that look a lot like this with the mods and stuff….i really dun understand the appeal this car has over so many people…..it looks really bad….please do not contradict me on that.

.. budget is a factor for sure but taking one step back and looking at it before booking would really make one think twice….. its not like one’s getting a myvi for free (although the numbers on the road makes one think they give out a few every month )…please dun give me excuses that looks dont matter..IT DOES…in every aspect of life it plays a part….and worst of all..it lacks substance as well….ssang yongs are ugly for example..but ur getting a car from a company thats been trained by mercedes benz and its obvious u get some of the advantages passed down such as thier strong diesel engines…….i can live with that….Perodua on the other hand….toyota quality?..i know many strongly believe so but if that were true nobody be buying them toyotas right???…oh well…….

• The i10 trumps MyVi in all aspects (price, eco, handling) all day everyday, cept in looks.
    Why it has never caught on is beyond me.

• its strange, that certain drivers of Myvi, likes to cucuk anything on the road. My friend gets pissed off when Myvis keep cucuk his Neo Lite.

Again Perodua has made car that most Paul Tan Blog trolls love to troll..

here to another 60K ++ unit of Myvi’s a year

• Sorchai on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:55 am

Hey Paul…It is not June 4.

My relatives already booked the car last week.

• Wisdom on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:26 am

Have they rectify the following:
    1. Faulty power window switch
    2. Warped front disk after few months
    3. Petrol fume entering the cabin
    4. Bumpy ride
    5. Lower arm noise after 2 years
    6. Noisy ride (tyres, suspension)
    7. Poor sound system (‘0’ bass)
    8. Poor midrange power
    9. Vertical/ lack of rest for rear seats
    10. Outside smell even when the aircond set to recirculate.

• shawal on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:21 am

*cellophane tape is optional

• Norman on Jun 01, 2011 at 6:01 am

Heh,At least IAFM and CPS Campro are much better than the 1st gen ones

• apexg2 on Jun 01, 2011 at 7:59 am

huh!Myvi again! New fresh shape please! Eitherwise, don’t facelift!
    For me, Myvi is overpriced! if u think twice, get other imported car with extra 100 bucks monthly! swift, fiesta….or even u can get alto!But, Malaysian love Myvi’s….Malaysian products! Please stop this overpriced control!

• Pocket wise, Myvi is the best choice !

• yeah….for p2 and toyota’s pocket that is….
      this car is a rip off in terms of pricing!!!

• azrai on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:09 am

Is it true the Myvi name will be discontinued? This new car will get a new name instead.

• beatnik on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:15 am

I hope the 1.5 variant will not be cheap.. otherwise, more young punks on the road. even the 1.3 already got many ppl zigzaggin on the highway and cucuking bigger cars, what more if offered a slightly more powered engine.

Nothing wrong with Myvi car, it is just the crazy drivers.

• Ash Menon on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:24 pm

You say that, after you say that you hope the new 1.5 variant will not be cheap. Right.

• xavier lert on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:20 am

where will all the old myvito go?? pakistan? recond from malaysia..

• fuel cell phone on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:31 am

i’ve seen too many myvi 1.3 speeding more than 160kmh, and now with 1.5 variant !!?

hope they have adequate safety to complement to added horses…

• Barca vs Man Utd on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:59 am

this one gonna sold like hot cakes lah.. no matter what, malaysian people sudah kena rachun.. “proton is a bad car”… but the reality is both proton and perodua are the same… the different is wether they meet your personal taste of owning a car.. proton will always give you a car but perodua only give you a compact car without boot… it also salesman factor who wanna achieve thier monthly sales lah.. thats why they put good and bad comment vice versa on the car… proton and perodua is in competition because their hearts are different, proton is Malaysian company but perodua is a japanese owned company (base on the fact that more than 50% share own by Toyota)… thats why both of these National car maker are competing like hell… btw keep up the good work and serve the nation well lah… we need a good car with a good price.. that is the fact!

• pacifictuna on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:18 am

interior is ok. but no big deal. meter cluster looks a lot better as i’m not a fan of the old flat type.

• i wonder what song will p2 write for this car. i like the alza song.
    ” dengan mu ku rasa bahagia “

• ModerateName on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:44 am

Another overprice and crap Milo Sampan “local made” small car. Sigh

• Hikaru33 on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:47 am

The 1.5 litre engine will just mean that there will be more boy racers on the streets of Malaysia, only this time they got more power to zip around.

• ModerateName here on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:58 am

Another overprice and crap Milo Sampan “local made” small car. Sigh

• the build quality is terrible , I own the kancil and alza , the aircon being replaced for a few times , please don’t drive more than 90km/h in the highway , as they are build by milo tin can … you call their hq , their altitude is cin cai cin cai …

their sc technician also blur blur , fix the wind noise for 3 times also can not kao tim …
      not that peoples want to bash this fuc*ing car company , it’s because the we as their value customer are the victim of the damn nap …
      if p and p can not build the quality car , then don’t sell on the street …

• Unforgiven on Jun 01, 2011 at 5:33 pm

Unfortunately you are not getting a real thing as in Indonesia, maybe next time you may get a CBU from Indonesia, at least they carry the original Daihatsu, which can easily find in Euro NCAP too. If they carry the Japanese Badge, the quality will be there too based on their working culture. Poor victim of AP/protectionism.

• abg blues on Jun 01, 2011 at 10:17 am

kereta paling hodoh dalam dunia

• More photos http://www.mudah.my/Perodua+MYVI+TERBARU+D54T-9942810.htm

• abg blues on Jun 01, 2011 at 10:23 am

the most ugly car in the world

• Frankie Goes To Hollywood on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:17 am

No not the most ugly in the world. The most ugly car title goes to Renault Kangoo. 2nd most ugly goes to Smart car (all models).

• OMG..even this is most ugly car in the world,but this car sales still can beat any models form P1….suprise…lah…

• fernando on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:29 am

yesterday 1 black myvi (WTG XXXX) cucuk my city…WTF! after that wa tapau that ugly car….

• huhahulikaka on Jun 01, 2011 at 4:20 pm

actually city is equally ugly car otr…jus diff brand…all r shitty.. urs jus a bigger piece of shit tapau another smaller piece of shit… pathetic..

• krazikid on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:42 am

Yeay First!!!!!!!!

• Jesse James on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:16 pm

While we’re waiting for more news on this, let’s playing a guessing game. The question is:

How many ‘Edition’ will the new 1.5L MyVi have?

My guess is 6: Special Edition, Elite Edition, Exclusive Edition, Home Edition, Professional Edition and Premium Edition.

• Jesse James on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:19 pm

While we’re waiting for more news, let’s play a guessing game. The question is:

How many ‘Edition’ the new 1.5litre MyVi will have? Normal versions don’t count.

My guess is 6: Special Edition, Elite Edition, Exclusive Edition, Home Edition, Professional Edition and Premium Edition.

• SoMeOnE on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:26 pm

i notice quite a number of comments pertaining myvi’s being driven by madmen on the road…i have experienced it as well..and its scary because u dont know when they are gonna plow into u….there was this heavily modified example that had a turbo and a bodykit…lol…… that was tailing me on the NKVE and as we all know ..that highway is built for outright speed…..such is the design……so i gunned it and he tried keeping up in vain to the point that in the long sweeping corners his car was doing a mini dance ……. u soon forget about them until the worst part where there is traffic ahead and one has to slow down and u see this dancing little thing barreling up ur back…its freaky….

• aiman on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:35 pm

why they just dont design like audi a1??

• me_36 on Jun 15, 2011 at 12:44 am

hahhaha..proton or perodua just the same..we r paying so much for such car…huh..

• waimak on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Making all those nasty criticism and comments, really makes you all feel good isn’t it??? Wow.. And salesmen, please dont make a fool of your periuk nasik..

• torres on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:34 pm

MYVI TRYING TO HARD TO LOOK SPORTY!!!

• bondai on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:12 pm

luckily i already owned a 2year old Myvi,..
    cos this new facelift is just plain UGLY…
    its like those “AutoShow” cum “accecories shop” victim type of look…

Perodua.. u need to hire a better designer… if not, all ur car will look ugly from now on…

• Nizam80 on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:03 pm

I heard the high-end variant will come with a 1.5 engine and will be called the Extreme trim. Can any Perodua salesman here tell me what’s so Extreeeeeeeme about it????

• Nizam80 on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Wow….. 1.5!!!! Great more and more tailgaters on the road…. I assume the brakes MUST be good huh????

• ANOTHER LAME SHIT CAR FOR THE MALAYSIAN MASSES.
    IT IS A SHAME THAT WE HAVE TO MAKE DO WITH SHIT LIKE THIS…….LET’S CHANGE THE GOVERNMENT!

• in term of quality which one better? seriously, proton or perodua? more specific….. persona vs myvi….

• ntahaaa on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:51 pm

omg… persona vs myvi.. not in the league..
      but in term of price, maybe..
      i can only say if saga blm vs myvi..
      if myvi benchmark score is 100..(in terms of comfort)
      than saga i give 70..
      some say persona is really good..
      than i assume persona gets 115 score..

• Wow ! there are so many P1 salesman here trying to protect their bowl. Keep on bashing lol.

• sick&tired on Jun 01, 2011 at 7:52 pm

perodua must be dreaming if the can sell it above rm60k! although it will sell irregardless of the price, which says a lot about malaysians. no wonder BN can screw malaysians for past 50 years! malaysia boleh….get screwed in th a$$!

• sukeProton on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:31 pm

my friend right now doing her practical at perodua & under QC department… she said to me that the new myvi 1.5 has active steering system (when your car in high speed its going to be heavy) and paddle shift.. since I don’t like too much at myvi so i’m just said to her not interested…hahahaha

• kereta kuda kepang on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:43 pm

yes!yes!yes!

• kereta kuda kepang on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:46 pm

satu lagi model kereta buatan malaysia. buat sesak jalan saja.

• farghmee on Jun 02, 2011 at 9:52 am

hang naik kuda kepang ke g opis? :P

• Apa you are in Malaysia and yet that what said. If you think non Malaysian product is better do you have any invesment in that compony and you make a lot of profit from it. A country must stand with business. If we dont have business we don’t have Malaysia. So you don’t want to be Malaysian. I you still want to be Malaysian we must keep our business running.

If we want people to look up upon us we must produce a good product. But since we a new comer in can manufacturing we try with medium cost car and the quality is medium. You cant expect to get a big house we you buy a medium cost house. We must understand.

• hahaha….easy to say if you are “berduit”….for commoner who earn rm2k-rm3k….wat else they got?? Vios?? Altis? or maybe Polo???

• asgard on Jun 02, 2011 at 12:44 am

these car from p1 and p2 really show our level of competitiveness in malaysia,
    only good in our country but not in foreign country

• me_36 on Jun 15, 2011 at 12:51 am

alahai..that’s look competitive but it’s not…taxes on imported cars are so high…i’m sure people wont buy p1 or p2 products if the taxes on imported cars are low..the p1 n p2 prices is ok if the quality up to the price..hurmmm..

• adoiii on Jun 02, 2011 at 12:45 pm

dont talk much, banyak duit beli je yang lain, kalau tak de, ikut kemampuan masing2. the choice is on your hand!

• CRaZy 4 cARs.. on Jun 02, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Ladies n gentlemen…. Now i present u d problems that occured on not only mine… but several owners of d P2 Myvi isnce year 2006…:
    i) AIR-COND- Filter inside d aircond are not attached and tak sejuk although after servicing… Compressor hav 2 change after 5 years… tats y not cold
    (ACTUALLY AH, p2 AIR-CONDITIONING SYTEM REALLY SUCKS LA…)
    ii)BRAKE DISC/PAD…Worn out jus after 3 years…
    iii)CONDITION OF CAR WHEN DRIVIN’ ON HIGHWAY- D whole car vibrates with d light steering and lousy handling when speed reaches 110-125 km/h
    iv)Lousy chassis and weak body structure- When i LEANED on the DOOR ofn d Myvi, it bends in and out after i stand….
    As a conclusion, DO NOT BUY this new model as it also will come up with this kind of problem plus d Tsunami crisis from Japan will make it worse.

P1 Persona/Saga FL 1.6/Inspira/Exora will do jus right, 4 those Malaysians who r less patriotic, go buy European cars…. warning 4 ALL !! dO NOT BUY P2 Products…
    We were cheated by P2 last 5 years…

• gutss on Jun 03, 2011 at 12:43 pm

can somebody who own persona or saga comment about your cars problem??? from my own experience

– my rumate saga : after only several weeks, left front door cant close smoothly, have to “bang” hardly

– my oficemate saga : after less than a year, alarm suddenly sound by itself

– my fren mum persona : after 3 month, the suspension already bunyi2….

• CRaZy 4 cARs.. on Jun 03, 2011 at 4:57 pm

Come on la… alarm jus a small matter, go repair d remote not vry expensive, my Myvi: 1 OF D ABSORBER/BRAKE PAD/DISC worn out, must change 1 pair, lagi susah hati u knw…

AIR-COND: 1st time i repaired cost RM 300-400, next nearly kena tipu from mechanic but when 2 better air-cond shop: Pipe:RM 150… Now waiting 4 compressor 2 breakdown only…

• CRaZy 4 cARs.. on Jun 02, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Ladies & Gentlemen, now….. I will Reveal the PROBLEMS faced by me & several Myvi year 2006 onwards:
    1. AIRCOND: Filter not attached, COMPRESSOR kena tukar jus after 4 years which priced up to 600-700 Ringgit++ (Anyway, P2’S Aircond is famous 4 its HOTness…)
    2.BRAKE-PAD/DISC that worn out juz after 3 years….
    3.BODY STRUCTURE is lousy and weak chassis : I leaned on the door and it bent inwards thn bent outwards after I stand back straight…
    4. CONDITION ON HIGHWAYS: Always vibrate due 2 light steering and bad handling…

As a conclusion, I’d rather buy Saga FL 1.6/Persona-R/Inspira/Exora in d near future as this Passo look alike gives me problems tat made my mom’s pocket a big whole and iI believe tat this odd-looking 1 , no doubt GIVES MORE problem… If it has improvement pun iI wont buy it as it gives people a THUMBS DOWN 4 a 1st impression….Anyway, TOyota had already recalled millions of cars from d US due 2 braking problems since 2009…. Keep improvin’ P1!! P2, you’ll be obessed with all those tax in ur perut….. Sayonara n Salam 1 Malaysia..!!

• ntahaaa on Jun 02, 2011 at 9:58 pm

no 3.. you not lean on the body structure (chasis)… just the car skin… that is why its bend..
      no 2 and no 4 .. already experience it.. damn.. no 2 send to sc, nothing changes.. another damn..
      no 1.. lets hope not me..
      lol

• Ah Fxxk on Jun 02, 2011 at 5:48 pm

Is that a whole new chassis and new 1.5 engine?

Hopefully it’s not just a facelift.

• freshgrad on Jun 03, 2011 at 11:14 am

how much is it??

• mysoo on Jun 04, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Went to P2 to check Myvi. Old model no stock, could book new model but waiting period spec, price, and everything unknown. Stupid P2.
    Just test drive Saga FL 1.3 exec. Booked immediately. Tought want to buy 1.6 but only available in white. This car sure drive better than Myvi. Better handling, comfort & clean good interior. Also value for money. But don’t really like the aircond vent design. Will get it in 2 week time.
    The body not really like milo tin, don’t believe all the rumors for proton basher. I would say more like my old wira. Pick up for 1.3 might be slow but quite suitable for city drive unless you live and work in Genting Highlands.
    Not really a bad car compare to the price.

• mysoo on Jun 04, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Visited P2 hoping to buy a New Myvi. P2 said Myvi production stop no new stock. The salesperson try to convince me to book the new model. But P2 can’t confirm the price, spec, waiting period or even a photo of the car!

Feeling ridiculed, complaint to P2, this is their reply:

“Thank you for your email and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused.
    The current Myvi production has been stopped and there will be no stock available for this model.
    The placement of booking for new Myvi will start from 4 June 2011. Rest assure that the waiting period will be worthwhile. Pricing and details of specification will be revealed during official launch on 16 June 2011.
    We hope the above information is sufficient to you and should you need further clarification, please call us at the toll free number provided below.

Thank you and have a nice day.”

Norhidayu Bt Mispan

Customer Relations Department
    General Toll Free: 1-800-88-6600 (Monday ~ Friday, 8.30am ~ 5.30pm)
    Perodua Smart Assist: 1-800-88-5555 (24 hours auto emergency assistance)
    Email: [email protected]

This is the most stupid and irresponsible reply I ever received. Nothing mention about the new mode lprice, spec, waiting period and photo. In other word even P2 don’t know what the heck is going on. P2 MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh words has no credibility at all. He’s just another idiot with a bigger mouth.

I went to Proton Edar last week and test drive a Saga FL 1.3 instead. Surprisingly this car has better handling, interior, more comfortable ride than Myvi and value for money. The salesperson commit 2 week delivery even they are over booked or my booking fee shall be refunded. I booked immediately on the same day. The salesperson called me on friday and confirmed my saga will be out next week.

Another thing the body not really like milo can, more like my old wira. Don’t listen to all the rumors from proton bashers.

• Mr Rayz on Sep 19, 2011 at 11:10 am

latest technologies comes with all new myvi especially EPS & EBD but 1 thing that everyone should pay atention is about power window switches in all perodua cars that can malfunciton easily. this kind of troubleshooting is a very2 major setback for everone that owned perodua cars