VIDEO: 2011 Perodua Myvi instrument panel demo

Here’s a short little walkthrough video on how the Camry-inspired instrumentation panel for the top of the line 2011 Perodua Myvi looks and moves. The fade in and fade out of the backlight is a nice touch, and so is the multi-info display integrated into the circle in the middle of the speedometer.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gavin on Jun 17, 2011 at 1:16 am

Coolest meter in that segment, actually even cooler than many more expensive cars out there

• Holly F on Jun 17, 2011 at 6:13 pm

I wonder people nowadays are just looking for instrument meter or a real car.

• lalazhai on Jun 17, 2011 at 11:21 pm

just buy P1 then, it only has handling, apart than that, its falling apart.

• guru guru on Jun 17, 2011 at 6:59 pm

cooler than my mother’s 91K mazda2 RS…

• Whatever on Jun 17, 2011 at 2:07 am

Hey P2, I have better idea for your lagi best slogan. You know what? “LAGI MAHAL” suit better. Imagine coming 1.5 engine in SE edition. Dam n, 65k above. That price is almost compatible with the sedan vios J price. Thumb Up for the fact, thumb down for the Fans.

• Wow damn nice, even Audi do not have that, Potong…. well can put into museum already lah.

• Nizam80 on Jun 17, 2011 at 4:31 pm

To me, this new Myvi is only worth it if you are getting the cheapest trim. (as it also includes dual airbags, EPS, ISFOX mounts).

65K for a 1.5 litre local hatchback??? Definitely more people will be looking at Alza.

• LatukBandar on Jun 17, 2011 at 2:10 am

correct me if i am wrong, the faster u drive, the brighter it illuminates? won’t it sort of encourage people to drive faster?

• bobdbilder on Jun 17, 2011 at 10:04 am

People who drive fast don’t look at meter. It helps to have 8 LEDs placed on top of the dashboard that change as they reach the redline. One 8 segment LED for gear indicator would help too. This is a novelty for the iPad generation.

• Joker The Great on Jun 17, 2011 at 2:43 am

oppssss………… I think overall performance for this car and also the pricing will be the major factor

• mystvearn on Jun 17, 2011 at 4:46 am

quite nice display actually

• Why the instrument panel is very-very nice…….dem

• azrai on Jun 17, 2011 at 7:41 am

So, this new Myvi actually get more cosmetic features?

• alldisc on Jun 17, 2011 at 8:10 am

designed in house, right? nice, creative… but still, myvi is a little too pricey.

• MoFaz on Jun 17, 2011 at 10:37 am

design probably is in house, but always inspired by others. remember Bezza?

• MouMouRen on Jun 17, 2011 at 8:17 am

Nice!!!!!!

• apexg2 on Jun 17, 2011 at 8:20 am

panel ok…body shape???erm, still boring myvi!but its ok la coz give more value to buyer money!

• Faster lah Proton bring Savvy 1.6, Tiara 1.6, Iswara Aeroback 1.6 LOL!

“To Buy Perodua Is To Kill Proton!”

• wow..its look nice..can put on old myvi?

• theking on Jun 17, 2011 at 8:55 am

Meter made in continental penang

• aibaks on Jun 17, 2011 at 9:01 am

never been in toyota camry before, but i think the panel look impressive enough!

• wassup on Jun 17, 2011 at 9:08 am

i prefer tachometer and speedometer side by side – like proton and volkswagen.
    But nice color, fade-in effect. And an EPS indicator?

• alldisc on Jun 17, 2011 at 12:33 pm

EPS (electric power steering) relies 100% on electricity without which, it will fail and one will lose control of the car.

EPS has been developed more than 10 yrs back and start to make appearance on city cars in new millenium including honda city and toyota vios.

the warning light is vital to warn driver of a problem.

• deftones on Jun 17, 2011 at 9:08 pm

to me its the same if it rely on belt because if the engine dies,power steering also gone..the electric wont die if the engine is still running..

• what’s so nice about that?

• vw_fan on Jun 17, 2011 at 9:42 am

Not sure why so many people want to bash P2. The myvi is the best selling car model in Malaysia after all so its up to people how they want to spend their money. I am not saying that myvi is a great car for the price, because i don’t think it is but it has its own appeal. Remember the myvi is based on a car model where it is designed for town driving and targeted at ladies in Japan.

I have a feeling that most readers of paultan are not myvi car target market and are male and are only focused on the driving dynamics and performance of the car.

I offered my wife the swift or myvi last year and she choose the myvi because she wanted a more spacious interior. i am beginning to understand that not many people think like me.

Nothing is cheap in the country, cars included. I feel I am being robbed by our G sometimes when I travel to other places and find out the “real” price of things. Let’s face it, we are all actually subsidizing someone with the crazy prices that we are paying.

• theanswer on Jun 17, 2011 at 1:09 pm

yeap..i have to agree with you. i’m not saying myvi is 100% good. but being practical, easy to drive and good fc makes some ppl prefer to buy myvi. not all ppl understand performance..not all ppl want to drive their cars on winding road and trash it like they drive a gen2 or even saga blm. i also drive myvi for almost 5 years and saga blm belongs to my gf. both car has it own good and both compete top 2 in best selling car til today.
      but from what i see in this forum..majority prefer solely on performance and engine size(body size also). put aside fc and easier to drive.

and i dont think myvi 1.5 price will be more exp than alza.

• I think ppl bashing p2 is because the improvements they made doesnt justify the price they increased..

• seem nice to me.

if we want cheaper car price… please ask the G-man to open the automotive market…. no funny policy..?!

• pirate on Jun 17, 2011 at 10:07 am

Wow! Makes me want this top-of-the-line Myvi badly! How much is the h-p interest rate for this national car currently?

• Nothing to shout about la………same ole same ole…..still looks like Rafidah Aziz butt….hahahahahaha…..

• Lorelai on Jun 17, 2011 at 10:46 am

I think myvi is the shitty car for the poor. Similar to tata nano in india
    It doesn’t matter whether they facelift it or whatever, it still looks like shite.

I’ve seen too many poor idiots trying to pimp up their myvi with stupid looking rims, fur on their dashboard, vinyls, etc
    That’s bloody pathetic.

It doesn’t matter whether you’re in an old or new myvi, it doesn’t make any difference.
    All you idiots who think “wahhh this myvi dashboard so niceeee ohhh”
    I pity you.

• yes…the myvi is a shitty car for the poor. but unlike tata nano which is also priced low for the poor in india, this shitty myvi is priced for the rich.

• Theophilus Chin on Jun 17, 2011 at 11:45 am

Tangan siapa tu??

• freeze on Jun 17, 2011 at 12:59 pm

Here’s a cost saving tip to Perodua. Speedometer does not have to exceed 160kmh. Could have saved some space and reduced the cost of the car.

• nice touch….but these gimmicks doesn’t make the car a better/safer drive. and a full tank range can only go 314km? thats a real guzzler considering the myvi has a 40L tank.

• inspired by Camry? hehe..kinda funny actually..reminds me of those cheap generic perfume inspired by CK, Hugo Boss or Lauder.. :D

• DArkerMarker on Jun 17, 2011 at 7:07 pm

ya ya ya…..drive the car and look samor at the display…….look samor……..then KABOOM!!! Accident…..

• alamak put so nice speedometer on this lousy car ,wat is peroduo thinking?put it into Inspira better

• kazaz on Jun 17, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Ohhh… got 7.3km/L???? sangat kuat minyak lah. Even 2.0 car can go at least 11km/L :(

• iskandar on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:48 pm

bro.. if the car stand idle for long time.. average fc will be higher. thus less km for a liter of petrol. i expecting 300 to 400 km/full tank from this new myvi. Also noted pick slightly poor (under power) and can lead to higher fc during frequent stop and go driving

• nazrul on Jun 17, 2011 at 8:42 pm

why the speedometer is even number?…20..40..60…why. not used odd number….10..30..50..70..90..110…i think most speed indicator in malaysian highway is in odd number….it will helps to see the speed clearer…

• Im on a Highway to hell….myvi 220km..wow damn fast..

• even an instrument panel is also a selling point ? what a joke c’mon people ….. must be first in the world I’d guess.

no doubt it’s reliable car and price is not too expensive …. resonable good resale value

what else to promote ? now instrument panel also want to promote

• Well I think the instrument panel is one of the important item, because everytime you enter the car, that is the main thing your eye will see, ask you a question, do you like to marry an ugly woman?

• anand on Jun 19, 2011 at 8:10 pm

most of the peoples who’s commenting does not have a car it seems. just bashing for the sake of it.

• Baldwin on Jun 19, 2011 at 11:08 pm

So now people actually choose a car based on how fancy it’s instrument panel is??

Time to wake up and get a life fellow Malaysians…

• Its an additional bonus. Imagine when u cant decide which car to buy, an additional feature like that will help to make that decision. In short, Yes! But not because it HAS a fancy instrument but because it COMES with a fancy one as an additional bonus.

• Karimsopian on Jun 20, 2011 at 1:11 pm

@ Mr. Baldwin:

So what is the problem if some people choose a car based on how fancy its instrument panel is? Honesty, I can say that this meter cluster is way nicer and pleasing to our eyes than the other car in the same segment, right? No harm in being honest, right? Just look at Saga FL orange meter cluster, how do you rate that?

Just because it’s a Myvi, we tend to bang the car kaw kaw. This is a thread for the instrument panel, I really hope we can have this nice panel in Proton cars especially Saga.

• aprezal on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:12 pm

P2 likes to make the new myvi in that look..it has its own fans..what’s wrong with it. anyone likes it, let them be..if others dont like it, that’s their right, but dont criticize those who like it..if you dont like Myvi, no need to lable it as uncle/aunty cars..u may enjoy your macho car, but dont underrespect other people’s car…they pay for it, their money, not yours, so shut up!

• it look better than potong’s panel :-)