Proton Saga to finally come with ABS?

Proton Saga to finally come with ABS?The Proton Saga FLX we talked about earlier may have more than one new thing going for it. The car is said to be equipped with a six-speed CVT drivetrain, which is surely big news for the entry-level Proton when it comes about into the market.

The engine bay photo reveals another little surprise, though it isn’t obvious upon first glance – we only spotted it upon closer inspection.

It’s an ABS brake pump located on the left side of the bay (it’s at the bottom, on the extreme left, in the photo). The shape of the entire assembly – the ABS body, brake fluid pressure pump and brake lines – is unmistakable.

To our knowledge, the Saga has never come with ABS, and there was no mention of it in the FL 1.6 Executive when that was introduced a couple of months back, so this looks very much like a big add-on feature to the car, and one that will undoubtedly be welcomed by consumers.

Proton Saga to finally come with ABS?
No ABS pump module/assembly in the FL Saga’s engine bay.

The question is of course whether ABS – and correspondingly, EBD and BA – will now be a standard production feature, albeit for the high-line versions, working its way on to the likes of the FL 1.6 Executive, or just something unique to something like the FLX?

Does the X suffix on that one mean Extra, signifying a range-topping Saga?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• freeze on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:15 pm

ABS? I’ll pass. What Saga needs are brakes with less fade.

• freeze on Jul 22, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Thumbs down? You 3 people would prefer brake fade?
      If that’s the case I bet you’ll prefer warped MyVi brake discs in your Saga.

• MoFaz on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:35 pm

i see that u always so negative about proton.
        u keep criticizing proton and yet you can’t accept when people didn’t agree with u? now u see… it’s soo easy to criticise but not so easy to accept when people criticise u, right? at least proton is listening and do something about it…

• SagaOwner on Jul 22, 2011 at 11:59 pm

To be honest, the management of proton really all rubbish, i am driving a saga blm, last 2 weeks my door handle just broken, then only i come to know handle is without warranty covered, do u still feel that they listening? this issue was addressed since my last sold waja, but i still love proton, the problem is just the people, u know i know where was some cost went

• MoFaz on Jul 23, 2011 at 1:19 am

any wear and tear usually not covered under warranty, including tires, wipers, and many other things. because not all people treat the car similarly, not all driver drive properly… some drivers really like to accelerate and braking suddenly.
            from my experience, waja door handles are quite fragile, but it could last long if you know how to use it properly. u need to pull the handle to open the door first, then only u swing the door. most people pull the handle to swing in one go. maybe it wasn’t designed to be used that way.

• Not covered under warranty becoz of wear & tear? does Proton expect us to inspect the door handle every 5000km and change every 15000km?

• Just me on Jul 23, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Don’t you think that most people open car door by pulling the handle, I never heard people complaining about broken handle. I just sold BLM beginning of this year, disappointed with the quality. Both power window switch spoilt in just few month, rear brake pump jammed. they replaced the pump foc, but not the brake pad. Yes proton are improving but you always find new problem.

• MoFaz on Jul 24, 2011 at 1:20 am

maybe my explaination wasn’t clear enough..
            waja door handle is the ‘flush with door’ type. it looks better but it has some weakness. u have to pull the handle just enough to relase the door lock, then only u swing to open the door. if u pull it hard while the door is still locked, i will break sooner. if u know how to use it properly, it will last longer. mine already 5 years and none broken.
            and this is why i said proton is listening. because of this issue, they no longer use the ‘flush’ type. handles on saga and persona are both ‘protruding’ type. with this kind of handle, you actually have a choice grasping the handle from top or below. some broken handle may still happen but the number has been reduced greatly compared to waja cases.
            hey, even though ikea has a machine showing you that their chairs could withstand thousands of normal sitting down and standing up situation, the chair would still break if your kid jumping on it.

• This is the first time I ever heard of a door handle breaking and by just opening the door. What kind of stupid cost cutting materials they must be using?

• jl@ipl on Jul 25, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Talking about warranty, sometime, there actually covered. But most SC chose to be lazy and won’t bother to change them for you.

My own experience, my gen2 power side mirror switch. It failed once a while. I went to a well known SC in Klang and the technician told me to wait until it totally failed, then they will replace it. My reply was, this is my last visit to ur SC!

So, I went to another one, also in Klang ( few SC in Klang). They just test it, and replace them for me! Latter, I broke my driver seat incliner. I went to the same SC, they replace it FOC, i.e. it was actually under warranty!!!! I even get the immobilizer chip (in the key) FOC (by Northern iCare) ! Before that, I was conned RM100++ for the same chip (by Klang Valley iCare)!

Actually, P1 warranty cover a lot, only we don’t know! My advice, be adventurous. If one joker don’t bother to assist you, they always other SC that will. Another advice, sweat yourself a bit and stay with the car in the hot workshop, and observe…………ensure they fully drained your dirty engine oil……

• alldisc on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:08 am

warranty also does not cover any parts that are broken, unless it breaks by itself. i highly support Mofaz.

• SagaOwner on Jul 23, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Shut up u hypocrite, we have personally setting an example to throw our hard earn money to buy/support saga blm, but u r here to rejoice in the calamity of others by driving a non-blm, wondering what your contribution to blm?

• my saga blm only 2 month but the engine head oil leaking also want to beat the cost for engine casket aroud rm90!
            3 month lated iafm module not functioning waiting around 2 month for reparied!

• so what if saga have brakes with less fade? u then start to demand for tcs or ebd or ba

• ABS is very important.Brake fade you can maybe atlease change the brake pad,rotor or maybe brake fluid. Maybe you can try not to use the brakes too much when braking and try shifting the lower gear. Is better for Proton to have ABS then to have No ABS and brake fade.

• generation on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:56 pm

U are not Saga owner…. Only Myvi had brake problems….

• myvi aku brake judeer bayak kali beb… sampah..
        hantar kat ah beng jugak jadi elok… itu pun kene cari elok2…
        hantar kat perodua service center, customer ramai depa buat layan tak layan aje…
        hahaa..

• Danny on Jul 23, 2011 at 3:30 am

I crashed into a saga the other day. Why? I brake but the ABS tried to be smart and just let go suddenly.

• Mr. Biggy on Jul 23, 2011 at 11:47 am

Nope, you Mr. Important was following the car from behind too near and you drove too fast.

• gjagong on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:25 pm

kudos to proton!! keep it up !!!!! continuous improvement is something that customers wants.

• hope the new features do not increase the price. Else shame on the manufacturer to think of profit first, rakyat’s safety second!

• Rodin on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Hi klx,

The new price is less than 45k for cvt full spec. Increment of 1.7k from our current saga. In addition to the new cvt gearbox, abs with new meter clusters as well :P. Else, who need to pay for the addional features and years of developement? Of course you customers…so please do test drive the car, it is much better and feels zippier compared to our current car. And of course, we would love to hear your feedback. :)

• MoFaz on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:49 pm

if all features are sooo cheap, why would proton create many variants? B-line, M-line, H-line… all depends on your budget and what u want.

• alldisc on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:11 am

you are right there MoFaz.

we want more kit in your car, we pay more lahh…

the entry level model is for people who are satisfied by having minimum equipment in their cars. end story.

• gjagong on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:26 pm

kudos to proton!!!! keep it up!!! continuous improvement is what customer wants…

• Out of Luck on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:43 pm

Sweet!!! CVT + ABS + 1.6L engine!! This will be selling like hotcakes in Malaysia if the price is right. Good job Proton! Oh…please make it available in more color choices :)

• newspring on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:55 pm

If Proton adds Electric Power Steering, it will be a perfect car. EPS + CVT = more fuel savings

• quattro on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:25 pm

>>>If Proton adds Electric Power Steering, it will be a perfect car. EPS + CVT+ABS + EBD+TSP+1.5L engine = more fuel savings
        >>ALL NEW TECH WILL BE MAKE AVAILABLE IN THE ALL NEW PERSONA R
        >> PLEASE WAIT IN PATIENT

• focus tdci on Jul 22, 2011 at 11:27 pm

all that is already in the fiesta.

• too bad fiesta is small, persona r is much bigger

• focus tdci on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:45 pm

please compare with a car that already on the road, not something you pull out of the sky. that is why i always say, proton fanboys/trolls all get high on petrol fumes before starting work.

• focus tdci on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:48 pm

your keyboard must the same quality as the proton you seem to support, the CAPS LOCK key is stuck. anyway, let us wait and see, but in the meantime shut your trap about a car nobody has seen yet.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:47 pm

it will, selling at RM60K…

• What’s important is good after sales service and reliable.

• quattro on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:16 pm

MAKE IT AVAILABLE IN PEARL WHITE OSO

• akinablue on Jul 23, 2011 at 10:54 am

but make sure bukan pearl white P2 yang mcm gigi tak gosok 8 hari tuh!

• no need to spend much on this old cow la proton, better a design a new saga model and put all the good stuffs..

• MoFaz on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:51 pm

yeah, Persona R is coming next year, with CVT, ABS, ESP.. and if i’m correct, with panoramic sunroof :)

• persona is in a different class. i agree wth you the new persona looks much better though..

• Valve on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:57 pm

all malaysian cars need ABS right now

• MoFaz on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:52 pm

all new car in australia must be fitted with ABS. maybe malaysia would follow soon.

• alldisc on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:15 am

good example is toyota in malaysia.. all passenger cars come with ABS as standard.

but malaysian mentality is different. they expect ABS to work even with bald tyres. ha ha haa

• rosdi on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:59 pm

Yes!… lagi-lagi-lagi-lagi-lagi-lagi-LAGIIIIIIIIIIIIIII best!!

• huuuu myvi engineers now pening kepala how to lawan with this model in their 1.5extreme model in terms of price,transmision,handling and most important safety

• Mr.VW on Jul 22, 2011 at 8:37 pm

memalukan….

• quattro on Jul 22, 2011 at 8:39 pm

THIS IS WHAT WE EXPECT FROM LOCAL CAR MANUFACTURE > TO B E LIKE KIA OR HYUNDAI, WE NEED ALL THOSE BASIC TECHNOLOGY THEN FROM THERE WE CAN LEARN MORE

• Kenny on Jul 22, 2011 at 8:41 pm

Funny how many thinks that specs is everything… Seriously i wouldnt buy this car if it had traction control, ebd or if it comes with a 2.0 turbocharged engine… The sheer ugliness of this version is just a put off, you have to be tasteless in order to stand in line to order something that looks this bad…i mean cmon… With the amount of resources in protons rnd and lotus engineering and this is the best you could do? Does cheap really have to look ugly, they call this the peoples car… So ure trying to say that the people have no taste and will buy the junk u came out just to fulfill the segment? P2 myvi might not win any award but its sure a lot more friendly to the eye… On the side note the satria neo is just plain pretty, wasted they segmented it as a 2 dr.. The worse market in malaysia…

• u myvi owner ha??..very marah ha..why?..ur myvi not so value-for-money than cheaper+more space than myvi+bigger engine=Saga ha?.. =D

• Kenny on Jul 23, 2011 at 4:01 pm

well you’d like to think i own a myvi wouldnt ya, sorry to dissapoint you, i drive nothing of those local makes. only JDM’s, my opinion would be that proton could make a proper peoples car than to throw something that looks like the facelift version of the BLM… even the pre facelift BLM looks so much better… so throwing some additional specs in would not justify the throw off look of this car…to each his own…

• Wisdom on Jul 24, 2011 at 10:34 am

So u are the champion. All these local car is junk. I wonder why u even comment here.

Dont bother to comment next time if your objective is to brag…

• Kenny on Jul 24, 2011 at 11:48 am

Funny that if i have a preferrence to buy to my own liking means i am bragging… I did not say local cars are junk, you put that word in my mouth,

Ppl here can be very sentitive towards comments, i commented the fl looks bad then im immediately a owner of a myvi, next i say i dont drive local makes, then im a brag… I was also accused of being a p2 sales man… Its not okay to suggest or post a personal view in here witout ppl assuming that youre the enemy… You all prefer to just take what is given than to have the right to choose… Whats so wrong about a honest opinion, if proton is really listening then probably it will do you consumers good on the nex generation of saga…

Think what u want, i have my thought that i will keep… And please if i wanted to brag i wouldve put down the make and model of wha im riding… I dont see it relevance here, i was merely dismissing a accusation that im a myvi owner…damn

• Japan out of leauge le now.. now is conti time n korean car now.. haha… and yes proton are making its way to be the champion value for money car.

• Kenny on Jul 24, 2011 at 4:03 pm

kc.. suddenly koreans are in the league? and why would that be… koreans used to be junks… and since the latest forte, sonata… all of the sudden they the league now? well my point in design is somewhere in there…

suzuki was a dead brand in malaysia too… and the swift did quite ok cause it looked good…well the specs and the price was not promising at all…

conti are slowly going out the league too.. with the new beemers and merc design language, its not really worth that much anymore… audi is upcoming tho…

• people with money and taste will definitely choose better car than saga. myvi not so value-for-money than cheaper+more space than myvi+bigger engine=Saga? dude, not everyone buys car with regard to that. mini cooper is a lot smaller, yet it is a better car. so are volkswagen beetle, suzuki swift, sx4. it is understandable if saga is the only car you can afford…

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:55 pm

Ask that to any made in China car which are made cheap for the people and still looking ugly and please ask that too to Toyota or Honda.

• Kenny on Jul 23, 2011 at 4:07 pm

china cars never made it here, nor did the new fugly vios… the city fared better due to its renewed looks but not an award winner tho…but again, the older generation vios did real good looking sweet with moderate specs…. and it was a winner, same goes to the altis… fugly as hell… camry, expensive, and a pure looker.. much a lexus and a winner… expensive does not mean beautiful, cheap does not mean ugly… the 4dr 3 series is just pure rubbish.. look at its popularity.. look at how the older much smarter e46 fared… get my drift?

• Mienzz on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:26 pm

Another desperate P2 salesman

• MoFaz on Jul 22, 2011 at 11:05 pm

it’s not easy to make pretty sedan. the more complicated would increase the production cost. so, if the production cost become higher, would you still be able to offer low price? Peugeot 207, even though CKD in Gurun, is priced at more than 70k. now, how much is Saga again?.. only half of that. unless saga were sold in hundreds of thousands units in a year, proton wouldn’t get the economy of scale just yet. most of other manufacturers also didn’t give ‘pretty’ sedan as entry level car, otherwise it might jeopardize their other segments.

• Pro-Nissan on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:59 am

tzk tzk tzk…..the price of CKD car stil considered over price due to high margin by the company!!! so…never compare it in this way!!

• alldisc on Jul 23, 2011 at 11:38 am

so not true. outside carmakers must sell high to protect local companies.

dont expect govt to allow vios sold same price as persona. or hyundai i10 same price as the viva.

• alldisc on Jul 23, 2011 at 11:36 am

we malaysians (the biggest supporter of P1 and P2) have talked about this many times again and again (economic of scale) and yet both car manufacturers failed to attrract sales outside malaysia…

how can they improve. how can they increase sales and reduce cost.

they must know what are the attraction of their cars. is it high tech? is it looks alone? is it about reliabilities..

why is it very very difficult for them to penetrate international markets. even India also still cannot sell 1,000 units per month. have they studied what was the problem?

• MoFaz on Jul 24, 2011 at 12:24 am

the problem is something that we ordinary citizen are unaware of. it’s all politics. not only malaysia, but japan and korea are protecting their carmakers also. u can’t find vios or altis in korea, similarly u can’t find hyundai car in japan.
          india and china has different policies. in china u need to work with local companies ( they rebadge ur cars, or do a JV with them) or you must build a factory to build your car there.

• Kenny on Jul 23, 2011 at 4:15 pm

“it’s not easy to make pretty sedan. the more complicated would increase the production cost. so, if the production cost become higher, would you still be able to offer low price?”

bro… nicer means more complicated?? who says its harder to make a beautiful sedan??

“Peugeot 207, even though CKD in Gurun, is priced at more than 70k. now, how much is Saga again?.. only half of that. unless saga were sold in hundreds of thousands units in a year, proton wouldn’t get the economy of scale just yet. most of other manufacturers also didn’t give ‘pretty’ sedan as entry level car, otherwise it might jeopardize their other segments.”

peugoet 207 sedan is a complete disaster… i mean its the perfect disaster of designs… and youre comparing the wrong car… a stretched hatch is always disastrous… look at the fiesta… stretch and fail… the swift, stretch and fail.., check the older vios, the city, kia forte,.. theyre more expensive because of how the price structure works… and they offer much more features and premium materials, yet they look good and sell well…

• MoFaz on Jul 24, 2011 at 1:02 am

okay, maybe 207 is not a good example. could you give me any other example that look nice sedan but within saga price?
          do take note that many manufacturers produce really good concept cars, but the production versions were mostly toned down due to cost cutting measure. hence, i stand corrected about my point that the more complicated shape and design would increase the production cost, would you still be able to offer low price for your car?

• Kenny on Jul 24, 2011 at 11:58 am

The honda city is the perfec example of how you can make a decent price car that wont burn a hole in your pocket…

First taxes, abolish them…

Then make the engine locally… Could even use the campro

Run the trim level to current blm standards…

Because of the volume you plan to produce , the company can lower the profit margin, but still have enough profit to survive.. After all its the peoples car…

There you shold have a decent sedan to make it to the below 45k mark…

Understand that the city is selling at 58k at its current trim at langkawi and last i heard is below 40k at japan… And if you compare apple to apple its not too hard to achieve what were all dream about… Its the passion towards making the proper car for the right market… Anyway i have a few rendition of how the saga will look the bomb with a slight movement of its current proportion…

Hey as the above suggest im just here to brag so probably its better to ignore me..

• MoFaz on Jul 24, 2011 at 1:58 pm

saga basic trim is still half-price than honda city in langkawi. wasn’t that explains something? and saga price in peninsular includes excise duty and sales tax, while that honda city price in langkawi doesn’t include tax. actually, honda city can be compared with persona, not saga.
            saga undergone lots of cost-cutting measure to enable proton to offer such low price for basic sedan. how come perodua couldn’t do the same with viva? that small car with nothing (no airbags, no abs, no power steering, and no reverse sensor) is priced almost the same as saga.
            abolish tax? u’re out of your mind. tax is the main income for the gov, any gov in the world need tax. only some countries in arab and brunei have super-low tax because they are running a monarch system (king rules the country) and the kings are rich from their natural resources. so, if u abolish the car import tax, some other tax will be increased. maybe higher income tax, or maybe all subsidies were also abolished. do you know that u need to pay about 40cent (RM1.20) of tax per litre for fuel in australia? yet saga price there is almost similar to what we have here. and because you like honda city, price of city there is between RM61-70k, and saga price is still half of honda city there.

• Kenny on Jul 24, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Ok firstly i might be out of my mind to say no tax, so lets put it that honda or any other brand dont pay what proton dont have to pay… Reduce the trim to blm, no premium stuff, hell even use the same engine as the fl for all i care, but retain the outlook, how much more would it cost to make a look good?.. Goodness, please dont jump to conclusion that i like honda’s just because i use them as my examples, i dont jump to conclusion that you are a hard on proton supporter… What i like is not relevant, what im implying is a better looking model to the eye, something that the public wont hesitate on buying… Its just shapes, without the proper shape / design, you first lose half the battle… Ever wondered why ugly cars never sell so well, so if proton is serious about selling cars then they should be serious about what they offer…

• Kenny on Jul 24, 2011 at 3:46 pm

okay heres something to ponder about…

http://www.nissanusa.com/microsite/versasedan/#/overview

looks not too bad with a “peoples” car price tag… 10990 usd = rm 32699.00

and then this

http://automobiles.honda.com/civic-sedan/

16,575 usd = rm 49316.00

mind you, thats a civic.. and thats also the selling price

so downsizing the city to a blm segment car isnt that hard..

and this is not on their home ground…

• MoFaz on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:21 pm

yes, i do get your point about the design, but to many people, the design is already OK, acceptable on saga. Proton managed to sell 8,500 units more than viva during jan-may this year. and 13,400 unit than a better-looking persona. you see, if the base model has lots of tech, and good looking, it may jeopardize other segments, in this case is persona.
            market size in US is about 50 times more than malaysia. of course they could reduce their profit rate but still make a handsome profit. now imagine if proton sell 50 times more car than its current output, surely they could do more compared to their limited resources now.
            that nissan versa u mentioned is derived from hatchback version. Here, they’re known as Latio Sport. price in US is RM40-50K but RM70K here in Langkawi. see, smaller market size would force manufacturers to increase their profit rate. Certain Hyundai cars were sold cheaper in US compared to Korea too. a report mentioned it’s still cheaper even if u import that hyundai car from us to korea.
            price of camry in thai is RM140k, but the same car in Saudi is RM80K.. that’s why we couldn’t just pick any country and use price of cars outside as a benchmark. you could, try look for other country which has similar market size.

• Kenny on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:33 pm

bro, i can understand there is good sales numbers when compared to a much smaller car which is also much more expensive if compared trim to trim, many buy this car due to lack of choices within that budget constrain, but again i dont think a good designed saga will in anyway affect the Persona – well if they position the the persona in the right premium segment with the right look and proper price to spec. the 3 / 5 / and 7 always kept a good distance between each other, same goes to vios / altis and camry… a good city wont hurt the civic / accord market… but a bad design car paves way for competition to steal market share.. and thats what really matters, also a good design dont stop locally, move it within asia with the right price, look and spec and there’s where the economic of scale will show itself… VW has the best all rounder good design in nearly every offering be it polo, golf, scirocco, passat, eos, and passat cc… look at what design has done for VW… it could be similar for proton

i thank you for understanding im not here to fight over where proton is standing or what additional safety theyre adding, im just saying that the FL is seriously something proton need to reconsider in terms of design, im not a flaming troll trying to make trouble… i feel that proton could do so much more with what they have,

anyway im sorry if i had been harsh in any point, ok finally lets end this and move along.

• so you rather hav a beautiful car with rubbish handling, super thirsty+lowperforming engine n without any safety feature than this? i know i dont…

n compared to toyota dugong, this car, in my opinion, is a tad more good looking. :D

• Kenny on Jul 23, 2011 at 4:17 pm

i did not say cars should come with rubbish feature, but features alone will not be enough to drive good sales, not anymore…

• Kuzumi on Jul 22, 2011 at 8:47 pm

i feel that pretensioner on Persona Elegance High Line not working at all…

• theking on Jul 23, 2011 at 12:38 am

kuzumi,

of course since u never fasten ur seat belt!

• ahmadi on Jul 23, 2011 at 8:23 am

Kuzumi,

do you know what pretensioner seatbelt function is?

• alldisc on Jul 23, 2011 at 11:43 am

surely he doesnt know what he he was writing about… only unless he is involved in a crash.

dont get me wrong, pre-tensioners only work upon very strong impact ie an accident.

• Drebar on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Very proactive for Proton to bring it perhaps as a standard accesories across all Proton models.

It’s time govt pass a law making mandatory for all car sold here must be equipped with ABS, minimum dual front airbags, immobiliser, ESP traction control etc.

Regarding the CVT, well Proton must show just efficient the car in real terms eg. fuel mileage consumption against other competitors.

Why not put some twin CPS on both intake and exhaust? That would improve efficiency further and also emission (lower CO2 released per km)

Confident enough Proton? Derive the car price based on mileage efficiency and CO2 emission rather than engine capacity in calculating the car duties taxes hence the total OTR price.

Competition is good eh, Proton!

• Wall sitter on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:48 am

Law making won’t success, if so, they are in deep deep trouble. They can’t even pass some certain requirement that they implement themselve. Example, recalling campaign. If, found certain parts encounter certain problem, the “boleh jalan sudah la” type of thinking will just go ahead with the product. Law will just kill themselve. If you don’t think so, think again. Maybe right maybe wrong, maybe may not! Yes, no, yes, no? You decide!

• congrats Proton. Keep it up! ^^

• Forteowner on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:12 pm

ADA BRAKE SUDAH…………

• Jimmy on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:22 pm

As usual, X means extra features = extra money. Too bad proton has always put safety features like ABS and airbags as an option. Very responsible. These new features are most welcome thou.

• unimpressed on Jul 23, 2011 at 2:24 pm

well, as you can read from some of the comments above, not everyone wants / bothers with these safety features.

• paparadzi on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:22 pm

A Saga 1.3 manual with airbags and ABS? Perfect for 2nd car and college-going kids. Cheap and safe.

• civicEK on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:55 pm

a good start, but please catch up faster or u will be left faaaaar behind with the korean~

• RedBeanBun on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:46 pm

so the Sage will be price hike to RM60K with all this new features…hahahha…

• narakka on Jul 23, 2011 at 1:18 am

below 46k lah.=,=

• U think they like P2 meh??? Add on Accessories than cost sky high, yet still said reasonable price???? 60 to 70k??? reasonable price???? No CVT!!! No New Engine!!! just old car with new looks~ Haiz~ =.=”

• ye la tu.. FL aku meluncur bila emergency brake.. time hujan..

• Mr Wancer on Jul 22, 2011 at 11:43 pm

You used cheap tyres of course la.

That also don’t know how to think ar?

• MoFaz on Jul 22, 2011 at 11:43 pm

FL takde ABS, sebab tu la skidding. ABS boleh hentikan kereta atas salji, patutnya takde masalah kalau dalam hujan.

• alldisc on Jul 23, 2011 at 11:46 am

a lot of factors affect braking performance. the weight of car, the tyre width and contact surface, speed, road surface and if its wet, how wet is it.

the size of disc rotors and number of pistons as well as the material used in brake pads – they all counts!

• u forgot a thing…driving skill…lol

• bliss on Jul 23, 2011 at 10:48 pm

my waja was easily maneuvered during heavy raining
            at that time from kl to picc putrajaya only 30 mins
            that’s crazy but i believe in LOTUS RIDE AND HANDLING!

• khairul hilmi on Jul 22, 2011 at 11:30 pm

ABS = Aku break sendiri…

• Thought with ABS, I can see the passanger airbag is missing.

• u cnt even see the honda n toyota for passenger airbag at the back right??vios n city..lol

• from my informer, they will have 2 airbag. Maybe in future, two airbag is must have in every malaysian car.

• jusoh on Jul 23, 2011 at 12:24 am

Paul, do you know whether this Saga FLX comes with 1.3L or 1.6L engine?

• nabill on Jul 23, 2011 at 12:27 am

the 1.6 is curently selling around rm46xxx….i think it makes sence the this FLX is sold around that price as well BUT with 1.3 engine only….

• generation on Jul 23, 2011 at 11:16 pm

Proton still need to sell Persona… Who will prefer Saga over Persona?

• megat on Jul 23, 2011 at 6:12 am

I dont see how this is a bad thing. an average joe, seeing more abbreviations on the brochure is always good. aha

• Jerry on Jul 23, 2011 at 6:14 am

Wait-a-min – I am sorry but the Saga has never had ABS?! Gosh.

• kuncisudu on Jul 23, 2011 at 8:08 am

selama ni saga takde abs? deng. good thing i get a hline savvy.

all car manufacturer should put abs and dual air bag as standard to all their car.

• Peterpj on Jul 23, 2011 at 9:06 am

Yes, finally ABS on the Saga! Have been waiting for this (quite basic) safety feature for every new version that released. Good job and hope the price remains at its reasonable levels too =)

• there are some serious staunch proton supporters here, from the thumbs down every time a bad comment is given. i have driven the saga FL, i have driven the new myvi, and i can tell you, myvi has improved in term of driving feel and easily outmatched saga FL in term of city driving. the big engine greatly benefits saga in long distance driving, but still, if you want a car that is both good to drive in short and long distance, i would recommend honda or toyota car. proton may be improving, but it still not there yet. after so many previous flaws, it will take time to regain buyer’s confidence. remember perodua’s kancil and rusa? but they quickly learn from their mistakes and as in right now, leaving proton some distance behind.

• wait till persona r turbo is out,
      and feel the power of force induction

• MoFaz on Jul 24, 2011 at 12:38 am

good handling in the city? what type of manoeuvring u do in city? handling is not just about going in and out of your parking lot only.
      people are complaining about back-pain after sitting as back passenger in Alza, while persona has already improved on this issue. to me, long distance travel is already good in waja and persona, and they’re more fun to drive too. the seats are better in waja compared to vios too :)

• part of city maneuvering is going in and out of parking, not to mention going through tight spots in one way road or entering a packed lane. there is a reason why compact car is compact, and it is more focused on city driving. did i mention alza? i said myvi. for me, fun to drive must also take account of maintenance charge incurred. we know waja is quite a disaster to a large number of user. power windows broken, gearbox broken. persona has fared better., but as i said, it will take some time to regain buyer’s confidence. for long distance driving, i can say that both vios and city are definitely better, though city is slightly better than vios. but proton models are still nowhere near these two.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 24, 2011 at 3:08 pm

The so-called “city maneuvering” that you’ve described is supposed to be under driving skills. So, are you going to compare a Merc and a Viva and conclude that Viva has better city handling just because Viva is small? That’s why they put forward sensors to assist parking. About handling and safety, those goodies only contribute up to 20% only; the remaining 80% comes from the drivers themselves. In other words, it a lousy driver drives a Viva or a Merc, then the handling will be lousy as well.

• You mean Saga does not have ABS all these while?

• Minah on Jul 23, 2011 at 11:37 am

Proton don’t have to develop all the new techs because they already developed by the supplier, they just pick what gadget they want to install and just plug and play like computer.

• which mean save cost~ Good move~

• while engineering principle is ‘going with known technology lessen the cost and risk’. it is pertinent that proton develops its own tech. abs, for example, is developed to counter sliding motion while braking hard, particularly on ice. why don’t proton develops tech that can assess damage to tires/rims when a car is driven over a pothole? it is more beneficial to malaysians, seeing that many of us has experienced flat tire due to puncture when the car is driven over a particularly nasty pothole. all in all, creativity and originality are rare aspects in proton right now.

• MoFaz on Jul 24, 2011 at 12:51 am

ABS is not just for ice, it’s very useful even on dry tarmac. i’ve seen a car skidded and banging few other cars because the tires are locked and the driver failed to regain control of the car. and remember, malaysia has alot of rain too, the situation on the road is less severe than ice surface but still dangerous.
        tech for potholes? come on man… i believe there’s no other car company doing that also, and i think the reason is simple… they didn’t manufacture their own rim and tyre, so why should they scratching their head about it?

• read carefully man…i said to counter sliding motion while braking, particularly on ice. that sort of thing happens a lot on slippery surfaces rather than dry surface. i’m not saying it’s not important, but i’m merely stressing the need for proton to develop its own tech, not just plugging what is available and call it a day. there is a tech for detecting low tire pressure, do u know that? i’m sure it is not developed by rim or tire companies.

• Minah on Jul 24, 2011 at 12:22 pm

You name it, they can install it but who wants to pay for the cost.

• ABS help to control the car while u in emergency brake le.. to avoid the tyre lock and for u the driver to control the car… not related to ice. if u mention abt traction control, yes it is relate to ice/slippery surface..wake up boy…

• there is so many thumbs up on good comments because p1 is the true made in malaysia and is not contolled by stingy japanese which untung so much still so little r and d only change to eps!engine,chasis,transmission all same we thumbs up proton because there show effort in making better car we want improvement not consistency!!

• you don’t want consistency? wow…look at that. i wonder what will happen if the brake of your car does not have consistency.

• Buy this car and throw away the funny clowns Wajalution,Wiralution,Sagalution and Satrialution lolx

• Yamaha on Jul 23, 2011 at 7:46 pm

The New saga FLX will be price below RM45k for Executive(high) model. good new,
    “Its Even Better”

• wow..finally proton caught up to the nineties….lol

• Kenny on Jul 23, 2011 at 11:10 pm

well i received a whole lot of bad rating up there… anyway heres what i thought the peoples car should look like… im not saying its good but i would think its better than what were given now… include some specs mentioned here and i would reckon a better acceptance to the car.. again its just my opinion

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v311/KennyYeoh/sagarevisited.jpg

• nice touch up. however, this saga looks ‘funny’ from the beginning, so proton better focused on a new saga i.e. a totally new model. make it good looking n practical people car..

• bongek on Jul 24, 2011 at 12:15 am

hi proton,, your car features become interesting from time to time…but when till u start to enter other country aggressively? i heard india project long time ago….. few top level post already given to their citizen,,,but still no good progress….

it not fair that only malaysian have to support you for your own survival…please proceed with other nation market…. you also have a good rally car… you can do it…i trust u

• MoFaz on Jul 24, 2011 at 12:56 am

about the venture to other countries, i believe that info could be still “confidential”. they could not talk about it until there’s black & white. and i don’t like proton to boast to much like Tony F in F1but nothing happen in the end.

• Wisdom on Jul 24, 2011 at 10:40 am

So u are the champion. All these local car is junk. I wonder why u even comment here.

Dont bother to comment next time if your objective is to brag…

Lots of us here owning foreign car so no need to tell your story…

• callenish on Jul 24, 2011 at 1:44 pm

whenever proton do something better, people will start talking about those past (lapuk) bad experience.

if you really worship your T or H, why don’t anybody mention about the first T car’s which can’t even climb a hill?

i’m not a big P1 supporter and i don’t even care what brand the car is, the important thing to me is the car fit for purpose with reasonable price. cheap or pricey is subjective, rm50k can be cheap for me but not for others.

give credit for something good, don’t bash blindly for the sake of giving comment.

• Kenny on Jul 24, 2011 at 4:14 pm

T & H has its junks too.. not all proton is bad, the saga FL is terrible on the looks tho… the satria neo is a superb looker, would be a perfect win if it was 4 dr… persona is ok but nothing to shout about.. savy… neh…

my point : http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v311/KennyYeoh/chromaworks/neo4mod.jpg

purpose is important but design isnt secondary either… many car makers succeeded to make top sellers just based on looks as the primary selling point… whats the main difference between the civic and altis today? looks… even the resale value can be effected by the design.. yes no doubt durablity and spec does do a car good, the buy has to lay eyes on the external daily, like it or not, and a good design to a certain extent – makes the buy ever so satisfying

• VoidDance on Jul 24, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Hey guys, if you want to see the Saga FLX, go to Proton’s show room in Giant Hypermarket Kelana Jaya. The put it one on display with the bonnet wide open.

I asked the sales person about the price. Though they don’t yet have the final price, it is around RM1000 more than the current high-end version of Saga (Executive?). So, it most likely be around 44 – 45k (1.3 litre version).

Oh yeah, it has ABS+EBD and CVT transmission. Great.

• kamaji on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:33 pm

So it looks like P1 having a tough time pricing this new entry huh.Well I reckon the 1.6 FLX model should be @ around 45k…WHY-No doubt that the ABS+EBD will be an added cost but I believe a CVT box will be cheaper to mfg as compare to a conventional autobox, afterall it has less parts & also no gears.Secondly, anything above 45k will make it less attractive as an entry level family saloon not forgetting the bigger brother Persona is closely priced there.

• driver on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:13 am

p1 condemn p2
    p2 condemn p1
    foreigner condemn p1,p2
    p1,p2 condemn foreigner
    mau perfect sgt bikin company sendiri la ayooo