Mazda 2 CKD assembly in Vietnam from October 2011

The Mazda 2 will be locally assembled in Vietnam from October 2011 in a newly constructed assembly plant in the Nui Thanh district of the Quang Nam province, with sales of the locally assembled cars to begin in the same month.

The assembly plant where the Mazda 2 will be assembled is owned by Vina Mazda Automobile Manufacturing Co, a 100% Vietnamese owned assembly and sales company with no capital ties to Mazda. The plant plans to produce 2,000 units o the Mazda 2 per annum. Mazda plans to assemble other models at the plant in the future with a target total annual production of about 10,000 cars.

This will be the first Mazda to be locally assembled in Vietnam since Vina Mazda started officially distributing the marque in Vietnam in March 2011. As usual, the reason for local assembly is to avoid high import tariffs.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• everywhere but in malaysia .

• Bob Vettel on Aug 30, 2011 at 8:05 pm

If you can work as cheaply as the Vietnamese & Thais, then go ahead.

• but what…we get subaru, pug and VW…dont u remember….we cannot bolot all..how selfish malaysian..all they want and non for other

• if u read carefully
      “100% Vietnamese owned assembly and sales company with no capital ties to Mazda”
      who can interpret the meaning?

• Unforgiven on Aug 31, 2011 at 9:20 am

Something like Proton making Inspira.
        The different is Vietnamese able to use the original badge of Mazda.
        M’sian must use the badge of Proton instead of Mitsubishi.

• Unforgiven on Aug 30, 2011 at 4:55 pm

We have CKD Mazda 3, it’s just that the price is still on the high side…

• Proton on Aug 30, 2011 at 5:14 pm

So… they just a ‘CHEAP LABOUR’ to work for others.

Here we have our own local brand, fully design and built by our own countryman, with full of passion for the nation interest and economy.

Rather than having foreign brand assembly their car in our land, we have our own national car appear elsewhere around the earth. We must proud of what we having now until others manufacture afraid to set up their factory to lure away our money in our land.

Syabas Proton.

• _xXx_ on Aug 30, 2011 at 6:13 pm

exactly what jaguh kg means…

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 30, 2011 at 6:17 pm

You poor deluded soul…..

• what we malaysian want…are we want to produce car for the world n to increase our eco? or we just want the car cheap as possible for us only?

• Masked Ryder on Aug 30, 2011 at 6:51 pm

Did i just see another financial lost for P1 couple day ago ? Yes i did !
      With this type of mentality it going to be a long dark tunnel ahead.
      Soon another lifeline fund from our EPF again.

• drMpower on Aug 30, 2011 at 11:41 pm

U didn’t exactly fair on the expert financial assessment
        The reports told why the significant reduction of profit

But this is expected from half ball like you

• tandoori on Aug 30, 2011 at 6:53 pm

Appear elsewhere around the world?????? Wat a joke! Maybe in the metal recycling potong shop la

• ko malu saje... on Sep 01, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Obviously you have not been traveling dude, open up your mind!

• Bat-a-man on Dec 19, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Well, i did saw a Gen-2 taxi in Taipei…so i guess there’s some truth in it.

• AngryBird on Aug 30, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Proton cars are designed and built by our own countrymen???? Ha ha ha ha….

• asgard on Aug 30, 2011 at 7:22 pm

proton are sold around the world, that what he mean, i want proton to be success

• Masked Ryder on Aug 31, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Base yr Nick drMpower, i can assumed u r highly influenced by the “Great” Advisor.
    1st of all why offcoz everybody know that huge fund been pump into that loss making Lotus, it was a dumb investment in the first place, or shall i said influenced by “bad advises”, selling niche market sports car in a glooming european market, which already oveflow with much better & wellknown sports car, not to mentioned fund been pump into F1 team which failed to score a single point.
    No wonder the stock market analyser advise “to SELL” their share.
    Now that no longer half truth isn’t it ?

• so the Viet Mazda2’s only supply the Viet local market? Or it takes over Thai’s production as well?

• Halem on Aug 31, 2011 at 5:45 pm

KS, My guess is that, Vietnam produce Left hand drive version, Thailand produce Right hand drive version.

• Jimmy on Aug 31, 2011 at 7:54 pm

That’s why I said before, nobody can save them.
    You can just hope and hope, argue and argue until the cows come home.

• Vietnamese auto policy is identical with the Thai.
    Want cheaper car price go for CKD.

• ko malu saje... on Sep 01, 2011 at 1:12 pm

I just don’t get it, when ever there is something called cheaper car or bla bla, the Proton topic just pop out from no where. Please la my fellow Malaysian, stop being emotional and let’s enjoy the world of motoring.

Dwelling too much on the negative side doe not help on our personal development. Would you be someone that is toxic or being cheerful? You decide :)