Rendering: Proton Saga meets Volkswagen Polo

Click to enlarge.

A news report suggests that Volkswagen has earmarked the Polo for a Proton remodelling job, and that a locally-made Polo could very well enter the scene “priced competitively at below the RM70,000 mark.”

While the usual form that comes to mind when someone mentions Polo is that of the hatch, let’s not forget that there’s also the Polo Sedan. Rendering wizard Theophilus Chin has sent in a tongue-in-cheek take on what would happen if the VW Polo and Proton Saga were to meld. The result, as he puts it, is the Proton Sago! Like what you see?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• layan je laaa…
    okay gak… dpt la merasa VW.. huhu

• Proton Bijak on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:45 am

Tahniah proton kerana melakukan design inocasi yang terkini. Ini lah pembaharuan yang ditunggu-tunggu oleh rakyat. kereta lagi murah dengan qualiti setanding dengan kereta eropah.

Tahniah sekali lagi kerana proton telah berjaya melakukan penjimatan untuk kita semua. Lepas nii kita sudah mampu membeli kereta murah dan JIMAT RM 40K daripada membeli versi Origenal.

“Proton Bijak, Rakyat Jimat”

• daamz on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:14 am

This is so obvious that VW is seriously trying to overcome T & H. Europe cars known in malaysia as the most finest quality car and it is true indeed, however the main problems of europe car in Malaysia is 2nd hand value and spare parts price.

VW JV with DRB-Hicom may show significant profit to them while Malaysian definitely will earn its benefit :) . This move, if its become reality will open UMW and Honda Malaysia eyes and make them improve their product quality.

VW and DRB may use Proton as a main factor of VW takeover control malaysia market from T & H.

This is good for 3 of them, VW, DRB and Proton itself. Trust me, if this move success, VW ckd 2nd hand price and spare parts price will be more make sense than before. This is what most malaysian want.

I’m not sure how many people here didnt like my statement.

Note: Above statements is my personal opinion and would not reflect directly to any organization. :)

• daamz on Mar 08, 2012 at 8:08 am

Hope people understand. The Rebadge and CKD is different thing. Let alone CBU VW with its own class. What i mean from my previous statement was DRB will earn a lot via its CKD products. The Rebadge product mainly purpose to decrease sceptical thinking towards VW 2nd hand price and sparepart in Malaysia. For me, this is really good strategy for them. About Proton? Yeah, its good for them, and for the workers. Don’t think about pride bla bla bla, let DRB run P1 and make some profit 1st. The full range transition needed to make sure P1 can break the Asia market. 1st, Rebadge’s CKD, then who know what will happen. Let see within this 5-7 years.

• anti-vios on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:55 am

Lawa jugak.. pada aku, nampak sama je Saga asal ngan Polo Sedan yang ni.. Baik beli Saga Jer…..Murah….

• go naza1 on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:43 pm

what did he do? other than photoshop a proton logo onto polo?

• biggbro on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:39 pm

prowagon it is then! and doom to all the vw owners, it wont be associated with german prestige anymore…just another shithole from tanjung malim

• rally_fan on Mar 06, 2012 at 4:09 pm

skoda used to be the biggest sh*thole from europe and the butt of everyone’s jokes…

but the again.. how VW come into Proton if they ever do, is totally unlike how they entered Skoda.

• Obama on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:44 pm

New Proton Saga $70k
        New Proton Persona $110k
        New Proton Inspira $ 190k

Good job Drb-Hicom!

• lol..tht one for rebadge car value RM 120K loo….nearest to half from the original price..can u imagine tht??off course la if persona later on use rebadge from skyline 110k inspira rebadge from merc…hahaha

• jenny ping on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:40 am

pfffttttttt….i prefer saga most rather than this!!!

• Adam J.T. on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:18 pm

Because the Saga has has a 4-speed Auto as opposed to the(maybe,maybe not) 7-Speed DSG or maybe u like having a car that creaks & groan after 2 months of leaving the showroom?? ;p

• alldisc on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:46 pm

i think its because the Saga sells at 40K, while the polo with turbocharged 1.2 or 1.4 with 7 speed DSG is likely 30-40K more.

saga is a better bet!

• papa rich on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:01 pm

the best thing about the POLO is the engine…
      and…. the DUAL CLUTCH gearbox,
      and…. the quality of the material
      and…. the safety 5star euro NCAP
      there more ,, …

sorry proton, but the saga engine sound abit annoying especially when turn on the aircond
      also not sound insulated as good as the old myvi ..

test drive both car , feel the difference

• Letstorque on Mar 06, 2012 at 7:56 pm

Ii you’ve been in a Polo ,you know the interior quality is not on par with other Vw.In fact Fiesta ,which is almost Rm20k cheaper,is better quality .

• fraz006 on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:12 pm

i wrap the AC compressor like nasi lemak with insuflex, settle……. rm10 diy

• papa rich on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:10 pm

the best thing about the POLO is the engine…
      and.the DUAL CLUTCH gearbox 7spd, –save alot of fuel+fast gearchange (no gear oil)
      and…. the quality of the material — the ride feel + last longer ,
      and…. the safety 5star euro NCAP — safe
      and… 15000km for next maintenance (continental car)
      and… TSI engine world best engine (WORLD not Asean )
      there more ,, … just look at the polo review

sorry proton, but the saga engine sound abit annoying especially when turn on the aircond
      also not sound insulated as good as the old myvi ..

test drive both car , feel the difference .. worth alot

• PetrolLeg on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:47 pm

sorry, i believe it is not a fair judgement, one is less than 50K while the other is over 100K, quote ‘worth a lot’??? come on? I think on the same playing ground with all the policies and requirement, given a challenge to VW to come out with a car less than 50K I think they will give you similar.

• sumo_boy_berlin on Mar 06, 2012 at 7:44 pm

Sorry dude, i only can say that you are totally wrong with Germans. They would not simply produce cheep cars just to expand their market (Germans are famous for their quality control and pride with thier technology).
          They will still able to produce good cars even with price less than 50k if they want! Remember, they are not like japs that only focus on profits margins and would produce cheep yet overprice car.

• PetrolLeg on Mar 08, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Well you’re entitled to your opinion and the same goes to mine, but just a thought that if our currency is at developed nation level, then 50K is possible for VW to come out with reasonably quality vehicle, but at our currency level against the world, I think I must quote you “Sorry dude, i only can say that you are totally wrong”, and I agree with you that Japanese only focus on profit margin and that they would produce inferior or least amount of features and yet price their car as if they are of full specifications.

As long as our currency continues to stay this way with inflation rising like nobody business, owning a car in the coming years will be more expensive than ever. Anyway if you’re not in the automotive industry, I would suggest you to check with someone who is an ask about what prices are parts now? again at our currency level, if you want to produce VW quality, less than 50k, I must say that it will never happen, unless running a different strategy in Malaysia whereby they come out with barebones VW. the simplicity of a normal torque converter, NA engine, 2 airbags, japanese type seats, loads of plastic and etc. by then would you want this VW? where is the differentiation now?

• cars4life on Mar 09, 2012 at 12:10 am

sohai punya budak…
          hello. the polo is 100k because of duty lah. go and get ur facts right first before u talk

• CarLover on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Sure they’ll sell you a cheap and pull a Kia number on you and Kia learned it from HP and Canon.

Sell the car cheap, make sure the parts are expensive so you will still get back the money albeit slowly but surely.

• fraz006 on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:16 pm

yes, myvi is better. but , why the hell u want to buy a froggy floaty object when u can get much better, say persona, neo, gen2, waja in about same price range. i just effing hate myvi. like no soul at all. u can get 2nd hand honda, nissan with that price.

people buy saga coz of the cheapo price, period. damn all the noises and whatevs, as long as they can go to wherever they want everyday.

• This is enough ! VW u make me sick and shame on u ! i don’t like u anymore and u’ll lose ur supporters,fans,image and ur customers if u do this !

anyway lah why the headlights r so small yo?! looks fugly and i prefer the original Polo! 70k for this is overpriced ! pls Potongs leave VW and Mitsubishi alone coz less ppl like u !

• A people’s car costing RM70k or so will be suicide to Proton. The Saga has been and must always be the cheapest model coming from Proton, unless the Proton Sago is an all new model altogether. That means the current Saga will continue to sell for another 20 yrs like its predecessor.

• PakAbu on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Saga should be replaced by a city type car of similar size (something like Emas or Up!).

• caprico on Mar 07, 2012 at 7:48 pm

saga is the best option for medium income people looking for an affordable with bigger space and not car like myvi or anything small… they already have city car; Savvy..

• Johnny on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:34 am

70k for a saga? crazy..

• Alter on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:53 am

OK Johny, you buy the car with VW logo..let other ppl buy with saga logo!

• This is to attackk the Vios/City range. With the correct engine/drive train and accessories. It might make it. You can’t take down Myvi’s sales so why not bite the other pies.

• Kuchi Tiau on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:02 am

Not saga la…..new B Segment model…Proton Apolo… Kudos to Theo for the rendering!

• I thought should be below 70K right? as per article mentioned

• Crazy what….Saga is just the name only.The important is with VW engine & technology.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:35 am

Please make sure Proton’s special “Advisor” approves of this undertaking. He seems to be running Proton and the country again!

• cars4life on Mar 09, 2012 at 12:14 am

Ahhahahaa, yes. he sure is. Even has vested interest in LYNAS

• CY Chang on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:45 am

Again copy people car, 1st Mitsubishi Lancer and now Volkswagen Polo. Proton after 25 years still use people car change to proton name. this call Malaysia BOLEH – PROTON PUN BOLEH.

• rebadge is not copy. u want a copy just look at china. they even copy fighter jet.

• kusochon on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:12 pm

yes just like korean car amirite?

• screw you la wei why not bash perodua, rebadge all the way..

• Jeyan on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Rebadging us worst the copying- it is taking somebody else’s car and claiming it’s yours. I agree with the commentator – something not right if after 27 years making cars, still cannot come out with own design and technology but depending mainly on other people’s technology or rebadging. Better to be like Thailand , encourage other makers to build and assemble here. That way we still get jobs and QUALITY cars cheaply .

• CarLover on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:49 pm

Sure thing if you’re into cheap jobs. The real money making jobs are in investment banking, oil and gas a distant second.

• what do u mean cannot come up with own design?
        if not mistaken, only inspira not P1 design since waja day.

• Giving proton ability, I expect rebadgeing will give us more promising and better quality product, compare to proton own design.

Clearly, proton knew it. :)

• tokmoh on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:45 am

If with 1.2 TSI + DSG + start-stop + ABS at least at below rm70k, shut up and take my money!

• albag on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:46 am

feel like using china fake LV products… pffffttt…

• greenmonster on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:51 am

I don’t like the name Saga. Sounds very cheesy and cheapo. If they put on another creative nice name, then its okay.

• sirimusa on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:53 am

Eventhough I really love PROTON, we all know a rebadged Saga will be a much, much better product than anything PROTON can come up with in the next 10 years.

As for a raplcement Saga for 70k, it is suicide. But since the car will only be available in two years’ time, I wouldn’t be surprised if PROTON would be allowed to use an older chassis/engine/platform by VW to bring cost down to below 45k. And the curse continues…

• huh. older chassis when proton current one is comparable if not superior than Polo. Where the logic of that.

• joepng on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:58 am

look at it plate, SOGO??? da fuq..trolling or something eh??

• lim guan eng on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:01 am

HAHAHA RUBBISH

• Good

• dozy888 on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:02 am

Proton Sago will only sell well if it’s price around RM38K OTR..

• dragonajie on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:03 am

I dub this Protege Solo. Or simply Gen V. lol

• intermilan on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:07 am

saga + polo = salo?

this story really generate interest lah.

• anti perasan bagus on Mar 07, 2012 at 8:05 pm

Proton SOLO is a nice name. Proton Loga? In the mould of Iswara, who knows, hehe…

• jflee169 on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:09 am

First of all, let’s not talk about the what car to be made by VW for Proton. Let’s go back to the memory lane, the first collaboration was with Mitsu for sometimes which Wira is born. Then, Tiara which was with Citroen. After that, Savy with Renault. Amongst these, we can see only Wira consider a success for Proton.

And let’s briefly talk about how VW turn around Skoda. If my understanding is correct, Skoda is fully controlled by VW (correct me if I am wrong), therefore VW are allowed to make all the Skoda models under VW technology. In addition, geographical also part of the factor. VW use Skoda to penetrate Eastern Europe market.

As for the VW and Proton collaboration, as a start, Polo Sedan to be under Proton badge. What about other models? Unless VW has different business model in Malayasia whereby, if Malaysian want to a “Conti People Car” which cost more than RM 150k, come to VW, and Malaysian want “Asia People Car” which cost less than RM 100k, please by Proton-Wagen.

Anything can happen in Malaysia (Malaysia Boleh), who knows we can get a cheap VW Passat under Proton New Perdana.

The above just my 2 cents opinion.

• PetrolLeg on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:10 pm

I beg to differ that ‘Wira consider a success for Proton’, take away all the protectionism and the NAP, back in the 90’s and you’ll see where is Wira. They are so called ‘no choice people’s’ car back then because we had least choices due to all the increasing duty, barriers to entry and etc, the fact that it was the so called affordable for the majority. Remember at that time nobody could even buy cash or have the options to shed off the accessories that comes with it like super expensive décor stickers and numb-nut gear locks. Road tax was lopsided to those higher cc, but now things have turned around and the Europeans are with smaller cc engines, so what next? Roadtax based on horsepower? or NM?

Just my fair share of opinion and thoughts as a car buyer.

• jflee169 on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:57 am

PetrolLeg,
        Thanks for the clarification of my statement on “Wira consider a success for Proton”. I totally agreed that your statement on that, “no choice people’s car” back then. For an average joe in Malaysia, proton would be their first car when they got their license or getting their first new car. I believe everyone in Mal “used” to own a proton car. (which was in the 80’s and 90’s). But the question is, Proton didn’t give ppl in Mal the “royalty” feeling, it gave the impression that “once bitten by the snake, never go back to the forest again” . Who to blame? I no need to further elaborate this.

Let’s go back to the Proton-Wagen, VW bought other automotive company (as what alldisc stated), and it’s totally different in Mal. Prior to this, DRB has already signed an agreement with VW produce CKD VW cars, i.e. Jetta and Passat. by using the Pekan plant. Then, DRB bought Proton shares and become major shareholders of Proton. So, DRB may proposed to VW that now they are running Proton now, let’s made another deal, something like providing technical advisory. I believe VW is not that stupid to jeopardise their brand name in Mal by rebadging the Polo under Proton (by referring to Inspira).

At the end of the day, “Proton is still Proton” and “VW is still VW”.

• alldisc on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:55 pm

yes, you are right. VW makan Skoda.. and Seat.. and Bentley, and Bugatti… in order to be world automotive giant.

just like Fiat (owns Alfa Romeo, Ferrari, Lancia, Maserati) and Ford (owns Volvo, Jaguar, Land Rover, Lincoln and some shares in Mazda and Aston Martin)

• we can get a cheap VW Golf GTI under Proton New Satria.

• cazran on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:10 am

new name for re badge.. dont kacau2 existing name in proton… ;) and wira facelift please… :)

• wheeler on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:11 am

is this for real????

• aroma on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:11 am

Proton MD must keep his word that all Proton line up will maintain a 5 years life cycle. The Saga is due by 18th January 2013. He has another 10 months to launch a new model.

But I REALLY SHOCKED to find that he is using a rebadge for Proton Saga replacement. Saga the primary line up !

• Adam J.T. on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:42 am

Well,we know what happened with Skoda after VW took over…..Now this is a Paradigm Shift for Proton if it actually happens,though the Sago won’t be coming witha a 7-Speed DSG at that price(>RM70k)

• PakAbu on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:32 pm

I think most likely it will replace Persona which is already older than 5 years.

• lolipop on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:12 am

No matter how ugly I also will buy because it a VW ma

• Calvin Chin on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:14 am

We are not China/India with big domestic market. For local car manufacturers like Proton to survive, it must produce cars that meet Global standards, and can sell them overseas.
    I’m OK for Proton cars that uses foreign technologies, as long as it doesn’t cut too many corners that the final product actually fails to meet Global safety and emission standards.

• faisal on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:15 am

Boleh tahan jugak harga timing belt Volkswagen ni. Kalau timing Chain ok la.

• lan87 on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:23 am

nicee… this ‘Polong Segan’ will cost near rm70k???
    better add a bit more and get inspira lol…

• papa rich on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:35 pm

bro , u get world’s best engine
      better f.c and 0-100kmh mark than the vios …
      see the specs ….. test drive, u will know the world best engine feels like with fast shift

• johan on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:23 am

use tsi engine or campro cps turbo only?

• BeemerFreak on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:43 am

Hope there would be engine development with vw as well. Get rid of the cvt and use a normal 6 speed auto with a tsi inspired Campro cfe engine, with vw valve timing and direct injection technology

• put the 1.2TSI…splendid

• encik boss on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:27 am

It’s not Saga..It’s Sago!!

• vee_duble_vey on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:37 am

Looks quite nice…if Proton put the 1.2TSi engine, it’d be fantastic!

• AripSon on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:27 am

Last time, when VW want to kongsi2 kilang, Proton dont want…
    Act very langsi…
    Then kena force takeover by DRB-Hicom
    Now, no choice already!
    Cuma dpt Polo… Mintak lar Tiguan and Toureg!
    Or, it is just a very cunning maneuver by somebody with high influence that walks the corridor of power…

• inderaloka on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:36 am

Hahaha! You make my day, Anthony! :-D

• haha.!! sago!! that made my day :D

• ntahla, nmpk styling dh lbih kurg sama jer. yg kita nk drpd proton interior feel yg lebih ‘kemas’ and mechanical component yg thn lama.

utk tu xperlu rasanya smpi kena JV dgn vw, apatah lg naikkan harga smpi 70k. tu melampaui batas tu

• clement on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:57 am

I realized one thing bad happening in Proton. It is being to lose it own identity rather than creating it own identity to the world. Proton will no longer produce its own car but the High Tech Tg Malim Plant will be use to assemble foreign cars with Proton emblem.

Does this creating more brain drain as all the automotive degree students will seek job in other countries or foreign companies rather than working in Proton? This issue need to be addressed immediately and tackled.

I hope that the PM will do something before we lose one of own identity and pride of nation to the world.

• papa rich on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:21 pm

its for the good of people + new technology development , not just copy paste ..
      good product at cheaper price,, malaysian now will learn more about DSG n TSI ..
      not just some old school type of turbo and lame gearbox…
      next part , new model by proton + new engine by proton with DSG , who knows…

all about new best technologies in the world , not asean … world,,
      think about it

• Adam J.T. on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Sorry lah bro,but Proton had enuff time & resources to make it big in the auto world but didn’t.So now this is the new roadmap…National Identity or not.

• busybody on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:15 pm

IN every business hardwork take up 60% and “luck” 40%.
      Hope this VW luck can drive Proton further.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:02 pm

First thing is, has proton become a vehicle assembler from a manufacturer? While i have no complaints if Proton chooses to do so to remain relevant, then its due time to think about the NAP since we don’t have any manufacturers to protect since they are all assemblers. :)

I’d be surprised if Proton actually does this in the near future…but that said, Proton has a knack for doing the rather weird in its product line-up.

I am wondering why proton would do up cars with similar size that it already makes.

The Saga is fine for what it is. Basic transportation and FWIW, a much better preposition than a basic Viva. So why would Proton make another sedan which is almost twice the price for the same size?

same goes to why proton sees the need to have 3 cars in the same size segment….Inspira, Persona, Gen2…which are all theoretically C-segment sized cars…and on a longshot, along with the aging Perdana.

If anything, Proton ought to be trying to adopt an older platform Passat to be re-done as the new Perdana. The longitudinal engine’d platform would be a challenge but I’m sure there is enough platforms in VAG to choose from….or maybe even the new larger PQ46 platforms…. using platforms doesn’t mean having the vehicle look the same as the current VW range so that would be do-able.

• A rebagde VW Polo with make Perodua make happy.

A 70k SAGO , forget it. It will kill PROTON.

We would prefer to the New P3-21A.

• Observer on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:18 pm

I prefer proton to rebadge and sell cars rather than building their own car using their own brains….wira,perdana,iswara all are superb cars more than 10 years still solid…they start to use their brains and came out with persona saga blm waja all problematic cars….

• Seriously on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:38 pm

That’s Proton’s New Saga right there…

• Maserati on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:47 pm

Proton Poga

• statistician on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Good rendering can can you please remove the car badge ?

PUUUIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII when i look at the badge

• kereta_lembu on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:22 pm

To those talking about Proton identity…WHAT identity? The only similar thing you get across all the models over the years is bad/negative feedback from consumers. Design wise, PROTON has NO identity.

Proton has been around for quite some time but the results are still not good enough. I don’t think they can suddenly improve on quality and design unless they do these rebadging of cars from VW or Mitsubishi. To make their own, simply cost too much and there’s no guarantee the end product would be good enough to be well received.

As much as PROTON was supposed to be our pride & joy, but sadly it has become a joke & sad story…to some, even an embaressment. If they want to turn things around, with VW, this is their big chance. Since our hopes of owning good & nice cars is a dream for most Msians (Thanks to the rediculous pricing of cars)…this is the next best thing if its priced correctly.

• i start to see identity of proton, exora, p321a, saga, persona . all have similar chrome lining design between the front badge, can’t you see?

gen2, persona, waja, have double chin if you see from in font, from back, both have high boot , from side the curve is low then get higher to back part. the designs are much more conti
      i think you still travel on your beloved kereta lembu that’s why you can’t see it

• Paul Tan for Prime Minister on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Look at our national football team Harimau Malaya, they are no where near all the world leading football teams but we like them so much because they work HARD and FIGHT with PASSION and DIGNITY in every match. A small step in securing the Suzuki Cup is already happy enough for us to declare a public holiday.

We Malaysian never expect Proton to produce Formula 1 champion but please do something make us Malaysian proud. Come on man, you can do better………..
    DO not just rebadge rebadge rebadge until the world ends. After Polo whats next ?
    PLEASE GROW UP.PROTON !

• PetrolLeg on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Back to square one! i guess, or wait for another wave of policies that is blowing towards their angle, since the company is slowly moving into another direction and what you do not have now is technology and let alone people specialities/talents probably re-badging is the better way to go to bring up your coffers before getting the enough dough to do research and development. With this direction of re-badging, history could very well repeat itself similar to previous Mitsubishi partnership. VW probably wants the entry level car pull through so when the time comes of changing car you’d probably go for VW, and that VW needs the units here in Asia to knock away the Japanese and Koreans. maybe wrong but just worth pondering.

• Just have a look at the over-priced Audi A1 and you might see a Saga in some angles.

• introducing proton poga

• Spend Our Ringgit Wisely on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:29 pm

A reasonably good margins shared by BOTH VW and Proton should resulted in the price tag on the base line model at USD18,000 or MYR57,600 (USD1 = MYR3.20)

VW Golf starts at USD17,995 in USA, prices are highly transparent these days, price manipulation will only burden Malaysian by spending their hard-earned savings on cars with inferior specs and safety features.

I will take RM59,999 IF there are good level of technology transfers between the two companies and DRB-HICOM is managed under the system of meritocracy

• PetrolLeg on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:55 pm

Well I think our country should have stronger currency against the world, should drive better economics and encourage more exports, FDI and the whole works. Eventually if we have strong currency in which of course is needed for a so called developed nation then the products we pay for will eventually go to equilibrium and balance with out capacity to pay.

• You are right.

But there’s been some interesting developments lately. KHAZANAH has disposed all its Proton shares to a private citizen, Syed Mokhtar Al Bukhary of DRBHicom (DRBHicom is not a GLC) . Which means Proton is owned by a private citizen instead of the general Malaysian Public. In other words, PROTON IS NO LONGER A NATIONAL CAR .There is absolutely no reason to pay exorbitant taxes put up by the govenment in order to protect Proton when it WAS a national car.

Furthermore, Syed Mokhtar also holds the agency for Honda , VW, Audi , Suzuki, Citroen etc etc. We should not be paying a single cent to protect Syed Mokhtar .

Who knows if he has any motivation to see Proton flourish over its rivals……. he owns all the brands anyway. Why should he care?

We better take care of our wallets instead of his vaults.By right, we should be paying RM59,999 for the Golf, like you said, and not a cent more.

• HollyFish on Mar 06, 2012 at 5:07 pm

Although Proton is now owned by DRB-HICOM, but it is still consider a national car maker.

Why? Because it’s still made in Malaysia.

• Unforgiven on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:09 pm

It’s still under Tun M, money in his pocket I guess.

• makeitmine on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:43 pm

What VW should do now is to have joint engine development with Proton/Lotus/DRB-HiCOM. Perhaps a cheaper and more efficient engine can be manufactured in Malaysia with the collaboration.

You can’t change Proton overnight. VW has different design/manufacturing philosophy.

Next step, to see what Lotus/Proton can contribute to ride and handling of present Polo. DRB-HiCOM can then start producing the much improved Polo version for Asia.

Not all VW name is good. Bad plastics and rubber, and water leaks of present VW Polo will haunt Proton. The body paint work may be bad too. In other words, VW Polo may not be worthy of rebadging.

The VW Polo is only AVERAGE for space and practicality. It may not sell well with Malaysians.

Maybe, Proton should improve the Saga with some of the nice features/parts from VW. Much worst can happen if VW Polo is chosen as replacement model for Saga.

• hassan on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:58 pm

can get loan meh?

• vroom on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:08 pm

nicely done photoshop with persona rims..Proton can clear all old stock parts by putting into new rebadge model..this is what we call strategic management…hahaha

• C’mon ppl, look at China before us… Their copy and paste technique is far beyond our imagination, near to EVERYTHING that enters that market will be COPIED… I would prefer a Malaysia product more than the China.

BTW, good job for the rendering!

• someone on Mar 07, 2012 at 8:54 am

Dude you are still in the 80’s…today we have quite a few of Cherry…on our road. China will lead in the near future as their market and demand for cars will grow many folds….this will give them opportunities to make better cars in the near future.

• kamaji on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:30 pm

Correct me if I’m wrong guys.If paying 70k for this so called saga is absurd,then do you actually think that paying 88k for a vios is a good buy.Then again why not go for the present saga which cost half the price of vios.Sadly but true fact is that the build quality, status & branding is of another league.Hence, I think that this Prolo is meant to head on with the current T & H model while P1 will continue developing the saga to meet the lower end market.

• ABTguy on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:40 pm

You forgot to mention the unbelievable resale value of VIOS, I hate that car too but the cruel fact is that if I have the money, I still go for that than Saga.

• i’d go for persona, bigger, cheaper, less resale value than vios but overall ownership cost much cheaper and depreciation value also lesser
        very stable on highways which vios cannot beat

• ABTguy on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:35 pm

To put the facts right, Proton is never a pride & joy for Malaysian, except for a very few UMxx guys. They felt that because the car buyers were (and still are) robbed with high profits yet delivering subpar quality cars.

During the takeover talks between VW & Potong a while ago, due to the substantial requirement to remove non-performing suppliers & so called the national pride, it was a no-go by our G. So how the bloody lazy company can improve quality or produce better cars ? Rebadge VW lah….

To me this is a brilliant solution ….. in business, do what is right to make more $$

• “To put the facts right, Proton is never a pride & joy for Malaysian, except for a very few UMxx guys.”

lol if you are not a malaysian are you?
      proton already won several world racing titles, still not proud?

“subpar quality cars”
      persona handles much better than vios and city, still subpar?

• Unforgiven on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:04 am

UMxx guy do not have to drive cheap car on weekend, they have their own conti as pride and joy, proton is just for the very rich to get free money.

• ABTguy on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:32 am

Persona ? Is handling everything ?

In today’s world, I think fuel consumption, reliability (fuss free, let alone the notorious power windows fear) and resale value are the key deciding factors.

Open an Excel file, try plot in 2 cars, one persona and another say Vios. Take (investment cost) – (resale value in 5 years) – (entire running cost) – (interest cost) to find out the total cost of ownership.

I bet Vios will probably have lower TCO, and even if they are the same, why not own a Jap car ?

• vios costs more, its price alone can save for petrol for many years if buy persona, and vios is just lucky to have lighter body, if heavier than persona , sure fc is worse than campro engine

power windows? can change many many times due to price difference
          if you can afford to pay monthly installment for a vios , why fussing for just one two fail power windows with much lesser installment of persona?

• cars4life on Mar 09, 2012 at 12:25 am

Please stay out of this, Proton worker. Get lost

• lol why so emotional? use brain not butts

• witchy on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:21 pm

The only identity Proton has is the fact that Proton cost us our chance for having a better car thanks to the protection given by then government. Since its now not owned by the government anymore, they should reduce the tax by 50% minimum.

• alpha999 on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:25 pm

come on guys…..this is just an earmark not rebadged…..not sure wat characteristics of the Polo be transferred over……so let;s wait and see

• er. I see no differnt.

• Car Driver on Mar 06, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Name it the one and only Proton SOLO. May not go well with the Chinese.

• cybertron on Mar 06, 2012 at 5:00 pm

sighs. Proton has shown us some good concept cars. But in the end, they came out with this.

• zaman on Mar 06, 2012 at 5:03 pm

Proton Saga or Proton Sago

• atokhensem on Mar 06, 2012 at 6:07 pm

the name is peraton waksegan polo

• Ahmad ariff on Mar 06, 2012 at 6:52 pm

U all with silly comments…who says this will b saga replacement
    on d first place???????!!!!!

• policeman on Mar 06, 2012 at 7:14 pm

Wah… Theophilus so talented in using Microsoft Paint.

• holy shiat..proton is gonna spoilt WV’s reputation

• orang biasa on Mar 06, 2012 at 8:41 pm

So easy to comment…. even though don’t know what’s is going on inside the organisation… I think their management know better than us…. unless u r auto expert…. then, why not join them and make improvement….

• seraph on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Mitsubishi Lancer – Inspira
    Nissan Fuga – Perdana Replacement
    VW Polo – watever they gonna name it

come on la…. all u can do is slap badges to cars ah? everyone thinks this is good n we get to ‘feel’ foreign cars at ‘cheaper’ prices.

the car prices would be ALOT cheaper by itself if we didnt have Proton in the first place.

• dr bmw on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:30 pm

VW may rake in more profits but its reputation may take a beating ,no doubt it is going to pull down Polo TSI sales.Just look at Mits Lancer…who knows it may even hurt Golf’s legendary image!

• Proton SaPo better! hhahahaha.

• sarawakiana on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Sago is the name….That’s funny…

• nice man, look better than the coming proton grobal car.

• I think most likely the platform we get will be source from the Skoda brand.

Skoda Fabia = New Saga
    Skoda Octavia will be the new Proton Perdana.

Its still closely related to VW, except that it maybe a bit older. Just my 2cents.

• FedUpWithIgnorantPeople on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:48 pm

So… everyone believed a report that the Polo will be rebadged as a Proton model (allegedly). This informer is working with VW or Proton? And the funny part is some people are already saying it would ruin VW reputation. Even comparing it to Skoda being bought over by VW and a lot more rubbish remark. Are Malaysian really that gullible?

Listen people… that is a rendering by TC. For heaven sake… read the title!!! How moronic can you guys be???

• They ‘re going to name it according to VW’s convention but with a malaysian touch. So expect :

VW Golf – Proton Galah
    VW Polo – Proton Congkak
    VW Scirocco – Proton Sportoto

• HopelesslyPatriotic on Mar 07, 2012 at 2:40 am

A point to ponder..
    Proton re-badged Lancer into the Inspira, and not long after, the P3-21a gets a 1.6 Turbo with a 6-speed paddle shifters..
    Then Proton and VW works a deal for Polo-Saga… there will definitely be a tech “absorption” somewhere..

• sirseriuse on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:18 am

NAP have been around the corner for a long time. Korea and Italy are two of the best examples of country that practise NAP. Hyundai is one of the fastest growing carmakers in history and it takes them 35 years to achieve that with the help of their citizens patriotism and NAP. Proton only 29 years old, and to be at this level without the sense of patriotism that Hyundai get, is kinda amazing. And even without the NAP, Proton cars still cheap. For example, in UK, Persona cost about 11k GBP and with the same kind of money, you can get a 1.2 Honda Jazz. which is alot smaller. Dont believe to the myth of “Proton are expansive, 10k pound can give u Chevrolet Camarro”.

• Anwar on Mar 07, 2012 at 6:30 am

SAGa + pOLO = Sagolo. But Sago sounds much etter

• SquarePetrolHead on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:17 pm

If I had 10 thumbs i would give it 10 thumbs up… well, hope that with P1 now in private hands, the Gomen will abolish the excise & duty on foreign brands. And if it permits a proton VW tie-up would be beneficial to improving the quality of cars in Malaysia across the board. We have put up with inferior finishing compared to most other countries for far too long.

• This is the end of the line my frens. Time to move on. It’s been an experience of a lifetime, i wish you all the best!

• Malaysia Mali on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Such funny discussion..ha..ha..ha…

See u in 2 years……. Volkston Poga…

• Syedz on Mar 07, 2012 at 8:51 pm

saw polo sedan being tested last year around june, if polo sedan will be the next saga it wont be much different if you talk about sizing but it sure did if you’ll talk about pricing!!

• nikolas on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Malaysian government should buy the Volkswagen group and change their name to Proton. I am sure the malaysian government can do this.

• tan sri wan on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:08 pm

why proton need to have a lot of workers in the future when they just need to change VW badge with Proton badge?
    After more than 20 years of building cars….proton is back to replacing badges on other people’s cars…..how sad is that seriously.

• Correct me if im wrong, but i read that Waja was developed from Volvo/mitsubishi s40 platform thats why u see the similoar c pillars

• Enter your name... on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:08 pm

i prefer polo hatch back as saga succesor. but to spend 70k for a saga. i think this proton saga successor wont best sale as model before which can stand against with myvi