Proton P3-21A to be launched in Australia this September

Proton is wasting no time in starting its export programme for the P3-21A, dubbed as a “world car” by the national carmaker. Currently being teased at the Proton Power of 1 event at Bukit Jalil, a report from Australia reveals that the flagship sedan will be launched Down Under in September this year.

In Australia, the P3-21A will replace the Persona, but will introduce more space, sophistication and equipment to the equation. Two 1.6 litre engines will be on offer.

The entry-level GX gets a naturally-aspirated engine and manual transmission, with a continuously variable transmission (CVT) available as option. The high-spec GXR will feature the turbocharged Campro CFE engine and will be CVT-only.

The CarAdvice report adds that the GX will come with six airbags and electronic stability control (ESC). The GXR adds on a leather-wrapped steering wheel with paddle shifters, among other features. No prices were mentioned. Currently, the Persona is sold there from AUD$14,990 to $18,990 driveaway.

Besides the P3-21A, Proton Australia will also import the Exora MPV in Bold form, which means a Campro CFE + CVT combo. To be launched in August, the turbo Exora will be priced below AUD$25,000. These two new models will be tasked to spearhead a rebound in sales – Proton sales slipped 18.8% in 2011 to 1,542 units.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• albag on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:50 pm

kangaroo meat anyone?

• kuriang on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:54 pm

arghh.. already a lot of stories about this car and make all peoples boring.. please launch it now proton!! what a waste..

• its an advertising plan la bro..n i think it is working..now everybody talks about the new proton car..everybody so enticed to see the good/bad this new car can offer us…if they launch straight away would make ppl bored even more quickly IMHO…

• kuriang on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:31 pm

berapa lama bro? not only this week, the disguised unit already on the roads a long time ago plus with images leaked some more… yes, i believe this is marketing strategy but don’t over please.. let say elantra launched today, some of waiting buyers with their lists suddenly fall in love with elantra and cannot waiting anymore, how about P3-21A? melepas la bro proton event a single buyer..

• tail long on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:26 am

need 2 wait orang tua lah

• Mohamad Al Azzeh on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Waiting for it to be launched in the Middle East & North Africa…Particularly Egypt.Huge Market with Expectations to Reach 400000 Vehicles in 2015.Proton can grab 15% there without effort. Just Timely Product Releases for the region

• Hammerclaw69 on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Okey now this is unfair…. for local highest spec.. we get 4 airbags… and australian highest spec gets 6 airbags?

• Jonathan Lee on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Indeed, especially as the news is coming this early. Was hoping for a change in attitude regarding the differences between local- and foreign-spec cars. Maybe the report got it wrong and it’s just four airbags. If not, pray hard for a revision in local equipment specs.

• omanjedi on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:57 pm

And MY have the higher accident rates in comparison with AU.

Dear Lawmakers:

1) are you really concern with the welfare of the Rakyat?
        2) or its part of your strategy to include accidents death as one way to balance the growth of MY population – especially lower income group (National car buyer)

Both set of lawmakers – BN/PR are damn silent on this matter. Stupid politicians

• daamz on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:47 am

i told u guys. non-citizen probably will get better spec and cheaper than so call rakyat malaysia. This is the “benefit” what they’d offered us? Easy..”rakyat di dahulukan..”? jeng jeng..

• MoFaz on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:40 pm

u’ll get an option to install 2 more to get a total of 6 airbags for P3-21A in Malaysia… that’s what i heard.

• tiadaid on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Proton kind of have to put 6 airbags because of Australian government regulations – what’s the current masters of Putrajaya doing now? Nothing.

At least the P3-21A doesn’t have the no-airbag & ABS version though.

• driver on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Agree with you. P1 is a business entity, thus they still need to look for profit. In Australia, there’s a strong safety demand from the market that drives this.. but here most people are still looking for cheapest car.

I’m not blaming them, but I’m blaming the authority for not making this compulsory to all carmaker.. and yes, that includes P2, toyota, honda, etc..

• littlefire on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Now i know why Autralia ANCAP can teorily get 5-star, it got 6 air-bags while we only got 4 air-bags for highest spec! Psss.. the lowest spec only got 2 air-bags & no ESC… WTF it can get 5-star safety in Malaysia?!?

• littlefire on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:22 pm

I think is entry-level GX already have… Not high spec also…

• Not again.. Oz’s life is more precious than ur fellow malaysian is it, PROTON???

• Syazwan007 on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:06 am

Actually, even the entry level model that got 6 airbags.. Ours only 2..

• Supa Hiro on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:22 pm

This is my expert take on rating of recent cars:

P1 P3-21A: The best car value money can buy. Precision engineering.
    Jappos (Japs): Only slaves to T&H will buy. Rest in peace!
    Krappos (Koreans): This is just a gimmick. Looks good in the outside, inside like jamban.
    P2: Piece of shit on wheels.

For those who pretend to be environmental friendly and buy a hybrid, I suggest you to relocate your home to Gebeng and drive your hybrid there!!!

• So have you test drive or touched the interior of the P321?

Your expert take sounds more like a fanboyism take. If you did test drive or touched the components, write more about how it feels and compared to the previous models, i.e. Persona. “The best car value money can buy. Precision engineering.” will fill more skepticism than it already does.

• rescuer on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Oh really, how can you define this model as precise engineering as it is still not being launched? On paper everything looks good for this model, lets hope it’ll do the sameonce translated.

• Vader on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:55 pm

your statement show that you just simply a P1 trooper.. and dont even mentioned about “expert” here.

• ss427 on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:55 pm

Uh oh, our Maserati Bro has somehow turned into a blind Proton supporter…. :D

• experts say??walawey…he’s talk like rubbish only..hahaha

• mentolated on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:16 pm

experts issue statements and facts.

“experts” post baseless and grammatically incorrect opinions.

poodah la Supa Hiro! :)

• alldisc on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:08 pm

as the malay saying…

there is a big difference between orang pandai and orang memandai-mandai

• sini belum launch sudah cakap Australia.

• samlyn on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:36 pm

Biar Honda Jazz Hybird and Toyata and perhaps new Elantra jual dulu.

Then Proton only …….catch up.

They believe good products :) slow sell also no issue.

Bodoh punya Proton.
      Proton patut…..Lancar dulu……tempah dulu.
      Delivery lambat……no problem.

• Quattro on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Hybrid jazz dah lancar> proton ni sangkut kat mana lg> dah ckp nak g australia pulak…. Selesaikan yg dalam rumah dulu tgk smabutan mcm mana

• MoFaz on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:43 pm

sini already soft launch.. u can place booking for RM500 la..
      owh, for sure u won’t book it because u’re P2 saleswoman…

• Quattro on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Hari tu ckp akan ganti persona a.k.a wira dlm 5 tahun, tp berita terbaru ckp persona akan terus dijual sampai ramai lagi rakyat beli> tup tup dengar berita proton baru ni akan ganti waja> ckp putar alam betul proton mgmt ni…..

• Quattro on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Typical proton fan> bookong dlm gelap buat apa…..Biar buleh test drive baru buat kira2 . Must buy or not

• Quattro on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Typical proton fan> booking dlm gelap buat apa…..Biar buleh test drive baru buat kira2 . Must buy or not

• Taking Roots in Our Motherland & Venturing into the World.

• ss427 on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Aussie is such a big country with population many times the size of Bolehland and SG combined…yet Proton sold just 1,542 units in 2011 over there? LOL :D

Man, even in our COE controlled SG where car distributors can only sell as much as the gov wants you to, Toyota could singlehandedly sell similar number of units here in SG…

And when COE prices were at sane levels a few yrs ago, both Hyundai and Kia were almost able to sell such numbers in tiny SG market too.. :)

Proton sold just 3 cars for the whole of 2011 in SG and they’ve sold NONE, ZERO in SG this year as of this writing. :)

Yup, Proton is such a great and cheap car that nobody outside Bolehland wants to buy them… kekeke…. :D

Will P321 change all that? Just using ONE model only?

• Man u r talking shit. Malaysia population > aussie population. Check ur facts first Mr. Statistics Expert!

• clutch basah on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:09 pm

This is one example of one talking from one’s ass.
      “population many times the size of Bolehland and SG combined” my foot.

• Just me on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Why not sell it in our neighboring country first, Thailand and S’pore. See how is the response from customer of the “world car”. Anyone take a guess??

• ss427 on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Yeah I’m looking forward to meet the P321 here in SG too. No doubt Proton will offer the top of the line CFE model with all options thrown in,

The bigger problem for them here in SG is… they’ve yet to sell a single new car for 2012 thus far, I don’t think they will load themselve up with even more unsold inventory with the new P321

Gotta park it next to the Forte and Elantra when it do appear in SG… :)

• Is this the gamechanger that P1 hoped for? Only time will tell, but won’t be long as Malaysians are their own worst critics!!

• junjun on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:29 pm

ANAK HALAM INI PLOTON,SUDAH LAMA SAYA MENUNGGU TAPI TIDAK LAUNCH2 LAGI…MEHHH

• sonyman on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:34 pm

The CarAdvice report adds that the GX will come with six airbags and electronic stability control (ESC).

we always get how many? none or one only. Malaysian is not important ya.!!!

• how come M-line persona price in
    malaysia = AUD 16560
    australia= AUD 14990

rakayat support Proton, but Proton subsidies Australian issit?

to make it more obvious proton and perodua car in sabah or sarawak have additional price tag of at least got 2k – 3k differrence compare to peninsula??does this mean proton subsidies the cost of international forwarding but not for local?

• BadBET on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:34 pm

if its true that the aussie lower spec GX get 6 airbag + ESC, and we MALAYSIAN get only 4 for the premium spec, then sorry.. go sell your car outside my country ..

• Josh Ling on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:56 pm

I think Exora with CFE engine and CVT shouldn’t be called “Exora in Bold form”, because even the normally-aspirated CPS version is called Exora Bold already. “Exora Bold” is the full name for the new Exora, and not the CFE + CVT version only. I think only the most expensive version is having a slightly different name (called Exora Bold Prime, or Exora Prime?).

• for the price diff in malaysia n ausie, see the tax diff first in malaysia for locals n tax in aussie.

Erm, bout 4 airbags vs 6 airbags, people keep shouting that premium line shud be less than 70k, then, how shud they provide u with 6? If we can accept the price to be 80k, i dun think p1 will hesitate to provide 6 airbags. N this time around, change our attitude malaysian, buckle up. Even with additional airbags, not fasten seatbelts mean nothings. U r paying more than u need, so start fasten up seatbelt.

N many will say expensive if p321a at 80k, even with 6 airbags, but if toyot n hond only giveout 2 airbags at 85k++(same tax applied as prtn nowadays, no discrimination n protection), people accept it with pride n mentioned it value for money.

Im not saying prtn shud be expensive as others even when same tax applied, but they already give a better spec car with lower price than other on the fair playing ground, but still complaining.

Suppose to complain to toyot n hond why dont they sell highest spec our malaysian beloved vios n city below 80k which they can cause tax nowadays is at same level as local compare to the years they introducing the car to the market. If malaysian keep dreaming like this, they dont even bother to reduce it coz why not just enjoying extra profit(which people call it ‘tax’),while import tax is being the scape goat. Huuuu haaaa.

Adios

• Martin on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Hey there, i will prefer 6 airbags over touchscreen, auto rain sensor, gps navigator anytime. I value the life of the passengers sitting in the rear passenger seat in my car more than enjoying wifi, touchscreen and auto rain sensor. With 4 airbags, side collision would pretty much injured my passengers in the rear seat with their head knocking onto the side windows.

That’s why nowadays even low spec car in oversea comes with 6 airbags without those infotainment gadgets inside the car. And that’s why NCAP raise their standards once again for the year 2012. I can sincerely tell u 1 thing, if proton release their p3 in Aus without 6 airbags comes as standard throughout their model line-up, they will be so much less attractive to buyers because every single c-segment models in Aus comes with 6 standard regardless of their specification.

And from the spec sheets, isofix is not even standard across the range, so a baby’s life is not valuable to Proton’s management?

• daamz on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:54 am

who say T & H or others are been charged with same tax? hahaha..hahaha.. same tax??.. wakaka…

• Supa Hiro on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:42 pm

All of you ‘otak ketam’ P1 bashers. You guys are so emotional when bashing P1. Why don’t you show the same bashing emotions on Jappos and Krappos cars. You act like ‘weathercocks’ and talk cock.

This reminds me of a famous saying by Karam Singh Waliah, “Kera di hutan disusukan, anak di rumah mati kelaparan”.

Peace!!

• ss427 on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Hmm… looks like our Maserati Bro has turned into a ‘supa Hiro’… :D:D

• Why don’t you show some facts to counter the bashing rather than saying P1 is more superior to T&H or K&H.. And since you mention “‘weathercocks’ and talk cock”, that could be the best description of you and how others perceive you.

• buduk on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:02 pm

why protons are cheaper in Aussie than in their homeland :O

• Doreamon on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:16 pm

Cheaper in Aussie land, should be cheaper here . ‘Harapkan pagar, pagar rogol padi’ !!!

• bongek on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:26 am

how much road tax and insurance in australia? what about maintenance cost there? any idea?

• i strongly support proton car if they ONLY sell outside malaysia.
    let the foreign make cannibalize the local market,

• arzaq on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:32 pm

HAHAAH this is so funny

Vios, Civic and etc…… got more than 2 airbags for highest spec

WE in asean market highest spec only 2 airbags, but NO ONE COMPLAIN.

Proton do the same, terus aje condemn
    Lagipun, kalau proton letak 6 airbag, nnti kata mahal…..lalalalalallala

• littlefire on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:36 pm

U masih “katak di bawah tempurung”, Kerajaan Australia mengutamakan keselamatan rakyatnya mengunakan kereta yang ditentukan selamat iaitu melalui ANCAP. Kerajaan BN? Semua menteri pakai Merc & BMW semua safety air-bag banyak banyak.. yang rakyat yang tak kaya semua pakai kereta yang tidak diiktiraf selamat dipakai (Masih baik ada MIROS)… U pikir laa! Mana kerajaan yang mengutamakan rakyat?!?

• daamz on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:12 am

Haha… T & H indirectly has been force to make rakyat can buy their product. But yes, some of the cars are overpriced. But that doesnt make sense to asking about the price of T & H so much. Bcos they need to survive here with the tax. Let me tell u guys easy way:

Rakyat (R ): Pay tax (T) to improve country
      T & H & Others cars (C): taxed
      Rakyat again: Buy T & H & others; mean buying car with tax. haha.. double job. This is for Asean ckd lol.. not to mention europa car.. how many percent? 100%? 200%? or 300%? hahaa.. what does it mean? Its mean, only org kaya wil get better thing. The mid level, go sleep and dream lah.. or just visit paultan.org, read bot expensive car.. :)

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 18, 2012 at 12:26 am

Typical proton culture that always sell better spec car outside malaysia. They always makes us rakyat like don’t deserve a better car.

We sud boykot tis car and let proton knows we deserve better.

But wait! mitsi terbalik that sell higher spec car to proton in msia.

• Norman on Mar 20, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Exora bold and the h-line p3-21a will soon make debut in Singapore soon by June as stated in my email by proton.So if the guy saying that only 3 units of proton sell in Sg he’s bullshitting big time.From jan-may 2011 alone the exora mc sell over 55 units despite the insane Coe pricing.