GALLERY: 2013 Honda Accord Coupe looking good

Last week, we gave you full details on the all-new 2013 Honda Accord sedan, as well as the 2014 Accord Plug-in Hybrid (PHEV). Now put your hands together for the sexy one in the family, the 2013 Honda Accord Coupe. “Accord Coupe” may be an alien concept here, but not in North America, where Honda has been selling two-door versions of its D-segment Accord for a long time.

Changes made to the latest-gen Accord sedan apply here as well, so the Accord Coupe gets a slightly more compact footprint while still providing improvements in key interior dimensions including rear legroom and trunk volume. The two-door comes in LX-S, EX, EX-L and EX-L V6 trim levels.

Two Earth Dreams powertrains (click here to read more about Honda Earth Dreams) are available, including a new 2.4 litre four-cylinder with Honda’s first use of direct injection in North America, and a 3.5 litre V6 with revised VTEC + Variable Cylinder Management (VCM) functions.

The four-pot, which makes 185 hp and 245 Nm of torque, is paired to a CVT, which replaces the old five-speed auto, or a new six-speed manual gearbox. The 278 hp/342 Nm SOHC i-VTEC V6 unit can be had with the same stick shift or a new six-speed automatic transmission.

Looks wise, besides the fact that it’s a different car aft of the A pillars, the Coupe’s front end is set apart with a large lower radiator opening and twin faux brake scoops, which double as fog-light nacelles on all models except the LX.

It’s easy on the eyes, as you’ll discover in the gallery after the jump. Click here for pics/info of the 2013 Accord Sedan and here for more on the 2014 Accord Plug-in Hybrid.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• GrandSavrify on Sep 10, 2012 at 3:31 pm

I am a loyal fans of audi sport cars. This coupe attracts me as well as audi. It looks really hawt!!!

• junior driver on Sep 11, 2012 at 7:47 pm

local fan? but u still down own audi nor this honda.. so whats the point of being loyal? audi dont pay u.. in fact u pay them if u want to get the car…

if audi is ur interest; hence ur alternative interest should be other conti like BM 6 series or BM 3 series coupe or Merc C/E class coupe..

hurm… funny la why honda… :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • neo1point3 on Sep 10, 2012 at 3:45 pm

Honda Civic become uncle car, Honda Accord now for youngster :D

• Accord Coupe indeed looks good for youngster. However for the sedan version, kinda disappointed at it especially the rear which is a big turn off to me actually

• confused on Sep 10, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Meh…

• Hottttt !!

• Syed Zul on Sep 10, 2012 at 4:32 pm

It has a long time coming, at least something to replace the “Prelude” that went missing from the Honda stables sometime ago.

• proton on Sep 10, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Preve is better than this

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2012 at 7:52 am

Do all owners of Preve having “great” experience at Plotong SC now having to fix the cracked engine block?

Wow, Preve would prolly have depreciated 60%+ within the first year with this type of news

• _xXx_ on Sep 11, 2012 at 9:45 am

i just fell off my chair after reading, joker la u…

• Elsewhere in US as reported by Marketwatch, they’ve tested newly updated Kia Optima (SX) 2.0l with exactly same hp as this 3.5V6 Accord, with 0-62mph covered in 6.5s. Now that’s really interesting rivalry. And, this car is going to chase 528i very easily…

• junior driver on Sep 11, 2012 at 7:49 pm

are u kidding me; even with horse power or torque..
      yet u wont easily smoke or chase a typical conti (even if its only a 2L natural aspirated)..
      further more BMW is RWD; and it will slide thru corners easily and happily..
      go test drive; i bet an E46 3 series u cant even bite its butt…

• cruzer on Sep 10, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Chase what? Any mad man also can drive fast – even with a kancil.

• Bob_B78 on Sep 10, 2012 at 6:01 pm

Design cues from Honda Odyssey in the front. Looks good on the Odyssey, not so on the new accord. The back reminds me of Hyundai Coupe. Overall slightly better than the sedan.

• farghmee on Sep 10, 2012 at 6:56 pm

lost

• RedBeanBun on Sep 10, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Is that purposely putting this Honda Accord Coupe article right beside Mazda6 coupe? I mean, who in the world think this Honda Accord Coupe looks better than the Mazda6 coupe? hahahaha….this is so funny..

• not sure if honda’s stubborn decision of using in house developed gearbox gonna pay them in the longer run… but they are surely being outgeared by others… thats y they rely on cvt coz making the 6-speed might cost too dear even for honda’s volume…

• Forte koup , oppsssss wrg post

• i don’t know, but this car look front look like honda civic

• Adoyai on Sep 11, 2012 at 9:35 am

Looks like hyundai coupe to me

• junior driver on Sep 11, 2012 at 7:54 pm

hyundai coupe and kia koup is not a thru coupe.
      its only a car which was being design nice.
      but frankly no passion in terms of ride and handling.
      also the engine power is lacking even on paper it sounds sufficient.
      nevertheless; hyundai coupe is still a better car compare to kia koup in terms of both ride and handling.
      but cannot compare to Japanese coupe which is better.
      and Conti is far more awesome..

• Totally agreed with Adoyai. Just like the old 1997 Hyundai Coupe….GoneDumb Style.

• CheeKai on Sep 11, 2012 at 10:52 am

Hhmmmmm….. Previous post in Paultan.org was Mazda 6 Coupe. Again, it stole the show…

• I love this Accord Coupe design and I would only change my Civic 8th generation for this Accord Coupe, but unfortunately, Honda does not sell this model in Malaysia. I was thinking about Kia Forte Koup but… its Kia.. so I stick my old Civic.

• MehAccord on Sep 11, 2012 at 11:10 am

Why is the headlamp drl look EXACTLY like the Lexus GS? Dont believe? Go google 2012 Lexus GS and see for yourself. What a shame to copy others signature DRL…

• Earth Dreams on Sep 11, 2012 at 11:14 am

The Accord Coupé’s selling point is an enormous back seat. The back seat dimensions may make the coupé’s side profile a little unusual, but the increase in utility is impressive. Since the Coupé is only slightly shorter than the sedan with only a slight reduction in the wheelbase and just a few pounds shed, it drives pretty much like the sedan.

-TTAC-

• as usual the accords to accommodate the uncles will come to this shore and not those super slick coupe version. i love malaysia

• Shafiq on Oct 20, 2013 at 8:12 pm

So, does it mean this accord coupe version is available in Malaysia? I’m dying to know the availability of accord coupe in Malaysia. Look so gorgeous, sporty, double exhaust, and she attracts me well!

• Kelly on Oct 29, 2014 at 11:50 pm

Am a foreigner in malaysia and am a fan of sporty cars, all the cars shown here by Paul Tan are awesome cars e.g Hyundai coupe genesis v6, Honda Accord coupe v6 , Honda Civic coupe, Nissan Maxima / Altima coupe v6 etc . have tried few of this cars they are powerful, reliable ,very sporty fun to drive and mantainance is quite ok for it average sport cars…..but will this cars be on malaysia roads or just meant to dream and read about it here ?