Next generation Mazda 3 caught 100% undisguised

mazda3-russia-spyshot

A photo of a completely uncovered next generation Mazda 3 hatchback has made its way online, and from what we can tell – comparing it with disguised photos of the car on test that we previously featured – a lot of the design elements match the disguised car, so this could really be it.

The sole photo of the Mazda 3 in red was found on Russian automotive website auto.ru, and from what we can tell via piping the car through Google Translate, it was found posted on social media sites and is claimed to be snapped in Russia.

The next-generation Mazda 3 will be based on the CX-5’s platform and will likely feature similiar engines and gearboxes. We previously featured spyshots of a disguised Mazda 3 with the typical wild pattern camouflage sticker plastered all over it, but enough of the Mazda 3’s looks can be observed through the sticker as there’s no extra bits stuck on to disguise the shape.

The same set of spyshots even featured a good view of how the car’s interior will look like. We’ve re-embedded the spyshots here, so you can have a refresher.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mai God. *drools* She’s absolutely gorgeous ! O.O

Mazda’s Kodo is quintessential of contemporary Japanese design, yet somewhat European in nature. It’s like the best of both worlds !

I have a feeling the new Mazda 6 and 3 will age well, just like the E39 5-Series and Gen.5 Civic; The curves make a world of difference.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 15
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 398
      • Borrriiiiinnning, it’s just cx5 wannabe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 454 Thumb down 88
      • ss427 on Jun 20, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 336
        • brecc on Jun 20, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Uncle here doesn’t know how to count, no wonder still say about proton while don’t care about it, lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 4
        • hater on Jun 20, 2013 at 4:52 pm

why so butthurt? your mazda kena preve punya smoke? haha!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 7
        • Audi4life on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:00 pm

I can see many Proton supporters here… all negative comments about proton preve had been Flagged!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • They’re probably part of the Blue Dacing Army.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Proton is still a developing brand, Mazda and the rest of the Japanese have been global market leaders for 3 or 4 decades now.

That said, Proton is doing well, all things considered. The Prevé Hatchback is a quantum leap ahead of the previous Protons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 28
        • penang playboy on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:50 pm

and they have been developing their brand for the last 30 years…and what come out? NOTHING!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • pirlo on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:13 pm

nothing special with this mazda 3 hatchback. platform carry over from cx-5. even same engine and transmission.
        eh but preve’s platform is also based on exora.
        how?

• rotten on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:59 am

Mazda3 will be launched in 1 or 2 years, preve in 2 months, how come preve can be outdated?

Another bashing without brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Small CX5 but this is damn sexy butt! Preves hatch where r u? still hiding coz it’s too ugly to compared to Mazda 3 or other sexy hatchs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Maaajeeedaaa on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:29 am

Looking forward to the MPS version. This is much more valuable than the Protong Sagang SV!!!! That SV aaa i told you…mula-mula murah…lama-lama mahal. To hell DRB!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 118
  • This baby is a looker ………better looking then its brother m6 and cx5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
  • Kalun on Jun 20, 2013 at 7:41 am

Fit in a huge Black HRE aftermarket wheels, that make it looks awesome.

This looks better than the new Kia Cerato. It look fierce than the feminine look of Kia Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • namanama on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:34 am

18″ will do…ehmm,BBS LM or Works VS-XX deep dish just awesome.cant wait for MPS.well done Mazda.

• Storm on Jun 20, 2013 at 8:18 am

Unlike the Koreans like the K5 which is way ‘overdressed’, Mazda really know how to come out with nice and yet elegant design like the Mazda 6 and this 3. This looks like they are going towards European design which is simple yet elegant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
  • now im waiting for the sedan version.

• farghmee on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:44 am

me too.

the back of current mazda3 sedan is boring, big bulge; mazda3 HB’s tailight is weirdly long.

this one looks perfect, nice pit at the plate holder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • niiiiiceeeeeeeeeeeeee

• Hopefully no need to wait for 9 months to get this car

• MazdaTheAwakening on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:12 am

Shut up! And take my money!

• Aaron on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:21 am

Lil kodo cx9 version.
    Drools!!!

• Polo Saga on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:26 am

Awesome design, thumbs up!

• superfai on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:36 am

1.6 ckd 100k, 2.0 ckd 120k…30% drop within 5 yrs pls and we can totally ignore p1p2

cheers

• alldisc on Jun 21, 2013 at 5:46 pm

standard depreciation rate for malaysian market is 40% in the 5th year, more for ‘cold’ market cars…

• heybadigol on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:43 am

Great looking car. But pity those seating at the back who cant enjoy the view from their own windows cos the shoulder line is so high, leaving so little space for the windows.

• Audio on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:44 am

Wahhhh…..OMG! nice nice nicee!!~

• i hope proton can learn from this because this design looks better than the outdated preve hatchback. PUI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
  • PeteM on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:12 am

Very nice design and body proportion. Though it does looks like a smaller version of CX5 but hey, CX5 looks good and so is this. Can’t wait for this to be launch over here.

• GrandSavrify on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:13 am

Hope new MPS comes with auto transmission!

• ToHellWithAuto on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:32 am

Please make the MPS version.

• I am Driving a new 2013 M6 now. Is Nice ! Sure M3 is nice too.

• what version? how about the road noise? heard some people complaining about it.
      love the 6 but not within my budget

• hope the price will not dissappoint !!

• ben yap on Jun 20, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Porsche Panamera looks better la.

It doesn’t look close to that even in design… if count base on performance, left behind miles apart.

Thumbs down and flame me la… i don’t care…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 20, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Mclaren F1 looks better la.
      It doesn’t looks close to that 12 years old car… if count base on performance, left behind light years apart from a 12 years old technology.
      Thumbs down and flame me la… i don’t care…..

• kambinganas on Jun 20, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Bandinglah dengan RR atau Bently. Takde standard la banding ngan Porsche. Kan Mazda3 lagi high-end dari Lamborghini. Kan? Kan?

• kialover on Jun 20, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Are you all sure it is not a lancer hatchback?

• loverkia on Jun 20, 2013 at 3:23 pm

To be exact, the Inspira Aeroback???

• Skypirate on Jun 20, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Troll, it doesn’t look like a Lancer Sportback. The lines on the Lancer is more muscular, whereas this Mazda3 is more curvy. Both looks good though.

• Autokennzeichen on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:36 pm

the way i look at it as if the mazda3 more or less exactly the same as mazda6 shorter version (exterior wise- not performance la) .
    just my 2cents

• abang ngah on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Najib did a good job to bring the cars” price down .
    people PM …. we have good chance to meet the wawasan 2020 under Najib . Kudos .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • I don’t know why but somehow when i see the sedan version on the road, it looks plain, not head turning like previous 6. Honestly. I thought it would would be as hot as in photos.

• PauKaya on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:27 pm

great car ruined by berjaya

• Ashburn on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:14 am

I have Kia Forte 1.6 and Mazda 3 1.6 at home. I must say that this upcoming Kia Cerato far superior than Mazda3 interm the design let alone the performance. That I must say, Mazda3 is slow lack of power, stiff suspension, expensive maintenance. I will sell my Mazda 3 to get Kia Cerato

• Beaks on Jun 21, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Some would disagree on this but sad to say, the current Mazda 3 still looks more interesting that the upcoming one.

• side view like elantra, idealess design, still TOyota design the best. the other like rubbish, copy each other. if not capable please ask our brilliant Toyota engineer help to think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • PeterM on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Bro, there is no such thing as “The Best” design. It all depends on people’s perception of the car design. Some people like more curvy design, some people don’t like. Be more constructive in your criticism.

• Sam Pooh on Jun 24, 2013 at 1:51 pm

by the looks of it, I can estimate that the new Mazda 3 will depreciate more than 60% by its 5th year. Don’t even think of buying it.

NOTHING can beat the almighty Toyota Avanza with only 0.16% depreciation per year. Engineered by NASA and plushly finished with luxurious Italian material, the Toyota Avanza is an engineering marvel and a Godly work of art, worthy of a Noble prize.