Proton to reclaim market leader position in two years

proton nama siapa hebat-2

Proton is confident of reclaiming the number one spot in vehicle sales from Perodua, and wants to do this within the next two years, Bernama reports.

This goal was revealed by Proton executive chairman Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil at yesterday’s launch of the Nama Siapa Hebat naming contest for Proton’s upcoming compact car. “We intend and are sure of making a come back to the number one slot within the next two years,” he told reporters.

He added that Proton is working very hard to introduce new car models with value-added advantages to the local market, within the next 24 months. The much-spied Preve Hatchback is coming after Raya, and yesterday’s event confirmed a smaller hatchback due in the first half of 2014. The latter “global small car” is expected to deliver significant volume, taking the fight to Malaysia’s best selling car, the Perodua Myvi.

The Myvi’s maker sold 189,000 vehicles in 2012, its highest ever yearly total, beating 2010’s 188,600 units. The 189k translates to an estimated 30.2% market share. Proton sold 141,121 units in 2012.

President and CEO of Perodua, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh has said many times before that P2 has no stated ambition to be number one, but just to provide affordable compact cars to Malaysians. Well it looks like the “accidental champion” will now have to fend of a revitalised Proton currently stocking up on arsenal. Saga SV was the opening salvo. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the show!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• blacktop 6 speed on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:44 pm

i love the 1985’s proton saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Jimmy on Jun 26, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Whatever it is, if we think about common rakyats and the poor, we should not support implementation of GST. GST will add burden to the poors who are not excluded, it is like, start taxing the poors.
      Say no to GST, we don’t want tax reduction of orang kaya and put burden on orang miskin.
      And of course, we want safer vehicles for all Malaysians.
      Please ask UMW to put 6 airbags + ESP in all their vehicles, then everyone will have to follow in order to sell their vehicles. Except vehicles bought through tenders with buckStar.

• Jimmy on Jun 26, 2013 at 5:15 pm

You just take care of your koceks, where is your hati nurani/naluri?

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 26, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Dude, do you notice that PR is promoting socialist idea? Look at East German, North Korea and USSR. Do they move ahead? China is now accelerating to No 1 economy after abandon socialist practice. It looks like promoting rakyat welfare. Tapi sebenarnya ajar rakyat jadi malas, harapkan harga barang tak naik, semua nak subsidi/percuma. Rakyat jadi tak sedar diri, skrg minta vios rega cam saga sv. Nanti dah dpt minta Lamborghini harga cam kapcai. Wak lu !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 23
        • Haha…macai BN…beli saga dengan harga vios…ditipu lagi nak kata “syukurlah”…puih!!…klau ko kaya sgt & rela ditipu tu mslh kamu…bkan smua bodoh cam lu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
          • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:20 pm

Sapa yang bodoh sebenarnya. Sapa yang kena tipu? Kah kah kah….. Siapa tentang PR di cop macai BN. Aduh, pendek benar akal ko ni. Brader, itu orang politik kencing saja. Depan kita bergaduh, belakang minum semeja. Kita penat2 berjuang, depa jadi PM, YB. Kita jadi apa? Depa bagi diskaun pada kita beli kereta kura2, depa pakai Mercedes, helikopter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • Tell that to cronies.

• steve on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:42 am

check the vehicle tax structure before u say so, our car is overtax even can paid for fuel subsidy. why we cant request for it? we paid for tax but didn’t enjoy the benefit! siapa yang malas? kroni lar!

• hadi75 on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Isn’t that what the current leadership is doing???giving subsidies….brim..krim..et al…
          rakyat just want the low cost of living….next to house loan, car loan is the biggest contributor to higher cost of living here in malaysia….

• Hameed Koyakutty on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Sorry la….No more P1 for me….

They just recently launch the SENYUM campaign…..

Just go to any Proton Official Workshop….any of them smiling ????

GO FLY KITE la P1 !!!!

• anyone goes to any workshop will bring their “LONG FACE” no matter what car they bringing in.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 170
    • driver on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:05 am

can’t argue more with that. A REEV EMAS would make it possible, not only locally but also globally.. with condition, the after sales services should be improved as well.

• Added value and new models ?

HAHAHA !

Pls la f**ls, what we rakyat want is a HIGH QUALITY CAR THATS ALL..

So what if there is a new model and added value when the QUALITY OF EVERYTHING IS S**T ?

no wonder Malaysia is heading down to compete with the “best”.

Hidup B* ! Hidup K***i ! Hidup Orang I**** yang sokong ! HIDUP HIDUP !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 65
    • so your myvi is the high quality, eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
    • Zlanu on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Wow. So much hate in one comment.

They are getting towards a high quality car…but it can’t be done in a day. It took all the other carmakers at least 40 years to get to where they are today. Proton has been at the game for 26 years…of which they only started producing their own cars in 2000, so 13 years.

You’d notice that they’ve gotten A LOT better since the days of Waja. You cannot, with any confidence, tell me that the Preve is as good quality as a Waja.

So relax. Go drive your other cars if Proton is not for you. You can buy a good second hand car for that price. :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 15
      • HAHAHAHA..

Terima Kasih atas usaha beliau membuat aku lawak

Thanks for making me laugh

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 62
      • Excellent comment… RESPECT

• steve on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:47 am

where is proton R&D? I didn’t see any effort proton make, any improvement? and you still wanna give more 40 years? proton just disappear! without you we will live better! (comment from 2 proton owner, and never after )

• Labulabi on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:45 pm

After reading all the comments from all the so called experts here, its no wonder Malaysia’s economy is growing much slower than Indonesia, Philippines and Thailand now. They are getting smarter and we are getting sillier!

The future looks bleak, unless we stoo being so self centered and start learning from others.

• namanama on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:49 pm

pay cheap you get peanuts.

• unforgiven on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:03 am

It’s not cheap if based on our average income!

P1 is only capable of cheating/treating the people of Malaysia, not globally!

No 1 in what? Jaguh kampung? Just remove the protectionism and see who’s the winner please!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 1
  • Reclaim market leader – this must be a JOKE.

This group of jaguh kampong.. how can they still make this kind statement.. with substandard kind of quality and 80s kind of design me personally are damn upset with the products!

Do something proton.. do something that really make us feel proud.. don’t give us SV as that’s what suppose to do done in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 24
    • Ok, you want it to be designed like an alien spaceship right? Then only you will buy it kekeke

• hang tuah on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Because of the protection of national car. Our people need to pay extra car taxes. Proton and Perodua can survive in M’sia only, when go out to Foreign country sure will bankrupt. Hidup BN cronies! Mati Rakyat!….This is what BN slogan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 65
    • VoidDance on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Enough with crap. Even if without taxes, Proton and Perodua will end up much cheaper than non national cars. They too have to pay the hefty taxes which without it, Saga will cost less than 30k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
      • capati on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:47 pm

they don’t have to pay hefty tax. they’re local. they got huge discounts from G over the 85% excise duty.

it’s not a level playing field. they even get hundreds of million in form of grants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
        • Anonymous Coward on Jun 26, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Rate is not the same but they also pay excise duties, import and sales tax.

And why wouldn’t you want Proton to exist? Proton creates jobs and stimulate our local economy, not to mention getting our engineers some expertise. Those grants are for those activities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
          • Dru-Zod on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Don’t be ignorant. Because of Proton, all the foreign automotive companies have gone to Thailand (hence the name Detroit of the East)and this has created a world class Tier 1,2 &3 supplier base that our Malaysian crony based vendors here will never ever match. We lost out on all of these because of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • No such high taxes for assembled cars that are meant to be exported but imported cars.

• 85%?..all proton car duty is 75% n below coz all r below 1800cc(excluding inspira 2.0)…from wat mai release their tax could be between 40-50% (maybe can go to zero % due to VA activity from revised nap)

• TheBigPicture on Jun 30, 2013 at 11:13 pm

For me, this is like DejaVu. How people argue here is exactly how Proton people argue amongst themselves, argue with suppliers and not getting any problems solved at all.

Nobody is giving ideas, suggestions nor constructive argument. Plus top management doesn’t listen to their people and is not open minded to suggestions or new ideas.

The same mindset of people arguing here is exactly the same mindset of people in this company. So the rootcause why it cannot improve is because of the Malaysian mindset sad to say. This has to change for betterment of the country and Proton.

• gogunccas71 on Jun 26, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Oh give me a break…Many sectors in the economy are protected. Is your housing loan payments too high? Do you think local banks like public bank can make billions of profit if foreign banks can come and freely open branches? Why do i have to pay so much to watch BPL matches? Why cant foreign sattelite tv providers can come to malaysia to provide some competition and lower charges? I paid a lot for a root canal last month. Why are our dentists protected? Let doctors from india come in and they’ll charge me RM 30!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
  • ponton on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Since Proton is entering compact/subcompact market with the hatchback models, why not Perodua also comes up with Sedan models to compete with Proton? Then only fair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Ah Beng on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Even indons and banglas in msia use myvi liao.
      If perodua comes out with sedan, proton bungkus la…
      Today proton is kroni, after that proton is nomoney..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 35
    • There you go Perodua. We dare you to come up with a sedan………… on your own. Ada beran???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • klau nak fight sgt fight lah dgn global brand cam toyota honda ataupun hyundai kia…fight antara brand sama negara buat pa?

• Anonymous Coward on Jun 26, 2013 at 2:22 pm

By which you mean rebadge a current small sedan from Daihatsu, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • bing bing on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:33 pm

or rebadge a Mitsubishi Lancer

• Anonymous Coward on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Fair comment.

Inspira was initially meant to be a platform sharing exercise but Proton didn’t want to spend the money and Mitsubishi went ahead and made the Lancer. Later, Proton decided to renew the deal and simply rebadge the car, with some suspension work.

Anyway, at least Proton has made an effort at making a home-grown car, (Gen.2, Waja, Satria Neo, Savvy, Saga, Persona, Exora, Preve) compared to Perodua which is content to rest on its laurels by simply rebadging Daihatsu cars.

I mean, if you are not happy that Proton is rebadging cars, you should be equally unhappy with Perodua, whose entire stable consists of rebadged cars, some of them CBU units from Japan (Perodua Nautica).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
          • Dru-Zod on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:41 pm

If the home grown car was good, we would be damn proud. But the home grown cars are crap to begin with. These so called home grown cars (on which foreign consultants did 70% of the work in the first place), were created to feed the crony vendors (who needed to make quick profits). As a result we the consumers are stuck with lousy quality home grown cars so that crony vendors could get richer. What is there to be proud of???

• bing bing on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Well, I cant help but feel that Proton simply had to make “an effort at making a home-grown car”, given the amount of taxpayers’ money that was poured into their so-called “R&D”. I mean, can you imagine how bad they would look if they simply came up with an entire stable consists of rebadged cars?

BTW who is to say rebadge is a bad thing? Daihatsu has a substantial stake in Perodua. Doesn’t surprise me to see that Perodua heavily leverages Daihatsu expertise.

• youbodok on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Lousy quality is lame old story la, sudah basi one. The latest news is that cerato has 6 airbags, 100k. Are city and vios safe that much at similar prices?

• Dru-Zod on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:07 am

Dude, you living up to your username with that comparison

• youbodok on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:58 am

So you don’t have any points to make now? Lousy basher.

• Dru-Zod on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Pot calling the kettle black. Your username already bash everyone to begin with. I don’t hate Proton. As a Proton user, I have been hoping for improvements from Proton for many years now. We started seeing improvements during DSZ’s time. His team from P2 were making good changes to the culture within Proton. But all of that is gone now since DSZ left. Things are getting worse and Proton is going back to square one. What’s the point of hoping that Proton will improve when they don’t want to listen to the consumer.
            Just close the company and open up the automotive market for the good of the Rakyat.

• Anonymous Coward on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Threaded comments don’t seem to work well here.

@Dru-Zod:
            Anyway, yes, I agree that the home-grown cars are crap (Gen.2 up till Savvy) but the current generation are decent but not amazing. Preve is a pretty good effort.

I don’t know about the vendor quality issue as I’m not a Proton insider. I sincerely want Proton to get better though and Preve hits that mark for me, except for four things:
            1. Number of airbags;
            2. Interior fit and finish;
            3. That push-start button without smart entry; and
            4. That crappy head-unit.

All easily fixable.

Also, you seem to know some inner workings of Proton. Care to share some insight?

@bing bing:
            Well, your comment implies that it’s bad that Proton rebadged the Lancer, despite Perodua doing the same thing for their entire stable. It wasn’t a surprise that Proton rebadged Lancer either, that segment was never Proton’s strength and Mitsubishi has a very close relationship with Proton.

• youbodok on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:19 am

Insider? LOL or just a pathetic blind basher

• Dru-Zod on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Sell off your Proton lah, then maybe not so tension until call people funny names

• yaohan on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:37 pm

a myvi sedan or alza sedan wud be nice … hehehe

• Will people sit 2 miles high in the sky to drive them? And these cars will have a centre of gravity equivalent to a Savvy’s height. XD

• superman on Jun 26, 2013 at 5:31 pm

becvause P2 is not a OEM. they only assemble and can not do anything without the Daihatsu permission. proton on the other hand is OEM and are their own boss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • unforgiven on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:10 am

So what to be an own boss just for jaguh kampung?
        What is so proud of losing billions?
        Who the hell is paying for it? Funny!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 2
  • ben yap on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:59 pm

reduce the car prices and open fair trade in Malaysia. Than we’ll see if you can reclaim market leader. that time you and Perodua can close shop or join Naza sell APs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 6
  • Phrase on Jun 26, 2013 at 2:12 pm

As what the writer said – Sit back, relax, and enjoy the show

• “Proton is working very hard…”, my ass.
    They’re sleeping in there. This is true, quoted by an internal source.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 32
  • spaghetti on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:46 pm

reclaim number 1 spot? by using politic influence or government protection? i just don’t think they can do it by using their product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 25
    • Biri biri on Jun 26, 2013 at 5:50 pm

If they are already market leader then there is no need for NAP la.

• dingdond on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Stop using my income tax money for yr so called r&d lah. Give us a reliable car with global fair pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Although not driving a Proton but i personally thinks that it is a good news. No matter what, Proton still our country car maker and it deserve another chances to prove it. Lets see what they will improve in next two years. Lets hope that Proton able to make it =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 71
  • Proton on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Market leader position, why not quality leader position?

• Ada hati nak jadi no 1. You should worry on how not to lose out you no 2 spot to Toyota first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 31
  • shame_Loo on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:36 pm

1st of all, make sure all Malaysia politician drive Proton.

In a nasty way, I would love to hear that they close shop in next 2 years! If they can’t perform after almost 30 years, just shut them down.

Give you one more chance, if you can perform, I will support you too!

• Dru-Zod on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Once again, typical syok sendiri statements from the management of this company. Why don’t they just do the hard work and let the result speak for themselves.
    Also, isn’t Proton no.3 now in the market behind Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
    • kongcs on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Sick with your rubbish comments. If you hate proton, why don’t you just buy merc or bmw? If you cannot afford one please keep your kapchai good.

• Proton champions itself as market of valued cars..Unfortunately they never make a wave in Saudi, a land where there is no tax and cheap petrol! I think the dealer folded already. Seen few Gen 2 and Waja running around and maybe 1 Persona so far. This is their problem, want to claim global market share. What they did was to just change the steering wheel to left side and thought the can sell it the left hand drive countries. They failed big in Germany/Europe and in ME too. Even in UK once their biggest oversea market they are trailing.

• totti on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:54 pm

What a joke for a Jaguh Kampung.

Another NEP product trying to be no:1 in malaysia.

What so proud to be no:1 in malaysia where you have been protected from the car tax. Your no:1 spot is not based on merit that you earn.

This apply to those good malay graduates where they will be labled as a NEP product if they success in their career.

They can shout to be no :1 but the NEP will tarnish those good innocent Malay.

NEP is a product that menghina the good Malay throughout their life.

• press on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:03 pm

Then tell that to Japanese, Koreans and Chinese. They DO have some sort of local automotive protections.

• Bangle on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:49 am

Tell that to Proton that Japs, Korean also protected but give world class design quality cars. So far Proton only become global joke lah

• excek on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:23 am

They made cars looonnggg before proton, no wonder they have better quality.

• Medic on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:58 am

But their cars are doing well overseas,esp in Msia…not to mention their eletronic gadgets.

• shukor ns on Jun 26, 2013 at 5:23 pm

And all this while I thought that Proton
    has evolved and with the emergence of DRB
    they would be challenging the world leaders
    but sadly they prefer to challenge for the
    Juara Kampung title all over again.
    .Sigh!!

• kiral on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Wow you must have got international title. What title you have, the cheapest talker? LOL

• pirlo on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:47 am

i think it is a good step to start from bottom, conquer first in this home country, then proceed to asean and towards international.

• Medic on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:59 am

How confident is your statement,when they failed to do in 40 years,they wanna do it in 2 years?Do you think it’s possible?

• pirlo on Jun 28, 2013 at 10:10 am

who started in 40 years? in 2 years, they will be coming up with 4 new models; preve HB this year, new B-segment and Satria in 2014, Saga replacement in 2015.

• Glenn Campbell on Jun 26, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Dream….dream, dream, dream…
    when I want you, in my arm I need you so,
    all I have to do is dreammm….

• Wayangkulit on Jun 26, 2013 at 6:28 pm

This sandiwara is to get more money.

First announce something like wanting and will be working hard to be no1

Then go to the government coffers and ask for x billion of ringgit to enable them to be no1

When money approved and released, think of a way to slice the pie for themselves and forget about being no1

If any company is serious in stepping up their game, they’ll take inspiration from Nissan by replacing the lousy head of the company with some one with a calibre to weed out cancerous top management individuals in the company.

• rajaGlobal on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:17 pm

i really like your comment, then after five years they’ll will ask gomen to bail out/take over the business or they will close down and lots of retrench staff will be angry with gomen…which will the gomen choose??

• most of giving negative comments here actually drive proton car. coz they experience it.

LOL….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
    • Oh so you carry a survey to know all those things? For your PHD issit?

• Peter on Jun 26, 2013 at 7:16 pm

The same old “… I’m confident …” statements that DRB gave before they sold off Proton shares last time. The same old promises that mahathir gave decades ago. This repeat & repeat again until one day … they admit: ok, we sucks, pls help us to improve.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
  • Kadir on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:11 pm

It would have been good if they say take the world by storm in 2 years. Tak habis habis only want to claim pole position in the country after so many years. Champion kat kampung sendiri. Susah sangat ke kalau nak dapat orang yang calibre. Jangan tidur lagi, nanti Proton tak bangun.

• Nasurudin on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Proton should be sold off for 7 billion and the money can spent to built MRT in Penang and Johor.

• SamlokGgsamlok on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:51 pm

I can’t see how proton can achieve target with current poor quality car been sold to rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • tokmoh on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:55 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHHAHA

Their most important client, the MALAYSIAN GOVERNMENT had CONFIRMED they’ll switch Perdana V6 to Honda Accord. Just shows the confidence they have in their own product, eh?

Tok kok sing song is DRB’s best skill aa? Pathetic. All they care about is money, but that’s the last thing they’ll get. FACT.

“No1 jaguh kampung” title will cost them dearly. Msia’s market is too unique, winning strategy here won’t work anywhere else.

In other words, Proton won’t give a flying fucuk to improve themselves against other global carmakers. And they’ll get away with it bcuz BN will allow it.

Guess we can see Saga FLX for next 25 years, like its predecessor.

• Perdana V6 is too old, they only use the Accord platform to save money. Skin / exterior looking is different IMHO.

• Just Another Dude.. on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:31 pm

All the best, Proton.

Although I will never buy your car, in the foreseeable future, I bid you good luck in your future undertakings. Maybe Thailand is “Detroit of the East”, at least Malaysians can actually design and build cars. Unlike the Thais who mostly knows to assemble it.

• Ah Beng on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Market leader in making Milo tin cars?

• gurnc on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:10 am

Yes milo tin with 5 stars aussie ncap if you are retard enough.

• NO 1 at boasting that they will be No 1…year after year without fail, they keep boasting the same thing, that they r going to be world-class company conquer the world auto market or annoucing ENDLESS “strategic alliances or tie ups”…NEXT YEAR they ANNOUNCE the SAME THING!!!

• Just Another Dude:
    Maybe Thailand is “Detroit of the East”, at least Malaysians can actually design and build cars.
    ****yeah, design cars that fell apart even when new
    ================================================
    Unlike the Thais who mostly knows to assemble
    ****at least they assemble QUALITY cars that WORKS

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:11 am

WHATT!!! Wanna be No 1 aa… Ive already claimed 8 warranty item from you for my EXORA and you still owe me the “EXTRAORDINARY HANDLING” thing that cause that %#&&* sway to the left all the time. 14 times do alignment olso cannot solve. Change parts olso cannot solve. Still dreaming to be no 1….!!!

Yahh… You’ll be no 1 to be summoned under Akta Perihal Dagangan soon….

Dato Lokman… Please mark my word….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 182 Thumb down 0
  • Ah Beng on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:11 am

Reclaim market leader in kampung only mah. Ha ha…

• Old dog on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:45 am

We never have a mentality to be the world player…shake head…

• steve on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:51 am

to be no 1, make your price reasonable, design better, quality better, don’t always rebadge, after sales service better, parts quality better. ok from up to down also shit now, need to improve everything so you better disappear , cos proton just a crap!

• CarQuality on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:38 am

Aiyaa… stop comparing Proton and Perodua to the likes of Korean or Japanese car.. Korean sold more than 7.7 million cars globally with over 1.4 million sold locally in 2011…
    Total Malaysian cars sales for all brands like Proton, Perodua, Honda, Toyota etc is just like over 600K for 2013…
    Simple logic, more sales, more money, better R&D, better cars…

• Fuel Cell Phone on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:44 am

Supposedly the export proton cars are of better quality and features right?

So, imho, if P1 really serious and honest, please make proton cars for local market as good as or better than export market!!!

• Malai boleh on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Dreaming la Proton.. After conning buyers and rubbish-like support when they claim for warranty and not forgetting low quality but expensive original parts and labours.. now who want to support you?? Only ‘budak baru nak naik’ will buy your cheats..

• Eugene on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Yes Proton certainly can… by setting its own game rules and limits the competition… to reclaim its title of JUARA KAMPUNG

• Unlike other brand, I see that people is unable to associate anything with Proton car, either prestige, image, design, quality or technology. Only thing I can think of is ‘affordability’. There must be something wrong..

• randy chua on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:53 am

National car maker should serve citizen needs. That is why affordability a big focus. done researching other national car maker pricing and strategies? Please do. If you love expensive car, buy proton in singapore then. persona is just rm350k only.

• sniper on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:10 pm

C’mon proton.. i thought u wanna be global big player? but why your target only for local?. this is shameful.

• freaky dude on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:24 pm

ok la proton we give you chance.. make sure you price your car according to its quality la kaniniah.. in other word worth every RM! makan pisang lagi lalalala