SPYSHOTS: Clearest view of the F56 MINI yet

Mini-Cooper-S-1

These are the clearest views of the upcoming F56 MINI hatchback so far. Our spy photographers snooped around a professional photography session (check out the matte black Cayenne with the camera rig) of the next-generation 2014 F56 MINI hatchback and caught this yellow MINI Cooper S hatchback in action.

Earlier today, BMW dropped fresh details on the upcoming MINI hatch, confirming that the new model will feature both BMW’s TwinPower Turbo 1.5 litre three-pot and 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol engines, with outputs of 136 hp/220 Nm and 192 hp/280 Nm respectively.

The current BMW-PSA Prince engines will no longer be in service in the new hatch, but will continue in other existing models until the collaboration project expires in 2016. Read the full powertrain and tech story here.

2.0 litre MINI TwinPower Turbo petrol

This F56 Cooper S is in the same yellow hue as the car that was photographed the first time we saw the MINI fully undisguised, but this time our spies managed to get a clearer and more direct angle. The previous spyshots, shot from a high angle, prompted MINI to issue a statement which basically called us to wait and see as those weren’t the most flattering angles of the car.

What do you think, does the new MINI look better here than in the previous set? The F56 2014 MINI Hatch will be unveiled in London on November 18, the birthday of Sir Alec Issigonis, the man behind the original Mini of 1959. We will cover its motor show debut in Tokyo just a few days later, so stay tuned for that.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Clearly, it has disease….

• Gary Yap on Oct 01, 2013 at 2:40 am

Looks like the new mini is a frowner.

• NeoLover on Oct 01, 2013 at 3:02 am

That is one surprised MINI !!! O_O

• Vw got a BUG, BMW got a LADYBIRD.

• jamal on Oct 01, 2013 at 8:31 am

the car looks good when u r driving around california , paris or any big western cities but never will look good in malaysia (third world country).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • so third world country nowadays have tallest twin towers in the world ? then where’s africa belongs to ? 30th world country ?

• Malaysia is a “developing” country. USA, japan, singapore etc are “developed” countries… Third world countries r those very poor countries with minor/no infrastructure and facilities..

• Furqan on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:33 am

If you squint, the curvy-er back makes it look like a fiat 500…

• Lexington steel on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:33 am

Does this mean mini JCW will get the 328i tuning ohhhh so power I cream myself

• _xXx_ on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:36 am

isn’t that ‘S’ taken from SUPRIMA?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • i dun see y this car price is above rm200k

• azhar zaihuddin on Oct 01, 2013 at 10:54 am

this is a below 100k car, go blame gov tax

• or blame yourself who doesnt have enough money

• @sid I like the way you think haha broke people are funny ain’t em
          @azhar zaihuddin dude instead of braggin and being petty like a bish why don’t you go get yourself some money .. 200K cars ain’t shizz.. thank god I was born in an established business family but poor you.

• azman on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:56 am

@Wiz : you think you are rich enough & underistimate poor ppl? If you’re rich enough,you dont buy Mini Cooper. Buy Aston Martin Cygnet instead. :)

• Furqan on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:57 am

Judging by the car in front of it, they’re probably shooting the commercial

• sudonano on Oct 01, 2013 at 10:41 am

The surprised O.O look makes it look quite cute though. Like the Fiat 500.

• azhar zaihuddin on Oct 01, 2013 at 10:51 am

Of course buy Proton Suprima S~! Proton also got turbo engine. same hatchback, more doors and 100% sportier than MINI. Proton probably have better hndlig than this small car. Suprima S is heavier, longer wheelbase, bigger so for sure it has better handlig than this MINI. Small car die faster in accident too. Do not say suprima s made by tin, because it now has 5 stars. it If someone does not know how much the suprima cost, he or she probably will think it is more expensive than MINI. Suprima S does looks like a rm200k car.
    Call me if you want to buy 013 – 279 5517. oto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • rocketman on Oct 01, 2013 at 12:17 pm

You just went full retard dude. Hear yourself comparing a MINI vs. Proton which is light years away in terms of product substance and technology…go check your head before you post up stupid comments

• chen tan on Oct 01, 2013 at 2:21 pm

you are wrong, he is right. All Malaysian prefer this Proton Suprima S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Nothing to shout about with the tech. They put in twin turbo of course it can churn out more power. And the design inside, duh, I can see the scale alike design dashboard. Maybe the designer got inspired when he went to wet market, lol

• rocketman, dont be so serious.. he just made our day..hehe

• A heavier, bigger car with a longer wheelbase has better handling?

So best handling have MAN, SCANIA and Hino? ;)

• That would be lighter, more powerful car with better handling. Lighter engine and gearbox and redesigned suspension. It is at best an inch or two longer at the front with a shorter over hand at the back than the currant R56. In Cooper Guise it will be the best to drive to date if not the to look at.

• drBirdie on Oct 01, 2013 at 1:57 pm

i jus called the number u gave, damn it’s a MINI salesman number…

• suprima brand underwear salesman detected.

• mamamia on Oct 01, 2013 at 1:21 pm

not cute as previous model

• Malaysian consumers give us turbo n there will be less haters.. muahahaah

• Current model has better styling IMHO

• rdgear on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Even it got 280nm torque also no use, amoi still loves Vios. It’s a true babe magnet car!