Proton ‘Nama Siapa Hebat’ contest winner announced – 20-year-old Rishalaini wins a Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium

Proton Iriz_Nama_Siapa_Hebat_Winner 039

The winner of the ‘Nama Siapa Hebat‘ contest held by Proton was announced today. The contest was held – from June 25 to July 25 2013, in anticipation of the launch of Proton’s new compact car.

This is not the first time that Proton has reached out to the public when it comes to naming their new models. The ‘Saga’ and ‘Exora‘ nameplate were also the result of similar efforts made by Proton.

The winner, 20-year old Rishalaini A/P Alagapan, a student in Nilai, stated her reasons behind the idea for the name. The iris, a section of the human eye responsible for controlling the amount of light entering the retina is symbolically linked to “the natural element of Proton looking out for the occupants in the car.”

PAULTAN_Proton_Iriz_Exterior_08

The ‘Z’ is used in place of the ‘S’ as it gives a “fresh and vibrant way of pronunciation”. Proton claims that the name decision was apt for its intended target audience – which is the younger generation, who would have “their own ways of pronouncing words.”

Proton received a total of 44,650 entries – comprised of 92% online submissions and 8% postal entries. Panel of judges included senior management members of Proton’s Group Communications; Group Marketing, Branding & Motorsports; and Product Strategy Divisions – with Proton’s Head of Design, Azlan Othman, heading the panel of judges.

The prize presentation ceremony was held at the Proton Centre of Excellence in Shah Alam, in conjunction with the Alami Proton event – an open day-weekend. The winner was presented with a brand new Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium CVT.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Irizvsmyvi on Sep 27, 2014 at 11:55 am

Congratulation!! Apa nombor plate? Best sungguh dapat kereta free. Hehe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Pass by a Proton showroom just now. Didn’t see any crowd like I saw in P2 showroom, but a mum with kids and a few smoking sales agents.

The agents really stupid, your prospective customer bringing kids to see the car, some more you smoke front of them, where is your ethic?

Proton car, proton after sale service, proton sales agent… sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 65
      • samelorstpd on Sep 27, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Hello your showroom is empty, no customer today?

Pity. Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
      • BLT_Club on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Bro, we know you hate Proton, but really is this a true story or tall tale? It’s no point making all this up. The fact is we know Proton divides opinions. Personally I don’t think we need national car manufacturers, what with one that just rebadges and another that can’t understand that a Euro 6 compliant engine to compete globally. And Toyota is taking us all for a ride (pun intended), if not fir the badge I doubt anyone would buy the hideous Vios (the current gen looks better but I laugh at the racing pretensions of the TRD version). So why don’t you do a personal test on Iriz, Axia/Myvi/Vios objectively. You might be surprised. From experience, I owned a Myvi before (1st gen model) and I crashed it. But the airbags did deploy (Nasib baik). But in all honesty the Myvi is a dog of a car. Sluggish, unrefined, crap plastics. Would never buy another Perodua.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
        • BOYRACER on Sep 27, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Have to agree with you on this.The Myvi is overated.I drove the 1.5l Extreme recently through backroad and highway.The fastest I drove was about 110kmh through the backroad.I felt the car was getting unstable at high speed.The steering felt numb.

For me the 1.5l is a waste. The 1.3l is adequate as the stock chassis cannot handle the extra power. For all the looks,it is really “look fast look furious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • Of course there’s no crowd at showrooms. They all went to Alami Proton event.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Wow. Congratulations to the mother of Iriz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Congrats Rishalaini. Even your name sound good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Obviously (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Congratulations are in order. :)

Yet, why are the faces so muram?

• Winning Loser on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Muram sebab belum boleh bawa balik. Lusa baru boleh register & tampal road tax disc. Sabarlah Adik Risahlaini & keluarga. Kurang2nya anda sekeluarga adalah pemilik pertama Iriz. Jutaan tahniah!

For me although did not win the contest I will definitely buy an Iriz for my wife soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Obviously (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Oh, I see. So close, yet so far for them. At least they got it, though. A brand, spanking new 62k car. Mmmmm

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Because they expect to win some money..

Not the car.. other cars can.. but not this..

Hehe.. since u asked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
  • tahniah2!

• peyno (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:24 pm

iriz name sooo urban

unlike aziah.. really looks like kampung name

well aziah is markwted for kampung ppl and low income ppl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 36
    • BLT_Club on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Why do you look down on kampong and low income people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Eyo (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Yo Peyno , you have rights to voice out your opinion or insult a product that you deem inferior ( backed up with proofs of course ) . But you have absolutely no right to look down on kampung people or low income people . For all you know they are better people then you are . Please refrain from making such comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • wahhh, jeles i tgk dia dapat kereta free, premium pula tuh, tahniah buat Rishalaini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Gopsvana on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Congratulations to you Miss.Rishalaini…superb definition ..

• abahko on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:45 pm

untung la. gratz by the way.

• normal_user on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Proton has to explain to the public on why they have to break their own rules in choosing the winner, on two different occasions.

One of the main terms and condition of the contest is that the name must be in Bahasa Malaysia. Iriz is not a Malay word, even the Iris itself has its Greek origin which means rainbow. Well, the Exora naming contest in the past also disallowed usage of names related to flora and fauna.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:25 pm

so what is iris in Bahasa?

• Yeke? on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Wow…payah tu. Original Malay language cuma paku, padi dan xxbi. Garuk kepala nak pilih

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Bahasa Malaysia borrows a lot of words from other languages…just like most other languages. English also borrows a lot of words from Latin and the etymology of some words can be traced back to Greek as well.

• TheDean on Sep 27, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Iris in bahasa is (drumroll, please)….. Iris. Girl deserves it, although I would’ve preferred other names.

• protipu on Sep 29, 2014 at 12:22 am

It is a normal thing that proton break their own rule. Like the proton exora before. But who are we to complaint them. They don’t care coz it is their competition and their prize. My advise, if you want to win their prize, 1st u should never consider their rules!

• Don’t you notice that in the last paragraph of the contest rule, it is stated that “please ignore all the rules and term above”. Of course you never knew that because it is only add for the judges view!

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Tahniah. . I suggest. . After this.. buy one Iriz free one Iriz.. baru bole konfem 17K orders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • shawal on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:39 pm

free car!?!?!?

it helps reduce the burden of the household….

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Congratulations are definitely in order.

Plus it seems to be a very promising car….

• any info regarding the other winners? 2nd, 3rd, consolation prize?

• BLT_Club on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Congrats! Good way to generate awareness. But really Proton should name it themselves, it’d be more meaningful to have a name with the internal team is proud of. Here’s when the marketing ppl take away the soul from the development team. But hey congrats. Sounds better that Soluna, I mean Vios. And let the dislikes come like rain…

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:05 pm

I think it’s an interesting way of naming their car. This way, they actually involve the people who will buy the cars in an albeit small part of the development.

• german car lovver!!aka Jian on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Congratulations!!!!!Rishalani………Nice pick of name!!!!!!!

• Eyo (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 4:10 pm

I envy you Rishalani . Congratulations to you and enjoy your new ride . May god protect you and your family on the road .

Drive safe :)

• jilbaber on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:22 pm

I wish my daughter can be more like you Irishalani…got free car that bear your name on it!

now I got headache already cause she want new car too and she not even in first year yet !
    compromise my saving for new S-class..

• AVH (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Her face looks absolutely livid! Congrats

• Congratulations Risha,enjoy your Proton Iris.My father already buy.Another two days we can take.Excited Gila!!Go go proton!!

• Nissan on Sep 27, 2014 at 11:42 pm

congra. but i only saw proton stuff thumb up & the winner & her family face seem like saying ” hell, only get crappy proton? i thought we can bring home a City”…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:04 am

city ka iriz ka still a drb product

as ling they dint give crap umw n p2 product… good for rashalini

• The Real Same LOrrr on Sep 28, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Apa yg ko bahalol sangat? Peraduan Proton hadiah pun Protonlah. Ko ingat mcm peraduan gores & menang yg ada hadiah Ferrari tu ke?