VIDEO: 2015 Honda Civic Type R partially revealed!

2015_Honda_Civic_Type_R

The 2015 Honda Civic Type R has been partially revealed in a cool new promotional video, which you can watch in full below. Looks mighty fine, doesn’t it?

Yes, while we won’t ignore the fact that the car in question wears a “Type R Concept” model plate, and that the front bumper matches that of the earlier show car (with an underside LED strip) rather than the production version (normal round foglamps), it does show the upcoming hot hatch’s production-spec LED headlights.

It has already been confirmed earlier that the 2015 Civic Type R will have a 270 km/h top speed, with a direct injected 2.0 litre VTEC TURBO engine with between 280 to 300 PS to get it there. It’s also known that it’ll have a flat underside, a functional rear diffuser and a bespoke rear wing alongside 19-inch alloy wheels over 350 mm cross-drilled Brembo brakes.

The final version will debut at next month’s 2015 Geneva Motor Show, wearing the iconic Championship White colour scheme. We can hardly wait.

2014 Honda Civic Type R Concept

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Therealmaserati on Feb 21, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Thats why the Japs still rule when it comes to cars. Some of the worlds best sports cars are all created by the japs.

Korea cant even get a Cerato right let alone build a sportscar. Thats why Korea is still lagging far behind when it comes to cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 31
    • gokorean on Feb 21, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Civic altis are less luxurious than cerato, accessoeies and power wise. Japs are left behind

Get your fact right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
      • Evora 400 on Feb 22, 2015 at 2:24 am

evora 400 just launched. surprisingly no news here.
        This year, new Type R, new Ford GT, new Evora, new Cayman TT.
        Probably all of them will feature in same a car shoot out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • I agree, the worlds best sports cars are all created by japs….In the 90s.
      But right now? Erm…Nissan GTR……Honda NSX…AND THATS IT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 22, 2015 at 10:44 pm

Just because you can’t afford the 86, doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist.

It didn’t win “Top Gear 2012 car of the year” out of nothing.

• shame_Loo on Feb 23, 2015 at 8:50 am

See how Honda doing with Mclaren with the turbo charged engine in F1. Well, they alway place no.1 in testing, but sorry it is counted from the back…..

Can’t expect much from this Ah Beng car. If you drive a conti, you won’t look back to Jap….

• DonkeyKong on Feb 21, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Still an ah beng low-class rice car. Even a Golf GTI is way, way classier than this junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 76
    • I love how you arrived at a conclusion for a car that hasn’t even been made yet. Can you predict 4d number also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • DonkeyKong on Feb 22, 2015 at 5:09 am

Conclusion to what? Low class is low class. Just like by looking at Proton Juara, you know it’s low class with bad styling. You look at this junk, you know that no one driving it will be taken seriously. For 80% of the non-petrolhead drivers on the road, they might know even know the difference between this ricemobile with an ugly modified Satria Neo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
        • First of all, the Proton Juara exists, the 2015 civic type R doesnt. Secondly comparing a economy minivan to a hatchback is ridiculous.
          Thirdly, you call rice as if there arent any riced golfs out there, you think i haven’t seen some poor fool sticking a GTi badge on his base golf? Or putting an R bodykit on his regular GTi, because that would somehow magically make his car go faster.
          Also, i can’t recall when was the last time i saw the mk5 and mk6 golf on the road? What happened to all of them?
          They used to be everywhere, i guess the owners just got fed up with their toilet paper reliability and sold them.
          Go to mudah or carlies, and you can find golfs with barely even 10,000km already being sold. Meanwhile FD2 Type R owners already pushing past 100,000km no problem at all. Also the FD2 will crush the golf on a track ANY DAY OF THE WEEK, it is a far more capable platform than the golf will ever be. Nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
          • DonkeyKong on Feb 22, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Civic FD Type R.. This new Type R.. both still ah beng cars, same as CRZ. Just look at the styling, you know only ah bengs will drool, especially with ugly Mugen kits tacked on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
          • Corporal on Feb 23, 2015 at 10:58 am

Wow its amazing how you would think a Golf is a classy car… In Europe it is the equivalent of the Myvi here or quite frankly a peoples car. Not so classy like what you think.

• ONGWC5 on Feb 25, 2015 at 11:11 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZsW8tCtkeU
            Get ur fact dude, oh btw, I own a MK6 R, I don’t that so call “far more capable platform” can out run my ride.

• DonkeyKong on Feb 24, 2015 at 11:54 am

That’s the whole point! The Golf GTI is an “everyman’s car” that’s just plain and boring, but it’s classier than this piece of junk!

• VWfanboi on Feb 21, 2015 at 7:16 pm

your comment suite your name…. DonkeyKong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 21, 2015 at 7:34 pm

Golf sui kwan and kwai tai.

No RV oso

• blaster88 on Feb 22, 2015 at 7:48 pm

Huh? GTI is a classy car? I certainly would not call a GTI a classy car. I owed an MK 6 for awhile, sold it due to rattling, buzzing and knocking sound…not to mention the cheap plastic and poor quality.

For sure you have low standards…..

• DonkeyKong on Feb 24, 2015 at 11:55 am

If someone tells you “You’re dumber than a mentally retarded person”, does it mean that mentally retarded people are intelligent?

• Golf GTI is most unreliable hot hatch up to date . My neighbours gti end up at workshop few times and he got myvi for weeks hmm

• DonkeyKong on Feb 24, 2015 at 11:56 am

Yup. VW are crappy, but ah beng vehicles are crappier than VWs

• jinggo on Feb 21, 2015 at 2:58 pm

ini barang mana ada masuk malaysia.. 1st world country saja ada ini barang.. malaysia harus tunggu recond saja la.. malaysia is 3rd world country maa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 10
    • Alpha on Feb 22, 2015 at 1:27 am

Funny how people forget that Malaysia is the only country outside of Japan to officially sell the FD2R Civic Type R.
      Granted that there are a bunch of recond FD2Rs on the road, but Honda Malaysia managed to sell a lot of the official FD2R here.

Not bad for a 3rd world country,eh?

Not saying this one will enter our market officially, just saying that the previous one did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Honda Wave Jer on Feb 21, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Honda is doing great! Except for Honda Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • just can’t imagine someone in a suit pulling up infront of the ritz in this car unlike the Golf or A45 or even the Megane. It’s a bit too boy racer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • DonkeyKong on Feb 23, 2015 at 2:08 am

Ah bengs can’t tell crap from shine. The same ah bengs who plaster up their Vios and Myvi with ugly stickers are the ones who will drool over this low-class rice-mobile

• wrigley on Feb 21, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Will this be available in Malaysia? I plan to trade in my old jalopy (E46 325i) for a fun car like the Type-R.

• KarTiN (Member) on Feb 21, 2015 at 4:25 pm

As for a japs 4 bangers toy, the Impreza is hard to beat. This is a races boy wanna be. Probably cost around the same price range as the German counterparts, then the Golf R might be a better choice or fork out a bit more for for the AMG’s.

• Looks promising!

• Makes me feel really sick knowing that Honda Malaysia will never bring this car in to sell. So, are we all really 3rd class in a 3rd world country and don’t deserve the better quality things..like even the type of Euro 2 petrol that we are still only using? Why isn’t our country improving?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • burong on Feb 21, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Korean is 10years behind Jap. Beautiful from outlook but when come to stability, respond and built, u will feel instantly on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Honda Crup on Feb 21, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Boring… Not much different from previous one. Another money loosing project for Honda. Don’t believe? See how Honda suffer in F1 this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Megane on Feb 22, 2015 at 12:05 am

The future mother in laws would not be happy if one turns up in that Type R. It encapsulates wild- sperm behaviour

• v-power on Feb 22, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Reading some of the comments here, I can’t understand why people easily talk trash about the Type-R for no apparent reason, comparing it to contis & others…

I like performance contis myself – Golf Gti, BMW M3, etc…these legends have pedigree and backed-up by years of motor racing history, no different to Honda…
    (Honda is one of the pioneer names in F1 since the 80s…developing innovative technologies that go into their road cars). And like many performance icons the Type-R badge brings a lot of excitement and smiles to its loyal fans for almost two decades…

So for those want sheer comfort, luxury and all the trimmings/or just hate for the sake of hating…don’t worry – this no-nonsense, track-focused, 2-litre VTEC Turbo is happily not the car for you…which just leaves the rest of us to work even harder, and hopefully one day get to finally own and fully enjoy this reborn legend once more…peace

• medic on Feb 22, 2015 at 3:28 pm

There is a high tendency for some to bash cars they cannot afford…sigh… same like how a guy talks bad about a girl who snubbed him..

• docgy on Feb 22, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Who said cannot afford? Bimmer 320i e90 58k
      Even cheaper than junk Vios / Myvi

• Mat Sembang Kencang Automotif on Feb 22, 2015 at 11:03 pm

alaaahh sembang sembang kencang itu ini bagus la tak bagus la, tukar minyak enjin pun hantar workshop jugak pasal tak pandai.