2016 Volkswagen Jetta GLI sports new face, more tech

2016-volkswagen-jetta-gli-revealed

The 2016 Volkswagen Jetta GLI has been revealed for the US market sporting minimal changes on both the outside and in – completely understandable when one considers that the MY2015 Jetta GLI received quite the update itself. On the outside, the sedan cousin to the Golf GTI hatch sports a refreshed front fascia.

A subtly revised front end, consisting of a honeycomb grille featuring the trademark red horizontal stripe, and redesigned fog light assemblies are to most obvious changes. In profile, the 2016 Volkswagen Jetta GLI receives 18-inch ‘Mallory’ wheels while changes on the rear end include the adoption of a new rear bumper with a diffuser-like element. A pair of chrome-tipped exhaust outlets complete the list of exterior updates.

Under the bonnet, the updated Jetta GLI soldiers on with the same 2.0 litre, turbocharged four-cylinder mill from its Golf GTI sibling. Said mill puts out a total of 210 hp and 280 Nm of torque – transmission options include a six-speed manual or six-speed dual-clutch gearbox.

On the inside, the 2016 Jetta GLI receives Volkswagen’s MIB II infotainment system as standard. Said system incorporates the full suite of USB and Car-Net connectivity – the latter is an app-based platform that allows owners to retrieve data on the vehicle when driven by someone else, summon roadside assistance and, if need be, issue an automatic crash notification.

2016-volkswagen-jetta-gli-revealed-2

Also new for 2016 is the standard inclusion of Automatic Post-Collision Braking system. Said safety system activates the brakes following an initial collision to help shed leftover momentum which could result in a secondary impact. Two trim lines are available, the Jetta GLI SE and SEL.

The base SE variant is equipped as standard with LED taillights, keyless entry with start-stop, Climatronic automatic dual-zone air-conditioning, a sunroof, six-way powered driver seat, reverse camera, front and rear parking sensors, auto wipers and headlamps, heated seats and a Fender Premium Audio System.

The costlier SEL variant adds on navigation, Blind Spot Detection with rear traffic alert and Bi-Xenon headlights with Adaptive Front-lighting System (AFS). The 2016 Volkswagen Jetta GLI is expected to hit the market in the third quarter of 2015 with prices touted to remain more or less the same.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Jetta Sport Edition launched in Malaysia

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Rear looks good! But the gills in front make it look rather cheap.

• VW_rocks on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:39 pm

Prefer the pre-facelift GLI.
      New front bumper is overdone ;)

• DSG DSG DSG on Jun 11, 2015 at 3:23 pm

VW cars are good but not in Malaysia. Already confirmed, the DSG cannot handle our weather and traffic jams. VGM change mineral oil also, still got so many DSG breakdowns.

So, VGM, please sell normal 4 speed auto please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • andrew lee on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Actually I lazy to reply all this already. VW failure is mainly due to the synthetic oil plus hot whether, and by changing the right mineral oil, the problem solved! you also already know!
          where do you get the fact on still got many DSG breakdown? You saw 2 vw car on the street breakdown and you claimed that it is DSG breakdown?! HELLO!! you sure or not??
          Anyway if you want problem free car, pls drive NISSAN DATSUN… this car still can go GENTING highland!

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Still plain and boring. You deserve better with sushi car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Bob_B78 on Jun 11, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Agree on the plain and boring looks. But once behind the wheel, you’ll be grinning with excitement.

• randy pangalila on Jun 12, 2015 at 2:31 pm

for me it’s just nice. good looking. yeah, when u in it, u’ll know what the excitement is. vw’s driving experience always feel different compared to other cars

• I too like a sleeper, a car that looks super boring from the outside but goes like the clappers when you step on it. My present Polo 1.2 is like that too. No, the DSG has been reliable so far, it’s been 4 years.

• i only care about face.

• Ling Chee Huat on Jun 11, 2015 at 2:18 pm

U r just too conservative.

• running out of design ideas. *takes sibling Audi’s rear design, pastes it to VW cars rear*

• kaboom on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:12 pm

when will release in malaysia? 2020?
    and where is the interior photo?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:09 am

VW please sell manual cars like in China. All MT drive VW have no problems.

• andrew lee on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Then people start complaining MT is not good, because tired of traffic jam….