Proton to use nuclear technology in the future?

Paul Nigh's 'TeamTimeCar.com' Back to the Future DeLorean Time Machine

No, it’s not what it seems – your next Proton Iriz won’t come complete with Back to the Future-style nuclear-powered flux capacitor that will enable your inner Doc Brown to travel through time to the year 2015 (oh, wait…). The national carmaker’s latest technical collaboration – this time with the Malaysia Nuclear Agency (Nuclear Malaysia) – is much more modest than that.

According to Astro Awani, Proton will engage with the association to develop and utilise materials derived from the nuclear power industry. In this phase of the collaboration, the duo will work together on three research components concerning the use of cables and conductors for automotive applications.

These include the development of advanced EB cross-linked HF/FR cables, the development of advanced aluminum and alloys as alternative conductors and the establishment of a Proton Industrial Standard and a Malaysian standard for automotive cables.

Nuclear Malaysia chief director Datuk Dr Muhamad Lebai Juri said that it recognises the need to produce local products that are innovative and comparable to imported products has risen in the wake of increasingly liberalised trade. As such, the agency intends to play an important role in helping Proton become a more competitive player in the marketplace.

2014_Top_Five_Proton_Iriz_MT_ 005

“This system can become a marketing tool to generate success,” he said. “The country will be able to reduce its dependence on imported products, preventing the outward flow of money.

“The research programme is in line with aspirations and pressure from the government to implement the concept of innovation, as well as the emphasis of local production as an agenda to stabilise the national economy with quality, technologically-advanced local products.”

Proton chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa added that the expertise of Nuclear Malaysia is vital, especially in improving the quality and safety of Proton vehicles. “For example, cable insulators that use Nuclear Malaysia technology are stronger, more durable. As such, we would like to utilise that technology made available by Nuclear Malaysia in Proton vehicles.”

* Top image via Wikimedia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• michaelooi on Aug 25, 2015 at 7:45 pm

That’s like operating a high speed circular saw near your balls. Dangerous.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
    • neutron on Aug 25, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Saga Plus don’t even have basic safety like ABS. Proton wants to melt down the world ah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 14
      • karam singh on Aug 25, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Well … people so typical about Nuclear.,
        when they heard nuclear, it always gonna be kababoom.

What it meant here, Nuclear Malaysia Tech doing RnD like the US (NASA) – aerospace ,
        but this one here new cable insulator technology by our own Nuclear Malaysia Tech.

Why Malaysian too typical close minded type.
        “Proton will engage with the association to develop and utilise materials derived from the nuclear power industry” Not using the Nuclear fission on the car to produce power like submarine. Shame Shame Shame,
        Stop being typical

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 53
        • kampung boy on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Satu lagi project syok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 25
          • nuclearproton on Aug 25, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Proton should just close down like how Japan close down their nuclear power station. Driving a Proton is like driving a nuclear car even without the nuclear tech like Exora. Stop this mad R&D from Proton as excuse to ask more money from G. 30 years of suffer is enough from nuclear power plant called ‘Proton’. For the sake of our future, close down Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 24
          • 24 Hours Kongkek on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:45 am

You must be joking. I work in Proton and I can tell you, 90% of the staff here are all the time talking about awek, kongkek, malam jumaat and kongkek.

That is all they are thinking about. They cannot concentrate on their work and kongkek is on their minds 24 hours. Infact, anything that moves in a skirt, they all stop to look.

With this kind of level of evolution, how you want to do nuclear energy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:30 pm

And you’re just typical bashers who prefers to underestimate our national carmaker capability. You’re the one who close minded resisting to admit that Proton is now moving one step ahead from other automaker around the world by collaborating with govt nuclear agency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 44
          • Bijan on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:15 am

Better collaborate with govt ‘donation’ agency

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
          • George Abdul on Aug 26, 2015 at 8:28 am

Well said Bijan.

Ah Beng no different from Yesmen Dumno ministers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:51 am

Government cannot even solve their own party corruption, now they want to do nuclear ah? One man can songlap 2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor

what about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get low spec lousy cars with super high prices. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe cars that are also reasonably priced.

What happens to the Proton staff who takes songlap because songlap is now donation and tolerated?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrrr on Aug 26, 2015 at 10:52 am

Here you witness again typical Proton 5S lifestyle:

1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Selalu Sales
            5. Semua Org Takut Beli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
        • Burong on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:35 pm

ISIS would like to order from Malaysia.

1. can run for long time
          2. can do kamikazeh stuff
          3. halal guaranteed
          4. lotus handling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
          • Thundercat on Aug 25, 2015 at 11:03 pm

When ISIS want to launch nuclear, Proton engine power failure. Facepalm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • Close Down Jamban Proton on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:56 am

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. Don’t know why Malaysians are excited about Proton going nuclear.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 10 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000 (old exchange rate before RM2.6 billion was stolen). The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

All because of Proton. Now with this so called nuclear research, Proton will ask another few more billions of our LHDN money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
          • This is not nuclear powered car lor, sigh.

• Bryan on Aug 26, 2015 at 12:27 am

Malaysians in general are not very fond of reading and comprehending…… But very quick to shoot their mouths.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
          • p1 bashers who are brainless, what do you expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
        • Uncle Lim on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:08 am

Agree with u Karam Singh, because of the ‘shit mouth’ of some people who don’t want Proton to move on, then they start to spread the wrong info…Read the full article, P1 want to do the collaboration in RnD with Nuclear M’sia Tech. This is inclusive to do a three research components concerning the use of cables and conductors for automotive applications. Which later will help P1 to produce more reliable and safety car.

Have u seen they said they want to put nuclear in P1 car?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Rakyat on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:37 am

Please fix the basic cooling problem in Proton before using nuclear material. Learn to walk first before you fly. P1 car like Exora are already nuclear car without the nuclear tech, no thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • eesense on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:25 pm

That cannot beat killer Takata airbags that actually killed.

• Dear Karam,
          U mean their nuke technology not require to run on radio active materials??? Proton can produce nuke material in their own plant?..Another Talk- cock king

• Cloudz on Aug 25, 2015 at 8:45 pm

As long your balls aren’t hairy, then it’s worth a shot…

• Albert on Aug 26, 2015 at 11:19 am

Proton….always in the limelight for the wrong reason.They are at the foothills of Everest…not even at base camp….yet they talk NUCLEAR now,BOLEH conquer Mt Everest.
      I think the bunch of f..up dudes in Proton realise time is running out.So,in order to keep their jobs,they have to come up with the usual crap promotions,competitions and now NUCLEAR thing.
      Other giants talk less,launch new engines and even HYDROGEN powered cars now.
      Tun….LAZY ….is the word to describe Proton,apart from your fired bakery staff.

• bunny on Aug 25, 2015 at 8:02 pm

They(proton) cant even master a basic technology car like the persona.. what makes you think they could master this muclear tech? Prove me wrong proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • that the use of collaboration

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
      • karam singh on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:11 am

agreed…

• Lol...... Poor cyber troop English on Aug 26, 2015 at 11:53 am

Hahaha, Singh, if that’s even the real you, I thought most if not all Singhs’ command of English is way above national avg. and you didn’t even get the sarcastic way and wording play bunny use in his statement. I will say epic fail on you la, BN cyber troop. Go back to school
          P/s hint for you, proton, personic gas, qucks , nuclear…….hahahah, proton does not mean nation car you know, for way way way longer then the national car been birthed.

• And you go back to work, dun talk kok here during working hour!

• hahaha on Aug 25, 2015 at 8:15 pm

I read the headline and be like… hahahahahahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
  • nuclear malaysia on Aug 25, 2015 at 8:22 pm

We want to turn Malaysia from nice tropical country into nuclear winter. Please support Proton. They can make Malaysia to become the first nuclear winter country in the world. Please trust them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • kennyjay on Aug 25, 2015 at 9:08 pm

wow, power window havent master, now want to master nuclear tech?

havent learn to crawl and now want to fly, bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • How about airbags got shrapnel then want to kill with flying skateboard?

• This is call ” Speculating Branding” Strategy.

• Failed State Citizen on Aug 25, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Did proton fix the dysfunctional power windows yet??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • tinmilo on Aug 25, 2015 at 9:15 pm

Would you trust proton to deal with nuclear?
    For goodness sake, they barely can get the power window working or source a decent gearbox for the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • +1 reason to stay away from Proton

whoever propose this must be an undercover from Perodua.

Proton, fix your dashboard ratting sound first..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Krasher on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:04 pm

Great attempt!
    I could use one for time travelling!

• olio benzina on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:08 pm

With a name like Proton, it just has to be in the nuclear business.

• Smart guy on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:08 pm

kereta pn lembik ade hti nk pki nuklear…pale bana dia..struktur badan tu perkukuhkan dulu kang eksiden udara tercemar ngn nuklear plak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:38 pm

Kereta Proton mana yang lembik Smart guy. Show me which one? I think u r the last person to know that most of all current model using Hot Press Forming tech to strengthen the body structure and pass the ANCAP. You should learn how to erect and strengthen your ball structure before start condemning Proton bout body structure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • sick&tired on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:22 pm

i laughed so much until i almost fainted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • It’s like the script to an extremely silly horror story.

Gosh, what are these people smoking ???

• yahoo on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Wasting time. After so many yrs, never learned.

• Michael on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:32 pm

First of all, we really must think out of the box. No more nuclear please, is adding more danger to the driver. I think what we should do is to focus on minimizing the material used to produce vehicle. Doing this might enable us to use less energy ie. petrol. Speaking of petrol, we need all our chemical engineering to work on those brain to create another mode of energy to mobilize any mode of transportation. Not working on nuclear…

• akita on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Proton cobra head, iriz god particle. Future Ufo flying car superior branded .

• Warning!!!! Radiation !!!!
    Bio-Hazard project will initiate!!!
    Resident around proton plant to clear out ASAP before nuclear eruption!

• These guys can’t even get power windows done properly after how many decades? And they want to try something idiotic like this.

• yousnail on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Slowpoke, cerita sudah basi. Now got lifetime warranty summore.

• alfarabi on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:56 pm

channel your energy into fully electric vehicles please.

• sepul on Aug 25, 2015 at 11:12 pm

Majority of comments here speaks the very mindset of Malaysians in general.

You must love science.

• RockyBalboa on Aug 25, 2015 at 11:35 pm

LMAO proton….nuclear powered???!!!! Can’t even give us a reliable power window!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • matdir on Aug 25, 2015 at 11:51 pm

Mulakan buat drone brand proton

• @Jonathan Lee.
    I know at first glance it might sound farfetched but you dun have to sensationalise it until noob Malaysians thinking P1 wanna put nuclear enjin in the car.

On the cable side, as what Karam Singh above mentioned, why can’t you elaborate more and say that Nuclear Agency is collaborating with P1 to study on local development of cross-link jacketed automotive cables. Furthermore its more importantly towards their 3rd partner, the cable supplier.

FYI cross-linked cables (google H+S Radox) is not so crazy as it is used in European cars as well as power transmission application. The cable is basically exposed to certain types of radiation to strengthen the outer layer. Any idiot with a nuclear bomb/reactor can do it, however the jacket material is a well kept secret. And to buy these cables are very expensive, almost always the supplier can dictate the price and supply quantity. China with all their copy ninjitsu still couldnt get this right.

Thats the goal of this partnership, at least for the cable side. Maybe someone can shed light on the other projects.

I expected better from PT writers. This in NOT Mkini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • I don’t know about you but all the cable stuff is clearly in the story.

• The problem is, he din elaborate on what these projects are all about. He just sensationalise them. Just look at the headlines.
        And that leads to those noobs above (except for Karam Singh) shooting their foot and mouths. I think after you read my explanation above, its not so out of this world izit?

• Aero (Member) on Aug 26, 2015 at 12:42 am

There’s nothing wrong with Proton co-operating with Nuclear Malaysia. Our national companies should stick together and learn from each other to become more competitive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Go Nuke on Aug 26, 2015 at 12:52 am

I hope Proton car nuke reactor don’t blow up into passenger arse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Bruise on Aug 26, 2015 at 12:56 am

Bullshit brain only able comeout bullshit comments. Eat too much sushi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • MikeWong on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:14 am

Please don’t play play. Fix your “CFE” or turbo system first.

• uggio on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Its lowish torquey actually smokes 2.0l japs n/a engine

• Yes, Exora not only can smoke 2.0l japs n/a engine, it can also smoke V8 twin turbo engine… When it’s burning, of course

• keager on Aug 26, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Lol butthurt p1 basher. How many got burned? 1000? Takata airbags scandal affects million cars lor

• Close shop on Aug 26, 2015 at 7:19 am

Dont do s sh.it! Jus close down both p1 n p2. Susahkan rakyat n tipu with low quality products!

• Yaa…all close shop. Setup another new company and u lead the team, dun disappoint Malaysian hope.

• xoxox on Aug 26, 2015 at 8:20 am

Mahathir: the price of the proton will be higher because of using “higher quality” part from Nuclear Agency

• camtakpro on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:39 pm

RM140k Preve Turbo with nuclear agency wire harness vs RM140k Altis 2.0V.

RM50k Saga Plus Plus without ABS but with nuclear agency wire harness vs RM50k MyVi 1.5SE.

• ok ok.. i support u Proton! ALL THE BEST!

• thepolygonal on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:10 am

Even though they are only using materials derived from the nuclear power industry, I bet Proton can still call it Nuclear car cause it sounded cool.

• mohdjiman on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:14 am

it tells about the cable…why the comment here talking about car nuke reactor?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:18 am

Someone has been watching re-runs of Back to the Future 1,2 & 3

• cendol (Member) on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:35 am

NOthing much, we just need around RM2 billion of research grant from government (the rakyat) for this collaboration.
    Oh wait, Proton is private now, why still need rakyat money

• You ask why Ford and other companies get grants from their respective gomen or from the countries they invest in

• “Malaysian standard for automotive cables”

wow..i guess all car manufacturer who sells here will need to use cables that meet the ‘standard’

i smell rat

• Wow… I guess pipu here dun do some reading before shooting their mouths. They dunno that automotive industry does have a standard for wire harness. You cant just go to hardware store, buy the cheapest available cable, and install into ur car.

• Go Nuke on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:38 am

please proton I need this tech. I want my saga reach to the moon.

• Biggest joke of the car industry for years…
    My brother’s brand new Proton broke down on DAY ONE(1) after 20 minutes of drive said it all.
    You develop a proper car first then you start talking fancy things to me…

• And those other cars should make their gearboxes, safety, build quality etc are top notch first before selling here. Why no bash?

• DontBeSoLazy on Aug 26, 2015 at 10:15 am

Brother, please go through all the content all about. It is nuclear-driven technologies that will be applied to Proton in the future. Don’t be so lazy!! hahaha! Bashing is ok but you will be look more stupid than proton.

• tinmilo on Aug 26, 2015 at 10:29 am

You do have a point about reading it properly…
      But at the same time, mention proton and nuclear in the same breath will only get you this kind of reaction in the net.
      Proton has no business to be associated with things like nuke when they have other more pressing issues to sort out like better R n D for a good gear box.
      The market expects simple things from proton and expect them to do simple things well first.

• The other dino 4 speeder is not better neither, It makes the FC more than CVT geared cars.

• Proton Comedy on Aug 26, 2015 at 10:23 am

“Proton Industrial Standard”

Another lawak from jaguh kampung company. Everyone knows what’s the quality like for Proton cars. If you don’t, just ask JD Power

• Yeah it gives credit to moving coffins with killer airbags. Very high quality cars to send people straight into coffins.

• nuclearcar on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Killer airbag is better than killer nuclear car. Exora can already melt down itself even without accident, send people straight into cremation

• makko on Aug 26, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Noone dies in burnt Exora, as opposed to Takata airbags scandal that aldy killed people.

• thedarkside on Aug 26, 2015 at 10:23 am

proton…please do research on teleporting…i dowan to be late to work.traffic getting worse. I’ll buy your machine for sure one.

• Magnus on Aug 26, 2015 at 10:40 am

OMG!!! Is a good thing for Car Boomer!!!

• POTONG on Aug 26, 2015 at 11:11 am

What more can you say about nuclear when you can’t even get the power window right!

• torsto on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:33 pm

You must be living in cave to long, pity you

• camtakpro on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:17 pm

At lease the cave won’t have failing power window, crippled door handle, bend wipers, fallen buttons, and problematic intake manifold.

What next? Failed nuclear tech?

• kumar on Aug 26, 2015 at 11:14 am

TAK NAK!

• Kimchi on Aug 26, 2015 at 12:21 pm

I hope Proton got nuke by North Korea

• Yeah hate to agree but they are right! come on Proton, stop with all this b*llsh*t, just focus on improving your quality. Dont talk about going to the moon yet your home still full of sh*t

• @john,

1. Agree title is sensationalised … so not cool Jonathan Lee …

2. Mechanical and electrical parts should be functional, operational, and durable first and foremost to improve and correct perception

3. If China, with its vast duplicating machinery and phenomenal capabilities can not reproduce this technology properly, what chances does NM-Proton have ? And if cost is astronomical to purchase them, what economical sense is there to manufacture with a high possibility of failure ?

4. Which idiot has a nuclear bomb / reactor ?

5. viz a viz Apple gave up developing its own hard drive for a reason. It was too costly and the read / write failure rate was extraordinarily high. There is a reason why industry consolidates and specialises. They perform well in what they do. Specifically. While people who can do it dictate the prices and quality of their product. Simply because they can, and they should, for the brief window that others are still figuring out how to.

• 1. Thank you.

2. Agree with you. But if only mechanical prowess can convince the customer, Hyundai would not need to hire a well-known designer for their cars. The looks do play a major factor in changing perceptions, and Iriz is a step forward in that direction.

3. Innovation. Unlike electronics & mechanics which can be duplicated, Im talking about molecular engineering which you cant just throw money at or find out by copying. That requires innovation and R&D. Prices are astronomical but not necessarily the cost. Thats because there are few players for this type of technology. Basically a high profit margin product with capability to apply to other industrial use.

4. Just a metaphor. In case some noob just says “Chuck the cables into reactor, bake for 10 minutes and walah! No need 2.6 billion!”. Not so simple as it requires specific type of radiation, exposure amount and duration.

5. If you look at Proton cars nowadays, they are moving towards outsourcing their electrical components to more renowned companies (ie Borsch). Perhaps cause these are mature tech and a lot of competitors, its not profitable to venture. Now radiation cross-linked cables on the other hand…

• asagat on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:39 pm

u cant even fix my sagging neo R3 doors, now want to venture into nuclear. go fly kite proton, pls grow up

• notoyota on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:55 pm

They can’t fix my Vios’s suspension now they created flying skateboard, go fly kite toyotalexusbiscuit, no toyota for me after this.

• tuntun on Aug 26, 2015 at 4:29 pm

go and try to fully assemble lego bicycle then only talk about assemble bicycle

• Julian on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Mai lah … Mai lah … wa mai

• Proton are you stupid? ‘Nuclear’ energy is merely radioactive rods that produce heat to boil water, which in turn produces heat to spin impellers. Its a messy, and very large operation. Looks like they have been watching back to the future recently, just shows the child like mentality of our so called ‘engineers’, nothing but retards with tracing paper and crayons.

• Ah Wah on Aug 26, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Good job purotong, really think out of box.
    Btw, your current low quality issue solved already ka?

• Steve Kok on Aug 26, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Nuclear my foot!
    Don’t even have a diesel engine yet.

Don’t tok kok lah.

• karipap masin on Aug 27, 2015 at 10:48 am

satu lagi Proton projek going to masuk longkang…

• thomas bondan on Aug 27, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Why do people always think negatively about Malaysia Proton? And we in Indonesia envy with Proton. Malaysia has been making his own car. While Indonesia is still dependent on foreign investors to build the car industry

• Penduduk Malaysia on Aug 27, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Why? We buy expensive cars because of Proton, that’s why

• thomas bondan on Aug 27, 2015 at 7:20 pm

If the Indonesian people buy a car in their own country, we always buy a Toyota, Honda, Chevrolet, Mercedes-Benz, or other foreign brands. Never buy cars made in our own country. Fortunately for residents of Malaysia are already available Proton or Perodua cars made in Malaysia alone at low prices

• kadajawa on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Malaysians buy Proton because they are forced to, not because they are willing to buy. If you go to Langkawi, you’ll see more Toyota, Honda or other foreign brands than Proton. Why? Because they are much cheaper there without the Gov’s protection

• Cleaner on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:15 pm

We need a ‘cleanup’ of Proton, say no to ‘nuclear’ Proton, come join

• Absolute Rider on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:20 pm

For now what I want is to ask Proton to make sure:

1) improve quality (including facelift the Preve and Suprima S as soon as possible especially redesigned interior plus new meter cluster and infortainment system)

2) include better and more advance safety features. Did a good job in Preve, Suprima S and Iriz but have to always keep up to the latest tech.

3) exterior design. Facelift Suprima S exterior. The headlamps, rear combination lamp with bolder guide lights, rear bumper with proper diffuser and let the exhaust pipe showing off, bolder Proton wing and others.

4) reinforce safety shell for Preve and Suprima S.

Come out with new model with great design, features and of course new engines to meet new EU etc. standards such as low noise less vibrate, low fc and many others. Proton must also concentrate more on producing new engines and getting better transmission for their models. More engine variant options to choose. Proton should have new 1.3L and 1.6L higher spec turbo engines besides 1L or 1.1L turbo as new options for A segment models.

• Guys please open up your mind. We are here tp help rebranding our local car.they are trying to improve their car with the push of their chairman Tun M. Anyway, this paul tan news should replace the nuclear technology to radiation technology since the nuclear tech much more using the nuclear material that involving fussion n fussion mechanism. This project does not using that materials! One word can produce a lot of speculation.