2016 Honda NSX priced from RM755k in Europe, higher than the Merc AMG GT, BMW i8 and Audi R8

Honda NSX TMS-40

Tentative prices of the Honda NSX have been revealed for Europe. In the United Kingdom, the hybrid sports car has been listed at 130,000 pounds sterling (RM755k), while the German market will have to cough up 180,000 euros (RM815k) for it.

The prices mentioned are presumably for the base variants, sans any of the model’s typically pricey options. As such, and just like in the US, this makes the NSX the most expensive sports car in its class.

In the UK, for example, where the NSX is tentatively priced at 130k pounds sterling (RM755k), its competitors’ base prices are all cheaper. The Mercedes-AMG GT starts from just 98k pounds sterling (RM568k), while the BMW i8 and the Audi R8 also fall under the NSX’s mark at 105k pounds sterling (RM610k) and 120k pounds sterling (RM697k) respectively.

In its latest press materials, Honda has also confirmed that Europe is one of its lead export regions for the NSX. The hybrid sports car will be sold via a selected network of authorised dealers, with the order books set to open in April this year. Deliveries will commence later in September.

Honda NSX TMS-48

Produced exclusively at Honda’s Performance Manufacturing Centre in Marysville, Ohio, the Acura NSX is priced from an MSRP USD$156,000 (RM650k) in the US market. Fully loaded with all the available factory features and options, that figure climbs to a staggering USD$205,700 (RM856k).

To recap, the Honda NSX is powered by a Sport Hybrid Power Unit. The rear axle is driven by a 500 hp/550 Nm 3.5 litre DOHC twin-turbo V6 petrol engine and a 47 hp/148 Nm Direct Drive Motor. The front wheels are driven by two more motors, delivering 36 hp at each wheel and 146 Nm collectively. Total system output for the model is rated at 573 hp and 645 Nm.

Do check out our review of the 2017 Honda NSX from Honda’s R&D facility in Tochigi, Japan for more details of the sports hybrid coupe.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Jepunis higher than AMG and R8?! Ini mesti semua salah Najib ni!

• No doubt the technology that’s gone into this car probably justifies that cost but it does make the i8 in particular seem like great value…they could have shaved 100 grand and relied on more volume.

Perhaps it’s a deliberate move to get folks to look beyond the brand to stand up and take notice? Because if you think about it, even if they priced it cheaper then the rest, it will be still regarded as expensive for a Honda…do hope the car justifies it’s pricetag though..

• skatax on Mar 01, 2016 at 6:18 pm

What were they thinking? They have missed the opportunity to attract previous-gen NSX enthusiasts with such price point.

Or perhaps the ridiculous price is actually to recoup 11 years worth of R&D losses since the last model exit production.

At least it looks better than the tapir i8.

• bijan on Mar 01, 2016 at 6:45 pm

ini semua salah Anwar nie…..for being more expensive than Merc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • You people forget that we just signed the TPP agreement ah??
    This car is made in Ohio lah, so duty free!!! Sure cheaper then i8!!
    Thank you pm..

• naynaynay on Mar 03, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Hey guys, seriously? That price is for Europe, not your beloved Malaysia…..

• eveything come into bolehland will be x1000 expensive…thanks to mahathlr