Next-generation Perodua Kenari – exterior and interior rendered, based on the Daihatsu Move Custom

perodua kenari render 1

Earlier this month, the latest sixth-generation Daihatsu Move Custom was spied on Malaysian roads bearing Perodua trade plates, providing a strong hint that a replacement for the Kenari – which was based on the first-generation Move – might well be on the cards.

Triggered by that, Pow Ying Hern has come up with a set of renderings of what a new Kenari – based on the Move – would shape up like. If Pow’s name sounds familiar, that’s because it is; he was the Category 2 and Chairman’s Award winner in the inaugural Proton Design Competition 2014.

The degree holder in Product Design from Nanyang Technological University in Singapore as well as a master’s certificate holder in car design from Domus Academy in Milan, Italy, has kindly provided us usage of the renderings – these depict the Kenari in an assortment of colours, and there’s even a mock-up brochure layout in the mix.

In its domestic market, the Move Custom is powered by a 658 cc three-cylinder engine – the naturally-aspirated unit produces 52 PS at 6,800 rpm and 60 Nm at 5,200 rpm, while the turbocharged version in the Custom RS offers 64 PS at 6,400 rpm and 92 Nm at 5,200 rpm. Both versions are paired with a continuously variable transmission (CVT) and are available in either two- or four-wheel drive guise.

These of course won’t be seen here, presuming a next-gen Kenari is slated to happen – expect to see the car being powered by the Perodua Axia‘s 1KR-DE2 1.0 litre three-pot, which pushes out 66 PS at 6,000rpm and 90 Nm at 3,600rpm. Transmission choices should be identical to the Axia as well, and these are a five-speed manual gearbox and a four-speed automatic.

What do you think of the renders? Like what you see? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mark my word. This will be another best seller from P2.
    You have read it here first.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 23
    • Mark my word. This will bring more MY pipu to afterlife since it will be called, P2 Moving Coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 70
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:03 pm

True my friend, Proton will bet everything about P2 look at March 2016 sales Proton top of the chart !!!! P2 just jealous of Proton sales !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
      • I p1 fanboys truly proud of my ride ..plis dont compare p1 n p2..p1 comparable with vlvo n bm only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • karam singh on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:06 pm

Too much bodyroll.
      Expect more of this rolling over on the road.
      Expecially if this car dont have traction control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
      • WT Fuchhh on Apr 18, 2016 at 7:05 pm

Why would anyone want to buy a box, square as A Maslan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
        • TO240sx on Aug 20, 2016 at 8:17 am

Don’t judge people because u never know they actually like it

• Khairi on Sep 30, 2016 at 4:17 pm

uh, maybe because of the practicality? versatility? price? fuel consumption?… not all car enthusiasts are dugong-lovers with hyped up bodykits to match the blaring 14-point speakers and 20 inch subwoofers inside their boot. there are some who drive more conservatively and value their wallet and the content in it. remember, it’s the japs’ ingenuity you’re questioning. and you can find these cars’ rv high in japan because it’s a kei car.

please be more reasonable when commenting.

• RavenAii (Member) on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:35 pm

It’s a city car not a damn racing vehicle. Unless you’re the kind of driver who max out the rev no matter what type of vehicle you drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • Fwannabe on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:23 pm

@RavenAii – Unfortunatley the buyers would probably be young first time buyers who would modify the cars for high speed driving or racing. Regardless of it’s original design intent.

• Don’t worry your mother will never make it roll while she’s driving that car

• Subaluuuuu on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Daihatsu Go and also Subaru Stella

• dugongx on Apr 19, 2016 at 1:41 am

Burn it down with faiya!!!

• Same L0rr on Apr 19, 2016 at 10:43 am

This is the best ever Perodua Kenari design.. The best in class, the futuristic design ever!

• Mangali Singh on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:51 pm

very niCe rendering! This eco car shd be exempted from all kind of tax!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Heboh on Apr 18, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Looking good!! P1 must rebadge this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • B-Unggul on Apr 19, 2016 at 4:30 am

Proton had tried box-like car which is Juara, and it bombed in the market spectacularly.

Meanwhile, let P2 or Toyo/D do it, and people will go “oooh….aahhhh”.

• lilytan on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Daihatsu move aka perodua kenari was a hit in japan but a flop in msia. Japanese and msian have different taste. Not everything desirable to the japanese wl be loved here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 31
    • Saitam on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:16 pm

I don’t recall the kenari a flop?
      It sold pretty ok with the extra headroom being quite desirable.

You must have mistaken of the Proton Juara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
      • dugongx on Apr 19, 2016 at 2:16 am

Yes it was a flop. The extra large windows and tiny aircond vents combo made everyday ride like a sauna session. It was bought mostly by rempits with extra cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
        • You confused bro. Look at how many kenari still on the road. Damn popular. You’re thinking of the Proton Juara. That box is an endangered species on the road. lol

• Then what will be Malaysian taste? Proton? ahahahhaha

• camtakpro on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Bought a second hand Kenari. 100x quieter and power windows still work vs my first hand Saga, Wira and Satria.

• Matchy on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:56 pm

The front looks like mini Alphard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Really on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:56 pm

Looks more like a mini Elgrand to me. Which is not a bad thing, of course.

• Not regret to own a kenari for 10 years.

Will buy one if they produce it again.

This is the best town car. Unlike the Axia, cramp interior has stopped me from buying one despite a top seller from Perodua.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • karam singh on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:08 pm

mehh, less aerodynamic with more air turbulence.
      gonna feel floaty when a bus pass u.
      hope it not gonna roll over. ;P
      BTW the interior look good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
      • 4G63T DSM on Apr 19, 2016 at 11:35 am

It’s a City car.

M’sians use a vehicle type beyond its intended purpose and then complain of its “faults”. Good job there.

The Kenari was a great city car. It was spacious, had easy ingress/egress due to the high hip point, good visibility, frugal, very good maneuverability and reliable. It also had a very short first gear so it jumps off the line quick. Older folks love them.

Yes, the vast greenhouse meant it can get hot which a good tint will solve, and the little powerplant comes of as underpowered. I have never heard any owner complain they were bad.

• Perrrhhh on Apr 18, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Looks like a mini elgrand and mini vellfire to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • Not an owner or kenari but i heard critics say it has a high center of gravity. I cannot confirm whether it is true or not.

• camtakpro on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:17 pm

So what? The car is not designed to be used in Sepang Circuit.

• yu_kaneshiro on Apr 18, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Front is ok but rear part is terrible.

• Mini moving coffin? *cough*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • Stoner on Apr 18, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Looks like a mini market to me. Will buy 3

• Prefer the rounded headlamp version.

• Kent CHAN on Apr 18, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Looks like a smaller version of Toyota Alphard..

• Mahacheebye on Apr 18, 2016 at 4:57 pm

It’s sushi quality. Unlike the lousy shit quality of Iriz. Thanks to that idiot Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
  • It’ll be at least 2018 before this car is launched here, if ever. Only Perodua will still be using 4 speed auto by then, maybe until 2030.

• Subaluuuuu on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:16 pm

Subaru also takes the same action years ago to rebadge this as Subaru Stella.

• Harry on Apr 18, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Oh! Wonderful. Bring it back. So want to have one but the 2nd hand price is plain ridiculous. Bring it back.

• crash on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:13 pm

I wish it doesn’t use that Axia engine. It just vibrates too much. Anything but 3 potters. Myvi 1.3L engine also good. Cheap maintenance since parts are so abundant.

• Really on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:00 pm

P2 most probably would move the Myvi ‘upmarket’, leaving the KRM (Kenari Replacement Model) to fill its place. Perhaps there will be two engine choices: 1.0 and 1.3L like the Myvi.

• Dear P2,

People want crossovers now. Not sh*tboxes.

Thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Sgt Scoop on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:38 pm

This will be a big seller in Malaysia but with 66hp it’s not going to Move very fast.

• Really on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:56 pm

Looks more like a mini Elgrand to me. Which is not a bad thing, of course.

• Evenifp1lingkupwewillstillsuffer on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:04 pm

Change badge, renamed colors to Merah Cili and Hijau Petai, 1L axia engine and all JDM Fanboy can put huge VIP bodykit and pretend drive alphard, SA provide the japanese inspection sticker stick behind. Market share P2 naik

• Optimus Prime on Apr 18, 2016 at 9:45 pm

In terms of design, I prefer Perodua to bring in the 3rd gen L150 or the 5th gen LA100/LA110 Move This is the 6th gen LA150/LA160 is not as handsome as those two.

• shawal on Apr 18, 2016 at 10:25 pm

Perodua already hv d viva and myvi in the lineup for d common man, make the kenari a lil more upmarket, better specced and trimmed, who knows, malaysians are willing to part cash if it looks really good in and out with high perceived quality feel all around

• Kenari Bird on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:48 am

I think kenari should target those lower income group with lot of kids segment. The rear should be extended by 1.5 ft and a rear facing seat like Juara installed which can flip down. The air-con duct into the back for some cooling comfort vs the old kenari which is hot at the back. As a mini six seater. It will be top seller. The extended rear allow easy wheelchair access. The engine may need to rev up a little for the extra power.

• chin peng on Apr 19, 2016 at 10:28 am

And then Same Lorr gonna say this car is more safe than P1 and shit…I think the P2 designer just sit and relax and change the new color and some new skirting design

• Same L0rr on Apr 19, 2016 at 10:48 am

Proton win the design & power of engine, but Perodua win quality, sales quantity, resale value & reliablity..

• camtakpro on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:19 pm

I almost puke when you mentioned Proton win the design & power of engine.

Proton only wins Darwin Awards every year.

• cant wait when launch

• Conti_Owner on Apr 19, 2016 at 11:29 am

No, thanks.

• Batak on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:00 pm

My first car was a Kenari, the only thing i love about Kenari/Move is the roomy head area, but really hate the small tight leg space.

This new Kenari better have height adjustable seat / tilting steering column.

• Fwannabe on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:24 pm

The front end looks okay, but the rear end is overdesigned.

• Baby Vell!

• FMHO, its much better if it comes with 1.3 – 1.5 cc for comfort driving & more space at rear.

• Netto on Apr 23, 2016 at 11:46 pm

Wish can same like Japan spec Move Custom RS turbocharged and cvt transmission or manual transmission

• Some idiot cant even differential between kenari and juara. Kenari is good because it exactly follow move, which is affordable parts and last longer. And kenari is comfort family car

• mcm mini vellfire cun…bila launching?price?

• Masrya on Feb 05, 2017 at 11:54 am

i love Kenari as its an economic car. i buy secondhand at S20K n has been using kenari for 6 years before i send for scrape. in Spore nothing is cheap specialy cars. with COE more than S50k for cars below 1.6cc n that dosnt include price of the car which probbly worth S40K n above. not worth to buy 1.0cc cars in Spore.

• lim hui hui on Nov 13, 2017 at 3:18 pm

I wait next generation perodua had along time but didn’t appear n just advertisiment not come .

• When luncher new model kenari …