Proton set to return to Chile market this Saturday?

Proton LHD Preve to Chile 11

It appears that Proton is making a return to the Chilean market as soon as this Saturday with the launch of the Proton Prevé and Exora there, according to a report by Bernama. This will mark the first time Proton models are offered for sale in Chile since the Wira was last exported there in 1998.

Malaysian ambassador to Chile Datuk Dr Mohamad Rameez Yahaya said that the national carmaker will be exporting 1,000 units of the Prevé, Exora and Saga – the latter arriving in November – to the South American country this year, which are expected to generate as much as RM68 million in sales. “This indicates that Malaysia-Chile relations continue to grow stronger,” he said

Proton will be reentering the Chilean market with Andes Motor as a distributor – the latter is part of the Kaufman Group, said to be the leading car distributor in Latin America. The carmaker will be the first mass market car brand to be represented by Andes, which currently deals with buses, trucks and luxury cars. Proton quoted an estimated price of US$17,000 (RM69,668) for the Preve Premium CVT.

Rameez also said that Chile is the only country in the region to have signed a free trade agreement with Malaysia, making the country even more important of a trade partner for local companies looking to venture into the continent.

GALLERY: Proton ships first 50 units to Chile

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Bila perdana mau launch?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Pakulupapito on May 25, 2016 at 3:51 pm

No…just no. First make malaysian happy first by offering good car quality and low prices to locals so that proton sales become good again. Selling overseas with better car and lower price will only enrage malaysian buyer. Looks how korean support their cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • DonkeyKong on May 26, 2016 at 10:59 am

Koreans supported Hyundai and Kia even when their cars were still crappy like hell and sold domestically at higher prices than the exported units.

Your point being?

• Plair Cho Keng on May 25, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Why not bring altogether new saga,persona,perdana? If u want make a big impact,show them full throttle! Not little by little!

• DonkeyKong on May 26, 2016 at 10:59 am

That’s a pretty dumb comment. I take it that you’re not doing your own business? IF you are, your business is doomed to fail because you have zero business sense.

• Best of luck to Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on May 25, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Don’t forget to improvise the after sales support. In terms of warranty claims and parts supply. This was part of the reason why proton sales were declining year after year for the past 15 years.

• Roslan on May 25, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Maybe sell 1 unit a year there

• Albert on May 25, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Having sold just over 4000 units last month,Proton has to ship their cars(unsold stocks) even at a loss to any third world country.
    NOt even a single backward African country wants a Proton.Not even Somalia.
    Bangladesh,any hope? Since we provide jobs for thousands of Banglas?
    If u have 20,000 units piling up as unsold (even 2015 )stocks…your suppliers will start banging tables again after the 1.5 B bailout has evaporated.
    There will be no end to this vicious cycle.
    Proton is like a brain dead patient waiting for life support tubes to be cut.
    Proton is a FAILED EXPERIMENT,gODZILLA is the end product.And the fanboys still SYIOK SYIOK WITH THIS EXPERIMENT GONE WRONG?
    pure madness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 19
    • nabill (Member) on May 25, 2016 at 5:06 pm

It might look easy to sell in africa bcos, well, its africa.. Bt the fact is its the hardest market to sell any product thr… They dont have the culture of maintenance, thus, they swear by toyotas reliability.. They give rats about abs/airbags n so on… Just simple hardware that can last and last….. Only very recently kia/hyundai made inroads there….. P1 simply dont have that reliability yet n thus its impossible to sell there… I like to see p1 exporting more Obviously it makes sense on so many levels, bt Chile is going through terrible economic downturn and they are almost defaulting, so its not exactly a market full of liquidity… They have to concentrate more on middle east n neighbouring southeast asian countries…
      Bt generally yes… Looks more like shoot n hope rather than careful planning….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Kunta Kinte on May 25, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Why would Chileans buy Proton when they can get cheaper cars from the US? US is so near to Chile and American cars are sold far cheaper. You saying Proton is better than Ford?

Or is this another way Proton can show the Government they are complying with the RM1.5 billion terms and regulations of exploring other markets?

Common sense will tell you Chile can get better cars fro the US.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • U do realise that 99% US made cars r for own consumption and that Americas’ Ford r mostly made in Mexico (u know, the country below US, tequila, siesta, taco and all). And Ford Americas cars r just like toyotas here, moving coffins that relies on the badge.
          So with much safer cars, P1 is giving Chileans a choice to safeguard their famili when travelling. Isnt that a win-win for all? (Well, except u bashers of course)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
          • Albert on May 25, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Tokok John,
            “Win Win”……OMG.
            A win win due to a fAiled experiment?
            You are the only one SYIOK SENDIRI.
            ALL taxpayers LOST.
            I PREDICTED 2015 Proton sales at 100,000 units .
            Now,for 2016……60,000 units will be a BIG CONSOLATION.
            At 60,000 units sales for 2016,P1 will report easily another 700-800 Juta losses.
            Tell the forum contributors,is this WIN WIN?
            Come 2017,at 40,000 units….P1 would have folded.Even the madcap mus give up the bailout.
            Dont simply use the word WIN WIN.It cannot apply to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • Bertie bertie bertie. Nope. U din predict they wud sell 100k. U just pulled that figure after seeing the TIV for 2015. Not very smart isit?

If u were so gud at fortune telling, pray do share next months winning 4D number or u just bollocking.

Back to P1, what does any of ur nonsensical rant related to P1 selling in Chile anyway? I just said Chileans win for getting a valued for money safer car, and P1 win for restarting export again (LHD cars too! It opens up much more market globally compared to RHD).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • John is otak batu on May 26, 2016 at 2:48 am

Chevrolet is also very much popular in South America. Every 3 in 10 cars sold in the world is a Chevrolet. Go Google.

• Bro, that’s y proton only able to export 3 car segment totalling 1000 units sahaja. But they happy enough alr.

• DonkeyKong on May 26, 2016 at 11:00 am

Don’t be stupid. Chilean roads are left-hand drive. How the hell can unsold stocks of right-hand drive cars be sold there?

• Kunta Kinte on May 25, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Proton is a joke. Already before, Proton failed big time in all markets globally. Even Jeremy Clarkson from Top Gear and Vicky Butler Henderson from Fifth Gear as well as all UK car magazines have confirmed, Proton is the most dangerous car in the world and NOT worthy to be on any roads. This is shocking cause export Proton is 100x better quality than the Protons that are sold to Malaysians in Malaysia

Typical Proton, just waste money setting up operations in all over the world. Like in Singapore, set up fancy showroom, pay the abang abang expat salary to chill out in the showroom and lepak BUT last year alone, Proton sold a grand total of 1 car (satu sahaja). Spend about few hundred thousand ringgit in rental of premises and expat pay for the abang abang but make about RM20k for the single car sold.

That is Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Luv ur nick. (Psst!, its a well documented fakery)

• DonkeyKong on May 26, 2016 at 11:01 am

If Hyundai and Kia had just given up back in the days when their cars were shit, they won’t be where they are now. Oh well, third-world country mentality… just give up, don’t even try, and worship foreign manufacturers while slamming local ones.

• fanofthisite on May 29, 2016 at 3:40 am

” Even Jeremy Clarkson from Top Gear and Vicky Butler Henderson from Fifth Gear as well as all UK car magazines have confirmed, Proton is the most dangerous car in the world and NOT worthy to be on any roads. This is shocking cause export Proton is 100x better quality than the Protons that are sold to Malaysians in Malaysia”
        Really? You sure? I never ever will listen to JC on any car that is not sports or luxury as he will always use lower capacity mass market cars as fodder for TV entertainment. And when did JC last “interview ‘ a Proton? Did he say its the most dangerous car? If i recall the vid which M’sians liked to circulate after editing out the offset crash test on the Freelander – which the Waja beat convincingly – Proton has come a long way in cars that are safe , they are no longer milo tins , even a Savvy attests to it. So what the bangang are you splurting here about unsafe cars??

• DefectWantToExport? on May 25, 2016 at 4:40 pm

SPOTTED: FITTING TAK CANTIK- driver side leg center console plastic thingy.

• Proton Oh Proton on May 25, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Good Luck Proton. Hopefully no lawsuit due to your quality.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on May 25, 2016 at 4:45 pm

A tip for proton: sponsor Alexis Sanchez and make him drive a proton in chile.

• Alexis Sanchez on May 25, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Sorry, not interested.
      Already driving my new Audi showing off my friends in London.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Azmin on May 25, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Can pls stop publishing these useless news on proton. they are done for and dying. nothing can save them. all the cars for export are on consignment so they have to just give them away or sell them at lowest price if anyone wants to buy them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • mohdfaiz88 on May 25, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Proton cars at overseas got better build quality

• Chile would do better importing dodol & keropok lekor from Malaysia than cars. Import/export 101 for dummies : # 1. Focus on your competetive advantage

• Why is Mahathir there? Under what capacity is his pressence needed?

• michaelooi on May 25, 2016 at 7:30 pm

All the best to the Chileans

• rename it to pronto, then laku like goreng pisang there

• thebosssedangbercakap on May 25, 2016 at 7:46 pm

proton bod: hm…if we cannot sell here in malaysia, where should we sell these junk?

proton marketer: why not chile?, we can trade the good cigars with our junk. at least we can get high, even our sales is low.

rakyat: tutup proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Anuwar Eberahim on May 25, 2016 at 8:33 pm

I hate your statement but I love you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Arip.. Wah byk btol load skarang? Ke chile tu

• Proton should change like hyundai….

• Ramon Rivera on May 27, 2016 at 3:15 am

Hi! I’m from Chile and yes, the imported will start selling Proton including an event on a Santiago shopping mall on Saturday, giving away one Prevé!

Hope this is not a problem to post here, I posted some pictures from a dealership in Santiago, taken yesterday. See them here: http://ripituc.blogspot.cl/2016/05/proton-preve-y-exora-en-chile.html