Proton renews agreement with unions for three years

Proton Union CA signing

A signing ceremony was held on August 19 between Proton Holdings and its unions to renew its Collective Agreement (CA) on August 19. Proton was represented by Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali , chief executive officer of Proton, Mohd Azmi Abu Bakar, president of the Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional worker’s union and Ferdaus Mohni of the Proton Tanjung Malim worker’s union.

Witnessing the ceremony were Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar, chairman of Proton, and Fong Khei Por, Industrial Relations department director-general. The previous CA lapsed in December 2015, and is renewable for a three-year period.

The current CA provides for alignment with a new minimum wage order, employee personal accident, term life and medical insurance as well as bereavement benefits. Fuaad said the renewed CA is in-line with ongoing efforts to turn around Proton.

“Subject to affordability consideration, PROTON has always prioritised the welfare and benefits of its employees. The Company fully appreciates that in order to achieve more for its business, it needs to work closely with its employees to serve our customers better,” said Fuaad. “Success is always about team work, leveraging on each others strength and expertise to achieve greater and better things for the Company,” he added.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Union? haha … talk about benefits only meh? Did the also talk about the workers performance?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Flip Flop Company on Sep 07, 2016 at 11:08 am

The Unions for Proton should be abolished. They have no shame. They demand for more pay but their own company is milking 30 million peoples money.

The workers in Proton are shameless. Hello your Titanic is sinking, instead of asking higher pay and more benefits, you should volunteer for a pay cut. Infact, all Proton staff should have their pay cut by 20% to save the company from sinking.

The rakyat cannot afford to be subsiding Proton for ever. Every few years given RM1.5 billion of our hard earned LHDN money.

By the way, where is Persona sales figures? Now 3 weeks launched, you should be like Perodua and announce your sales figures. It looks like sales figures are so so so bad. My internal sources told me, hardly even 1000 units sold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • Same L00 on Sep 07, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Got RM1.5bil in the bank account. They can do whatever they want now. WHen the money is burnt, they will just beg government again.

• Persona booking already exceed 6000.

1.5 billion loan is not a loan “every few years”, have you heard of 1.5 billion loan to Proton a few years ago?

The 1.5 billion is also not yet in Proton’s account. This was told in the Persona launching ceremony. The government only release the money bit by bit. But as usual la, people just talk without knowing the whole story. Every money is their money they think.

• Same L00 on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:15 pm

They can make up whatever story they like, as long as free pocket money is given. Tomorrow they can also say the money actually dropped from sky float from the sea also.
          If government so rich can make money themselves, drop GST income tax company tax I DARE YOU!!
          If government so rich buy all Proton cars so they won’t have to sell junk to fellow Malaysians I DARE YOU!!
          Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. Without our tax you can eat grass now!

• johan on Sep 07, 2016 at 11:12 am

Christoph Mueller : Many of the 20,000 employees had nothing to do. Some were sleeping.

• Flip Flop Government on Sep 07, 2016 at 2:52 pm

yes, very true. Just like MAS, majority of Proton’s 12,000 staff got no work to do. Some even tidur in the bilik stor or look for awek kilang to kongkek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Proton Workers = MAS workers on Sep 07, 2016 at 4:15 pm

Perkasa which represents the majority in Malaysia already confirmed, it is our RIGHT to sleep during work hours. And when workers get up, it is their right to minum teh and makan kuih lapis to unwind and relax.

this is how Proton workers think. Same ideology like MAS workers.

• tg malim on Sep 07, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Syukur…company prihatin.
        Jaga periuk nasi kami, hidup Proton!

• Yes. they did on the hours to sleep at work… They call this Proton Naps, works exactly like Power naps – just that power naps is 15 to 20 mins and Proton naps is anything between 4 to 5 hours with one hour coffee and lunch breaks!!

• Proton Tak Ada Kerja on Sep 07, 2016 at 3:23 pm

My cousin works for Proton. He is so free the whole day, he whatsapp his girlfriend the whole day. This is during 8am to 6pm.

Go ask anyone in Proton, there is no work to be done

• Which union in the world actually commits to productivity? Some just gip lip servis.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 07, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Another failure will come.. Buy Toyota better.. look like Proton will close shop!

• Toyota is union for afterlife

• Thrishaan on Sep 07, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Bro, show some support to Proton la… They might not be doing so well, but how can they improve if our society are pessimists. Even Singapore is well doing don’t have a national car. We have two brands. Be proud. Proton and Perodua are great cars.

• No self-improvement on Sep 08, 2016 at 9:43 am

Singapore doesn’t indulge in “syiok sendiri” type of endeavour. They only invest time, money and effort in things that matter.

Here, certain people want to have a national car to say that Malaysia Boleh! This is pure “syiok sendiri”. You are not capable because you say you can, but because you really can deliver. There is no need to shout slogans saying “We Can!”. If you really are capable, you don’t need to say it, because people can see for themselves.

Here, they don’t want to put time, money and effort in self-improvement. Most people are “tin kosong”, putting on a show on the outside for others to see, but don’t have the inner strength to really succeed. They don’t want to do the right thing (but hard-to-do thing), because they want things handed to them.

I’m not saying this to bash. There is no value in bashing. I’m giving my honest opinion, in hope that people see clearly what they are doing. If there is no self-improvement, no amount of money from the government is going to do any good.

• Same Lorrr on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Singapore just have 2Million population in country. What need the national car? Who want to buy?

• Unions is cancer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Not necessarily true, When you get bullied by your employer you will wish you have someone to back you up.

Unions help protect against Corporation Abuse.

• Flip Flop Company on Sep 07, 2016 at 11:17 am

Proton workers should feel ashamed. They are overbloated at 12,000 workers. Most car companies got hardly half the number of workers.

What does this mean? It means they do less work. Like our Government Servants. They do much less work than other countries Government servants. For example, Malaysia has 1.5 million Government servants to cater to 30 million rakyat. Australia has 250,000 Government servants to cater for the same 30 million rakyat Australia.

You do less work….but you demand more pay? Is this right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Apparently this is quite right with a majority of unions GLOBALLY. Means it not just isolated to MY only.
        In fact, in Sweden, the longshoremen demo’ed for more pay with less work but more job security from the mass of refugees seeking work, recently.

Labour unions r relics of the past since employment that has unions usually r self-regulated to be fair to workers. It definitely doesnt prevent abrupt closures and mass layoffs that happens in 1st worlds nowadays (ie Hanjin).

• kzm (Member) on Sep 07, 2016 at 5:55 pm

u know that bolehland govt servant include teachers, doctors, army, police, bomba, sprm, customs and state worker. Australia do not include non of that. Australia count oni those served under ministry. Australia govt school teacher is bout 200k n Australia military is bout 60k. Those 2 already more than 250k.

• Flip Flop Company on Sep 07, 2016 at 11:00 am

Why renew your agreement? You know you are losing RM4mil per day. You cannot afford to keep the overbloated 12,000 workers. You cannot be doing charity. After all, you have just borrowed RM1.5 bil of the rakyat’s money. Before that, you have borrowed about RM15 billion also and still have not paid that back.

How long can you sustain the overbloated 12,000 workers Proton? Somemore, you have not shown sincerity in not only downsizing your company but also downsizing the fat pay packet your directors and management team earn.

Your directors are still earning a fat 6 figure salary per month and have all sorts of perks like driver, Audi A8L limosines and so on. BOD pay packet alone runs in berpuluh puluh million per month.

We Malaysians are paying all that for the directors and yet you are losing RM4 mil per day. Come on directors and CEO of Proton, you should take a big pay cut and not reward yourself with big fat pay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
    • Another keyboard warrior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • BankraP1 on Sep 07, 2016 at 11:37 am

Patut Retrench ramai2 dulu.

Renew agreement kemudian…

• camtakpro on Sep 07, 2016 at 11:41 am

We can make a big pay cut for Proton CEO/BOD – just stop buying Proton for God’s sake!

• nabill (Member) on Sep 07, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Reminds me of our bloated civil service, way too many just to make ppl happy n give them salaries, where infact, u could run the G with half of the staff available…

• Albert on Sep 07, 2016 at 1:06 pm

Anti Flip Flop
      ‘Proton menghampakan 32 juta rakyat malaysia kerana masih gantung kepada EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN”.
      Bradder,I saw a bumi nasi lemak seller braving the rain and zika /dengue threat this morning,selling nasi lemak at rm 1 per packet and yet 50percent unsold.
      Here,we have 12,000 leg shakers at Protong still galavanting ,knowing the mus will dish out another round of bailouts come january 2017.
      With unions,P1 has to give BONUSES even if they r running at a massive loss.
      No wonder,no one is afraid of layoffs.BAILOUT,BAILOUT,BAILOUT……on the way.
      Kenapa nak bimbang ? Tun dah undur,Mus ada mah,rilax….kami ada union mah.
      Make no mistake,the BLEEDING will continue BUT BAILOUT SEEMS to be their answer.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2, Toyota Nirvana on Sep 07, 2016 at 11:07 am

RM1.5bil “soft loan” are used to pay these people and their debts. Guess by the end of the year they will beg for more money or ask the government to bail/buy them out

• National Car on Sep 07, 2016 at 11:27 am

Read the last paragraph, “…work closely with employees to serve the customers better…”.
    P1 owners, please wear a big smile on your face for now you can hope for the best from Proton.

• citizen on Sep 07, 2016 at 11:36 am

Just look at Proton people. they think they are running the world class powerhouse car maker!!!! these guys are the biggest losers in the world. people make fun at them every where and their cars are piled up at storage as no one wants them and they cat like big shots. I only and only blame DRB for the mess Proton is in now. masters of turn around. the Masters of the thousand losers…

• Proton driver on Sep 07, 2016 at 11:38 am

Seriously WHO CARES???? this is not an automotive news.. They always talk about 12000 workers. I bet half are left already and they lie to all about it.

• They won't leave on Sep 08, 2016 at 9:54 am

Why should they leave if they have “iron rice bowls”? They get salaries for not doing much. That’s their dream job.

• LOK CHYI YEU on Sep 07, 2016 at 11:46 am

Company loosing money can still sign with Union woh. Union just make the company even worse, is like cancer they absorb everything the host has, and they will grow big and fat but when the host die it dies with it.

So those worker in Union no doubt u having greater benefit currently but you are just digging your own grave. God Bless You!

• Unions r workers initiative. Once a certain majority ask for unionisation, companies cannot refuse. And most companies have to nego thru the union, cannot direct with workers.
      A company can break union (ie MAS) but will suffer backlash and if u worker, then u feel angry and will support oppolitikuses.

• If you are good, you can survive everywhere. If you are lousy like Proton workers, which oppolitikus wants to take you in?

• awesome on Sep 07, 2016 at 4:46 pm

it is great to work for proton. No layoffs, and eventho making loss, still get bonuses. Good life yo! Dont jelly ok guys?

• Proton can survive for the next 3 years?

• Why not?

• Same Lorrr on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Because of sale very bad.. Suppose to be 200K unit per year. But now what happen? 70K unit this year look very hard to acheived!