Proton to be more competitive with foreign partner

2016-proton-saga-executive-5

According to second international trade and industry minister, Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan, Proton’s collaboration with a foreign partner will allow the national carmaker to produce better quality products and enable it to be more competitive in the market.

In the report by Bernama, he added that the collaboration will be beneficial as it would bring in funding to support Proton’s research and development efforts. “If we work with big players or big countries, the quality of our cars can be competitive with the help of other international brands,” he said.

Ong added Proton was free to make its own decision on the matter, and that the government will not interfere in the selection process. During the launch of the new Proton Saga, it was revealed that Proton’s owner, DRB-Hicom, had shortlisted five proposals from foreign bidders looking to own a stake in the national carmaker.

DRB-Hicom CEO Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar revealed at the time that the foreign partner must be a strategic, cooperation and cultural fit with Proton. He added that a decision will be made by the middle or first quarter of next year.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Maslan on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Inb4 semua P1 vendor kroni gulung tikar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • What happened to BEZZA on Oct 04, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Lucky the SAGA back is not Bezza TONGGEK… can see the underwear Perodua wears

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
      • George Abdul on Oct 04, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Proton after tongkat for 30 years finally choose to sell-off 51% shares… and BN ministry keep saying Proton do the right choose after “Lying to Rakyat for good after 30 years of cronies monopolies”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
        • Proton: “I prefer open textbook exam so I can pass my paper”

• Teacher on Oct 05, 2016 at 9:08 am

Why are you not hardworking and study well at the first place?

• Same L00 on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Proton style:
            A lot of talking and syok sendiri!
            End of the day NOTHING done!
            Proton hybrid is one of the best example.

• Same L0rr on Oct 05, 2016 at 12:27 pm

How can be competitive? If still using Campro & CVT clutch bising Punch!

• Same L0rr on Oct 10, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Proton Saga 1.3 VVT campro still underpower for 1100kg weight. Proton Saga should have 300hp & 500nm torque engine.

• How long did their last few partnership last? Mitsu-Inspira? Honda-Accord? Suzuki-Ertiga?

After 1 model, partnership ends … foreigners cannot tahan their sedentary working culture.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
    • Bash Basher on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Meanwhile the rakyats are working their ass off to pay more (excise duty + import tax + etc etc) to get a better quality car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
      • Same L00 on Oct 06, 2016 at 4:14 pm

There is very few companies can survive by selling junks to customer. Because literally no one would wnat to pay for junk. Proton is one of these great companies.

• Albert on Oct 04, 2016 at 5:51 pm

After JV partnership….still cannot make money,how?Soft loan again,lor.
      Or divorce again,how? Soft loan lor.
      Just give the mus a call.Semua boleh arrange.
      Protong…ADA GAYA,TAHAN LASAK,TAHAN TAUFAN..TAPI BANKRUPT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 168
    • Nissan prefer tanchong to run their franchise though….look at oversea Nissan dealer….mostly hold by tanchong group
      I don’t think their linesup are shit as what you said…..more like you hate tanchong for it’s name being too Chinese like what you complain about in lowyat forum…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
      • Lpost on Oct 04, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Tanchong always sell outdated or late bringin new model just to gain max profit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 04, 2016 at 8:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 178
      • crash on Oct 04, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Not really about that I think. Tan Chong are always late in bringing new Nissan models to Malaysia. Very very late to the party all the time. Always bring in boring models. Nissan Note also dont have in Malaysia, dont say the Nissan Pulsar with the 1.6Turbo engine in Australia.

• No Racist on Oct 04, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Tan Chong just doing what other distributor is doing, you have to blame the government eat too much and spoon feed to others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Really? Honda can bring in exciting model like HRV and Toyota their sienta, but TC cant even bring in Juke and this is semua salah Gov? What r u? ETCM salesman kah?

• Renault ditch Tan Chong? and become like loss making Proton?

• obs3rv3r on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:13 pm

No intervention from the government? I heard from a Tg Malim insider that Geely is among the frontrunners to get hold of Proton shares from DRB. Again, China is again making headway into this country’s infra projects (HS rail, komuter, Bandar Malaysia etc) and you don’t have to guess that someone high up there might get kickbacks from these projects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • hailthepurist on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan, u should experience the joy of punch cvt over jepunis and jermanis overlords..

• Skeptik on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:36 pm

Sure.

Case in point, Lanspira, Accordana, Ertiga-rebadge, what else?

Still waiting for Proton Jetta (Manual)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:57 pm

Actually in 2007, VW offered Proton to merge. If VW had merged with Proton, Proton will be making billions. But unfortunately, cabinet shot down the decision.

Here, we must analyse why cabinet shot down the decision. Our brilliant cabinet shot down the decision because the Germans did not agree to the 30% free shares tongkat policy ruling.

The Germans were shocked. They have never heard of this tongkat policy. But our Ministers said that in Malaysia, whatever company you set up, you must give 30% shares FREE.

Mat Salleh said cannot lah like this. Then cabinet shot down the deal. Imagine if Proton was to rebadge VW cars, Proton will be worth billions today!

Can even export to all over the world.

So, I wonder how Proton is going to do deals with other car companies when we have to abide by our Tongkat policy. Btw, so many car companies offered Proton, not just VW, but Proton told them to podah. Proton was so arrogant in 2007.

There will be pondans who will say lucky Proton did not do deal with VW cause VW now nama busuk. Well, scandal only happened in 2016. From 2007 to 2016, Proton could be minting billions per year. In 2016 they could have terminated their agreement with VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 15
  • think smart on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:43 pm

Pls put in push start stop button n keyless entry to ur SAGA pls TQ.

• Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:53 pm

I know we have a 2nd finance minister but i didn’t know we have a 2nd international trade and industry minister in the mold of Ong Ka Chuan.

Is the portfolio minted just to pacify MCA. Since Mr Ong is speaking, does he have the power or expertise to comment on the subject !

With the turtle pace that is ongoing, this will take another 2 years B4 any negotiating can reach the table.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:09 pm

can be very fast lah.

Depending on how much cash is on the table and who is desperate to get it.

• Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Thanks for typing your 2 cents here 4G63T. Am sure U are joking, Right ! Any sane company will NOT take on a sinking ship with loads of debts. Will U fork out $$$ to buy one ? The Cash U are referring 2 can be put 2 better use, No.

• As long as theres commercial value, any sinking business with loads of debts can be turned around. Ever heard of where Apple were in 2000s?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
          • roslan on Oct 04, 2016 at 7:29 pm

The only commercial value is its properties in hand.
            Shah Alam already sold.
            Now looking at Tg Malim.
            What is Proton as compared to Apple ? People like John can spin & call a dead donkey a stallion!!

• Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 9:15 pm

Only 1 question John, when was the last time P1 pays dividend ?? ….. There U have it, U don’t owns any P1 shares.

• A dead donkey can be turned to meat, its hide can be used as leather, its bones as decoration. And thats the problem with u bashers. U only see whats in front of u. Thats what pipu saw of Apple back in 2000s. A near dead company with little market share, creditors hounding and lousy products.

• I wonder on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:01 pm

can please stop this proton useless news? who cares? the car launched already. also with all the partners proton can not be survived because of DRB Hicom still there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • Low Budget on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:06 pm

“…. must be cultural fit with Proton”
    Anybody who knows any foreign car makers whose company culture fit with Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • omegle on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:28 pm

it’s funny how in the proton saga launched post, comments mostly are praises how proton did a good job. But in here almost all the comments are bashing proton, I guess birds of a feather flock together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • kiddoo on Oct 04, 2016 at 5:12 pm

You have to be a kid not to differentiate between a product and company

• Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 9:22 pm

Well said kiddoo well said. I guess your name precedes U. Having said that, I must say NOT many people knows the diff between a product & a company & U said it in just 1 sentence. Bravo kiddos.

• Ah Kow on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Lets all hope the new batch of P1 models will show more improvement compared to their predecessor and make M’sia proud, not menyusahkan everyone this time.

• If i were to be the CEO, i would rather say “Proton needs to change their work ethics and culture to a more advanced creative mindset that’s on par with other global car manufacturers and adopt a world class corporate culture that fit with the current trend of the global automotive industry”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • crash on Oct 04, 2016 at 8:22 pm

I would suggest that Proton has too many staffs with too little production volume. Therefore it has to go through what MAS has done : a major cut-down of staffs and outsource non core-business division.

• Saitam on Oct 04, 2016 at 5:05 pm

Proton to be more competitive if others are charge higher tax and duties.

• offisial wan on Oct 04, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Saw Persona & Saga up-close yesterday. Proton done a good job designing them. In fact, they are well equipped as well. If only the Proton management is as good as their cars (now), things might turn around for a better profitable future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • roslan on Oct 04, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Dream on.
      They are surviving on borrowed money.
      DRB took P1 private to conceal the mess they were in. And now DRB cannot cover up this mounting debts till have to wave white flag & seek Govt funding.
      P1 may have to resort to MAS kinda restructuring
      Sell off properties & cut the massive workforce.

• roslan on Oct 04, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Govt not involved then why bother to loan P1 1.5 bil ?
    Should have just let P1 & its JV partner path their own direction. Anyway how to be competitive when it’s current engine range cannot meet Euro 5 and soon Euro 6 standards?
    So now who is gonna pay the 1.5 bil tongkat ?
    By next year 1.5 bil gone & P1 is back to square One. Bercukurlah!!

• frankC on Oct 04, 2016 at 10:09 pm

i just hope they wont sell proton to those Chinese car makers… :(
    a collaboration is more meaningful rather than just sell out for quick solution…

• tokmoh. on Oct 05, 2016 at 9:26 am

Geely owns Volvo, and look how they helped Volvo to be successful, since Ford was ruining them.

It’s not far fetched Proton can enjoy truly long term relationship with Volvo if they got sold to Geely, rather than ad hoc with Japs eg mitsu lancer, honda accord, suzuki ertiga. One model relationship, then gave up. Kek

• adnanaziz on Oct 05, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Offer a majority 51% equity stake & management control then only can talk.
        If P1 still insists on having the final say then sorry lah.
        Peugeot is a keen contender as Naza may ditch its local franchise.
        Too much on going with Naza family feud.

• Das Auto on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:26 pm

Same old story……………like watching ASTRO…………….repeat over and over and over and……………………..”yawn”