Petronas Syntium SE launched – optimised for Proton

proton-petronas-syntium-se-5

Proton and Petronas has launched a new range of engine oils specifically developed for Proton vehicles. Called the Petronas Syntium SE (which stands for “Serviced at Edar”), the lubricants are now available at all authorised Proton service centres, and are meant to both optimise performance and reduce the cost of ownership in the long run.

The range consists of three lubricants, the fully-synthetic Petronas Syntium 3000 SE 5W-30, the semi-synthetic Petronas Syntium 800 SE 10W-30 and the Petronas Syntium 500 SE 15W-40 mineral engine oil. These products are compatible with the 10,000 km service intervals of all new Proton vehicles.

Proton said that the Syntium SE oils have been designed to meet the challenges of modern day driving, including traffic jams, steep hills and continuous acceleration on highways. They all feature Petronas’ CoolTech technology, which is claimed to help prevent excessive engine heat, ensuring optimal performance.

“With the introduction of the Petronas Syntium SE exclusive range of engine oils, Proton customers are able to enjoy better value whenever they service their cars at any Proton authorised service centres,” said Proton CEO Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali. ” In addition, they will have a better experience in terms of car performance at improved maintenance costs.”

Prices for Petronas Syntium SE starts at RM78 for a four litre bottle of Syntium 500 SE, rising to RM118 for Syntium 800 SE; the fully-synthetic Syntium 3000 SE is priced at RM225. Users who service their cars at authorised dealers get cheaper rates for the lubricants, at RM75, RM100 and RM180 respectively.

It should be noted that Proton’s collaboration with Petronas is different from the one between the national oil and gas company and Perodua. The latter sees the second national carmaker selling its own-brand lubricants not only at Perodua service centres, but also at independent workshops and retail outlets.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 11, 2016 at 12:40 pm

Only Petronas will lower their image by saying optimised for Proton.

At least Shell say optimsed for Ferrari. Got class a bit. Petronas should have some class. Why associate yourself with a company that is mismanaged and near bankruptcy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 102
    • nabill (Member) on Nov 11, 2016 at 1:12 pm

U lucky now there is no more down votes, otherwise u will see lots of red… Time to grow up a little will ya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Sama L00 on Nov 11, 2016 at 5:09 pm

The special things for Proton is:
        The fuel need to be optimised
        The road need to be optimised
        The driver need to be optimised
        The weight of right foot need to be optimised
        The engine oil need to be optimised
        The weather need to be optimised
        Then only you can have a problem free Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
        • Yong Tau Fu on Nov 11, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Your brain need to be optimised then only you can have a problem free Sama L00

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Mikey on Nov 11, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Agree with U Kunta. Since Petronas are the main sponsor for F1 Champion, they should maximize F1 Championship winning “formula” & not use specifically developed for Proton. Should be “if its good for F1, it should be good for any car”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • Why not, since it will be marketed here in bolehland.

• I beg to differ. Pet is moving towards specialised marketing their oil for the specific brands. They oso have a special formulated for Hyundai as well. They cud easily marketed as “formulated for Mesidis AMG cars” but of course the common pipu dun bring out their AMGs as daily car.

So kudos to Pet for being different. And as DT showed, being different can make u a winner.

• KROLE on Nov 11, 2016 at 2:12 pm

Specially design to perform better with proton made engines and together with AMG Mercedes they develop reliable fuel to use. by the way petronas sponsored team already win 3X F1 season. their fuel already proven on the track. and it has proven that petronas made fuel are reliable and good. Shell? Ferrari also lose behind Redbull & William in F1

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 11, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Pity Petronas. They cannot think on their own. Gomen ask them to sit, they obey like kuli. gomen ask them to stand, they stand.

Gomen ask them support Proton, they go and make engines for Proton, make oil for Proton etc etc.

Hello, market how big? 40,000 cars only per annum. Go and offer yourself to Hyundai. They sell 9 million cars per annum.

Simple business also Petrons don’t know how to do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 27
      • Yong Tau Fu on Nov 11, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Duh… Petronas is a goverment owned corporations… Of cos la they do what government want.. if petronas is your company then they will do what you want.. simple concept also don’t know ka?

• Basherlogic on Nov 12, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Basher logic where got logic? If pet optimises the oil for hyundai they will say why optimise for no RV car?

At the end of the day nothing is right. They just want to stir up things as ordered by their overlords

• Kunta Pariah on Nov 13, 2016 at 1:00 am

Typical stupid comment made from our regular stupid commentator, Kunta. Petronas+AMG=Multiple times F1 winner.. but what do Shell+Ferrari get so far?

• the statement the.who sakit hati…LOL

• Nicolas Benjamin on Jun 14, 2022 at 11:23 pm

i’m wondering what are your though today (2022) proton is going strong their sales increase more nowhere near bankruptcy after 2016

• how much?

• UMW TOYOTA on Nov 11, 2016 at 1:08 pm

i use minyak masak in my car… minyak masak top cheap

• Engine oil price in malaysia are among the most expensive in the world. Fully synthetic 5w40 in malaysia average rm200-rm245. In japan same product only cost you 2200¥(rm88). Most of the engine oil now days are the same. Manufacture at the same OEM factory.

• Susukotak on Nov 11, 2016 at 2:05 pm

should have tested in lab the content of claimed optimised.

• Observer on Nov 11, 2016 at 3:52 pm

So Bro Pit, when do you planned to move to Japan? Since everything is cheap there…. err!!

• karam singh on Nov 11, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Go live in Japan then, there are lots other things that Japan more expensive than Malaysia
      lol
      Only try ask car price in Singapore yeah

• Rizal on Nov 12, 2016 at 8:06 am

Food expensive in Japan, not to mention you have to work till late evening, Also be prepared for earthquake or volcanic eruptions.

• azrai on Nov 11, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Since all Campro based engine recommended using 10W-40 oil before this at all Proton SE, why only 3 variant available with no 10W-40 instead 10W-30?

• Saitam on Nov 11, 2016 at 3:06 pm

use this, and your car will perform like a proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • I luv my CPS performance. Got a problem?

• Kakaka on Nov 12, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Basher dun know their car got lower torque than campro turbo. That’s why alsways syiok sendiri on road

• Well…if my car is an old, carburated Proton engine, then it is fine…nice

• Simba on Nov 11, 2016 at 11:02 pm

Isn’t this anti-competitive practice?

• tokmoh. on Nov 12, 2016 at 1:00 am

Yay for more affordable service cost. Hopefully it’ll be easily available ASAP.

Many sc don’t carry xx-30 oil, despite manual recommends it. It’s no fun choosing thicker xx-40, when i know it can run thinner, lighter oil that supposedly can give better fc.

• bugbear1986 on Nov 12, 2016 at 3:15 pm

this is very misleading…
    all oils are suitable for 10k service interval accordingly to Proton standard or just the 3000 SE fully synthetic alone???

• My service crntet always tell me to go back every 5000 km. I hate that guy. If we don’t follow, he will warn is kaw kaw

• Please confirm this… Because SC is charging hell lot more expensive than this.
    “Prices for Petronas Syntium SE starts at RM78 for a four litre bottle of Syntium 500 SE, rising to RM118 for Syntium 800 SE; the fully-synthetic Syntium 3000 SE is priced at RM225. Users who service their cars at authorised dealers get cheaper rates for the lubricants, at RM75, RM100 and RM180 respectively.”

• mrupai on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:41 am

off topic: how about the price of the front brake pad for exora and preve, how come they charge near rm400. Better close shope lah.

• shaan on Aug 09, 2019 at 3:13 pm

petronas syntium 800 10w 30

How many kilometers can be use (Mileage)

Few of my friends saying, better use for 5k km (3 months).
    Few of friends and proton people saying, can be use 10k km(6 months cycle).
    Please advise on this. Thanks in advance.