Perodua Axia ‘steering lock’ viral allegations false – P2

Perodua_Axia_Ext-3

Remember the “Perodua Axia steering lock” issue that surfaced earlier this year? Looks like the issue is still actively circulating in social networks, because Perodua has just released a statement by its managing director Datuk Dr. Zahari Husin. Below is the statement in full

It has come to our attention that there have been allegations on social media regarding a steering lock issue with our Perodua Axia.

We wish to assure our customers that the allegations on this issue are false as Perodua and several government agencies have conducted detailed investigations on the alleged cases.

We regret that some quarters are actively attacking our brand and we are working with the authorities to identify those involved and we will consider appropriate action deemed fit.

We assure our customers that all our vehicles have undergone strict safety procedures and tests set both by our own quality control mechanism as well as by government agencies such as SIRIM and the Road Transportation Department (JPJ).

Perodua has always ensured that quality and safety are integral parts of all our products, services and processes as we place great value on the wellbeing of our customers and staff.

We always welcome any feedback from our customers and have a dedicated team to solve any issues regarding our products and services, if any.

Thank you.

The original “steering lock” accident happened in Penang in June. According to the driver involved, the accident happened in the rain and when he was driving between 70 to 80 km/h on the Second Penang Bridge. The driver alleged that the steering of his car suddenly “locked” and could not be turned. He slammed on the brakes but it did not function, and the airbags did not deploy after the car hit the road barrier, he claimed.

Perodua said then that a full diagnostic test was made on the vehicle (an Axia E MT) following the accident, and results revealed steering, braking and airbag systems that were functioning normally. The company said that it has yet to receive any complaint of this nature after selling over 200,000 units of the Axia since September 2014.

The Rawang-based carmaker also pointed out that all four tyres of the crashed Axia were bald, with three of them having just 1 mm of tread depth left. The reason the airbags did not deploy in this case could be because of the weak frontal impact or that the crash impact has been absorbed by the car’s structure.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• palehotak on Nov 17, 2016 at 5:17 pm

lagi taknak mengaku perodua ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 17
    • Waiting on Nov 18, 2016 at 11:22 am

If they admit..they need to do recall all 200,000 unit..Who want to bare the cost? Then the consequences is who want to buy perodua next..They don’t want to close shop early bro..

• Because no ABS?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • OMG, this is proton’s logic … steering lock because of no ABS?. No wonder the company is so in bad shape.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • You are the clown here, ioma. It is a known fact that ABS helps with the maneuverability of a car in emergency situations. ABS is designed to be useful whenever a driver slams on the brakes and swerves, particularly when road conditions are slippery or wet. You selling perodua for years but don’t know this little fact? I forgot, you are only good at badmouthing others.

• Ben Yap on Nov 17, 2016 at 5:23 pm

sue that guy for tarnishing perodua’s image!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • I think maybe the issue is the same with GM’s vehicles that the ignition is the issue, not the steering rack or the steering system itself.

Here is the Wikipedia article about the recall:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/General_Motors_ignition_switch_recalls

The symptoms that was exhibited in the said Axia is similar, that the airbag does not deploy.

Perodua, do checkup on this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi (Member) on Nov 18, 2016 at 4:15 am

If the tyres were bald, and I have no reason to think they weren’t, it is no surprise that nothing happens when the driver tries to change direction or slow the car down. How dare he blame Perodua for what was his fault?

• POWER STEERING – STEERING RACK (Leaking / Malfunction)

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Nov 17, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Oh ya? Can you enlighten us why your Perodua Axia’s manual gearbox is so sucky to use? Very rough and hard to shift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 31
  • Jemla on Nov 17, 2016 at 5:38 pm

I think maybe the issue is the same with GM’s vehicles that the ignition is the issue, not the steering rack or the steering system itself.

Here is the Wikipedia article about the recall:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/General_Motors_ignition_switch_recalls

The symptoms that was exhibited in the said Axia is similar, that the airbag does not deploy.

Perodua, do checkup on this.

• farghmee on Nov 17, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Mana full report?

• Perlisian on Nov 17, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Where is the diagnostic result? I did not think the victim made up this stories just to attack P2 brand. Three cases, repeated issues and P2 just assuming for one diagnostic result? P2 is busy making money than value people life. They should at lease diagnose every Axia car they sold to ensure people safety. If Honda (airbag and CVT issue) and P1 (CFE issue) can do that, why P2 can’t? This way, Axia user will feel safer during their driving or car pool and people will trust your brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
    • Every cases happened in Perodua won’t be able post to media, u know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Becoz they expects MY pipu to belip them and dun persoal their celup jepunis, otherwise their dedakers will come and potong our keplas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Ahmadjr on Nov 17, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Totally right. P2 gave no evidence nor full report about this case too, same like what Malaysian said on social medias, no evidence. Just talk.

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 18, 2016 at 4:19 am

I’ve seen too many cars with bald tyres, or tyres where you can even see the white stuff inside in Malaysia. And the description described matches what happens when driving with bald tyres in the rain. You could put those tyres on the latest Volvo, and you’d still crash.

The victim didn’t make it up, but he wants to blame others for his mistakes (and perhaps get some money out of it). Maybe he doesn’t understand that it was his actions that caused the accident, and he doesn’t want to believe the explanation, and he has no idea about airbags either.

• Uncle Lim on Nov 18, 2016 at 9:54 am

sometimes I feel Perodua is like 1MDB already. you touch them, they will sue you even if you are at the right side. Yeah, they’re the biggest car manufacturer locally but that doesn’t mean you have to be soooo arrogant!

• RUGAL on Nov 17, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Ini semua dakwaan palsu oleh pihak Proton untuk menjatuhkan Perodua. Proton sudah tentu cemburu dengan kehebatan jualan Bezza selain jualan Axia. Kereta Perodua sangat berkualiti dan sempurna, oleh itu, kerosakkan sebegini mustahil untuk berlaku pada kereta Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 73
    • im punch man on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:51 pm

are you being sarcastic rite?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Sobri5869 on Nov 18, 2016 at 11:36 am

Xsemua bagus,i dulu beli viva elite exclusive,tapi masa kluar biasa la x tau cek ape2 kn,baru 5 hari pakai then kene servis sbb 1k dh..mounting absober rosak and stering rack rosak padahal softly user je…sng cerita,xsemua perfect maker,tu nasib masing2 je..factory pun x semua nya keluaran 100% bagus and baik…semua blh faulty bila2 masa..kes saya tmpoh hari tu smpai skrg x settle2 lg smpai la waranty habis…perodua tmpat saya jwb apa masa nak claim 1st servicing tu?dia ckp dh lbh 1012km…annoying

• Bro, ko punye sarcasm xdapat translate pada org di sini bro!

• Antonhy on Nov 17, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Cheap produa!

• nabill (Member) on Nov 17, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Actually there are few cases of real ppl having this issue, where the power steering suddenly fails for that split second… I wish we had a proper body where it can test and recreate those issues n test thoroughly, i dont expect p2 to admit anyting obviously…
    All CFE protons had that turbo hose issue, and p1 did a recall….once ppl stop to worship p2, p2 might be able to do a thorough test

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • brainwasher on Nov 18, 2016 at 8:13 am

100% correct..it happens on my myvi. last time it happened when i was climbing down the hill..damn scary that time. luckily nothing happen.

• Low Budget on Nov 18, 2016 at 11:28 am

I do believe no one is ‘worshiping’ Perodua.
      People buy Perodua is because they can only afford these kind of cars.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 17, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Actually, this story is false. It was created by disgruntled Proton emplyees. You see, Proton staff, 12,000 of them are bored to death in the office. No work to do. You see, Proton practices the policy, 10 men do 1 person’s work policy. So, each person, hardly does any work in office due to very bad sales and demand.

So, they come online lah and kutuk Perodua. they are so jealous of Perodua’s success. In a year, they can sell about 200,000 cars. Proton, what can they sell? Even 50,000 cars this year also susah. Adn this is despite bulk of the 50,000 cars Proton sold were ordered by the Government and Ministries as a “sedekah” to Proton.

So, the staff are really bored. Just like how MAS staff was caught sleeping on the job and during office hours, Proton staff also sleep, lepak, relax and tidur. When they are not sleeping, they come online to rmance, whatsapp, cari awek, cinta and bitch and pass false rumours on Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 93
    • Habiby on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Proton hater detected!!! So free to comment.
      Why, no customer coming to your showroom???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Salam sejahtera on Nov 18, 2016 at 3:11 am

Nak berapa kali saya nak cakap, jangan memfiitnah kat sini, ehhh degil betul lah budak ni … satu malaysia nampak..bila berbilion org malaysia baca komen kau ni, berlipat ganda dosa kau + PROTON (maksudnya semua org dlm proton kau gi fitnahhh) huhuhu bravooo kau fikir proton kisah ker? Hahahhahaa bro, dorang lagi tersenyum2 dpt pahala free sementara kau dpt dosa berlipat ganda ….ni aq baru cerita pasal komen kau yg ni, komen sebelum ni? Berapa dosa kau kumpul? Kalau komen2 dri tahun lepas + berapa juta rakyat malaysia yg membaca = berapa jumlah dah dosa kau tanggung? Buat je lahh apa kau suka , proton tak kisah pun, liang lahad kau, kau sendiri2 je didalam kubur tu takda sapa nak tolong, proton pun tak nak recall kau pun kat liang lahad tu

• Safety First Sheep on Nov 17, 2016 at 6:52 pm

My dad always says even perodua’s drivetrain is better butt he will still buy proton (iriz), he says he wont buy a car based on cheap price or jz a tiny bit of better fuel efficiency, he bought bcos some proton models are really safer than perodua’s. Dont scold me la what I am trying to say is that, if u can afford the loan, buy a car with 5star safety rating (of course dont splurge on continental ok)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
    • Ben Yap on Nov 18, 2016 at 9:43 am

your dad knows nothing about cars else he will get a Honda instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Safety First Sheep on Nov 18, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Aiyo Mr. Yap so harsh on my dad meh, the proton is for my sibling. Btw hes indeed waitin to get the 17′ crv, sometimes u jz get so tired fixing cars from other brands that u just want a steady, problem-free car that doesnt gv u a headache every three months. Honey, from ur comment I can tell u are still very young.

• This what happens when most of the idiots in social media only knows to share and forward without checking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Empty Vessels Makes the Most Noise on Nov 17, 2016 at 7:18 pm

You get what you pay for … pay peanuts get monkey lor

• MY pipu belip online news than official statement. So means we dun belip what P2 says, cuz we hear mother punya papa punya god bro punya unker’s axias & bizas all have this same problem, and P2 is just covering up. They must think that we r all dedakers and belip them 100%, jangan persoal celup jepunis.

• Steering lock??? Say it for 20 years

• After this new im going to sell my Axia.. not taking risk.

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 18, 2016 at 4:22 am

Instead of selling the car, make sure it is in good condition. Tyres in good condition, brakes in good condition. Especially the tyres are really important. Make sure there is enough profile. Have the same tyres, with the same wear, same age, and change when there is less than 2-3mm profile, ideally earlier than that. Change all tyres at the same time (except for spare of course).

• perutdua on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:00 pm

Stop buying perodua cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • axia user on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:02 pm

As an Axia user, i am very anxious about these allegations. P2 just giving out statements now and then against the allegations & denying without any convincing & thorough report shared to the public ain’t gonna cut it for me. Have P2 not heard of an 8D report (suitable problem solving tool for such special cause deviation) – clear problem description under the circumstances of the incident reported with the macro & micro aspect of the problem, understanding of the mechanism, factors & physics which could influence steering lock conditions, proper fault tree analysis (FTA) of all the possible causes, etc. Takata airbags also kept mum once about their airbag issue, when the fist few incidents were reported in a bid for damage control. However once the issue burst – more incidents & rise in death toll – it was then admitted there was a design flaw / reliability issue. Must P2 wait until this steering lock allegation issue resulted in death till a proper and unbiased investigation be conducted and technical report shared to public? This is not a matter of P1 (which some simply claimed in this thread) started the whole fabrication to topple P2 sales. This is actually about how P2 handling these allegations & give confidence to customers & public towards its products with hard cold facts. Not with just a teaser / shady statements which leave us questioning & doubting even more. And from the looks of it, P2 is not handling this matter well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Perlisian on Nov 18, 2016 at 9:16 am

Totally agree!!!!

• Dun worry. Just remember this mantra from P2/toyota sales team: its better to proudly die in ur celup jepunis than shamefully survive an P1.

• if your bought it with abs, i dont think you should concern much about this particular issue.. i could smell they are afraid to admit if the victim has an abs, he would not experience this ‘steering lock’ happening. If i am not mistaken, the pic of the flat patch on the tire look like the wheel locked up

• Axia is their best selling car, so it is understandable P2 is trying to avoid causing panic among existing Axia owners and potential buyers. But the way P2 just swept the matter under the carpet without a proper and technical explanation just shows their unprofessional and perhaps also uncaring attitudes towards a potential safety risk.

• mfhasbullah on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:24 pm

A lot of Perodua cars on the road don’t have a functioning 3rd brake light, the most obvious being Myvi and Alza. Of every 10 of these on the road, at least 3 or 4 are bound to have this problem, even if the car is less than a year old. This is an important safety feature. But I don’t see this issue being addressed.

• HENG YI MIN on Nov 18, 2016 at 7:25 am

I saw also bc of the user install spoiler cause it. If u saw this, pls c the model is G spec?

• camtakpro on Nov 18, 2016 at 7:53 am

Similar to Proton, usually the head light and/or brake light, one side is burnt.

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 18, 2016 at 8:41 pm

Bapa aq dah 7 tahun pakai exora takde problem apa2 pun..adapun foglamp je mati, tu pun sebab tiba2 ada monyet dri hutan berlari pastu duduk atas jln, akhirnya terlanggar , bumper kemek lah, huhu 120kmh macamna tak kemek

• Toyota too on Nov 19, 2016 at 2:59 am

The same can be said for CKD Toyotas too. It is quite common to see barely one year-old Avanza, Innova and Hilux with burnt out rear brake light bulbs. I don’t know why but these three models seem to be more prone to burnt bulbs.

• Bini4Best on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Ya right…..My car got brake lock, steering lock, hanbrake lock…….but I neber get involved in accident. how come ar??

obviously, the stupodo noob P2 driver looking for someone to blame for his own stupidity…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Archangel on Nov 17, 2016 at 11:22 pm

Don’t be so cocky said never involved in an accident. Maybe tomorrow or any other day you may involved in an accident (karma). Life is short though. You only live once (YOLO).

• These false reports are all created by proton people to justify their losses in their failed cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Salam sejahtera on Nov 18, 2016 at 3:15 am

jangan memfiitnah kat sini, satu malaysia nampak..bila berbilion org malaysia baca komen kau ni, berlipat ganda dosa kau + PROTON (maksudnya semua org dlm proton kau gi fitnahhh) huhuhu bravooo kau fikir proton kisah ker? Hahahhahaa bro, dorang lagi tersenyum2 dpt pahala free sementara kau dpt dosa berlipat ganda ….ni aq baru cerita pasal komen kau yg ni, komen sebelum ni? Berapa dosa kau kumpul? Kalau komen2 dri tahun lepas + berapa juta rakyat malaysia yg membaca = berapa jumlah dah dosa kau tanggung? Buat je lahh apa kau suka , proton tak kisah pun, liang lahad kau, kau sendiri2 je didalam kubur tu takda sapa nak tolong, proton pun tak nak recall kau pun kat liang lahad tu

• Silthice on Nov 17, 2016 at 11:10 pm

From those that encounter this incident/problem, they said that the car lost its power (electricity) that cause a few equipment that empowered by electric malfunction such as the air-conditioner, power window, odometer, light, signal light. This include the steering as it is powered by “EPS” that made them believed that lack of electric led to ‘steering lock’ condition.

• Kacang Daal on Nov 17, 2016 at 11:37 pm

The tyres oso botak oredi……..heck, even insurance company wont cover for the damage from the “accident”.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 17, 2016 at 11:59 pm

How can the ppl that crashed their Axia car be Proton fan boys or cooked up story to just to get at Perodua? Just because P2 didn’t know how to duplicate the situation prior to the crash doesn’t mean its a lie. One cannot possibly duplicate the error if one doesn’t know what the error was in the first place.

• Ex peroduan on Nov 18, 2016 at 1:03 am

Me myself was a kelisa owner as my first car, I can said that perodua made great cars with the price that affordable by many Malaysians that wish to own a car for the past 20 years. True or not I believe perodua will manage to overcome the problem. But if the problem really existed, the right move of perodua should be admitted it and recall all the cars that affected as there were already many axia on the road. Put people at the first place, good luck and wish u well, perodua.

• Steering lock issue – if it’s true – is technical. Should be easier to solve than brain-lock problem with drivers of everyday-commuter cars in which their brains are locked in the the ‘I’m-Lewis Hamilton-driving-a-supercar’ position or the ‘Come-rain-or-night-I’ll-still-drive-like-I-stole-it’ position.

• azrai on Nov 18, 2016 at 8:22 am

Remember Tengku Mahaleel? He used to gertak people distributing Gen-2’s spy shot at those dinosaur age time.

• ntah pa2 on Nov 18, 2016 at 8:28 am

dulu ada kes tayar belakang alza tercabut, perodua diam ja

• Dissatisfied Cust on Nov 18, 2016 at 8:34 am

Perodua is now known as a bad company. Making their customers in pain with their faulty components but never gonna admit it. For example, the cabin filter of Viva, they didn’t make the compartment to put in the filter and need to manually cut it (it’s really unprofessional). AND they charge for the cover to close the filter compartment!

• sound more like the victim locking his wheel before the accident, that why the car did not turn as he had wished

no abs then say because of no abs lar
    now malu dy.. that is what you got from selling a car without abs in year 2016

• kelvin tan on Nov 18, 2016 at 11:22 am

been using this perodua axia i can say the fc 21km is a lie i couldn t achieve even i drive on highway most i get is 17km/l full highway only .The rattle n mystery noise come fr no where send back to svc centre several times they told me is fix .Few days later the strange noise appear again then send again fix then come again.Which difficult to accept for a new car. My mileage reach 20k they charge me almost Rm500 which include change engine oil ,gearbox oil few filters charge me like i own honda toyota cars. Are perodua trying to tell us we buy cheap car service expensive which equal like we buying expensive cars

• Low Budget on Nov 18, 2016 at 11:37 am

Agree with you on the fc 21Km/L is a big bull shit, I got one too and it is no where near that figure, however the fc is still way better than many other models.
      You also need to be careful not to accept the wheel alignment and changing of tyres by their Service Centers, as compared to Ah Chong Tyre companies the P2 Service centers are way over price, Ah Chong will sell RM 124 per tyre and P2 Service centers will charge you RM 160 for the same make of tyre.
      P2 offer 5 year warranty, provided you send the car to their service centers for servicing and this is where they ‘ketuk’ you the parts replaced.

• azhar on Nov 19, 2016 at 12:44 am

Of course laa u cant achieve factory claim FC of 21km/l…they test it on certain condition not real life like us..aiyooooooo

• The high maintenance is because to achieve good efficiency, Perodua recommends fully synthetic 0W-20 oil for the Axia. Try comparing the prices of fully syn and semi-syn 5W-30 oil used by older Peroduas, and you can see that maintaining an Axia is not exactly cheap for a budget car. You can of course choose cheaper semi-syn oils, but you would definitely suffer poor fuel economy.

• Kenny on Nov 18, 2016 at 12:57 pm

about steering lock issue……………..practically any manual cars will have it steering locked up during cornering and the car engine stalled if the driver failed to control the clutches. So check whether the car involved is manual or auto transmission.

I do drive an MPV and during cornering i forgot to applied the clutches thinking it was automatic transmission.

• That only happens to novice drivers that just got their licenses or those that rarely drive a stick. No seasoned manual car driver would mistaken ‘it was an automatic’.

• Dun worry P2. Kiki will straighten ur steering lock issue by steering locking those who raise back the issue.

• azhar on Nov 19, 2016 at 12:41 am

Coz of this i cancel my plan to buy axia…might switch to saga or iriz…too many complaints from public on steering lock only raised my doubt about axia…too bad coz axia are perfect for city car

• Michelin on Nov 21, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Axia’s maintenance based on their website is sooooo expensive.. adoi!

• Akuinsanyg lemah on Nov 23, 2016 at 3:37 pm

All this are made by deyhatesu and their big2 bos toyolta

• LOWSH on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:14 am

I also bought a unit of axia about 2 years old, the car was fine (full service) until lately its breakdown in the middle of road, cutoff in power fuel supply and need to tow back to perodua service center. I suspect there is manufacturing defects for this type car.