Honda Civic, Toyota Sienta, Nissan Navara, Mitsubishi Pajero Sport, Hyundai Elantra – ASEAN NCAP 5 stars

asean-ncap-q4-2016

At the ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix Awards ceremony last night, the organisation announced the results of the crash tests it performed in the fourth quarter of 2016.

Of the nine cars that were evaluated, five received a full five-star safety rating for adult occupant protection (AOP). The list includes the new Honda Civic, Toyota Sienta, Nissan NP300 Navara, Mitsubishi Pajero Sport and Hyundai Elantra, which also gain four-star ratings for child occupant protection (COP).

As usual, there are provisos to those ratings – Civic models without a passenger-side seat belt reminder, as well as Sienta, Pajero Sport and Elantra variants not fitted with electronic stability control (ESC) all get a four-star AOP rating instead.

The rest of the cars tested get a four-star AOP rating. These include the Toyota Calya and Daihatsu Sigra A-segment MPV twins; the difference is that the Calya also gets a four-star COP rating, while the Sigra musters only two stars. Sigra models not fitted with airbags also get just one star for AOP.

Lastly are the Honda Brio and the new Proton Ertiga, which also get a four-star AOP and two-star COP rating. The Proton’s results are carried over from its Suzuki twin, which was tested in April.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mikey on Nov 30, 2016 at 5:03 pm

OMG, there goes Ertiga sales. With a two-star COP rating, there will be less sales now.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 30, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Ha ha ha ha ha. Ertiga has only 2 stars? OMG OMG OMG

Common sense will tell you, this is why Suzuki is partnering with Proton. Suzuki actually failed all over the world, including Malaysia. That is why the close shop in Malaysia also. The only country Suzuki does well is India, where Maruti and Suzuki are in partnership. But bear in mind, India car safety laws are NIL. So Suzuki can be King in the land of blind.

The clever Japs have found a scapegoat Proton to perah money from. And the fools in Proton syiok sendiri. Now they got to pay Suzuki hundreds of millions of ringgit in royalty and yet get ZERO sales from Ertiga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • P1 dun care cuz almost all models have ESC.
        P2 scared sh*t cuz almost all models no ESC!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
      • Ertiga 4 Star on Dec 01, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Read properly..Ertiga scored 4 star…sengal!

• Suzuki PR on Dec 08, 2016 at 10:38 am

And that’s why we have global sales of 5 million units and we are Japan’s fourth largest automobile manufacturer.

Maybe common sense would tell you to STFU.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 30, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Feels like a cop out. While other people test cars with the LEAST safety equipped, Asean ANCAP tests car most highly equipped, then put a caveat and disclaimer.

The 2 Star Ertiga will not bode well for Proton, especially after the push for safety…and worst because this is a family MPV. Even the Alza gets 4 stars.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 30, 2016 at 8:20 pm

The Japs must not treat Malaysia as their dumping ground. In Japan, all their cars compulsory got VSC. So, why do they sell the Ertiga in Malaysia without VSC?

Proton should be sued for not looking after the interest of the rakyat in Malaysia. PRoton should ask Suzuki to give VSC as standard. Aren’t the lives of Malaysians important Proton?

According to Gomen statistics, 45 percent of all accidents last year was related to stability control. That means if all cars had VSC, we can reduce 50% of the accidents and deaths in Malaysia.

Proton, aren’t you thinking about the safety of the rakyat of Malaysia and why did you not ask Suzuki to give the Ertiga VSC as required by Japanese laws for all their local Japan cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • karam singh on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:39 pm

R u stupid? Ertiga is not even sold in Japan. It is a car specifically for developing countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • waters on Dec 01, 2016 at 9:54 am

The Ertiga is not sold in JP. It was made for the Indian market.

Anyway, no one is forcing you to buy. Stop buying cars without VSC.

• alldisc on Dec 01, 2016 at 12:54 pm

care to share where you get the statistics from? or just some crap u made up?

• Ertiga 4 Star on Dec 01, 2016 at 1:22 pm

Read properly..ertiga scored 4 star for Adult Protection (AOP)…only child protection 2 star…bongok

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 02, 2016 at 2:36 pm

Want to defend also defend properly please.

I was referring to the COP as you were, the Alza has a 4 star COP vs the 2 in the Ertiga.

This is a family MPV, which no doubt will be involved in ferrying young children. So the COP rating is important.

Who is bongok now?

• Jonn Dol on Nov 30, 2016 at 6:47 pm

I have a Sienta. I have a Livina. Uhhh! Ertiga…

• Ootai on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:35 pm

Daihatsu mpv sigra will be the replacement model for Alza??

• Ertiga 4 Star on Dec 01, 2016 at 1:53 pm

I don’t know what happened to Malaysian..do they know how to read properly? PROTON ERTIGA SCORED 4 STAR FOR ASEAN NCAP. 2 STAR FOR CHILD PROTECTION ONLY. KECIK KECIK TAK NAK MAMxxx DAH BESAR MENYUSAHKAN ORG…I REPEAT: ERTIGA SCORED 4 STAR!!!

• Gerald on Dec 01, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Does it mean that the Nissan Navara NP300 has improved its materials? Cause it scored 4 stars back in May 2016?

http://paultan.org/2016/05/31/asean-ncap-results-may-31-2016/