Mugen Garu – wacky Honda S660-based concept

Think the cute-and-cuddly Honda S660 is too plain? Honda tuner Mugen clearly had you in mind when it designed the Mugen Garu, a custom concept based on the kei roadster.

Debuting at the ongoing 2017 Tokyo Auto Salon, the Garu looks at home alongside the rest of the extroverted machinery at Japan’s premier tuner exhibition, with its widebody stance and rather outlandish detailing. The company says that all of the car’s body panels are bespoke except the windows, and it shows.

At the front, the LED headlights have been made even slimmer, while the wide, smiley grille has been substituted for a narrower, more aggressive one – the overall look appears to be a cross between the CR-Z and the Bugatti Chiron.

The wheel arches have been bulked up and fitted with massive machined wheels within, while a roof scoop has also been added. The simple rear features only the S660’s LED tail lights (flipped upside down) and a triangular centre exhaust.

No mechanical details have been mentioned, but the original Honda S660 comes with a mid-mounted S07A 660 cc turbocharged DOHC three-cylinder engine pushing out 64 hp and 104 Nm of torque, sent to the rear wheels via either a CVT or a six-speed manual transmission.

Too outlandish? Maybe the Honda S660 Mugen RA is more your style…

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:56 am

We should bring the Honda S660 into Malaysia. Ooops, then nobody will buy Axia, Myvi, Bezza and Saga.

We Malaysians cannot enjoy many cars cause need to protect 2 car companies in Malaysia!

• 12yrsold on Jan 16, 2017 at 12:04 pm

Yah, it looks nice/cute/cuddly. This is for Japan only. Take this cute car to M’sia, our lorry/bus drivers will try to block this car at every opportunity to show who is the BOSS in our roads.

Am sure you all noticed many Big Car/SUV/MPV have their no 8055 embossed as BOSS.

• Leonardo on Jan 16, 2017 at 12:55 pm

When I saw this, I ‘Garu Kepala’ (Scratch my head). Pun intended. It looks like and Audi married to a Puffer Fish.
    Outlandish is an understatement. But it sells in Japan.

• Ichibawa on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:48 pm

Muah Sugarbabies sure love dis!!!