Bangkok 2017: Honda Civic Hatchback with Modulo kit

There are two stars at the Honda’s 2017 Bangkok International Motor Show stand, the all-new Honda CR-V and the Honda Civic Hatchback. We’ve showed you live galleries of both cars, and the Modulo-kitted CR-V, so here’s the missing piece – the Civic Hatch fully decked out in Modulo accessories.

Honda Thailand picked a Crystal Black Pearl Civic Hatch as model, and orange accents for the Modulo bits. The lower body kit includes a extensions to the front lip, side skirts and rear lip – all in orange here. In this sporty hatch’s case, the standard car already has the lips – Modulo adds another layer.

There’s also a more prominent wing at the top of the hatch, one that juts on a little at the sides. The lower wing, which joins the tail lamps, are unchanged. The Modulo catalogue also has unique 17-inch rims paired with tyres that similarly sized to the stock car – 215/50. You’ll also find chrome trim on the wing mirrors and just ahead of the A pillars, on the front wings. Illuminated door sill plates with the Civic logo, too, that’s a must!

Launched earlier this month in Thailand, the five-door hatch version of the latest Civic FC is available in a sole 1.5L Turbo CVT variant, priced at 1.169 million baht (RM149,620). The VTEC Turbo engine produces 173 PS at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm. Unlike North America and Europe, there’s no six-speed manual option for Thailand. Paddle shifters, yes.

Dimension wise, the hatchback shares the same width (1,798 mm) and wheelbase (2,700 mm) as the sedan, but it’s taller (+20 mm) and shorter by 112 mm. Standard kit include 17-inch rims, LED headlights/DRLs/fog lamps, dual-zone air-con, a digital instrument panel, seven-inch touchscreen head unit (with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto), paddle shifters and black leather upholstery.

Also in are smart entry and push button start, remote engine start, cruise control, auto brake hold, 60:40 split-folding rear seats, reverse camera, and powered front seats. Safety-wise, the Civic Hatch comes with six airbags, VSA and Hill Start Assist.

I’m more on the sedan’s side with this new Civic. You?

GALLERY: Honda Civic Hatchback with Modulo accessories

GALLERY: Honda Civic Hatchback

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Malaysia Boleh on Mar 31, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Not necessarily at all, original look ard nice!

• Superlon on Mar 31, 2017 at 2:48 pm

Next! P1 Suprima cheaper yet better.

• Albert on Mar 31, 2017 at 4:10 pm

Superlon,
        Suprima better for u only.
        2015 Suprima with rm 12000 discount,u can have the 2nd unit.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 31, 2017 at 1:09 pm

I like the orange accents. Gives it a sportier look. But prefer light blue body colour to match the orange as opposed to black. But that is all personal taste.

• I much prefer a hatchback for its extra space. Very useful in those rare occasions when I need to transport large items such as a ladder or IKEA furniture flat packs. In comparison, the civic sedan with its unfoldable rear seats is just impractical.

• Mikey on Mar 31, 2017 at 3:33 pm

U are absolutely right on the unfoldable rear seats. Am sure Honda will take note of this when they facelift the Civic sedan in due time.

• I doubt it. Unlike u, HM has done their market study to justify omit 60/40 seats

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Mar 31, 2017 at 2:12 pm

kinda ah-beng-ish look right??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Mikey on Mar 31, 2017 at 3:43 pm

For a hatchback, this Civic with Modulo kit looks menacing especially in Black. With the orange accents & 17-inch wheels, it is a magnet for boy racers.

I’m sure the HB will sell well in M’sia bcos they don’t have to look for cheaper alternative at Brothers Hypermarket.

Having said that, many will still go to Brothers to fix the cheaper alternative when their ‘ordinary’ Civic does not look sporty enuff.

• Annoynimouse on Apr 01, 2017 at 11:53 am

A little better than the modulo kit honda puts on the sedan civic. Ugly as hell… If only Mugen would hurry up and offer their kits.

• Takdulaku P1 on Apr 01, 2017 at 3:08 pm

3 words : FAKE BUMPER VENTS.