VIDEO: Indonesian Honda CR-V 1.5L Turbo showcased

The new Honda CR-V was launched in Indonesia last month at the 2017 Indonesia International Motor Show, which we covered live. Indonesia is the second ASEAN stop for the fifth-generation SUV, but what’s being offered in the Republic differs from the Thai-spec car, and should be closer to what we will get later this year in Malaysia.

This official product video from Honda Indonesia showcases the new CR-V, highlighting the features of the range-topping 1.5L Turbo Prestige, which has seven seats and is powered by a 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine with 190 PS and 240 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 5,000 rpm. There’s also a five-seater 2.0L NA variant with 154 PS and 189 Nm.

Standard across the board are halogen projector headlamps with LED daytime running lights, fog lamps, rear LED light bars, 18-inch alloys, cruise control, audio and phone steering buttons, seven-inch touchscreen head unit, rear AC vents, manual AC, reverse camera, fabric seats, electronic parking brake with auto hold, dual airbags, VSA and Hill Start Assist.

The 1.5L Turbo adds on dual exhaust pipes with finishers, interior wood trim, dual-zone auto AC with nanoe air purifier, rear AC system (roof vents with fan speed control) and smart entry with push start and auto folding mirrors. Also in are a nine-inch touchscreen head unit with navi, multi-angle reverse camera, eight-way driver’s seat electric adjustment with lumbar, leather seats plus a leather wrapped steering and gear knob.

VIDEO: Indonesian Honda CR-V 1.5L Turbo showcased

The 1.5L Turbo Prestige is differentiated on the outside by its LED headlamps, LED foglamps and “bold” five-spoke rims (still 18-inch items). Also on the top CR-V are a powered tailgate (with height adjustment), panoramic sunroof, four-way electric front passenger seat, and six airbags with the addition of side and curtain airbags. No digital meter panel as seen in our Civic, though.

The CR-V, a premium SUV in Indonesia, is priced from 432 million rupiah (RM141,018) for the 2.0L. The 1.5L Turbo starts from 468 million rupiah (RM152,773) while the 1.5L Turbo Prestige with all the bells and whistles is priced at 508 million rupiah (RM165,841).

Honda Malaysia is currently gearing up for local assembly and the new CR-V is due for launch this year. Test mules have been snapped roaming, including on trips to Genting Highlands.

GALLERY: Honda CR-V 1.5L Turbo Prestige

GALLERY: Honda CR-V 2.0L

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kiddd on May 15, 2017 at 3:20 pm

kerajaan pun pening nak letak cukai berapa..

• Terpulang pada harge jualan kete. Klau lebih kurang same dgn dulu, so cukai adjust ikut harge lama.

• izani on May 15, 2017 at 5:38 pm

Mak aiii..cukai lebih tinggi dari harge pasaran kete.

• Baca teliti dulu tu. Harge indomee sama sama dgn MY. Mana cukai pegi tu?

• VAPER on May 15, 2017 at 3:25 pm

HRV is cheaper here!

• Pls bring in diesel version …!! Honda Malaysia

• Gaviny on May 15, 2017 at 4:18 pm

190 is quite a lot of horses

• Socai (ori) on May 15, 2017 at 4:26 pm

looks the same lah ..Jazz oso same.now seems pretty common same look kept for several generations..

• Honda CRV rear light design copycat new volvo xc60

• Next gen Kunta Naik on May 15, 2017 at 4:53 pm

Good job Honda but in my humble opinion I would rather get a German engineered Tiguan. It’s hard to resist a solid German built SUV and a TSI + DSG combo provides the best driving experience ever. I have driven the latest torque covertor auto and a DSG and I have to admit that Volkswagen’s DSG can even surpass the driving experience of a BMW auto gearbox.Sorry Toyota, you never appear in the picture because of your outdated and old technology cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Mokmok on May 15, 2017 at 6:23 pm

It’s 7 seater or 5+2 configuration? I’m confused. The rear seat leg room looks so crampy.

• Prospect Buyer on May 15, 2017 at 9:20 pm

Are you sure the video is from Indonesia? All CRV Indonesia is FWD not AWD. I’m not dare to go to mud and sand. Hopefully Malaysia market got new AWD.

• Don’t worry. Previous generation CR-V for Malaysia market also AWD. But i’m worry if CR-V for Malaysia market comes only 5 seats & no diesel variant.

• Sunroof lover on May 15, 2017 at 9:34 pm

Hey Honda Malaysia, if you bring in the sunroof, will surely to consider to get one. Thanks.

• Mummy Yummy on May 16, 2017 at 7:47 am

It’s still just a Honda…

• 1.5 turbo 190 PS and 240 Nm, didn’t impress me at all. Yes, the 190ps is enough but 240Nm. No way. I have tested Ford Kuga with similar performance and I found that during pick up the torque is like not enough. 240Nm picking up for a SUV is just like a 1.8NA sedan. When full of passenger, it’s a pain.

• mr1031 on May 16, 2017 at 1:38 pm

every new japanese car must have weird rear light izit??