VIDEO: Honda CR-V – 4th-gen and 5th-gen compared

Honda Malaysia has released this nice short video putting the outgoing fourth-generation CR-V next to its upcoming replacement, the fifth-generation model. The 2017 Honda CR-V certainly looks to be a big step forwards in terms of styling, as well as technology.

It’s all new on the outside, though still recognisably a CR-V – the familiar front end, swoopy windowline and vertical taillamps are all present and accounted for. Underneath the hood, though, is a new 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo making 193 PS and 243 Nm of torque to replace the old 2.4 litre engine. Also on is a CVT gearbox, in place of a five-speed automatic.

Though it goes unmentioned here, the base 2.0 litre model is expected to carry over the same 155 PS/190 Nm mill as before, also with a CVT sending power to the wheels. A choice of 2WD and 4WD variants will be offered, but we’ll have to wait until the official launch to find out the exact combinations available.

The flagship model featured here also gets the full Honda Sensing active safety suite. This includes Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with stop-and-go Low Speed Follow (LSF), Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS) with Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Road Departure Mitigation (RDM).

GALLERY: 2017 Honda CR-V 2.0L 4WD previewed in Malaysia

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2017 at 1:59 pm

Most important is the price of the car here. Most Malaysians are excited about the 4th and 5th generation differences.

But we want to see a reduction in car prices. RM150k is way too expensive for Malaysians. Where is Gomen’s promise to reduce car prices? By right 30% off, the CRV should be priced around RM105k.

We Malaysians are waiting for the price reduction for a long time now. Gomen mungkir janji.

Malaysians are suffering so much with high cost of living and cost of food is escalating higher and higher. Gomen should help by honouring their promise to reduce car prices.

Currently housing loan and car payment is most people’s highest payment in a month.

In Australia CRV CBU is RM94k and in US CRV 2.4 CBU is USD22k with 10 airbags.

In Malaysia, Made in Malaysia CKD is RM150k. No logic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 297 Thumb down 131
    • Periandy Muthusamy on Jun 11, 2017 at 8:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 233
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2017 at 11:42 pm

Same like we hear over and over that Proton is losing money but still in business. No logic too

• Basher only has cave logic. Dun mind him.

• Copy Paste John Ohwai on Jun 12, 2017 at 8:52 pm

I hope they give us 5 yrs free service as promo

• Periandy Muthusamy Ohwai on Jun 12, 2017 at 1:11 am

I like 1.5 turbo. cheaper road tax

• Thomas Canberra on Jun 12, 2017 at 10:13 am

In Aussie, that is the lowest spec CRV. Added those gadgets, the car is almost the same price as Malaysia

• Thx for the feedback from Down Under. The problem with these bashers is they din come out of cave since last century.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 12, 2017 at 6:18 pm

we Malaysians also don’t mind low spec CRV at rm94k. But DRB don’t give us option. Must take RM150k car

• drillero on Jun 11, 2017 at 11:04 pm

Nowadays, the Nippon vehicles price way too much, higher than Korean and some continental vehicles. RM180k to get medium size SUV for full safety features? We, the malaysian consumers have been taken for ride for so long, wait till the China quality on par or better, then sayonara Nippon san

• When price high, u says too exp. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
      Which world u came from that has bog standard cars with super low price & super high RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 12, 2017 at 5:46 pm

john oh john, still copypaste the same thing. You keep on saying your gomen has reduced X5 from RM588k to RM388k and we must be grateful. But pls pakai hotak. How many people can afford RM388k?

If gomen reduce also it must be for Saga, Axia, Myvi and Persona. Majority people can only afford RM60k and below.

bodoh tu tolong simpan sikit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • Saga mivi axia r reasonably affordable. Even fresh grads go straight for vios/ city/ fiesta!

But if u only affords 2nd hand EX5, well, try ukur baju di badan sendri…

• Kunta also didnt notice is it. You also keep on copy paste at almost every single post. RM388K, it doesnt matter if the consumer can afford or not. Is it logic if government servant can buy BMW? For sure those cars werent targetted for low income people. Only orang bodoh that has low income but had desire to buy BMW / Audi / Merc. If all government servant can afford BMW, what will happen to those Sushi and Kimchi. Duhhhh, your comments and view were utterly absurd

• Kunta Donald Trump on Jun 12, 2017 at 1:50 pm

Earlier rim is better, new one over do a bit

• xem6861 on Jun 12, 2017 at 10:52 pm

Down here we are paying lesser tax but people from Down Under are paying huge income tax. Should that sounds logical to you?

• 2.2 Big Vtec on Jun 11, 2017 at 2:53 pm

Awesome Honda Motor Co. !
    Best specs in class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Sammy on Jun 11, 2017 at 3:11 pm

To be honest, the video is really terrible.. Looks like an intern’s job, or an university student’a assignment..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Kopi Pet Lagi kunta on Jun 11, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Price below RM125k please. It will sell like hot cake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • Especially it only comes with 5 seats for Malaysian markets. It should cheaper.

• TheDean on Jun 11, 2017 at 3:31 pm

Herein lies the problem though: safety features from Honda is still a BIG suspect.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 11, 2017 at 3:54 pm

18″ inch wheels with new design. Seriously Honda? I want smaller wheels with thicker rubber. I want better comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Those 18″ are only for the 1.5 turbo, standard rims are 17″. Yeah, agree the part about thicker tires for better comfort. With low profile tires on comfort-oriented cars such as the CRV, the ride feels brittle and bumpier with not much improvement to handling at all.

• ryder0707 on Jun 11, 2017 at 3:55 pm

Went to the roadshow in Mid Valley and was surprised with the build quality. There is a visible gap at the front fender and the bumper seems misaligned. Honda Malaysia must ensure the QC is done properly before handing over to future owners else there will be a lot of upset new crv owners. Not to mention the stupid & silly decision not to bring in the 7-seater version like in Thai, Indon & now Ausie. Its crazy u want to sell the small BR-V with 7 seats and not the larger CR-V. Hey HM wake up!!! Not everyone wants to drive a 7-seater MPV aka minivan ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • 4th gen 2.4 rims is better than the new one. Anyone agree ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Hayenadeblue on Jun 11, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Since when cvt is better than 5 speed auto?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Mak Lijah on Jun 11, 2017 at 4:41 pm

Imagine if you drove past a cemetery and the Honda Sensing goes crazy for no obvious reasons

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • It means the CRV got one more Sense not mentioned in the brochure, the Sixth Sense.

• Newcomer on Jun 11, 2017 at 4:53 pm

Sorry Honda, did you hire those designer fired from Toyota that design hideous model past few years?

• Newcomer on Jun 11, 2017 at 4:54 pm

Sorry Honda, did you hire those designer fired from Toyota that design hideous model past few years?

• Vijay on Jun 11, 2017 at 4:56 pm

This is what I had been suggesting to this site for months. Image comparison for face-lift and new models.

• Bernard on Jun 11, 2017 at 5:59 pm

Only the 1st gen created excitement. This new one is uglier than the 4th gen. The back is less ugly than the brv. The tech is good though but too sophisticated for buyers . Some won’t know how to lock their vehicles, others may destroy the tech given.

• Haf, my man! Ur subtly thumbing ur nose at them bashers by launching a flurry of videos? Kipidap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Kampung Ku on Jun 12, 2017 at 12:00 am

kampong boy trying to talk like Westerner

• Kampung boy Haf has better Ingland than yous.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 12, 2017 at 5:59 pm

My kampung is KL, buddy ;)

• Sabar Haf. Nice to see ur reply here. Anyway, pls read all the comments. Some of them are useful to improve paultan.org. Some are not. I dont mind your attirement like one of the comments here. Bravo.

• No worries Haf. I think its gud enuff for the purpose above. These nasties who think their Ingland got powder can go make their own videos. After all, utube is free.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 12, 2017 at 6:12 pm

ha ha ha. Kena told off by Hafriz.

• I dun get ur meaning. Why wud he tell me off for saying his Ingland is better than urs? Pelik orang gua ni…

• Packers on Jun 11, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Last few seconds of the new video show it is a five seaters.

• 4th generation design looks good but I can’t deny I’ll always love the latest generation cars because of the new technologies the new cars include in.

• Reejal on Jun 11, 2017 at 11:45 pm

Soo many features…
    so little seats .
    :(

• Fashion mogul on Jun 12, 2017 at 3:04 pm

I think Hafriz should wear t-shirt with jeans like in previous video. Looks far better and practical than wearing sissy flowery shirt ala James May.

• JomMakanDurian on Jun 12, 2017 at 9:02 pm

cmment about the price…i though they like expensive one…bcos our malaysian drive car for status..hope not us la kan…

• JomMakanDurian on Jun 12, 2017 at 9:07 pm

Seem like toyota going to lose their chr potential buyer

• Still remember when proton launch cvt cars, paultan.org criticize. I know proton use clutch based cvt which makes it terrible to accelerate from stands still. But, cvt is cvt. Try accelerate lets say from 40 kmh to 110 kmh. Toyota, honda, subaru, NA or forced induction, their sounds are like vacuum cleaner. Loud but slow to catch up speed. Very dangerous. When other brands use cvt, paultan.org praise them or didnt even comment on their cvt. One more thing, when honda have honda sensing (which is good) in this car, u can see many articles published here. When mercedes have collision avoidance feature, they didn’t even highlight it. Yeah, one of the authors drive in a mercedes c300. Dont claim that u are the champion portal in cars safety. Even Bhp and ps figures are mixed up.

• klguy on Jun 13, 2017 at 11:58 am

wow, looking at the design, it can be Ultraman’s official car….

• Ultraman official car is upcoming betui betui real facelift vios.