Mazda CX-8 three-row SUV shown in brochure leak

Several days after Mazda revealed the first official exterior photo of the upcoming CX-8, a brochure depicting the Japan-exclusive, three-row SUV has now made its way onto the internet. With it, we get to see the CX-8 in its entirety, along with a look inside the SUV’s cabin.

From the front, the SUV certainly appears to be derived from the latest CX-5, with cues such as the slim headlights and gap between the chrome surround and bonnet being clearly visible. The grille itself features horizontal slats, similar to that on the CX-9, which also has its fair share of influence.

This is seen at the CX-8’s behind, with a rear overhang that is similar to Mazda’s other three-row SUV, and much longer than the CX-5’s. Other similarities include the rear taillights that also come with a chrome trim piece linking the left and right clusters.

We already know the CX-8 will offer seating for up to seven people, spread evenly across three rows. The brochure leak reveals there will be three seat configurations for the second row – two captain chairs, a full bench or two individual seats with dedicated centre console – available for the CX-8.

Elsewhere, it appears the CX-8 will adopt the CX-5’s dashboard, centre stack and front centre console layout, although the image makes it hard to nail down the details. The commander knob and buttons for the MZD Connect system should be pretty familiar to most by now.

Power will come from a 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D turbodiesel engine matched to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. Output figures have yet to have been released, but expect them to match the 172 PS and 420 Nm that the same engine in the CX-5 produces.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kenny on Aug 07, 2017 at 1:05 pm

Toyota influences bearing fruits. Well done Toyota Mazda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • potential crv buyers might tarik hand-brake…existing new crv buyers might “cry”…lol

• Tunggu harga dulu, otherwise CX8 waiters might cry.

• Henry on Aug 07, 2017 at 4:40 pm

What is there to tarik? This is a Japan domestic model. It won’t be here assn official import.

• why cry ? on Aug 07, 2017 at 4:42 pm

this CX8 are only exclusive for japan market, so if u want one ? wait la for another 2 years for AP unit..and by then the AP unit price can buy 2 unit of ‘Old” current CRV. so no one will cry…

• Jürg Hölzle on Aug 07, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Other countries like Australia and Thailand are interested in the CX-8. So maybe Mazda will change their mind and bring the CX-8 to the ASEAN market?

I think there is some potential – even thought the CX-8 might be more expensive than its competitors like the 7-seater CR-V.

• Aeroheads on Aug 07, 2017 at 4:25 pm

Article says it is for Japan market only. Anyone can confirm if Bermaz will bring it in?

• ryder0707 on Aug 07, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Please bring this to Malaysia. I’m willing to pay up to 200k! This is the perfect family car for Malaysian. The sales people in HM must be so dumb to sell only 5-seater CRV…then try to bullshit us with “survey”, i bet the data taken from single or married couple with no kids!

• Isuzu MUV alredi available and priced <Rm200k. Apalagi tunggu?

• Lance on Aug 08, 2017 at 10:42 am

Putting in 7 seater doesn’t make sense for CRV too. The 3rd row will be so cramp and only fit infants and I dont think you want to put your infant child on 3rd row.

• Please bring this to Malaysia. I’m willing to pay up to 200k! This is the perfect family car for Malaysian. The sales people in HM must be so dumb to sell only 5-seater CRV…then try to bullshit us with “survey”, i bet the data taken from single or married couple with no kids!

———————————————

In fart, they did not carry out survey. Tell me who dont want the additional features of 7 seaters?

Those who complaining the weight of the 3rd rows is just an excuse.

wait till year end and big discount will be offer for CRV. Haha

• Nice logic there. Those who dunwan 3rd row r just making excuses deswai their numbers dun matter.

• I like how there is less interest in this brand now thanks to Bermaz

• VT killed Mazda when he uppriced what he thought was a upcar brand.