RENDERED: New Perodua Kembara – P2’s next move?

With the launch of the new Myvi, Perodua has a full, nearly up-to-date range of cars, with its oldest model being the eight-year-old Alza MPV. This leaves the national carmaker free to explore other segments of the market, and with the SUV boom still unabated, a crossover is likely to be the company’s next product – it’s already said that it’s seriously considering such a model.

Rendering wizard Theophilus Chin has envisioned a Perodua SUV, based on the DN Trec concept shown at the 2017 Tokyo Motor Show. In doing so, he has resurrected the Kembara name not seen since the original (Perodua sold the fully-imported Nautica as a successor, but let’s not go there, shall we?).

Apart from adding the requisite Perodua badges, Chin has also added a larger upper grille opening, proper door handles, more production-friendly tail lights and door mirrors rather than the show car’s cameras. The wheels and tyres have also been swapped out for items you’d more likely see on the road.

If a Perodua crossover does head into production, expect it to feature a unique upper body and interior design compared to a Daihatsu version, following in the footsteps of the Bezza and Myvi before it. Under the bonnet, you’d likely find the 102 hp/136 Nm 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engine from the new Myvi, paired to a four-speed automatic transmission.

GALLERY: Daihatsu DN Trec

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Anonymous_C on Nov 27, 2017 at 3:42 pm

Perodua Nautica was release back in 2018, RM80K plus for a small SUV.

Back then Malaysia market was not ready for such a SUV, table has turn this time around and if it’s still at RM70-80K value… UMW Toyota can shelve their C-HR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh. on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:24 pm

>was released
      >2018

• Melvin Chew on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:29 pm

Get Boyue 1.8T 200hp.

• John Gagap on Nov 27, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Oh My Oh My, if this car comes out, I really don’t know what will happen to the Boyue. Cause, don’t forget, a car with Daihatsu/Toyota technology is 1000x better than a car from China.

Don’t forget also, the car from PErodua is marketed all over the world in different names by Daihatsu/Toyota. The car from China is only sold in China and no where else in the world!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
        • YB Albert on Nov 27, 2017 at 11:04 pm

If perodua keep launching newer suv ,cars and one day a bigger mpv….Protong under geely might as well close shop.
          Geely,it is too late salvaging a sunken Titanic called Protong.
          Let Perodua conquer and conquer.We r not in favor of anymore taxpayers funded bailout.Just kiss goodby to yr RM170juta.
          Your Boyue will be a dinasaur by the time Dec 2018 comes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Gogogosuv on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:09 pm

This time having a compact suv is a trend. P2 shud go ahead wif this. As i can see, especially married couple, husband prefer his wife to drive compact suv to town and even send their kids school. For safety reason, tall car have better view.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • karam singh on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:27 pm

Tall SUV…Msia mana ada market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 39
        • Sinkkaram on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:39 pm

Takda market? U tak nampak ka ribuan jutaan suv kat msia? Suv consider tall car la bro. Crv, hrv, cx5, cx3, fortuner, rav 4, asx, pajero, x3, x5, hilix, triton, navara, ranger, colorado, merc, audi, vw, all have market in msia bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
          • that’s fake wannabe crossover compact car not the real suv

• Chris on Sep 26, 2019 at 2:42 pm

The kembara had part time 4wd, and this feature must be retained for handling in adverse conditions. These days, 3 cylinder engines small in cc displacement that are turbocharged will drive the power output far in excess of the 108 bhp of the conventional toyota 1.5 L whilst having good fuel consumption: that too must be investigated. Then, do a Henry Ford on the car, of providing an affordable car with value for money.

• Proton oh Proton on Nov 27, 2017 at 3:43 pm

Yes, Pls bring it P2. We will support you, but pls upgrade your 4 speed Auto…

• Raja Celup on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:01 pm

Rainy season, high water floods everywhere. Bad road conditions, a reliable fuel efficient P2 SUV is the best news for Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
      • wawasan2020 on Nov 28, 2017 at 11:19 am

lol back to old days, kembara couldn’t even climb up genting hill with 4 grown up adult. and this happen to my friend’s car.

• Eric Tham on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:15 pm

Your friend’s car ? I’m still driving this 17 yrs old kembara..no problem at all.

• CVT pls, 4 speed is sooo outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • 2018 Myvi owners upgrade to Kembara SUV in another 2 to 3 years.

• winwin on Nov 27, 2017 at 7:53 pm

CVT is meant for boring scooters not cars. Give me a 6 speed conventional auto gearbox anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • Beautiful. Well done Theo.

Hope the upcoming P2 Kembara comes with AWD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Jimny Club on Nov 27, 2017 at 6:36 pm

the upcoming P2 Kembara will have 6 airbags as standard. Price from 52k-64k as range topper equipped AWD and hybrid powertrain.

• Richard Chu on Nov 27, 2017 at 7:02 pm

Prefer to have 2 wheel drive, with 5 speed auto trans and manual gear options. Minimum is 1.5L or above. 1.3L is a waste of time and money.

• Francis Lim on Nov 27, 2017 at 8:02 pm

Present kembara is part-time 4WD. Use 15inches tyres.

• Totot112 on Jan 02, 2018 at 7:03 pm

Need an options to turn on or off the AWD features when needed turn it on for better traction and get out of sticky situations and when not needed turn it off on 2WD for fuel economy.

• Zacko on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:15 pm

If the price is around rm100k better get subaru xv or cx3. Better package already

• Bernard on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:44 pm

Need a slick short ratio manual transmission for this!

• high clearance min 200 please

• powerbank on Nov 27, 2017 at 8:21 pm

I mean upgrade to 7 Speed Automatic. Not 4 Speed Automatic

• Crappy Outalingam on Nov 27, 2017 at 11:05 pm

Sorry lah – way too boxy and squarish for today’s design cues (rear door looks OFF-proportion (too small an opening aperture) and obviously, third row please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Recko on Nov 27, 2017 at 11:43 pm

In terms of design, I like the Daihatsu FX concept better: https://paultan.org/2015/08/20/giias-2015-daihatsu-fx-concept-possible-hr-v-rival/

• Anonymous on Nov 28, 2017 at 9:53 am

Daihatsu FX n DN Trec is the same… albeit the former came out in 2015 car show as a concept… the latter came this year 2017 and has more softer edges. Both are concepts. We’ll see what comes out soon.

• All these rendering are just to make ugly cars look good especially Proton. You always see comments like “if proton can come out design like this, it will sell like hotcake”.

On the other hand, P2 cars are designed with what people want.

• Daisy on Nov 29, 2017 at 12:52 pm

Fan of Kembara. BUT GEARBOX PROBLEM, NO PICKUP. HIGH CONSUMPTION OF PETROL. Good and safe to drive in KL because can see better on the road and frequent flooding of roads.

• Leonardo on Nov 30, 2017 at 10:20 am

I agree. If Perodua wants to introduce a successor to Kembara and the failed Nautica, they better look seriously into the gearbox problems and the high cost of spare parts which comes directly form Daihatsu Japan. The short shaft I replaced on my Nautica cost me RM2300.00 with workmanship. I have since sold it.
      It is nowhere near the legandry Suzuki Jimny and should not pretend to be one.

• MOHD AZLAN BIN KHALIL on Oct 30, 2019 at 7:06 pm

My Kembara CT model is 13 year + and is still going strong. No problems with gearbox although I have used it in fairly extreme offroad conditions, though not on a regular basis. Ensure the gear oil is of correct grade and changed according to recommended intervals.

• MOHD AZLAN BIN KHALIL on Oct 30, 2019 at 7:07 pm

My Kembara CT model is 13 year + and is still going strong. No problems with gearbox although I have used it in fairly extreme offroad conditions, though not on a regular basis. Ensure the gear oil is of correct grade and changed according to recommended intervals.