Honda Malaysia airbag inflator replacement status – 76% completion rate, 100% stock availability

In the latest update regarding Honda Malaysia’s airbag inflator replacement campaign, the company has revealed that the current completion rate (as of January 31, 2018) stands at 76% – an overall figure that takes into account the replacement for both driver and passenger airbag inflators.

As of January 25, 2018, the company has completed more than 221,000 units of Takata driver front airbag inflator, which translates to 84% completion ratio. The total number of Takata driver and passenger front airbag inflator replacements completed is at more than 427,000 units or 76% completion ratio.

This comes hot on the heels of the company’s latest precautionary recall involving 24,962 vehicles that may be fitted with the faulty front passenger airbag inflators manufactured by Takata. This issue affects the 2012 model year Accord, Jazz, Jazz Hybrid, City, Freed and Insight. So far, there have been no crashes or injuries that have involved this particular airbag inflator unit, said the company.

Honda Malaysia urges owners of vehicles affected by the recall to get their vehicles checked and parts replaced at any authorised Honda dealer or Mobile Hub as soon as possible upon receipt of the notification letters. The company stresses that all of its current selling models are not affected by the recall.

You can check your Honda’s update status by calling 1-800-88-2020 or by visiting any authorised Honda dealer. You can also use the company’s online VIN checker to see if your vehicle is affected.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• To prevent more airbag fatalities, HM must proactively request help from JPJ to send out notification letters to used Honda car buyers.

• What to do on Feb 06, 2018 at 7:46 pm

Do you know that JPJ charge RM10 for every customer address requested? Multiply that with number of affected vehicles. And there is no guarantee that the addresses given are valid or updated. HM can only continue to send letters repeatedly to same addresses and hope that intended customers would receive them.

• Sri Jayaraman on Feb 06, 2018 at 8:27 pm

JPJ should not charge. After all, this saves lives. It is irresponsible for a gomen department to charge RM10 per address

It is like someone got heart attack, he is rushed to the Emergency department of a Government hospital but they refuse to layan the patient unless the patient pays RM10

Hello JPJ, this saves lives. You should be working hand in hand with Honda and give Honda FREE help and addresses.

Why wait for more airbag deaths?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 28
        • Nope. Thats a breach of PDPA. JPJ just cant gip car owners personal details to a 3rd party without the written/signed consent of the owners. Neither r owners obliged to keep JPJ updated of their mailing address. So no way its gov fault at all.

Honda r solely responsible for not trying hard enuff to locate these owners, such as working with car insurance companies which almost all the time has latest mailing addresses. The reason why they dun do it, is cuz jepunis lords dun care about ASEAN pipu lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 29
      • tiadaid (Member) on Feb 07, 2018 at 7:52 am

So what if JPJ charges? Honda should be responsible & shoulder the costs to ensure that all Takata airbags are replaced. They can easily cross check their database of VINs which have already undergone the procedure, those that have yet to undergo but have made appointments to do so, and those that have not responded at all. Just target those that have not responded at all, and costs can be lowered.

I used to own a 2004 City, but I’ve sold it off 6 years ago to a used car dealer. Honda keeps sending me messages to send my car in for repairs – but I don’t know who bought my car after that, so how?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
        • Yeah, Honda is just not putting sufficient resources to reach out to owners. Having campaign in their SCs, at hypermarket parking lots, informing initial owners r just using their own manpower & resources that din cost much money.

They shudnt kiamsiap and instead spend the money for 1 week: whole page advert on all newspapers, radio messages on all channels, TV advert, and working with car insurance companies since they usually have latest mailing addresses (all they need to do is handout 100,000 flyers to the insurance companies to mail to the current owners).

It takes more money but they dun wanna spend it. Why?

• YB Albert on Feb 06, 2018 at 7:28 pm

When I bought my pre owned Accord from the top Honda dealer in Old Klang Road(selling brand new and preowned cars),the Sales Executive arranged the replacement of the 2 airbags before I took delivery of the preowned Honda.
    That is the level of service from malaysia’s top Honda dealer.
    For those who bought pre owned units,if you are not sure whether the Takata airbags have been replaced,just drive to any Honda workshop.Within 3 minutes,the counter exec can tell you exact details.
    Just take the trouble to find out,for those who are 2nd or 3rd owners of Honda cars.It is a matter of life and death.

• hello Honda Malaysia CEO, please..please…onegaishimasu….improve your plant QC!!!