Perodua’s pre-launch campaign for its upcoming new SUV is in full swing now. The carmaker brought its new model to the recent KL International Motor Show (albeit hidden in a box), and proceeded to release teasers on social media.
So far, we’ve seen three parts of online teaser images highlighting space, safety and efficiency, respectively. Each of those also gave us a view of the seven-seater SUV – side profile, front view and rear end. Missed it or need a recap? This latest video released by P2 combines the three teasers into one.
The first teaser focused on space, and the highlighted points were the car’s seven-seat capacity and “flexible seating arrangements”. The second part talked about safety, and had the spotlight on the available six airbags and the Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 2.0, which is an upgraded version of the Myvi’s ASA.
Besides the addition of pedestrian detection capabilities, ASA 2.0 should also have a wider speed range – up to 80 km/h (from 30 km/h), pedestrian detection/braking up to 50 km/h – as seen on the Toyota Rush’s Pre-Collision System.
The third teaser saw Perodua highlight the SUV’s Dual VVT-i Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) engine, its best-in-class 15.6 km/l fuel economy and Eco Idle. The latter is the auto start-stop function available in the Bezza and Myvi. The Dual VVT-i engine in question should be the Myvi’s 2NR unit, which also powers the Toyota Rush. Toyota claims an identical 15.6 km/l figure for the D38L’s sister car.
In all the teasers, Perodua says that the D38L is “petrol subsidy friendly” with a 1.5L engine. This will be true if the proposed 1.5 litre engine cap for targeted fuel subsidies, as mentioned in Budget 2019, is confirmed by the government.
Perhaps more exciting than the details were the glimpses of the car itself. Not much to observe with the side profile, other than the confirmation that the body is similar to the Rush.
The front is where the action is, where the differentiation from the Rush is. The bonnet with two prominent humps (please don’t call them power domes) are similar, as are the general shape of the LED headlamps and grille. While it’s clear that P2’s NSU and the Rush are related, there are details that set both apart.
The Perodua grille has one extra slat (five vs four, including top border) and the third bar acts as the signature “wings” to the Perodua badge. Neatly, the chrome bar (it’s lighter than the other slats) bridges the LED daytime running lights with the same thickness. Now that we’re there, upon closer inspection, the DRLs aren’t the same as Toyota’s – here, it’s a double dash versus the single stroke of the Rush, which points upwards into the body.
We see hints that the lower bumper is a unique Perodua item, too. There are faint “whiskers” on the space between the headlamps and lower intakes; this is not present on the Rush, which also comes with chunky lower body add-ons in Malaysia. The P2 SUV’s face is also different from that of the Indonesian market Daihatsu Terios, which is closer to the Rush in appearance. The Terios’ grille is very heavy on chrome and has the same slat count as the Rush (four).
The rear end, with its wrap-around tail lamp clusters and closely spaced double LED strips, is similar to the Rush. We can’t see the lower bumper clearly, but it appears that the Perodua won’t feature the Malaysian Rush’s chunky lower body add-ons, branded “R-Blade Design” by UMW Toyota to differentiate it from the cheaper car.
Yup, there should be no bigger differentiator between the two than price, since both Toyota and Perodua SUVs share technical bits and bodies, and they don’t look worlds apart despite P2’s unique face. It’s safe to assume that “Perodua’s Rush” will be priced a fair bit lower than Toyota’s, which is pegged at RM93k to RM98k (est). The Honda BR-V is a similar type of car, priced from RM81k to RM88k.
What do you think of a RM70+k price tag for the top spec Perodua D38L with LED headlamps and ASA 2.0?
GALLERY: Perodua SUV teaser at KLIMS 2018
GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Rush 1.5S
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
Now who’s going to buy Toyota Rush?
Tease here, tease everywhere, hoping to create excitement like X70 but failed miserably. We all know what it looks like, so just stop teasing and launch it immediately!
Buy sienta, or buy alza
Wrong. It should be
“buy Sienta or buy Exora”
Now it is correct
Now because of all the hype, X70 got lots of orders.
Wait until 1 year, when hype dies out. Proton X70 to sell even 100 units per month also will be impossible.
Wait till all the complaints come in
Salah again. It should be
“Buy D38L SUV or buy Alza”
Now it is correct
Proton breakdown rate is much higher than Toyota/P2
Why hang around SC all the time?
Sienta you can drive and be proud of. Exora you got to park far far away from the kenduri house and walk.
Just like all P2 models, this model will wipe out X70.
Like Myvi Wipe out Iriz.
Bezza wipe out Saga
After Geely bought Volvo, Malaysians have seen Volvo parts prices go up 3X
After Geely bought London Cab, UK cab drivers complain prices of parts shot up like crazy. Nearly 3X gone up
After Geely bought Proton, Malaysians can expect Proton parts prices go up 3X also.
Don’t bilip me? Go ask any Volvo owner who owns Volvo the past 15 years.
China NEVER gives anything FREE
Proton is a failure. All their cars are a failure. Lucky China come and save Proton
Tease a lot but Iriz car failed. Iriz sales totalled 2000 units this whole year vs Myvi 100,000 units
Proton always breakdown
China car always breakdown
Toyota and Perodua rarely breakdown
Too many Proton cybertroopers here condemning this car. But akhirnya, sales always many times more than P1
X70 sure to fail. Look at the price. People who can afford Rm110k will just add a bit more and buy a Jap.
Now CRV 2.0, after disocunts only RM129k. Just 6 k more than X70
X70 sure to fail. As of today already got few thousand people cancel their bookings for X70
Now got clean government already got no more income. Now this video pulak….no more commission from Proton for me to bad mouth Perodua
Yes, their 4th failure after Rusa, Kembara, and Alza.
My buddy at Proton told me, everybody there go online to busuk nama P2. Sad they have to resort to dirty tactics
From time immemorial everybody knows Proton cars have bad RV.
And everybody knows China cars got no RV. Look at Haval? Can buy 1 year old Haval for RM20k.
So this X70 will be the the king of RV Depreciation
This is a fact. Not a myth. Proton cars got no RV
Nothing special la. The daihatsu terios u see in Indon is p2 kembara in Msia, same like p2 myvi in Msia when go Indon become daihatsu sirion. U wanna know how p2 kembara look like, just go google daihatsu terios Indon, tats wat p2 suv exactly look like. Easy.
I will wait for P2 SUV because I know P2 cares for the rakyat and the SC never tipooo the rakyat like how P1 SC tipooo the rakyat.
Every forum Proton owners complain so much
Better buy Perodua. Cash rich company. Want to claim warranty is easy.
Proton got no money. When you claim warranty, they make lots of noise because they got no money to give you the replacement parts free.
Always buy from a rich company
This is why Malaysians buy P2. You are getting a Toyota cheaply in disguise
I own a Waja and a Myvi. My Myvi maintenance is far far cheaper than my Proton
All Protons have no RV. Buy today Rm100k, next year become RM60k
Rush ke? P2 SUV ke? Left pocket – Right pocket.
Toyota wins in the end. Very astute business model.
See who owns Toyota in Malaysia. It is UMW. UMW needs the money to feed their lazy GLC staff. Toyota cars are expensive because need to give UMW staff big fat bonuses.
According to basher logic all the money goes to their countries
This is why Proton also mahal cause DRB want to untung a lot to pay lazy DRB staff
hahahahaha , don’t forget also who’s going to buy Proton X70
Nobody will buy a China car in Malaysia. Even Chinese people say it is a lousy car.
Boyue sales are so bad in Saudi Arabia. So, sales here will be bad also after few months
China car RV is terrible. Cherry and Haval both got teruk teruk RV the past 10 yrs
Perodua sales figures already proof for you. P2 sell 230k cars VS Proton 56k cars
Nobody wants to buy Proton low quality cars anymore. And we all know China cars are even worse than Proton quality
If different by 10k. People who want face still choose T. If different by 20k. Half of the people will consider P2 SUV. If different by 30k. All will choose P2 SUV. That’s how people judge in Malaysia. Economy so bad eh, spend wisely bro. All depend at P2 now. P2, pls read Paul Tan comment first before release yeah. Here you can learn many many good and bad review. Good luck.
P2 is clever, they know how to price their cars. P1 is greedy cause they think their cars are like Rolls Royce quality. Jaguh kampung mentality
Nobody will buy Proton becaus eProton cheated all Malaysians the past 20 years. We can never forget
P2 SUV will be about RM20k cheaper. No brainer which I should buy
A lot of comments are very bad of this Perodua SUV, so don’t buy this crap.
I rather buy this Perodua. Don’t forget, Toyota engine is sold in 200 over countries.
Geely is 90% sold only in China. All first world countries have rejected Geely cars, especially the Boyue.
So, Malaysia is X70 guinea pig market outside China.
In another words, Perodua just tumpang Toyota glamour. What’s there to be proud of?
What’s to be proud of rebaged proton ?
Yeah museum level engine
nobody trust China car. Nobody trust China quality also
Nobody, like the last gen rush/kembara/whatever
Thank you perodua for bringing us a 3rd world car. Ladder frame rear wheel drive with leaf spring suspension. The best formula for rear passenger to get car sick and vomit. And a bonus feature, 120km/h at 3500 rpm in 2019 !!!!
Proton X50 will destroy this thing even though it’s a more expensive HRV competitor with 5 seats.
X50 is 1.5T summore, better FC at 16.1 km/l summore.
X50 target consumers are young, upwardly mobile, unmarried singles without much (financial) commitments.
P2 SUV target consumers are married couple, with children with other (eg mortgage, a second car, saving for children) financial commitments & that 3rd row are for times when grandparents comes along.
Gen Y and Millineals don’t want Proton at all.
Proton may have a good product, but don’t forget, Proton after sales remain the worst. nothing has really changed from 1 year ago. You still have the same lazy and lembap SC that is going to say to the customer….”Bang, biasalah in Proton, what do you expect?”
90% of all Proton buyers never go back to buy a Proton again
either youve never been to a P1 SC lately (coz u prolly dont own one) or youre talking out of your ass. pick one.
You must get this from lalaland
All forum and online chat always got people hantam Proton kaw kaw. All frus with Proton lazy attitude and don’t care attitude
Based on JD Power 2018 P2 is the worst follow by VW.
Innova also same technology suspension system.. still very comfortable, did you tried it?
Innova selling so well despite being more expensive than Exora. People mati mati also will pay more for the Innova than Exora.
Readers here don’t buy Proton because they know Proton waste money paying so many trolls here to talk bad about Perodua.
No money also but waste money to do all this
Innova not comfortable after 90 km/h
Do you know how much weight difference between Innova and Avanza/Rush? The extra heft makes the Innova more composed, but still no where as comfortable as a monocoque chassis.
Macamlah your X70 is first world. Apart from third world China, where else selling it?
Saudi Arabia. Where even supercars r as common as P1 here. And they r selling well
This is fake news. In Saudi it has failed. Why should Saudi buy China car when Lexus is so cheap brother?
Proton fanboys always syiok sendiri. Like to talk big but end of the day, Proton sales will be 50,000 and Perodua sales will be 250,000
I think rakyat has spoken. When your sales are 5X more, something must be good about your car.
Sales figures speak the world!
Pipu buy P2 coz it is cheaper not because it is good
China is third world? Ahahaha that’s the biggest joke I have ever heard! Dude, if you never been to the country, don’t make a fool out of yourself by pulling something out of your arse. Go to cities like Shanghai, you will know how wrong you are!
Who are you?! Please use different username. You are using a buddhist boddhisattva casually without respect.
50k ro 80k?
Perodua is always clever, they price their products what Malaysians can afford.
X70 comes from arrogant China company who thinks Malaysians can afford RM100k
Not exciting at all
Before the hating starts, lets just take a moment and reflect on our automotive sector for the past few years, decades even. Suffice to say that compared to many years before, the wealth of options that we have now have never been so good.
Let the perodua suv exists. It looks good, suitable for the bracket its targeting at, pricing will always be the point for the critics. Don’t like it? Options are there! There’s kona, santa fe, x70, hr-v, cx3, and many other affordable continentals and other marque suvs that i havent mentioned. Do not be within the collective mind that one is better than other, at the end its always YOU. YOU’re the one driving it, YOU’re paying it, decide by your wallet. Hell, im settling down on an XV myself for the next car just because it suits my preferences well.
Now, i dont expect this 2 cents to be heed by many, so just a few readers to be able to read it, get a gist of my message and move on is fine. But, what i expect of you lot is to rectify your road mentality: just because the perodua suv have 6 airbags standard, dont be an ass and hog the rightmost lane as if its your right! Same with x70, 180+ horsepower doesnt mean its your ticket to tailgate that macan which just zoomed past through you, and being a shiny affordable global car, you think you can give that porsche a run for its money. JUST DONT. Its a car. an affordable, safety-loaded car, to be used to transport you and your loved ones from one point to another. drive safely. Use sepang circuit if you must burn your rubbers.
That’s my opinion on the matter. More reveals are more welcome! We can never have too many choices.
Even myvi with puny hp tailgates porsche, it is dangerous
Hahahaha. That’s like a chihuahua yapping at the heels of a greyhound.
But still majority people will get either Proton X70 or Toyota Rush over Perodua SUV D38L
This is why Perodua Myvi outsells not only Iriz but also Preve, Exora and Perdana.
People trust P2. They know P1 lie a lot. Even in ANCAP also they were caught cheating
Your opinion is right. But the thing is that, many people will go for either Proton X70 or Toyota Rush rather than buying copycat Perodua Terios. The reason is because majority people knows that Perodua SUV D38L is actually copying from originally Toyota Rush. Perodua Designers are not making great efforts ever since happens from the past 20 years ago until now. Therefore, we also believe that many thousands have been cancelled booking for Perodua Terios and go for either Toyota Rush or Proton X70. Moreover, majority people also knows that once launching Perodua Terios in Malaysia, Perodua Terios will not fresh at all since launching Toyota Rush for several months ago.
Your opinion is salah total. The thing is that, many people will go for either Perodua Terios or Toyota Rush rather than buying copycat Proton X70. The reason is because majority people knows that Proton X70 is actually copying from originally Geely Boyue. Proton Designers are not making great efforts ever since happens from the past 20 years ago until now. Therefore, we also believe that many thousands have been cancelled booking for Proton X70 and go for either Toyota Rush or Perodua Terios. Moreover, majority people also knows that once launching Perodua Terios in Malaysia, Proton X70 will not fresh at all since launching for several months ago.
I feel you bro. But no need to show your XV. We are here to comment not to show off. I know u could afford but many many people are not as loaded as u. Pls bashed me bro if im insulting u. Thank you for your reply. Have a nice day ahead.
Good choice on the XV. By the way, Subaru Forester is RM123k now. That is the same price of the X70
Can you imagine? Highly reputable Subaru Forester is same price as a caplang China X70
Ha ha ha
Subaru RV drop like dead flies. Who wants to buy Subaru now?
Local cars have a hard time when young people don’t want to buy them. Now China car even worse!!!
https://paultan.org/2017/03/21/more-than-70-of-local-university-grads-choose-to-buy-foreign-vehicles-rather-than-the-national-car-proton/
Underpower but its alright. the spotlight on the 6 airbags and upgraded version ASA 2.0 ,
I better buy a Perodua, at least the car won’t bakar while it is going up Genting like the Exora
Cool story. No wonder you’re writing it up at Genting.
i confirmed to u, this car cannot go up Genting
serabut dgn teaser bagai…launching je lahh terus…
Both SUVs target different markets. Would you compare a Mini Cooper to a Myvi?
Market will compare
7 seater VS 5 seater
100k vs 80k
Proton badge VS Perodua Badge
U mean both are targeting the same market??
Good comment. But some people convert Kelisa into Mini Austin which is aka Daihatsu Gino. And some even convert Kancil as well into Mini Austin. Kelisa/Kancil vs Mini Austin. Malaysia+Jepunis boleh.
X70 low spec rm99k, i wud take hrv, myb rush, myb sienta…why??? Becos much well known brand toyota, honda at same price as unknown x70 and not even have long term review abt this car, even i launched 2016 in china but still cant find review, so i play safe i dont buy x70. Yah i will not care abt segment anymore.
High spec x70 rm123k, well i wud consider asx, hrv high spec, top up abit get lower spec cx5, crv, tucson, tiguan, all well known brand and alot of good review. Sori yah.
Perdana is Rm113k yet it was an utter failure. After discounts also, they were giving it for RM95k. Yet it failed.
If Honda engine and Honda Accord quality also can fail, whatmore X70?
Honda Accord is No 1 seller all over the world. X70 cannot sell in most countries even
You’re spot on about Accordana.
But, might be wrong about X70. From the way it’s going, definitely doing better than Accordana, dare I say, will easily surpass Accordana sales. Accordana sales was highly supported by previous gomen. But not many Joe public was interested.
X70 meanwhile had Joe public rushing to the showroom. If rumours of 15,000 booking to date is true, then Geely has managed to grab Joe public attention. Those who can’t qualify for loan will have their booking taken over, perhaps ending with a rather realistic order fulfillment of 11,000 (out of 15,000 booking).
This new untapped SUV segment may JUST save Proton ass.
Just show how the damn thing looks like and the price..enough with this stupid teaser stunt
Yeah. P2 SUV is showing teaser again but ever since for past 20 years until now, Perodua still making rebadging models for other brand models. Don’t forget, this Perodua SUV D38L is originally manufactured from Toyota
Perodua actually have their own design, look at New Myvi and Bezza. Its local design and no rebadge. But don’t look into the engine and transmission. It’s P2 big bro stuff.
Perodua tumpang glamour Toyota saja
Ya ya. Originally from Toyota. Talk cock la you cb. What years is it you still listen to so call news from kopitiam ah? Go search why the develop code name is D38L. Toyota don’t use develop code starting with alphabet D. Toyota aAvanza code name is 631w. That’s all I’m gonna say. And one thing, this car from product marketing – style design – engineer design – production engineer are not involving any Toyota members. Keep your fake fact in your mouth.
As expected, many thousands people have cancelled booking for Perodua Terios. There are many reasons why Perodua Terios because by the time launch next year in 2019, Perodua Terios will stale. Moreover Perodua Terios is actually design by Toyota Engineers. This Perodua Terios is originally from Toyota Rush because Perodua always rebadge other models since from the past many years until now. Therefore, Perodua Designers are absolutely very lazy to design as Perodua Designers are always rebadging. In addition to that, don’t forget Perodua is also not design their engines as get it from other engine models
Yeah bro. P2 though we din’t know. Are Malaysian that stupid? Nope, we manage to change new G. But New G not doing so well as predicted. Still have to wait another 5 years to decide again. So P2, read Paul Tan comment and you will know Malaysian are very2 smart especially when it comes with Motoring issue. Cause our hard earn money burn due to G protection into local car.
AEB still at max working speed 30kmph? Please take it out and make the car cheaper. It’s totally useless and a poor competition to X70’s ADAS system. Perodua can never compete with features or at higher prices with Proton, just stick to being the lowya cheap car brand.
You posed the question of price – I hope that Perodua will use the Kembara as a reference point. Bear in mind that income levels of average Malaysian car buyers have not increased much over the years. If it is going to be RM 70+ K, I think sales will be OK but not spectacular. If it is below RM 70K, sales should be similar to that of the Bezza. If it is over RM 80K, sales may tank. Remember the Nautica?
P2. No need to hide. Everyone know its based on Rush. Even by a single glance alrdy knew its T SUV
T for tin milo ,lol
No lah. T for Titanium. Toyota tahan lasak bah. Durable brand.
Already got so many X70 cancellations because people were expecting X70 to be RM80k. when price came to be over RM100k, all got shocked and thousands have cancelled orders
Toyota pun rosak also. P1 more reliable nowadays
No lah. Perodua Sudah pun banyak Rosak. P1, Toyota and Honda more reliable nowadays
this will sell well. if the pricing is right it will be the definite replacement for many aging alza avanza exora and discontinued ertiga. this will be a success
Perodua SUV D38L will not sell well because majority customers will go for either Proton X70 or Toyota Rush than Perodua SUV D38L because majority
This car will not replace Alza. Alza under MPV category while this car is SUV category.
I rather stay humble when comment in Paul Tan, later my posting become unavailable due to low rating. Anyway, P2 must learn from past mistake especially Naughty Car, oops its Nautica actually. High price and causing discontinue.
Proton Rm100k. This car gonna be RM80k. For sure people going to buy this car. Malaysians are very price sensitive. Proton is very bodoh selling RM100k car. Who can afford RM100k?
PERODUA SUV
“Underpower but its alright. the spotlight on the 6 airbags
and upgraded version ASA 2.0”
Whilst
X70
“Ugly, expensive, tong san quality, high FC, questionable reliability and quality control, absolute terrible RV. Buy superior Japanese and Korean better. I can foresee the sales for Proton for 2019. Confirm dropped to the 5th place. This X70 will become just like the Perdana. 33 years later they launched something of a rebadged and its not even passable. And the rebadge is a desperate attempt to save Proton from closing down. What a disgrace to all Malaysians.”
Examples of comments from citizens whom so called can “rise up or bring down” the government, those who are so called “modern”, “first world” and demand their voices to be heard. I hereby certify you to be as one of the typical citizen! welcome aboard!
Ouch!! Why so bitter, sir?
Above is the example of criteria i am looking to find my kind, the typical malaysian. I am merely just here to comment on P2 and P1 news, for I am a P2 user and every flaws of P2 i can accept, and the flaws of P1 i will bash! =)
Hahaha! Bro, basher limited brain cant get ur high level sarcasm.
Hahaha! Bro, Kalau tak suka, boleh pindah keluar. Best not to come back if you can’t get leave. high level carrot
Because it’s the truth? Look at all those Jap wannabe fanbois that keep whacking Proton and X70.
Not Toyota Salesmen, Not Honda Salesmen or Not other Japanese Fanbois. The real truth is that all P2 salesmen are always pretending to be Toyota Salesmen. Moreover, Perodua Salesmen are the first one who always bash about Proton ever since happens in 2015 in paultan.org website. Some more, Perodua Salesmen always bullock every time and talk all the bad mouth about Proton, Honda, Toyota and others
agree. this syiok sendiri effort by P1 shows that their mindset have not changed. it seems there is lack of humility among them. sorry to say but p2 will still be the no 1 for many years to come. it seems that p2 have a clear direction on which models that will make it in Msian market. the cost of ownership is low which makes it good for 2nd hand market. cannot be said for p1. hello proton here hello proton there would not be a criteria for better 2nd value. people will mainly concern on monthly cost and reliability.
X70 after one year and after all the hype is over will be at most 100 cars per month
Nothing bitter here. At the end of the day, Proton sales will be 50,000 and Perodua sales will be 250,000
I think rakyat has spoken. When your sales are 5X more, something must be good about your car.
Sales figures speak the world! No need to reseach to know which is a better product
Perodua never ask a single sen of bailout. I prefer to help a company like this who knows how to stand on their own 2 feet and not beg for tongkat allt he time
You Get What You Pay For:-
iF pERODUA D38L highEST pRIcE RM80k
1Nm COst RM588.24
X70 pRIcED aT RM124k
1Nm ONLY cOSt RM435.09
pErODUA D38L sEllING pRICE too HIGH, not CHEaP!
You Get What You Pay For:-
Perodua D38L GOT 3 SAFETY ASSIST features;
80k/3=EACH COST U RM26k
Proton X70 GOT 7 SAFETY ASSIST features;
124k/7=EACH COST U RM17k
pERODUA D38L sellING pRICE TOO expeNsIVE NOT chEAp!
Don’t buy the car until they replace Auto ON Eco Idle with Auto OFF. Believe me you don’t want to touch one extra button everytime you start the car. It gets annoying.
I guess the price slightly at RM76k-RM86k range. Since the Rush also a CKDed version, same Rawang plant, the gap between the model in RM10K-RM15k lesser bracket.
Proton is doomed for failure at their crazy expensive pricing!
more than 80k considered expensive and no worth it.
Nice
No power ugliest B-seg SUV ever
What nice? Bad
Automotive reporter will challenge all SUV within 80k to 120k soon. Wonder how the reporter will judge if P2 SUV and T. Rush put together. How are they going to write inside their article. Paul Tan, ever wonder about it?
Axia top seller A segment hatcback
Bezza top seller A Segment sedan
Myvi top seller B segment hatchback
Alza top seller B segment MPV
“Aruz” TOP SELLER B SEGMENT SUV 7 seater.
Go go go Perodua Daihatsu
nama MPV tu ARUZ ke?
I don’t get the teasing with Perodua. Whoever planned this from Perodua is totally out of depth. It is like a well known porn star teasing for her upcoming book, video etc … when everybody interested in it already knows inside out, full frontal.
New Toyota Rush fuel consumption almost same as C seg SUV
70k and bye bye x70