Proton to set up first South Asian factory in Pakistan

Proton will be setting up a factory in Pakistan that will be its first facility in South Asia. The plant will be a joint effort between the Malaysian carmaker and its local partner Alhaj Automotive. This was revealed by high commissioner of Malaysia to Pakistan Ikram Mohammad Ibrahim, reported by Bernama.

The envoy said that the agreement between Proton and Alhaj was signed last year, and Proton sees big potential in the venture.

“In terms of the potential of the Pakistan auto market, Proton feels it is big. That’s why Proton has agreed to work with Alhaj to build an assembly plant near Karachi in the Sindh province. This is significant because it will be Proton’s first plant in South Asia and the population of this country alone is 210 million,” Ikram told Malaysian media at the High Commission of Malaysia office in Islamabad.

The media is in Pakistan with prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, who is making a three-day official visit to the country starting today. The PM and his Pakistan counterpart Imran Khan are expected to officiate a symbolic groundbreaking ceremony of the Proton factory tomorrow.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tahniah P1! Bringing gud, safe, affordable cars to the pipu.
    P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTruck, Lotus, L&D, Polestar > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Kerata on Mar 21, 2019 at 12:29 pm

P1! Bringing gud, safe, affordable cars to the pipu. Pelik tapi local pipu mati2 mau UP kerata kimchi sushi, tiap2 ari makan maggi pon takpe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Mohd Khairullah bin Kassim on Mar 21, 2019 at 2:11 pm

Because most Malaysians got no confidence in Proton actually.

Sales of X70 doing well because we have confidence in China cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
        • Lets See on Mar 21, 2019 at 3:08 pm

If they had confidence in China cars only, Haval & Eastar sales would have outsold Myvi by a mile. The only reason why X70 sales is so good, is because of the well-thought out partnership between Geely and Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
          • Haziq on Mar 21, 2019 at 5:07 pm

Proton? We local grads dont agree with you

• Calvin on Mar 22, 2019 at 5:52 pm

Local grads? Sorry but I think Proton would prefer local grads to refrain from buying an X70. If you can’t even afford to maintain a Bezza without going muflis, don’t hope to use an X70 for long. Work harder so you can afford a Proton or just be lazy worker and buy a perodua.

• Imran on Mar 21, 2019 at 2:41 pm

People beli kereta kimchi and say, “Proton patutnya jadi macam ni la..”

• Khairul Izam on Mar 22, 2019 at 9:13 am

Macam selalu break down, masuk workshop, dan alat ganti mahal2 dn kena tunggu lama baru smpi? Nape orng mau Proton jadi camtu ye?

• Amran on Mar 22, 2019 at 10:22 am

Good one bro! Lolz!

• Hafiz Hisham on Mar 22, 2019 at 4:31 pm

When the kimchi breaks down and stay for months in workshop, then people say “Patutnye beli Proton, tak kan jadi macam ni la..”

• Roti john on Mar 21, 2019 at 12:30 pm

5 months operating then it will for sure Game Over and close… Habisla Proton!!
      All, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTruck, Lotus, L&D, Polestar > P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
    • Raja Celup on Mar 21, 2019 at 12:49 pm

So it means Proton now jaguh global can compete openly, right?

How about MITI reduce or abolish local car excise duty tax?

Jaguh global tak payah takut tax lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Proton will have no problem with it, but what about my poor P2? We cannot survive in open market. Some more P3 is coming as well. We will die standing. Please, we need continuing protection.

• Mohd Khairullah bin Kassim on Mar 21, 2019 at 2:08 pm

What happened to Proton’s venture in Bangladesh? Hopefully Pakistan does not end up like Bangladesh

• Lets See on Mar 21, 2019 at 3:09 pm

That was dependent on the local agent. If they local agent failed, it’s certainly not Proton’s fault.

• Imran on Mar 21, 2019 at 12:50 pm

Pakistanis love Japanese cars. JDM imported cars are common there

• Sushi Sucks on Mar 21, 2019 at 11:21 pm

Wrong!!

Average Pakistani loves japanese cars because it is cheaper affordable and easier to buy compare to Premium continentals

Actually the Rich and Professional Pakistanis LOVE AND PREFER Continental cars more than any Japanese cars.

• Bernard on Mar 22, 2019 at 8:06 am

This situation going to change very soon, as soon as Proton start operating to be exact.

• Mohd Khairullah bin Kassim on Mar 21, 2019 at 2:06 pm

Lucky China came and helped save our car industry. We must thank Li Chunrong for his dedication

• john is otak batu on Mar 21, 2019 at 5:39 pm

P1 is heading the right track because of Li’s action. Can see benefit of this P1 & technologies for Malaysian. Sorry P3, U r not needed at all.

• Yup sounds exactly like another mistake waiting to happen.

• Wow! Demand is so great that Malaysia plant cannot produce and export?? Production is at the max?? We are getting more investment from Pakistan as a result???

Great business management. Before we make and accumulate profit, spend first for capital expansion. We can always ask government to bail us or China investors are queuing up to invest in us so no problem. Spend spend spend to inject the economy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • That sounds like what Obama did. Well it did see him thru his presidency just for it to crash and let Trump pick up the pieces.

• Phaser on Mar 21, 2019 at 1:14 pm

Did you even read the story? It’s a joint effort between Proton and Alhaj. So it’s not PROTON’s investment. It’s their distributor. And why not build in Malaysia and send to Pakistan? Same reason why the market for CKD cars is more than 10 times the size for CBU cars here.

Next time use the internet to do just a bit of research before you want to bash someone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Ahmadjr on Mar 21, 2019 at 1:21 pm

Kia hyundai also sell around 70k in korea but globally they sell more than honda

• azrai on Mar 21, 2019 at 10:46 am

Persona, Gen-2, Saga will be made here.

• Sweet Black on Mar 21, 2019 at 10:47 am

Good job our beloved Tun! Ohsem mantap! Pakistan also driving on the left hand side, same like us here. Best wishes to Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • They are launching the 2018 Saga(Premium) ,2018 Exora (Excutive Plus) and the 2019 Iriz and Persona …….

• panjang on Mar 21, 2019 at 11:23 am

Nah….Proton is just the ‘glamour’ deal.
    I am more interested in the ‘actual’ deal which could involve defence equipment maybe?

• Aero (Member) on Mar 21, 2019 at 11:28 am

Excellent news ! This is a bold move for both Proton and their new Pakistan JV partner. Pakistan has a lot of growth potential. Very few foreign car companies assemble cars in Pakistan and car buyers there don’t have much choice, especially in the ‘people’s car’ market. They are forced to buy ancient Suzuki models ‘brand new’.

Proton has a real chance in Pakistan, and as far as I know, the various China car companies have not yet ‘invaded’ Pakistan. However, it will only be a matter of time until they do. Proton will need to establish themselves in Pakistan and hang on to it. Long-term pragmatic approach is better than a short-term ambitious one. All the best.

• tokmoh. on Mar 21, 2019 at 4:53 pm

I guarantee you, it will succeed, and Proton must be quick!

Pakistanis admire Tun M, including PM Imran Khan. With this sentiment alone, Proton has a far more favourable condition to succeed.

Backed by Geely’s expertise, Proton’s future is very bright in Pakistan. GLORY TO GEELY EMPIRE!!!

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 21, 2019 at 12:09 pm

Proton can kiss goodbye to any hopes of selling in India now.

India has a bigger population & middle class who are potential buyers.

But in this case, you gotta factor in geopolitics & China strong relationship with Pakistan as 2 very strong influence.

• Fahad on Mar 25, 2019 at 6:56 am

Indian has very strong relationship with Japan and its car makers. and a very strong influence and what about your say the rest of the car makers.Proton company could more hesitate to signed in India rather than Pakistan.So Pakistan is a Unique Option and have a capability to attract the investor and build trust between the investors and consumer.You do not have need to market the abductoried economy which is cardboard building economy.

• Come one la on Mar 21, 2019 at 12:50 pm

Stupidity of proton is starting to show again. Why build in an unstable country like Pakistan? What can you gain there. If u build in India u have ready access and tax break to sell to the world’s largest right hand market. If u build in Vietnam u have cheaper labour. Heck by right u should see how to utilize geely s vastt plants on China and just ship in the ckds to where ever u need with jv with a local assembler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • Fahad on Mar 25, 2019 at 7:00 am

Indian has very strong relationship with Japan and its car makers. and a very strong influence and what about your say the rest of the car makers.Proton company could more hesitate to signed in India rather than Pakistan.So Pakistan is a Unique Option and have a capability to attract the invester and build trust between the investers and consumer.You do not have need to marketise the abductoried economy which is cardboard building economy.

• Saladin on Mar 21, 2019 at 1:42 pm

What a stupid plan. P1 should have flood pakistan with their car first. This is to see if the car can sell. Only the market accepted then only build factory. U build the factory first few hundred mill then cannot sell. Then u lose everything. Bad planning

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • vVivi Zurianti on Mar 21, 2019 at 2:18 pm

Worst case, if P1 bungkus at Pakistan, the govt will some how “bail out”. Proton. National car or not…..National Pride kan?, Pride is more important than hungry stomachs of Uni students….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Lets See on Mar 21, 2019 at 3:15 pm

Even if it bungkus, it will be the local agent to pick up the pieces and debts. Proton is practically risk free in this venture, unless the local agent don’t pay for the tech transfer and CKD kits. Certainly there are some risk, but this deal is the best you can actually get.

• Daddykasi on Mar 23, 2019 at 7:02 am

Rakyat tax will be bailout again..

• kzm (Member) on Mar 22, 2019 at 4:00 am

I tot that the plant in Bangladesh is first p1 plant in South Asia? Or that Bangladesh plant is third party plant not run by p1?

• Mydin Bin Assanarkutty on Mar 22, 2019 at 7:26 am

Pakistan!!!
    Zindagi!!

• China and Pakistan are good buddies hence the tie up. These third world countries will help each other.

• Fahad on Mar 25, 2019 at 6:35 am

Finally the other car’s makers monopoly comes to an end.we are delighted and waiting a new car would comes from Proton’s first (assembly) plant in Pakistan.which it would become ease to purchase for common citizen of Pakistan.
    Thank you Malaysia