2020 Nissan Almera VLT full walk-around tour – RM91k

The fourth-generation Nissan Almera is in town. You’ve read the news, looked up on the spec differences, seen pictures of the car, and perhaps even settled on buying one. But if you’re still on the fence, why not take another tour around the range-topping Almera VLT?

To start, the VLT – now priced at RM91,310 – is the only model to get bi-LED reflector headlights, LED daytime running lights, and LED fog lamps. It also adds on a gloss black spoiler, a 360-degree surround view camera with Moving Object Detection, blind spot monitoring, passive cruise control, as well as rear cross-traffic alert.

Power comes from the HR10DET 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine, making 100 PS at 5,000 rpm and 152 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 4,000 rpm. An Xtronic CVT with D-Step Logic (simulates actual gearshifts in a conventional automatic gearbox) with Sport Mode is standard, sending drive to front wheels. There are no shift paddles here as well.

Speaking of wheels, the VLT sits on 16-inch machined dual-tone alloys, wrapped with 205/55 Continental UltraContact UC6 tyres. The front brakes are ventilated discs, whereas the rear gets drum brakes.

For safety, all three variants of the Almera get forward collision warning system and autonomous emergency braking. Unfortunately, there is no Nissan ProPilot suite of advanced driver assist system, which would include additional features such as adaptive cruise control, lane keeping assist, and lane departure mitigation system. So, what do you think? Watch the video, and leave your thoughts below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Honda City 1.0TGDI on Nov 05, 2020 at 10:11 pm

everything is good, even RM79k has AEB.
    not like Proton X50 1.5TMPi, kosong and lower spec engine, overpriced.

even the filipino is selling Geely Coolray CBU China 1.5TGDI RM78k to RM96k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • venven on Nov 06, 2020 at 2:53 pm

tiptop Volvo engine n tech. Proton X50 1.5TGDi 177PS,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Troll Hunter on Nov 06, 2020 at 3:35 pm

No point talking to a troll that can’t differentiate CBU and CKD with conversion.

• B Class Almera on Nov 06, 2020 at 5:19 pm

LHD to RHD very expensive ?

no lar..
        Geely Binyue LHD sell ceaper than Nissan Almera LHD @ China.

RHD convert by LHD, defintely a downgrade of reliability and actual design intent, selling cost should not goes up too much.

Geely Binyue China starts RM48k to RM60k+ only.

• Lolwhut? on Nov 06, 2020 at 6:12 pm

What is your proof for claiming so? Just from Almera/Sunny price in China? Do you know Almera/Sunny is marketed as a cheapo base spec sedan with none of the safety features found in Almera here? The Binyue is marketed to the higher class so in China those who buys Almera/Sunny are low class and those who buys Binyue are from higher class. Do you prefer to be low class or higher class?

• 7yrsold on Nov 09, 2020 at 9:16 am

Jepunis cars are junks in europe same goes in china

Only here worshipped by fans

• Just to ask for some clarification. The AEB functions solely on the cameras (as in the City) or does it have front radar too (as in X50)?

• dong gor on Nov 06, 2020 at 1:29 pm

Radar is primary device uses for AEB/ autonomous. Camera uses to complement the system, eg to detect if its object such as human, etc.

• You don’t know that Honda Sense in City and ASA in Perodua cars are AEB solely on camera alone? They don’t have the radar accompaniment. That’s what I want to know from Almera AEB functioning system.

• Subaru Eye sight – AEB stereo camera
          Use radar once accident, how to re-calibrate?

X70 so many frontal accident despite radar AEB, I wonder what happened to thier radar reinstatement accident.

AEB stereo camera cons – when wind shield broken and do replacement, need to recalibrate it too.

• Lolwhut? on Nov 06, 2020 at 6:14 pm

X70 not all has AEB lah. Speaking of which I saw in Serdang got Aruz AV with frontal serious accident. I do wonder if camera based AEB is really workable or not.

• TopsyBoxyTurvy on Nov 06, 2020 at 1:39 am

Too pensip in MY… in Bangkok where i settled down, this Nissan Almera turbo i bought THB 639,000 only. But extremely good car inside out,

• Optimizer on Nov 06, 2020 at 2:56 pm

THB639,000 covert to MYR is approx RM86-87k. So the selling price is about there with Malaysia?

• Car Lover on Nov 06, 2020 at 3:09 am

The all new Almera is now a serious headache to new City and Vios! Honda and Toyota, watch out! Rocking on safety, look and spec. Good job by Nissan@TanChong! Only downside is the hp. 120 hp or somewhere near 120 hp will be very nice. Other than that, the all new Almera is a new hot baby!

• Can tailgate Beemer?

• dong gor on Nov 06, 2020 at 1:32 pm

Beemer more likely to breakdown compared to Nissan. So in many occasions it’s more like see you later dude. what tailgate…

• Fourth generation? But according to Honda MY definition, this is only the 2nd generation. So what gives?

• NiceCar on Nov 06, 2020 at 10:07 am

The tire size 205/55 R16 diameter equal to Altis already. This car seem almost C segment car. I think rare people buying city and vios. My colleague now looking either Almera or X50.

• AEB first on Nov 06, 2020 at 1:40 pm

almera is comfortable enough at the front but the rear like office hard sofa – not supportive.

it is far from C-segment comfort for rear passengers nor the best B-segment comfort.

even Ford Ranger has much larger tyre than E Class, but it’s so not comfortable.

Almera is good for AEB, x50 AEB need RM103k+
      Almera is more fuel efficient, and cheaper to maintain, and it pickup as fast as X50 at 10s to 100km/h.
      Almera being a Global Car, it’s cornering handling also as good as other B-segment sedan. X50 cornering too much body roll to be compared with.

• Man Hong on Nov 06, 2020 at 11:46 am

seems like wrong video embed on the listing/landing page.

• albag on Nov 06, 2020 at 1:54 pm

LOL can feel Matt when he sighs while looking at the engine bay :D

• X50 or almera on Nov 07, 2020 at 9:33 am

Wow… Under the hood is very messy. Definitely different from x50… U guys will really appreciate it..

• X50 or almera on Nov 07, 2020 at 9:40 am

X50 or almera? Im going to wait for its maintenance schedule to decide… But in term of this year stock, almera still got stock, while u probably need to wait for more than 3 months to get x50 due to excessive x50 bookings … Means your loan need to be revised after new price with SST announced..

• Go for almera if you do city driving 100%
      Go for x50 if you do city driving most plus ocassional long distance/highway driving