HSDM introduces Hyundai Sonata SE, Starex Exec Plus SE – bodykit, paintjob, 19-inch rims, same price

Now here’s something really eye-catching. Like it or not, this will get you the stares. Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has introduced special editions of the eighth-generation DN8 Hyundai Sonata and the Grand Starex Executive Plus. Looking at the what we have here, SE might as well be for “sporty edition” (it’s not).

Let’s start with the MPV, which is dressed-up N-style. The inspiration is clearly the iMax N “Drift Bus” that Hyundai Australia created in 2019 for laughs. Like literally, as that one-off van started out as an April Fool’s joke. The links are clear – we have the Performance Blue paint, a bodykit with a red lip, and big 19-inch wheels with 245/45 tyres.

Compared to the “iMax N”, the Starex SE bodykit design is different, the rims aren’t the i30 N’s and there are no visible tail pipes, but it’s close enough for us to get the drift. No interior or mechanical changes, so it’s the familiar 2.5 litre turbodiesel with 170 PS and 441 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 2,250 rpm. Power is sent to the rear axle via a five-speed automatic.

Perhaps more striking is the Sonata SE, which you surely won’t miss in that shade of red. There’s a red lip, prominent side sills and a slim black tip on the integrated ducktail-style bootlid. The fins on the top of the tail lamps are a stock feature.

Completing the transformation are a blacked-out grille (Plasti Dip), 19-inch wheels that fill those arches perfectly (245/40 tyres) and black decals along the wheelbase with the “Geared for Distinction” wording. That’s Hyundai Malaysia’s own slogan. It’s a good thing that the dechrome job did not extend to the Sonata’s daylight opening, which is characteristically linked to the headlamps.

Like the Starex, this SE is just an exterior aesthetics exercise, and the 2.5L Smartstream MPI engine with 180 PS and 232 Nm remains. If you’re wondering, yes, there’s a Sonata N Line from the factory, but it would cost a fair bit more as a CBU import.

Also unchanged are the prices, which are RM189,888 for the Sonata SE and RM163,888 for the Grand Starex Executive Plus SE, on-the-road excluding insurance, with sales tax exemption. This means that the SE package – worth RM8,000 for the sedan and RM15,000 for the MPV, HSDM says – is more or less a free perk, if you like the looks. If not, there’s always the regular cars. What do you think?

GALLERY: 2021 Hyundai Grand Starex Executive Plus SE

GALLERY: 2021 Hyundai Sonata SE

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Anak Lebai on Mar 22, 2021 at 6:05 pm

Looks like a good deal. Balik raya bergaya, with Kimchi style.

• Amran on Mar 22, 2021 at 6:20 pm

Is better top up abit for G20 BMW 320i…

• Wesley Wong on Mar 23, 2021 at 11:10 pm

I think the same can be said when someone buys a Camry or Accord. They are definitely not within the price range like before.

• suomynona on Mar 22, 2021 at 6:27 pm

Oh dang, these two were on display at Mid Valley last weekend,

While the Sonata still looks ‘Ok or pretty good’, I didn’t bat an eye for the already dated, ‘vegetarian’ Starex :)

• I want 12” touchscreen, not bodykit

• Character Toys for Fun Driving on Mar 22, 2021 at 6:52 pm

PlastiDip Sport Rim…..
    Delinte Tyres
    Very Fun choices

Does it comes with 5 years warranty also?

• Hard Plastic dashboard is good, easy to clean
    PlastiDip Wrap R19 also very good, protect the rim
    If scratch, just re-plasti dip…

Good for a commercial Van

• autodriver (Member) on Mar 22, 2021 at 7:46 pm

I believe the one who decide to put 19 inch
    to Starex never pay attention to the weight of the vehicle. The original tyre comes with 110 load index but the 19 inch tyre now can only 102. There are some owners complain the OE tyre bengkak after 1 year, this 19 inch GUARANTEE bengkak in within 1 year. Worse come to worst it may explode.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 22, 2021 at 8:33 pm

this smells desperation

• Haiyaa..still tak laku even in Korea

• Golfer on Mar 23, 2021 at 10:05 am

Sadly even the previous Elantra 2.0L model fire sale price at RM80K+ was still a hard sell in Malaysia. Even people on a tight budget also rather go for other models.

• wah like dis Starex is going to dethrone Multia in terms of design already …

• painter on Mar 23, 2021 at 10:53 am

looks like the starex had a quick 2k repaint in blue. those never lasts as long as factory oven baked 1k paint. would it still be provided with a factory paint warranty?

• azrai on Mar 23, 2021 at 11:50 am

Desperate times calls for desperate measures.

• Wesley Wong on Mar 23, 2021 at 11:09 pm

Personally I don’t think it’s a separate measure. If so, they wouldn’t have done this. It’s just a showcase of what’s possible. Many people mod their cars including vinyl wrap, etc…each to their own liking although it may not be everyone’s cup of tea.

• Wesley Wong on Mar 23, 2021 at 12:35 pm

I thought the Sonata DN8 (red edition) looks pretty cool! While it is not an N-Line edition and it’s not trying to be one with this enhancements, it does appeal to a certain crowd. The base car is already a great performer. After all, this is strictly a limited edition, and only for a few units for those who want one.

The Starex colour scheme is modeled after the i30N. It’s a huge “Minivan” as some would say, and definitely look weird to some, but I would say the aesthetic is again, to the eye of the beholder. Kudos to HSDM for trying to put up a non-standard trim and showing a hint or prospect of what’s to come.

To most car enthusiasts, people who really know how to drive and drive well, they will be looking beyond the skin. The underlying technology of each car is different, so are the driving sensation and dynamics. Most cars are excellent, and there is hardly one that’s bad, but there are “not so good” drivers everywhere unfortunately. We see that all the time.

Hyundai engineering is one of such…innovative, intuitive and relevant.