Perodua lauds move to allow SST-exempt cars booked by June 30, 2022 to be registered by March 31, 2023

Yesterday, finance minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Abdul Aziz announced that the sales tax exemption will not be extended any further and that it would come to an end as scheduled on June 30. However, he added that the government is making an allowance for the exemption to be applied for any vehicle booked before July 1 and registered before March 31, 2023.

National carmaker Perodua has lauded the move, which will allow buyers to enjoy the sales tax exemption as long as their vehicles are booked by June 30. “We sincerely thank the government for this announcement as it gives the industry and the market breathing room to meet consumer demand while at the same time give players time to overcome various issues that are affecting the industry,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

He said this would help car companies, including Perodua, as they look for solutions to issues that are currently impacting production, ranging from the lingering impact of Covid-19 to component and manpower shortages. “These issues are currently being addressed by Perodua and our suppliers, and this registration extension will give us much needed room to overcome these issues,” he said.

He added that for the Perodua’s customers, this announcement gives them much needed reassurance that they will be able to enjoy the sales tax exemption incentive beyond June. “To date, we have significant outstanding orders which we are working to fulfil. We appreciate our customers’ patience in this regard,” he added.

Zainal added that so far, the automaker had delivered 106,179 vehicles between January and May this year, which is 10% more than 96,281 units registered in the same period last year. In terms of registration according to model, the Myvi is the company’s most popular model, with 31,689 units registered in the first five months of this year, followed by the Axia at 24,024 units and the Bezza at 23,336 units

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• FudgeMeSideways on Jun 21, 2022 at 5:59 pm

Yg booking X50 time sekarang ni risky betul, 9 months later still tak dapat kete, kena bayar lagi. huhuhu

• Dear FudgeMeSideways on Jun 22, 2022 at 8:17 am

Booking fee is standard.

• FudgeMeSideways on Jun 22, 2022 at 9:46 am

and you start paying your loan once youve gotten your car.

• FudgeMeSideways yg Tulen on Jun 22, 2022 at 1:38 pm

Loan, booking fee tu tiada hal. U book now, get car after March 2023, u kena SST. Berapa tu?

• Ah Kow on Jun 21, 2022 at 6:42 pm

Just booked the ativa for my doter who is attending kolej nxt spring. Good and powerful,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • Elon Fanboi on Jun 21, 2022 at 7:46 pm

Good choice.

• Rafizi & Co on Jun 21, 2022 at 8:43 pm

Be forewarned..the chip shortage will spillover into 2024.
      You might get your Ativa on April 1.(with GST by then)
      Anyway,looks like u r buying a quite rich man’s toy for your daughter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • P1 Salesman on Jun 22, 2022 at 2:22 pm

Why not consider Proton?

• AL,Victorian on Jun 21, 2022 at 8:48 pm

KIPIDAP..Perodua..a blockbuster performance averaging 20,000 units sales monthly for the last 5 months.
    If not for the chip issue,your sales could be much higher.
    Dont be too humble.Time to upgrade the Jurassic name to “PERTAMA”.

• Yeah. Praise the high sale, then whine why the traffic jam is very bad.

• Copy Paste on Jun 22, 2022 at 12:31 pm

Copy paste: “Meanwhile in a parallel universe, Malaysians are enjoying Japanese kei cars left, right and centre, due to non-existence of Perodua.”

• Zella danial on Jun 24, 2022 at 2:26 pm

Sya dh sebln x dtg lg keta .duit bookg pun dh byr
    Knp lma sngt