Honda Hornet’s 755cc parallel-twin to debut at EICMA

Some specifications and a photo from Honda showing the upcoming Honda Hornet’s parallel-twin engine. The new power plant is said to be installed in Honda’s Hornet motorcycle concept and will likely be unveiled in EICMA, Italy this November, according to sources.

There is currently a medium-displacement parallel-twin in Honda’s motorcycle engine lineup, the 745 cc unit used in the Forza and X-Adv scooters as well as a 500 cc mill in the CB500R and CB500X, and the Rebel 500. A parallel-twin is also found in the larger displacement CRF1100L Africa Twin, Rebel 1100, NT1100 and the Japan-market only Hawk 11.

For the new Honda two-cylinder engine, specifications revealed in a press release show 92 hp at 8,500 rpm and 75 Nm of torque at 7,250 rpm from 755 cc, eight-valves and single-camshaft, which Honda calls “Unicam”. This compares against the 57.8 hp at 6,750 rpm and 69 Nm of torque at 4,750 rpm from the 2022 Honda X-Adv.

Fuyuki Hosokawa, Honda Hornet Test Project Leader and the CBR1000RR-R

The new engine also comes with a 270 degree crankshaft, which, combined with a short piston stroke, gives an uneven firing order and power delivery similar to a V-twin. Honda says the engine has been developed to give full mid-range along with top-end punch.

According to Test Project Leader Fuyuki Hosokawa, who was also responsible for the Honda CBR1000RR-R superbike, the team aimed for performance and lightweight handling. “We had to develop an all-new short-stroke twin-cylinder engine, with a 270° crankshaft. This would not only deliver that top-end rush, but also the sporty low-down torque, ideal for riding in urban environments and powering out of corners on the open road,” said Hosokawa.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Im not sure whether this engine can replace current xadv engine..if yes..there is a lot of power for xadv. However, since the new engine layout is almost straight compare to xadv current engine. It is consume lot of space and not suitable for xadv frame or chasis.

And the other part is…current xadv has low center gravity engine. But this new engine barely has high center of gravity make it hard to manevure.

• Everyone else moving towards EV but Honda still stick with ICE. Dinosaurs on 2 wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • Meh-mehhh! on Sep 12, 2022 at 11:40 pm

Everyone jump into fire, you also follow? Everyone signed to become a guinea pig, you also give away your health for free meh?

The Minority rules the World. A tiny minority which will also continue to drive 65° V12 italian’s engines on exclusive RON97, while you will be only allowed to recharge your playmobil electric scooter between 6 and 9am only… (meh)

• Releb on Sep 16, 2022 at 3:43 pm

Not everyone wants an EV. Nothing great about an EV, the charger requires either hydroelectric, coal, crude to generate electic to charge it…
      What more the mining of the minerals for the batteries are carried out under human rights violation including child labour.
      Check out this link…https://www.foxbusiness.com/technology/canadian-man-says-tesla-locked-out-until-changes-battery .

You should also check out how cobalt is mined in the DRC.

You also need to wake up from your slumber… the Cabal and the DS are pushing EV so that they can have total control over everyone..Just imagine you are late paying your road tax…your EV will shut down at 12.00 midnite.

I guess you are the type, already triple jabbed and waiting for your 2nd booster…

Cheers

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 12, 2022 at 10:34 am

That’s certainly a very surprising healthy number for a 750 twin. That’s only 8hp shy of the bigger 1100cc brother.

Let’s see if honda can mount it low like on the NC750x.