2023 Perodua Axia D74A to debut in Malaysia in Feb before Daihatsu and Toyota sister cars in Indonesia?

In 2020, Perodua revealed in a presentation that it would be involved in the development of new models based on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA). At the time, the local carmaker said it would take its working relationship with Daihatsu, which already saw it take the lead in design for some models, to the next level by becoming a global player as an ASEAN development hub.

Even so, recent DNGA-based models made their debut in other countries before we got a version developed specifically for Malaysia. For instance, the Daihatsu Rocky and Toyota Raize were both unveiled in Japan in 2019 before the Ativa was launched in 2021. The same is also true of the new Alza, which went on sale in 2022, several months after its sister models – the Avanza/Veloz and Xenia – were introduced in Indonesia.

However, for the all-new 2023 Axia (internal code D74A), it is said that the A-segment hatchback will make its global debut in Malaysia first before its related siblings – the Daihatsu Ayla and Toyota Agya are revealed for Indonesia. The Ayla and Agya premiered in Indonesia in 2012, long before the Axia went on sale here in 2014.

According to a report by Autonetmagz, the next-generation Ayla may be introduced before this year’s Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS) in mid-February. Meanwhile, another source told the publication that the Agya will premiere in March, but the Axia will the first of the trio to be revealed sometime next month before the 2023 IIMS.

Leaked details from two weeks ago revealed the D74A Axia will be offered in four variants – G, X, SE and AV – all packing a 1.0 litre engine. It still isn’t known if the Axia will get a turbocharger as rumoured previously, but a CVT (likely the D-CVT used on the Myvi facelift, Ativa and Alza) looks to be a definite, with no option of a manual transmission.

The upcoming Axia will be underpinned by the DNGA platform and is expected to have a design in line with recent Perodua models to differentiate it from the Ayla and Agya. It has also been suggested that the X-Concept will lend some influence to the looks, although we’ll only know more when Perodua makes an official announcement.

GALLERY: Perodua X-Concept at KLIMS18

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I hope that this new Axia is better than the previous one in every department, from chasis, handling, safety features, fuel consumption, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Anthony Look on Jan 25, 2023 at 9:18 pm

P2 has a bad habit now…it will increase price sewenang wenang nya.Make no mistake,at launching thousands of diehards will order,knowing the basic auto version will easily cross the 40 grand mark.
      Kind of disappointing,P2 has not been doing any national service,cos many have no choice,but to buy Axia(apart from rival Saga) due to the ‘forever sabotaged LRTs”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • Heard that p2 will mantain production of previous E specs of existing axia with manual transmission,but other specs will be new look with auto transmission

• Aight on Jan 25, 2023 at 3:30 pm

For Indonesian part, another source revealed that the LCGC variants (basically japanese kei car likes regulation but it’s for Indonesia) will debut in February (probably in IIMS) while the non LCGC will take a debut in March to rivalling the Honda Brio and Daihatsu Sirion/Perodua Myvi.

• Ghia Shelby on Jan 25, 2023 at 4:38 pm

We love bike engines in a tin can car don’t we

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
  • That side profile would mean the Bezza would be a much better non-tongek car later on.

• Deer bambi on Jan 25, 2023 at 10:46 pm

Still no engine choice while the neighbor got 1000cc & 1200cc and the next facelift rumoured will get turbocharged like the one in her bigger sister ativa/rocky/raize. And to say asean r&d hub is overrated since most of those daihatsu’s models done the R&D in their state of the art R&D center in karawang thats why the name of the designer consist of the japanese and indonesian names

• Md yusop mahmud on Jan 26, 2023 at 4:54 am

No comment…. Axia 2023 best in class.

• Perodua.Co on Jan 26, 2023 at 7:37 am

wau for front view looks stylish and so diff than previous perodua cars. looking forward for new axia 2023 design

• Jemuk on Jan 26, 2023 at 8:25 am

They should have bring in the 1.2L, or give the 1.p turbo, the current 1.0 speedo only top at 160kmh or maybe bcoz im too fat

• TrojanXX on Jan 26, 2023 at 9:35 am

Wish they will continue to deliver Manual transmission. They can make Axia Type R for limited amount of stock if the sales is not that good

• ismayati binti isa on Jan 26, 2023 at 8:17 pm

thanks you perodua

• newme on Jan 27, 2023 at 1:00 pm

Where is that “Penipo haters” that called me a liar when I said Axia is coming?

• NasiLemakSedap on Jan 28, 2023 at 10:47 am

For what I can see, Perodua has not been trying hard enough to make a GOOD car. They keep making so-so cars since they are still gonna sell right off the shelves. I mean, even Proton give more effort trying to improve their products. Nowadays, I felt like Perodua cars are just effortlessly, insincere, lousier version of the Daihatsu/Toyota rebadge.

• Someone on Jan 28, 2023 at 2:58 pm

I mean u can’t really blame them when the main rival keep slacking on safety department.

• Gunther on Jan 28, 2023 at 5:54 pm

Seat, Vauxhall, the Minis and Fiat, would be considered as luxury in Malaysia (if availble). Even the small/entry level Suzukis, are expensive and opted out of the market due to its lack of sales. This allow P2 to live n their comfort zone with no competition. Lack of buying power from around 65% of the populace is another factor.

• True that. Whatever P2 offers, it will sell like a hotcakes even when they sell tin kosong with basic features. Unlike more advanced open market where people can buy car at competitive price where car manufacturer is on the same playing field, heck even traditionally smaller market for car than us like the philippines has broad of cars to choose. I know this is unpopular comment since there are lots of P2’s car buyer. Understandable though because in bolehland P2 buyers bracket are mostly left with no choice

• What effort from P1 you are talking about? It seems to me, P1 don’t ever bother to compete in this price range. Put absolutely no effort at all.

The same Saga (which is in this price range) change some plastics here and there and launches as a new car every single year. The same goes for Exora. I was looking for a family car, and I have no choice but to go to P2.

For me, at least P2 spec their cars with full features that force other brands to give more features to their cars to be more competitive.

• Lynette Doss on Aug 14, 2023 at 5:57 pm

I have and Axia G 2015 to sell