Carsome vs myTukar compared – we tried both to sell our Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7, which offered higher?

Some time ago, there was only two ways to sell your car in Malaysia. Either sell it on your own with the help by advertising it on classifieds services, or trade it in to a car dealer when you buy a new car. The past few years however have seen the rise of e-bidding platforms in Malaysia.

Two of the most popular e-bidding platforms in Malaysia are Carsome and myTukar. When it was time for us to sell our Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7, we decided to take the opportunity to compare the two services.

Basically what you have to do is submit your details on an online form. Then you will be able to make an appointment to send your car in. The nearest Carsome and myTukar outlets to me was Glenmarie outlet near the Q Bistro mamak, where the inspection centres are just behind each other. So if you make both appointments on the same day, you can just go from one outlet to another back to back.

The inspection at both the myTukar and Carsome outlets took about 1 hour. Since the Volkswagen Golf GTI is not one of the fast moving cars like a Perodua Myvi, both services did not offer a price to buy my car directly on the spot, so we had to go for e-bidding.

Now you might think, there are just so many used car dealers in Malaysia that will bid on your car, so technically myTukar and Carsome should get the same results for bidding right?

It turns out that’s not true, and this is why we recommend always submitting your car to all available e-bidding platforms in order to secure the best price.

Carsome Bidding Results

According to the Carsome bidding system, my Volkswagen Golf GTI was viewed 18 times, received 2 bids from 2 users. The end result was an offer of RM76,200.

myTukar Bidding Results

The bidding “action” on myTukar was higher. According to the system, my car received 169 bids from 9 bidders. The end result was an offer of RM79,900, which was RM3,700 higher than Carsome.

Conclusion

Why was the amount of bids and bidders so starkly different between myTukar and Carsome? It’s hard to say.

One theory could be that the Carsome inspection centre was busier than the myTukar centre, so perhaps Carsome processes many cars per day and so dealers end up having a huge amount of cars to bid on. So the available stock could be spread more thinly across dealers in terms of car to dealer ratio.

Conversely, perhaps since myTukar processes less cars on a daily basis, it is easier for your car to stand out on their e-bidding platform and get in on some of that bidding action. Of course this are just our theories on why the differences in bids and end pricing could exist, and your mileage may vary.

But it just goes to show that it’s in your best best not to just one platform when selling your car. Just submit to all and compare the prices you get and choose the highest price. Naturally, I chose to sell to myTukar for RM79,900 because it was the higher price.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.