Perodua QV-E EV – why isn’t the battery included? Perodua explains its battery leasing programme

Perodua has posted a video on its Facebook page to explain the QV-E‘s much-maligned battery leasing programme. It reiterates much of the points you’ve heard before – battery degrades over time, Perodua takes responsibility for the battery’s health and environmentally-friendly disposal, resale value is protected because the car’s value isn’t tied to the battery.

Story continues after ad

“When the EV battery isn’t your responsibility, you’re protected from the usual concerns of ownership”, says the caption, and one of the texts in the video says “most EVs come with battery worries. QV-E doesn’t.”

You will no doubt find a thousand ways to poke holes at this (for the uninitiated or to jog your memory, dive deep into the Perodua QV-E’s battery leasing scheme here – it is rather complex), but what has us scratching our heads most is the ‘guaranteed resale value’ part.

You see, as far as we’re aware, Perodua has yet to publicise how much it’ll buy back the car for after X years/X km (you can only sell it through Perodua Pre-Owned Vehicles). So while you don’t have to worry about finding buyers when you’re done with the QV-E, you don’t know what the resale value is going to be.

Looking to sell your car? Sell it with Carro for the best price.

Filed under:
Cars, Electric Cars in Malaysia, Local News, Perodua, Videos
Perodua QV-E

Prices, full specs, running costs and comparisons on paultan.org

Sell your car, get paid in 24 hours

AI-generated Summary ✨

Commenters express disappointment with Perodua’s battery leasing model, criticizing the high overall vehicle costs, lack of confidence in long-term resale value, and marketing missteps. Many highlight that including the battery in the car's price or offering warranties would be more attractive. There’s skepticism about the economic viability and public acceptance, with some suggesting the car's limited sales reflect its poor market fit. Overall, sentiments are largely negative towards the approach and execution of the EV project.

1. comment avatar Masakroti
    no other car company in the world dare to do ah long business under the guise of batery rental service
    Well-loved. Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1 Reply
    • comment avatar Dong gor
      Why are we visiting this topic again? No one gives a shit the reason, the sales number is what matters. Replaying your explanations won't increase the sales even by another unit
      Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0 Reply
      • comment avatar Jen Z
        Lease Perodua Ativa Hybrid Full Spec was RM500 only, included whole car, not just Hybrid.
        Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0 Reply
    • comment avatar Kedekut Perodua...
      P2 squandered Rm800 juta by incorporating an unwanted battery leasing program.
      But when the P2 fangirl complained about the kenching manis Bezza..it took a storm of netizens' hoo haa,before they finally agreed to replace her defective unit.
      Perodua,lu manyak kedekut..serve u right.the 800 juta Rm..just evaporated into thin air.
      In life,be generous.
      Thumb up 9 Thumb down 1 Reply
  2. comment avatar Dino
    You’d have to be living under a rock to not know how terrible a deal that QV-E is. Guess ignorance of the market is only pathway for Perodua to sell that trash can on wheels.
    Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1 Reply
  3. comment avatar newme
    I admire their never-give-up attitude but not their stupidity. By doubling down, they just proved that that public opinion and preference does not matter. They think they are smarter than all of you.
    Well-loved. Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0 Reply
  4. comment avatar ioma
    This company will soon become marketing case study for universities.
    Soon, you will see "How to screw up a company?" in self-help section in MPH.
    Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1 Reply
    • comment avatar Steve
      Yes will make a great MBA car study.Applaud their stubbornness on keep trying to justify to buyers who have shown them the middle finger. Salute
      Thumb up 5 Thumb down 0 Reply
    • comment avatar Satthiya
      Lol! Exactly. They are still in their delulu land.
      Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0 Reply
  5. comment avatar mat
    The problem is not the battery leasing scheme or the monthly rate for the leasing, the problem is the very high price of the car itself without the battery where other competitor include the battery with similar or lower price. If the QV-E is RM 40~50k without the battery then it makes more sense.
    Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0 Reply
    • comment avatar PiggaPeppa
      exactly this. its all about the price tag.
      if the QVE was priced (without battery) at RM40k, people would have gobbled the car up without even checking the battery subscription pricing.
      Thumb up 6 Thumb down 1 Reply
  6. comment avatar why isn’t the b...
    PERODUA make your own Battery IF you have the knowhow

IF you have the materials to make the Battery
    Thumb up 6 Thumb down 0 Reply
  7. comment avatar macampondan
    P2 think buyers don't know how to do math. I guess... let the sales figures prove their point. No need to be frustrated. lol
    Thumb up 18 Thumb down 0 Reply
  8. comment avatar deadhorsecommen...
    Perodua can continue to beat on that dead horse of guaranteed resale value and no battery worries sampai mampus, since the only one buying is literally tauke showroom perodua and they guy who developed the app. and then buat some generic AI post about how amazing the car is.
    Thumb up 17 Thumb down 0 Reply
  9. comment avatar skibidi halal
    80k for local brand EV is cheap, not sure what everyone is complaining about. learn to be grateful about local product.
    Thumb up 2 Thumb down 72 Reply
    • comment avatar Wann
      If 80k without battery is consider cheap then eMas5 Premium with less than 70k price tag is then a steal
      Thumb up 11 Thumb down 0 Reply
    • comment avatar Rao
      That car 112400 with BAAS for 9 years. P2 fanboys can't do simple maths ke?

300 a month × 12 months = 3600 a year
      3600 × 9 years = 32400

This one haven't even factored in charging costs
      Thumb up 3 Thumb down 0 Reply
    • comment avatar PiggaPeppa
      malaysians had been buying overpriced rebadged cars from far too long. Original Daihatsu cars was only RM30K meanwhile in malaysia a fake, rebadged unit is sold at RM50K. it makes zero sense financially.
      Thumb up 7 Thumb down 0 Reply
    • comment avatar wha?
      buying 80k car but cannot even move..
      Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0 Reply
    • comment avatar Too Long
      Your complete inability to manage personal finances has been completely laid bare for all to see.
      Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1 Reply
  10. comment avatar Karim Abdullah
    You really have to applaud Perodua’s absolute dedication to brand exclusivity. Moving a grand total of 20 units in December 2025 is a sheer masterclass in keeping the QV-E rarer than a limited-edition supercar on Malaysian roads. It takes a very special kind of corporate genius to sink RM800 million and two years of R&D into a highly anticipated national EV project, only to meticulously curate a customer base so small you could fit all of them around a single table at the local mamak. Bravo for keeping the streets entirely uncluttered by your own product!

But let’s be brutally honest: those microscopic sales figures are exactly the slow, painful market death this tragic financial trap deserves. Trying to pawn off an RM80,000 "budget" car where the buyer *never* actually owns the battery and is forced to bleed out an inescapable RM275 subscription fee every single month for nine years isn't car ownership—it's a hostage situation. It is genuinely a joy to watch the market collectively laugh at the sheer audacity of renting out a car's most vital organ. They named it the "Quest for Visionary Electric," but the only vision here is watching it rot on the showroom floor while the Malaysian public rightfully takes their money to literally anyone else.
    Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0 Reply
    • comment avatar Rao
      RM 300 a month with SST
    • comment avatar Uncle BoBo
      lets not forget the monthly subscription price isnt "locked" throughout the 9 years, or beyond that. Who's to say Perodua wont raise the price because of cost, etc. and QVE owners then can either stop driving the car, or force to resell the car back to Perodua (and nobody else). It is simply too risky to own this car.
    • comment avatar Noob
      As someone from the industry, I've seen how Proton used a lot of R&D and consultancy (LOTUS, etc) funds to make PHEV, REEV, BEV prototypes. This was all during pre-Geely time. Perodua has never developed their own model before from scratch and could not depend on Toyota and Daihatsu for development of any new EV platforms after their scandals. So Perodua hired their own consultants and managed to secure a government grant of RM800 million thinking it's very easy to make a model from scratch. I will not dwell on whether someone made a lot of money from this grant but Long story short: their development cost has to be amortized and they could not meet the <RM100,000 target cost for local EV brands. So now you know why the battery is taken out...
      Thumb up 4 Thumb down 0 Reply
  11. comment avatar JustGuess
    Just admit this marketing fails miserably.
    Thumb up 18 Thumb down 0 Reply
  12. comment avatar Unker Sam
    You dun service loan, car battery remotely suspended or can't be replaced. Possibile?
    • comment avatar DonkeyKong
      That's exactly what they said would happen. The battery can be remotely disabled if subscription lapses. So when people run into financial downturns and can't service their car loan and battery subscription for a month or two, they will lose the ability to make a living as well when their QVE becomes a deadweight occupying porch space.

No wonder Perodua's primary target market aren't even giving the QVE a second look!
      Thumb up 14 Thumb down 0 Reply
  13. comment avatar B15
    kenapa masih layan org bingai ni ?
    Thumb up 7 Thumb down 0 Reply
  14. comment avatar Ultra Kiasu
    I think only tesla early batch had issue with their battery degrade. Most other EV makers also warrant their battery if it degrade to quickly or abnormaly. This is like p2 asking customer to pay premium for battery warranty when the competitors just include it in the price tag.
      american products (especially their cars) are all unreliable garbage. Weirdly people thinks Tesla are good cars. laughable.
    • comment avatar ioma
      How many early Tesla batch catches fire compared to BYD later batch?
  15. comment avatar normal_user
    Jonathan, when will Paultan.org crew run in-depth test drive & review of the QVE? It's been long time since it was launch.
    Thumb up 5 Thumb down 3 Reply
    • comment avatar Raja Kamarul
      But why? Less than 100 registered, and ⅓ of that is for showroom tests, ⅓ is for management and another ⅓ is for interested media. That last one is a small group, as it would have low reader/viewership. Thankless and useless effort to review.
      Thumb up 16 Thumb down 0 Reply
  16. comment avatar Jamal
    Perodua is beating a dead horse, the consumers are smarter that’s why no one is buying this car. Perodua just swallow your pride and include battery like the rest of the players.
  17. comment avatar Chong Or Pei
    Originally, the problem was neither Toyota nor Daihatsu wanted to collaborate; we dont believe in "e". So they were given the nod to speak to others, but they did one better (or worse, depending on your inclinations) and went with Magna Steyr.

Fast forward a few months, and hey presto, Toyota launches not one, not two but THREE EVs in Malaysia, including one rebadge, from Suzuki's catalogue in India.

Perodua must feel royally butthurt at this as they could have gone the simpler route and have a rebadged Suzuki. Instead, they spend truckloads to have a non starter.

Good game, Toyota. I see what you did, Daihatsu. Notty!
    Thumb up 17 Thumb down 0 Reply
      Guess Daihatsu & Toyota is tired of having a deadweight 33 year old sibling who does nothing but copies their homework
      Thumb up 8 Thumb down 0 Reply
  18. comment avatar :)
    Sell for rm60k, with battery leasing then still ok lor..
    Thumb up 5 Thumb down 3 Reply
    • comment avatar Ruslan Bahari
      Herein is one of the biggest issue with Perodua: they are viewed as cheap cars, they are seen as primarily a M40/B40 buyer segment. Thus, any car they sell above a certain price range is considered an anomaly.

This is not a new issue. The Perodua Nautica was sold at 90k range if memory serves, and became somewhat a non-starter due to this same reason.
  19. comment avatar Yeah
    Simply put, Perodua overestimated the power of its brand. Take Toyota out of the equation (Toyota was not involved in the development of QVE) and add in the frankly stupid battery leasing program, and they got a failure.
      I fully agree with this. Perodua cars sells well in malaysia because of the assumption that it may be as durable as a toyota. Remove that equation and suddenly it's something nobody wants.
      Thumb up 4 Thumb down 0 Reply
  20. comment avatar KW
    At this point, I'm can confidently say it is Perodua that don't understand why people doesn't want a QV-E. People have long realized that car is cost the same as EMAS 7 which have 8 years warranty. If I'm unlucky to have problem with the battery at 7th year, it is still cover with warranty, and even it is not, I'm sure battery cost would have been cheaper.
  21. comment avatar Sohai
    If it takes so much explanation…
  22. comment avatar CPeople
    Personally, I’m not against the concept of battery leasing. However, the specific package Perodua is offering right now just doesn't make financial sense.
  23. comment avatar Steve
    They can keep their value proposition & reasons for it.. The number of car sold, just shows how much buyers buy into it. Keep at it P2. Good luck cos you need it!
    Thumb up 2 Thumb down 0 Reply
  24. comment avatar Half Cooked
    Oi P2, other ev make 8 years warranty. why u dont do leh? More easy to calculate monthly expenditure. End result also battery worries free.

Why so stupiak?
  25. comment avatar Perotiga
    Who bah in perodua come out this kind of pricing and package? Then not giving up come up this video expecting customer to buy? Is like lecturing more than reacting to market.
    • comment avatar Too Long
      I’m sure they’ve already realized their failure by now; it’s just that nobody wants to admit their fault in this absurd idea. So they keep dragging the company deeper and deeper into the shxxhole.
  26. comment avatar Syd
    There should be phev version. Better than battery swap.
  27. comment avatar opmanmy
    p2...you no need to re-explain yourself all over again and again. It has failed badly or rather kaput!

Don't waste our time and more importantly your marketing department and resources (time, fund) to come up with whatever video/articles etc. on why "battery leasing" is better bla bla.
  28. comment avatar Kenny
    The resale value isn't going to be better if the buyer has to keep paying the battery installment. And talking about resale value, the car can only be sold back to Perodua so Perodua determines the resale value, not the market.
    Thumb up 2 Thumb down 0 Reply
  29. comment avatar Uncle BoBo
    lets not forget that was back in year 2008. So factoring inflating and everything else, it would amount to RM145K today, for a perodua nautica.
  30. comment avatar QV-E again
    Please, Perodua Management... you already know the marketing plan fail.. why not you 'motivate' your own employee to own and start drive QV-E?

Or better still, don't push that Battery Leasing Plan to consumer. Give 9 years leasing plan FOC. If the owner wants to continue own/use it, then only just starts charging it. This I believe is interesting.

Perodua, don't push the cost of battery + insurance of replacing degraded battery to us. You should be confident with your design/quality, and you should be giving warranty instead of uplifting prices(to cover your cost/insurance/risk).
  31. comment avatar P2lalaland
    Dah la tu P2... Learn to take a L and moveon. Sell the same car with battery for 80K and people will come...
  32. comment avatar P2NotP2
    Masih mempertahankan diri. Kan ker hari tu rakyat dah suggest keta nie masukkan ke dlm muzium sebab dikatakan satu2 nya direka oleh rakyat Malaysia.. Kemudian keluarkan eV baru tak payah pening2 amik body myvi or Alza tukar ke eV jual dengan harga mampu milik... Company lain dah keluar kereta sampai model. No 3 dah.. Korang at P2 tunggu apa lagi tunggu sampai pelanggan menyampah.. Dah lah model seperti Bezza x upgrade dah berapa lama walaupun no1 Sale.. Masih ego... Betullah x lama lagi akan jadi case Study how ego dan bankrupt company.. And suruh orang atasan letak jawatan.. Ganti yg baru.. Dah gagal projek eV..
  33. comment avatar V
    You know what will make sense: them also including some free fast chargers in the deal. Work with someone like Gentari / Jomcharge and give the users access to certain number of free charges per month
  34. comment avatar Chong
    What battery worries in this age and time? People more worried about sufficient charging stations. This battery technology is not new. Millions of Toyota Prius Hybrid sold through the years. The R&D folks in Perodua got kampung folks mentality when battery technology is so advanced now. Maybe another kampung folk will believe your story.
  35. comment avatar Iqbal
    We dont CARE just sell it together
  36. comment avatar WLaucar
    Are you a battery leasing company? From day one, the cost of developing the car was too high. Just sell at RM60-70k and fight for volume. The real anxiety is low resell value, mind you?!

Stop selling on the fear of the battery lifespan because the owners will lose all resale value by the fifth year! If you add the monthly leasing cost, bankrupt lor
  37. comment avatar Haji SS
    Honestly, I'm kinda proud that Malaysia has been able to produce the QV-E (almost) by ourselves, even with all its initial failures (the battery leasing structure, the messy marketing strategy, etc.).

​Maybe Perodua should have taken a page out of Toyota's and Nissan's playbooks and created an entirely new sub-brand, rather than just a model name. That would help shape the perception that it's worth paying that much for something that isn't just a "typical Perodua car." I'm no marketing guru, though, so I won't dwell too much on that.

​The Proton-Geely strategy is working well enough for a "national" car, but it's not prudent for us to put all our eggs in one basket. I think that’s exactly why we started developing and owning our own BEV tech. It makes total sense in the long run, even if we hit speed bumps and "failures" along the journey. I’d much rather see Malaysia lose some money on this kind of technical project than spend it on building another phallic monument like Merdeka 118.
    ​The government has already forked out RM800 million for this, so why not just go a bit further?

​We are spending billions on RON95 subsidies, and that bill keeps ballooning every time global crude oil prices spike. Why doesn't the government convert and rebrand a portion of the RON95 allocation into an "Energy Subsidy" that can be used to offset battery lease costs? This stops local BEV buyers from feeling left out of government assistance just because they don't drive an ICE car, and it gives the M40 a real incentive to consider the QV-E.

​We can restrict the subsidy eligibility by tying strict conditions to it—like requiring the vehicle to be assembled locally with at least 30% local content, blablabla... standard policy conditions. This ensures other carmakers won't benefit, making Perodua the sole beneficiary. We need to back them because the tech and patents will be ours, not someone else's. In the long run, we save massive amounts by not paying tech royalties to foreign brands.
    ​We did something similar to protect local interest against BYD, so why stop here? Geely receives billions in subsidies from Beijing; why can’t Malaysia do the same for our home-grown champion?

​With no end in sight for the US-Iran conflict, this move acts as a vital buffer for the medium term (the next 2 to 5 years), or at least until Trump's presidency ends in 2029. Granted, this timeline relies entirely on political stability and PMX staying in power. A new PM might be enticed to cancel battery subsidies just to erase a legacy project of PMX. But a hard deadline is actually a good thing—it gives Perodua a fierce incentive to re-evaluate and re-engineer their strategy. If they can't make the model sustainable by the time the lease support expires, they're on their own.

​This QV-E project has given our local engineers invaluable experience in high-voltage BEV architecture. Are we really going to screw them and flush our RM800 million investment down the toilet just because the management made some PR and marketing mistakes?
Featured Stories