UPDATE: Final Exora Bold brochure shows different data

Click to enlarge spec sheet

Here’s an update. Remember when we posted up scans of the Proton Exora Bold brochure shortly before Proton made an official announcement? We now have a hard copy of the finalised brochure with us, and it appears to have slightly different figures from the scans. We will take you through the changes.

The scans had a code at the bottom of the page “091211REV0” and the new one has the code “161211REV3”. The numbers look like the date of approval or print (9-12-2011, as opposed to 16-12-2011), so it’s clear that the one we have now is the newer version. The “REV” could be for revision, and three comes after zero, falling nicely into the scenario.

So where is the difference? The ones that really jump out at first glance are the 0-100 km/h acceleration figures. In the old scan, the Premium CVT (Campro CFE) does 0-100 in 13.3 seconds, the Executive AT (Campro CPS) does it in 15.7 seconds and the manual variants stop the clock at 13.1 sec.

In the new brochure, as you can see here, the turbocharged Bold is timed at 11.3 seconds, two full seconds faster. The CPS + 4AT variant does 15.5 sec and the CPS + 5MT does 12.9 sec. All times are faster, and 11.3 sec for the 1,486 kg CFE sounds more encouraging.

Other changes include the deletion of the Bore X Stroke row across the board (76 X 86 for CFE) and the correct compression ratio for the CFE, which is 8.9:1, not 10.0:1 as per the CPS. Fuel tank capacity has been revised from 60 litres to 55 litres. Top speed and “Fuel Consumption @ 90 km/h” data remain intact.

We have driven the Exora Bold, so expect the test drive report very soon!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Littlefire on Dec 22, 2011 at 12:53 pm

So it seems that the lower CC (shorter strock) is to allow lower compression ratio due to turbocharged & not completely new block as claim… From here, i can assume that P1 really using the cheapest cost cutting way to lower the compression, as using special dish piston (seen in most japanese turbo engine) will have higher cost to do it..

• A new crankshaft is ‘the cheapest cost’?

BTW: What japanese turbo engines you’re talking about?

• theanswer on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:20 pm

maybe. they even use non intercooled turbo..low pressure turbo. wonder how much the power tht they can get if use high pressure..maybe we can see neo with 160bhp? ;p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • There is intercooler. Check carefully. Open your eyes. Wear your spectacles.

• falkenst115 on Dec 22, 2011 at 3:50 pm

Campro CFE ade intercooler la, side-mounted. boleh nampak thru left air vent bumper depan

• The test drive Exora Bold I drove had a small intercooler at left bottom of the front bumper

• rush hour on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:23 pm

i think the shorter stroke is to prevent loss of inertia momentum of crankshaft, that cause weak performance of the campro engine at the bottom range rpm.

proton can also have the option of altering the bore like it had with mitsubishi engines before. 4G13 is 71.0 x 82.0, 4G15 75.5 x 82.0mm.
      the increase of 4mm brings additional 200cc and a whole lot of difference in terms of performance.

• foxis on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

boss, it is more expensive and efforts to do that. Unless you willing to pay more, then everything seems possible. Scare after that malaysian complaint why so expensive and not getting a supercar performance and top class equipments.

• Shorter stroke will result in shorter time to max rpm@speed.

• hahaha on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:32 pm

with japanese turboed engine u talking bout? GTR? EVO? u compare that with this MPV ka? Adushhhh..

• The block is new. Piston also new. Con-rod also new.
      Please, if you dont know, better keep silent.
      Thanks.

• dokcukuppitis on Dec 22, 2011 at 5:51 pm

5537 ni ejen proton yer…byk la dpt duit yer…jgn nak tipu la…blah la!!

• JeremyNg on Dec 22, 2011 at 12:54 pm

so the previous one is a prank brochure ??!!

• The earlier ones were ‘leaked’ brochures, possibly not the final versions.

• DewaSemut on Dec 22, 2011 at 3:40 pm

Not prank… c’mon laa… kedai bagi punye… but forgot to tell Anthony Lim that day the taukeh said there will be some amendment in the figures in the brochure given to me.. so guys, these are the amendments and better ones, too :)

• rush hour on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:30 pm

data shows CFE consume more petrol than the CPS auto and CPS manual. i hope not printing error again.

CFE + CVT = 7.8 litres/100km

CPS auto = 7.4L/100km

CPS manual = 7.2L/100km.

or perhaps i need new glasses….

• demio121 on Dec 22, 2011 at 4:47 pm

exactly. i thought CFE = CPS/Campro Fuel Efficient….!!!

seem from the data sheet, the consumption is more than the non-CFE model.

• nazis on Dec 22, 2011 at 5:14 pm

CFE not bcoz FC better than CPS, CFE bcoz FC better than N/A MPV with same power n torque. torque come early at 2000rpm,u don’t need to rev higher to get the car move from 0-xxx km/h compare to N/A 2.0l MPV. is it correct?? good Proton,hope build quality better and better.

• anti-vios on Dec 22, 2011 at 5:18 pm

cammon la.. it produce a lot of power… more fast, more power needed…

• rush hour on Dec 22, 2011 at 6:37 pm

but the test is all at 90kmh, constant speed done by proton itself.

• maximus on Dec 22, 2011 at 10:46 pm

the one with CFE use 16inch wheel.. the CPS one use 15inch only.

• i believe in real word the CFE shud have better FC than the CPS.
        My fren’s CPS currently is running 160~180km with every RM50 pump…
        which translate to ard 15L/100km…..=.=
        (80%~90% city driving, verified for more than 10 times of RM50 pump le…)

• good already for such heavy car…my old honda se-3 2.0liter eingine coz RM50 for 170km in town while petrol price was RM1.60…now only the tagline leaves with me…haha..Do you have Honda ? …regret to have it…lol

• Henry on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:39 pm

This car should make a good taxi compared to the non-turbo version. Decent size too.

There’s a ready market for it.

• MoFaz on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:48 pm

i’ll be waiting your test-drive report :)

• shawal on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Seen it in showroom at jln ampang, really impressed with whut i saw, feel n smell, new car smell is d best, shud make air freshener smell like dat

• BadBET on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Paul, im waiting for your report, brochures with different data is not reliable.

• Johnny on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:11 pm

Another blunder from proton.. as usual

• unknown on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:16 pm

where is the basher??

• armandd on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:38 pm

wahh, I can’t wait to read the test drive review..!

• 11.3 sec century sprint for exora…so is it possible to get 10 sec or lower if they bolt this engine to P3-21A? Hmmm

• They must have included the supercharger as well to complement the turbocharger last minute, hence the 2 second faster.

• dzulx on Dec 22, 2011 at 3:30 pm

yea… cannot wait for the test drive report..

Please give us informative, thorough an unbiased report..

• I test drove the Exora Bold 1.6 Premium CVT with my wife. Twice.

First was at Mutiara Damansara showroom. The route was mostly on the Penchala link. Number of people on board was 04: Me, wife, my brother and SA. Roads were wet coz it rained earlier. I tested the old Exora CPS when it first launched at this same showroom, it drove like a cow coz the engine was useless in climbing slopes.

But the Exora Bold with turbo was a good drive. Although I wished for more power and torque from the engine, the drive was adequate as I just need an MPV for town/city and highway driving. The car would be more from my wife, as we are expecting our first child mid of next year, so we are planning now on when to get the MPV. My wife was satisfies with the drive, despite having four adults on board, the power delivery was quite good.

The next day, we went to see an Alza. Wife liked the premium quality, but space was a BIG dissapointment (pun intended).

Second test drive on the same day was at the Taman SEA branch. This time I drove it on some normal flat roads, I found that I enjoyed the drive and tested the different gearbox modes (SAT, L gear, etc) and even the autocruise. With the features such as the reverse camera and overhead DVD entertainment system as standard on the Bold Premium for RM80k, I found that this MPV would be best suited for our needs in the near future. The only dissapointment for my wife was the absence of a proper Black colour choice, though I personally don’t mind settling for the Elegant Brown (looks like Gold) colour. For me, I still have the stigma of past Proton ownership bugging me, I hope this new Exora wouldn’t be too much of a problem, otherwise it would definitely be our last proton.

We would be placing a booking sometime early next year. Hopefully, by then, Proton manages to fix any niggling reliability issues of the engine, turbo and CVT box, and maybe reintroduce a proper Black colour.

• Setiapaduka on Dec 22, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Fantastic for medium and lower income looking for seven seater MPV . 0-100kmh at 11.3 sec no need secondhand odyssey or wish anymore. Berbaloi RM80,000. But if u rich, doesn’t matter lah.

• littlefire on Dec 22, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Most (Not all) Japanese Turbo engine including K-car which have lower compression around 8.5~9.5 usually using dish turbo piston.. Please google it…

Normally this kind of piston need more cost due to different casting/material or extra machining process compare to N/A piston. Anyway replying to some dude, that turbo engine not only for Evo, GTR.. Even K-cars also using turbo engine long time de…

Lower compression besides from getting better boost from turbo, another benefit is that you can use Ron95 fuel without much issue, as those compression lower then 10 in Japan can use normal leaded fuel (If not mistaken is Ron92) easily, including those turbocharged engine… So for some dude that mistaken that it need Ron97, just go for it for Ron95.. Unless you modify ur engine kau kau, then no choice have to use Ron97 to prevent knocking at high rev..

• dokcukuppitis on Dec 22, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Nampak benor nipunyer…tak padan ngan buat kat negara sendiri…mahal gile vavi…cekik darah punya proton…pegi daaa!!! Salesman proton jgn amik hati…mmg dah hakikat.

• ayamxxx on Dec 22, 2011 at 6:30 pm

holy crap, it FC is worse than normal cps.
    how come?
    VW engine even with supercharge turbocharge, it FC is better

• Amustapha on Dec 22, 2011 at 7:56 pm

U better go back and learn some good english before bash other people here..

• dokcukuppitis on Dec 22, 2011 at 10:19 pm

Amustapha ni cari makan ngan proton…pegi daaa

• Like what Udasalleh told you in other topic..Get help..i think there’s something wrong with your mind..whats wrong if I really with Proton? Proton is doing its best and as a Malaysian, I am proud of it.

• Dia ni geram kat Proton teringin nakkan Exora tu tapi belum mampu. tu sebab nama dia bermaksud “belum cukup duit”

Tak pa dokcukkuppitis terus berusaha kumpul duit , rajin berusaha akan berjaya

• bobdbilder on Dec 23, 2011 at 12:51 am

You need to burn more fuel to get more power. With a compressed volume of air, you need more fuel compared to normal NA car.

This is sooooo far cheaper than a VW. What you expect ah?

Nak kena crita eh? Ada hati nak komen plak tu. Ilmu mata kail nak menduga lautan.

• ayamxxx on Dec 23, 2011 at 12:30 pm

this mean the overall design of campro engine is not so efficient.
        1) during CPS implement, they only put valve lift and the system is incorperated only at the intake valve. so the FC is not improving.
        2) others makers already used a aluminum material at engine, mean lightweight = good fc. Proton still using cast iron in campro, very high weight.
        3) the turbo version is supposely using Direct injection, but right now it isn’t.

• kazai on Dec 23, 2011 at 12:13 pm

at constant 90km/h of course la normal CPS got better FC. stop and go city driving is different story. with higher torque this car required less fuel to push it from 0. it is right to say the CFE model got better FC for city driving.

• MY_KL on Dec 26, 2011 at 7:24 pm

Yeah curious with such engine + g/box yet FC is not so fantastic..

What can i say..
      even beloved Dato Zainal (MD proton) also owns and rides on VW TIGUAN… mmmmm turbo + DSG…

• I don’t believe fuel consumption stated by Proton. LIAR!
    Proton claimed Saga BLM Manual can achieved 6.0L/100km but the real world situation it much higher with 8-9L/100km range.

• LOL, in real world situation you don’t run your car CONSTANTLY at 90km/h. You get stuck in jam and etc etc. Accelerating uses more fuel than cruising. That’s why you can get better FC on highway than in city.

• Drove my sister BLM manual …drive from Bpahat to Bangi with all time 90-100kmh…it cost me RM21.30 ..based on calc. the BLM returned better than factory data at 5.13l/100km …could be sumething wrong with your foot or car.

• Benjamin on Dec 23, 2011 at 2:03 pm

i wonder is there any “upgrade” program for old exora owner? i mean upgrade our CPS engine to CFE…

• This is how proton losing $$$$. Print brochure also need to print so many times. Suka-suka change the data, syok sendiri.

• On special request I’ve drive the Exora Bold during the night 28/12 and I found its good in the performance and the light were also excelent. But the only thing, the sits and the dash box need to transform to some other new disign. So keep it up Proton.