SPIED: Proton Preve P3-22A hatchback group in KL

proton preve hatch spy 2013 1

After a busy January being seen out on the road, things quietened down for the Proton Preve P3-22A hatchback somewhat, but it looks like road-going evaluation has begun again. In earnest too at that, with no less than three Preve hatches seen in convoy fashion at Jalan Merui earlier today, on an urban test cycle run.

The shots were taken by our events guys, Ronald and Charles, who happened to be on location doing a recce and saw the partially covered cars (a black and two white examples) ambling along in traffic. Nice work, fellas!

You’ve seen the test mules before – in January, on the 6th, 10th, 16th and 28th – so this photo set doesn’t really reveal anything new aside from it being the first time the hatch has been snapped wearing steel wheels. It’s also the first time there’s more than one car caught in one go. Theophilus Chin has of course offered an idea of how the Prevé hatch will look like, with his renderings to be found here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 318 Thumb down 565
    • Jimmy on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Even if you know Australians get 6 airbags, they will still terang-terang give you 4 or even only 2 airbags, this is typical of NB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 129
      • Ho ho ho, big deal. When Proton didn’t give us six airbags standard for the Prevé, everyone complains. When Honda did the same thing with the 2012 Civic (2 or 4 airbags in M’sia, 6 or 8 in other markets), no one bothered. When Kia gave us 6 airbags with the Forte 2.0 (same as Korean spec), nobody seemed to appreciate it.

Face the facts, the average Malaysian is not bothered or doesn’t value the importance of automobile safety. Many of us don’t even wear our seat belts. Why should Proton, Honda, Toyota, Nissan and the others care about our lives, if we don’t even seem to care either ? Seriously, we only have ourselves to blame. Malaysians must fight for our consumer rights. Stop buying cars that are under-equipped in terms of safety. Show the car companies that we aren’t stupid, and that we value our lives.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 440 Thumb down 32
        • shawal on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:25 pm

well said

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 19
          • Cheers, and thanks. Someone had to say it anyway. lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 25
        • joanna on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:09 am

I wear seatbelt. Im concerned about my safety. But to whom should i voice my displeasure about our local car safety? To government? Meh. They only think how to increase the import tax kaw2 so that the preve, proton and their bossess can live happily after.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 112
          • There are lots of ways we, as Malaysians can voice our displeasure/disgust/dissatisfaction with automobile safety standards in our country; 1] We can start a petition formally or informally (on facebook). 2] We can openly protest in public. 3] We can stop buying/ boycott cars which are not well-equipped in terms of safety. For example, if you pay 50k for a car, you should expect 4 airbags and ABS with EBD. If you pay 100k, you should get 6 airbags, ABS with EBD, TCS, ESC and BA. Usually, cars in the 250k + range come with good safety equipment, it is the cheaper and more popular cars which suffer the most. These are just 3 examples. There are lots more.

Now, I understand that all this might be too much work for the majority of us. In that case, there is a simpler, easier way to do it; If we want better safety equipment and standards in our cars, and higher automotive standards in general;

DON’T VOTE FOR BN.

Need I say more ?

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 162 Thumb down 231
          • niceone on Mar 28, 2013 at 2:19 am

voice it through your purchasing decision. it’s pointless to whine here and there everywhere but end up buying piece of crap like vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 10
          • rally_fan on Mar 28, 2013 at 9:16 am

Joanna, I think you need to really have a good look at the automotive landscape today before you say high import taxes protect Proton. The fact is, they don’t. Proton today have a market share of less than 30% thanks mainly to Perodua, and to a lesser extent.. cheaper japanese cars and national status Korean cars..

So what is the true purpose of higher import taxes and tariffs? I think i’ll leave it to the individual to interpret it for themselves.

and btw, many japanese and national cars in our local market aren’t that great with safety either…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
          • Expatriate VN on Mar 28, 2013 at 10:55 am

rally-fan, if there are no import tax to protect this dead wood Jaguh Kampung No. 2, the market share may be less than 3% just like the export market, be it Tom Yam Land, Aus, UK, Middle East, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 34
          • Expatriate VN on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:00 am

As for safety feature, who on earth for Japs, Korea or conti want to give you the best at lowest price if your local competitor the like of Jaguh Kampung No. 2 is 5th world crap product!

We are:
            1st World infrastructure
            3rd World mentality
            5th World car product!

Do you get it, 4th World like Myanmar also not import this car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 98
          • kloert on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:13 pm

@expat, it’s not because of that, it’s because we are not matured enough not to buy those overpriced but underspecced car. Proton is stop 5th world product, stop your nonsense. It’s just showing how low is your mind is

• NeoLover on Mar 28, 2013 at 4:01 am

Most of us the youth only have paycheck enough to buy under specced car. when opt for a better well equipped version of the same car, we are forced to choose a lower version due to bank reject our loan application. so the industry players ‘thought’ that there are more demand in lower version, thus providing less safety equipment. if we boycott, there are no more choice except for proton or perodua, which already giving us under specced car locally even at their highest version compare to oversea market. i guess for the next 5 years, I’m stuck with a car without any airbag nor abs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
          • rakyat on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:02 am

i would suggest everyone who just started working after graduating to buy 2nd hand cars and totally boycott P1 and P2.
            let them die a natural death.
            once P1 and P2 are no more, what is there to protect?
            there will be no more minimum car price to benchmark against.

or

be our hero in the coming GE.
            vote wisely for your future and your descendants future.

I heard car taxes/duty might be increased in the later half of the year. almost all conti car SAs are talking about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 78
        • i dont wear seatbelt

• apakes on May 27, 2013 at 12:04 pm

bro..maybe your statement is fit to someone else..or other people..

but for me. i said the same think like jimmy said. i am a family guys. i own a preve.im always wearing seatbelt.and i really want all my passenger having airbag protection too.

not all can afford a forte with 6 airbag. why cant malaysia car be better for local. why better for outside market only..other than malaysia. which country selling much better spec of their own car to other country?

• Insider on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:50 am

u will get 6 airbags with this hatchback. at least i do believe that they will.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • wake up! time to go work and pay for that over priced milo tin with wheels and no airbags!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
          • venom on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:55 pm

even ford focus got lower mark than preve in ancap lol

inb4 different specs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • Definitely not this version. 5 Star has to be P3-22A+.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 13
    • Very ugly car!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 100 Thumb down 188
    • Proton staff on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:27 pm

You’ll be suprise there will be new Preve with same spec as AU. This sportback preve local spec will have same spec for global market.

Commited to be Better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 97
      • Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Proton staff, u can dream on until the cow come home …….
        Your boss is the father of all cronies ……. still sing like canary the local will get export quality is as good as to believe our Jaguh Kampung No. 2 is producing national car for patriotic Malaysian but the Advisor driving Porsche Cayenne.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 119
        • they are businessman.. let say u r the p2 ceo.. would u like to drive alza for transporting urself and ur family for the rest of ur life?? this all about business.. no one making a business just to make a loss..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
          • Expatriate VN on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:13 pm

It is about business! So strip away NAP, no more National car status, no more patriotic crap. It is just one of the bad quality local product………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 51
          • conge on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:24 pm

China also some sort of protections against foreign car makers despite it has already many big local automakers there. Malaysia has only one, if you don’t have any patriotism, then better leave for other country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
      • Dru-Zod on Mar 28, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Proton Staff,
        Your boss said in a press conference(http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/20130116001741/20130116001741.pdf) that Proton will “drive cost down”. Does this mean cheaper cars in the future or same expensive cars at higher profit margin for Proton?

PS: I cannot understand how you can drive the cost down when the volumes are still the same. Only way I see that happening is by reducing quality. Please correct me if I am wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Dude, I believe deep inside the heart of every Malaysian, we want to see Proton really succeed. But Proton took sooooo long to launch even a new variant of existing model.
        In order to be a proper global player, Proton should increase its R&D, produce more model, let’s say at least 2 new models per year.
        Kia could come out with Forte sedan and Forte Koup at the same time.
        Toyota could launch Prius sedan and Prius C at the same time too.
        But Proton, after the launch of Preve, took more than a year to launch Preve hatchback? Duh WTF?
        Come on, Proton. You could really do better. Emphasize more on creativity and efficient manufacturing processes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • how can you compare P1 with company like Toyota which their market is worldwide? i think we cant even compare P1 with KIA as korean fully support their national car while proton here only have 22% market share today. So, when the developing cost of proton Waja takes rm800 million, how many years did you think proton can get it back at this given market share before they can proceed with new model/platform? Even introducing new variant will need some R&D which means cost

• toyor on Mar 27, 2013 at 7:26 pm

toyota gives us how many airbags in 150k+ camry here? 6? 7? 10?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 7
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 178
        • ondie on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:15 am

Aiyo then cut also the taxes for proton, honda, nissan, etc. and make comparison. Proton cars are still cheaper than those greedy auto makers while maintaining the specs and safety features

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
          • P1 is cheaper coz it’s just a P1.empty lever image badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
          • I would rather arrive in so-so popular car with enough safety specs rather than die in famous tin-kosong car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • Dr Cooper on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:16 am

Proton also taxed by the gov..you stupid or what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 30
    • Absolute Rider on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Toyota in Malaysia also come with two or four airbags depending on the variants. No ESP…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 5
    • the car look awkward to me.. scary.. the sedan look miles better than this one..

Thanks,

My vote goes to PR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 104
    • OMG…no need cover lah…not an interesting car anymore. Mostly ppl will still prefer preve sedan.

• Proton Preve Verve on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Proton Preve Verve

CPS
      Standard Auto RM49,999
      Executive Manual RM52,999
      Executive Auto RM55,999

CFE
      Premium Manual RM62,999
      Premium Auto RM65,999

• Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:18 pm

This car is butt-less model, may as well be name as Savvy Neo!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 46
    • BMW Fanboi on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Preve is still a better car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 540 Thumb down 238

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 300
      • Dru-Zod on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 223 Thumb down 419
      • Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:46 pm

It is old wine in new bottle! Nothing special and Jaguh Kampung No. 2 will repeat their syiok sendiri mistakes again, no good sales apart from expected no good RV like Savvy or Tiara!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 226 Thumb down 325

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 186
    • Anonymous Coward on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:41 am

Haha, I’ve taken to calling it Giant Savvy myself. The profile really does remind me of the Savvy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:19 pm

In another 3 to 5 year time see what is RV for this car compare to all new Vios!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 66
    • You mean when import tax is cut?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 87
      • Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Import tax cut or not cut! It will face a same fate like Savvy and Tiara!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 66
    • Bro,can you tell me the jackpot combination for tonight(27 March 2013) toto?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 38
  • sepucps on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Really nice proportion looking at first car in first pic..looking forward for nice ass design..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 94
    • policeman on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Why so many thumbs down for this guy?

Let me translate for y’all that don’t understand.

Sangat cantik proposi, melihat kereta pertama di gambar pertama..menunggu untuk rebabentuk punggung cantik..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 20
  • nkica on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:29 pm

This is their butthurt car, vios failed miserably

Expat VN = Sam Loo

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 210 Thumb down 65
    • Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:41 pm

In the Juara Kampung No. 2 history, non of butt-less models like Satria, Satria GTI, Satria Neo, Savvy and of course Tiara achieved big volume sales. so what do you expected from this new butt-less model????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 61
      • obviously this hatch is destine for europe market..our market not really hatch market..of course sales will be low

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 35
  • Veneno on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:31 pm

launches date..??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 62
  • Dru-Zod on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Waste of time. Same old endless problems without the boot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 107
    • youbodok on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:49 pm

hebat, belum laumch tapi tahu macam dah pakai 10 tahun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Dru-Zod on Mar 29, 2013 at 7:59 am

Tak perlu launch utk tahu. Ini Proton. Memang dah tahu pun. Setiap kali keluar model baru, sama aje. Kamu lah yang bodok kalau ini pun tak tahu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 75
        • youbodok on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:25 pm

apa yang sama cuba citer sikit? bontot lain, lampu belakang lain, enjin dan gear kalau sama standard la tu. kau ingat keta lain kuar hatchback beza sangat ke? bodok betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • Dru-Zod on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:18 am

Like I said, Same old endless problems minus the boot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Abg Long on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:39 pm

aiyooo.. been waiting for this car for so long! (waiting to see laaaa not to buy bcoz i still luv my kancil) Proton is so slow!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 19
  • What is there to camo? Syok sendiri betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 105
    • the camo is there because the car’s design and shape are different to others. the front end is also different. not like myvi or alza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 17
    • pirlo on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:21 pm

the camo was there because the design and shape is different with other car. and not to be revealed yet to public. not like alza or myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • farghmee on Mar 28, 2013 at 6:22 pm

camo pun xreti?
      cuba surf ape maksud camo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • start-a-figt on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:45 pm

3 cars.. could it be 1 CFE, 1 CPS, 1 Hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 31
    • Anonymous Coward on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:40 am

Interesting speculation. From what I know, they’re working on a hybrid but for the production version of the EMAS.

• Tengkorak Gemok on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:47 pm

if it’s looklike Ford Focus, I will buy it because Focus cost more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 44
  • abg llong on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:47 pm

proton???
    don’t play anymore, scared already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 24
  • Get ready to smoke a new Golf! Preve hatchback sure win!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 41
  • joanna on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Preve is ugly and hideous. Look outdated inside out and will only be replace with a new model probably a decade later like Gen 2, Persona and Neo. Proton admirers will surely dislike my comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 80
    • I thought I was the only one who thought Preve is ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 38
    • Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Doesn’t mean you hate it, it’s universally bad. Others will surely value the practicality, functionality and value the car offers, if not for its looks. A classic Alfa Romeo may look sexy, but you know you’ll be spending 90% of the time repairing and not driving her. A Toyota may look boring as hell, but you know you can count on its reliability. There are a lot of factors which define a great car.

Oh, and FYI, I like Mazdas, but I will not accept bogus comments from people who have clearly no or negligible understanding of the subject matter at hand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 14
      • joanna on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:14 am

The fact is proton cars is sooooo much boring and they only rely on one or two products.
        The worst part is they only care to replace the models after so many years.
        Look at Persona or Gen 2. Its look so old and outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 41
        • Anonymous Coward on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:39 am

I don’t know, I’ve been in many cars and Proton cars have terrific ride and handling. The looks might not be to your liking but I think Proton is doing decent stuff; at least they’re developing their own tech compared to Perodua.

Gen 2 and Persona IS old and outdated. Gen 2 is no longer being sold and the Persona is being phased out. It takes many years because if you found out that Proton is coming out with a new model, you won’t buy their current models. It’s stupid to do it too soon.

Even Toyota, Honda and others take a longer time to come out with new models, mostly just facelifting the current models. (i.e. new Vios)

If you’re talking about how Proton doesn’t keep the same model name, I agree with you on that. The only two models that keep their legacy are the Saga and the Satria Neo. And the Neo, even though I hate that car, I can see that it really tries to improve on the old Satria, despite using a completely different platform (Gen-2 based).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
          • Macha on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:19 am

I’m driving Savvy. For the car handling and stability, I give 10 stars. Compared Savvy one after another with BMW E60 (525i) taking corners at Lebuhraya Karak, I prefer Savvy. It feels more stable than E60 at 110km/h during cornering.

However, I totally hate its Renault AMT, jerks all the time..

• BMW vs PROTON on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:21 am

I’m driving a Savvy. For the car handling and stability, I give 10 stars. Compared Savvy one after another with BMW E60 (525i) taking corners at Lebuhraya Karak, I prefer Savvy. It feels more stable than E60 at 110km/h during cornering.

However, I totally hate its Renault AMT, jerks all the time..

• silvia13 on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:47 pm

maybe ugly like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Jinggo on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Come on DRB Hicom, pls produce a better quality and affordable car for Malaysian. U can do it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:15 pm

Jaguh Kampung No. 2 can do it, but for export market only!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 102
    • Carlover on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:49 pm

Kampong No2 want to build better quality car for export but still cant sell good because it totally cant compete with other car brands at all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 73
  • JackeyDeck on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:01 pm

Proton couldn’t rebadge Lancer Sportback… so they applied the concept on Preve… Who know, proton might call it Preve Sportback eventually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 44
  • my sister premio 1.8 better fc than my saga 1.3…totally disappoint to proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 40
  • it still looks like one of the most boring cars ever made, even with camo skin on,
    If malaysia imported Dacia cars, proton is already out of business, nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 35
  • Tengkorak Gemok on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:17 pm

where the Proton Hang Tuah go.. gone already…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 45
    • Protong on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Keeping it to show again in KL motor show 2013 later this year…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • i heard rumours that many engineers that involved in p322a project has quit working at proton,no wonder this project takes so long to complete

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
  • Carlover on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:46 pm

High FC car…tech still at low level…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 80
    • i might agree on your point regarding the FC due to the fact, the car is a sporty version. as for tech, you might be surprised cause there will be some additional features, not solely carry over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • kitkat on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:18 am

How did you know? Have you driven it?

• guess on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:27 pm

go away to your new vios la, nothing new except body

• sepul on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:59 pm

Hohoh, so many negative comments. It’s fun to read them all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
    • sepah on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:16 am

….and being thumbed down. It’s fun to to see it too. Stupid comments get stupid thumbdowns

• Sam Poo on Mar 27, 2013 at 7:04 pm

Yawn|| Fit for my Grandad just like Audi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
  • Ash Menon on Mar 27, 2013 at 7:09 pm

I’m curious why they still bothered to mask the front. Any changes compared to the Preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo on Mar 27, 2013 at 7:13 pm

My frens, better buy a vios den this junk! Old old vios also will be more reliable den this car from proton. Coz OLD is GOLD! Cheaper maintenance ma, this new proton engine where got spareparts! Proton go die!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 84
  • Rozif Rasid on Mar 27, 2013 at 7:22 pm

my 89’s Proton Knight is still better than this car. sigh! lol! will I change to this?? over my dead body!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
  • policeman on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:13 pm

I bet they’ll give this car a different name – not Prevé Aeroback/Hatch.

Proton Grandé?
    Proton Bijané?
    Proton Muflisé?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 52
  • jolly_idiot on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Come on la. Until when they’ll enough testing the car? I’m sick on all the spyshot around for almost a year.

Suppose to be a very exciting things now become dull and boring.

Just show us the damn butt. I bet it still won’t create a massive impact if they launch it. Unlike the toyota or honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • brader ayam on Mar 28, 2013 at 9:13 am

there are numbers of stages for the manufacturer to go through before launching the product. each stage has different improvement. the procedures do apply to others as well.
      they want to test it in private actually, but how can they do it at the public road? simulate the actual road in the middle of night? and how can they stop the people from taking photos?
      who was in the first place took the spyshot and passed it around internet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • not a hatchback pls do something like SAV, like Skoda cross, VW Cross, Volvo XC, AUDI Allroad….

What a bad strategy Proton has…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • aiyo, no need cover the body la, take off everything oso nobody intelested…shows how outdated potong is, trying to replicate Wira AEroback last rime 20 years ago…and pls lah, most auto car companies forced to lower their airbag and safety features in order to stay competitive and enough margin, the culprit is the gomen with the skyhigh excise duties…surprised still got so simple minded people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
  • Enter your name...insight42 on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Vios almost 10year still do have pushstart button,vct,esc…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
  • moots on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:16 pm

I don’t know why all the hate. I think the shape looks quite nice. Almost alfa brera look from the side profile. Hopefully welding and price will be good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
    • klung on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:24 am

you still don’t know? here they come, proton bashers, haters gonna hate, no matter what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
    • Peyno on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:07 am

N rakyat know, those bad n bash comments come from perodua n japs cheapo entry level salesman or fanboy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
  • shawal on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:10 am

having own a preve i can safely say there are room for improvements…

-leather wrap for handbrake , those hard plastics can cut your finger (some are not sanded properly)
    -soft touch materials on rear doors
    -a softer rear bench , especially the middle seat ( the arm rest i hard presses on your back
    – sitting on d front seats you see the metal from of the doors, so panel gaps must be tighter
    – panel gaps around the gear knob & hand brake plastic housing
    – the speakers in the front doors sends vibration to the doors , making the door pockets almost unusable when you put plastic/metal/keys items in them , when the bass kicks in it vibrates ,
    – the coat hangers are rather flimsy , mine the spring action no longer works…
    – the vibrations thru the firewall on take off needs improvement
    – I think the autoclimate sensor only works at the front , the rear bench is hot if u put it on auto
    – could use better radio antenna , i plugged in my usb , mp3 sounded great (im no certified audiophile , so i wouldnt know how to compare to other speakers)
    – during rain the side windows gets fogged blurry , results in poor visibility, either make visors standard or hyrophilic tinting
    – the auto cruise is a lil jerky when you accelerate & depress using the stalk, it can bug other occupants on a long cruise , use the pedal instead

these might seem like nitpicking but adds up to the ownership experience..

but on the whole, its a complete , at least the top variant , GPS works well , its fast (which is always a welcome in any car) , apart from the vibrations at low speeds, when cruising along it is quiet and refined , i appreciate the rear space and boot space and big storage compartments throughout the car..

anyway , if anyone is looking for a new car at that price point , plz give the preve CFE a worthwhile test drive , put it in ‘S’ and floor the throttle , you’d get use to the firm suspension over time, it’ll pay dividens on high speed cruising and encourages your to thread really slowly over bumps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 13
    • Anonymous Coward on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:33 am

How’s the POI on the GPS? I’m very disappointed that it’s not using the Inspira’s head unit or Neo R3’s unit. IIRC those come with Garmin.

• shawal.ali on Mar 28, 2013 at 10:46 am

the poi is pretty accurete and numerous, even local unheard of restaurants are listed, all petrol stations are listed, i hvnt fiddled with ot completely, but if want to go sumwhere its best to enter a certain route first before choosing or else it will choose he fastest ( most jammed eg federal highway… enter kesas forst then set ur route), the keyboard is helpful when typing in ur destinations, bluetooth works well, it even tells u which lane to keep..

• Peter on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:31 am

Like always, Proton failed on QC. Sometimes, as a genuine buyer, you’ll feel that the company (from MD to operators) don have clue on Quality, when you see these ‘little’ defects. This not only happen on Preeve but all cars from Proton. It actually improve a little after Mahalil left but dosen’t improve enough.

Back to the old days, when Wira is launched, we got MPI (quite a feature to impress buyer) but failed on chasis, bumper …
      Then Waja (their ans to BMW in ASEAN ~ LOL), side mirror color peel off, power windows failed … Gen 2 also same, even worse.
      Having said that, the Engine is fine, no prob. So you see, they don pay attention to Ergonomics, user experience, supplier selection … they don pay attention to quality.
      What goods if you have 7 speed Protonic but with these QC issues lurking around?

Different generation, same mistakes due to same mindset.

P/S: I owned Iswara, Wira(parents), Waja, Gen2
      Next car won be Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • runtree on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:11 am

I suggest you buy VW, you can read a lot of praises and awards won on this site www.dsgproblem.com

• ryuki on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:22 am

Still waiting for DRB to table Proton business plan. It’s supposed to be March. Mar is about to end.
    What happened?

• mamat on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:15 am

“anak sendiri ditinggalkan…anak org lain dijaga”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • Joe Radzif on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:31 am

Look Promising…
    can put into my waiting list…

err…
    I still have 7 years to finish my loan on current car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • mr jem on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:46 am

wonder why they are making this hatchback at the first place? if they dont cut RM10k from preve price to this hatchback, i bet nobody will bother to buy it…

• critic_A on Mar 28, 2013 at 9:23 am

ppl here only how to count air bags~ more air bags = good car~ all u air bag counter can go to hell man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 18
  • use your brain on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:34 am

Stop buying Malaysian car especially Proton…. Very outdated in term of design, technology & quality….
    Ban it peoples!!! *only STUPIDS wil buy it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 48
    • usemybrain on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:01 am

Then I should go for toyota because it has 4 gears and same engine, even after a more than decade lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • lembu kondo on Mar 29, 2013 at 3:33 pm

what kind of outdated technology? cvt? downsized engine? led front light? integrated reverse camera? start-stop button? HPF body?
      bear in mind, less than 10 car manufacturers in the world are using HPF technology. those including audi, bmw.

• Fagly on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Too late. Most of target buyers all buying, driving Kia Rio hatch now.

Proton better facelift Preve sedan now or else cannot fight new Vios soon.

Wrong products, bad timing, syok-sendiri = Recipe for failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 17
    • Peyno on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Compete with new vios?? Why u didnt mention New vios compete with almera??

• My mum’s Preve is a gem. It has Traction control and ESP which many cars don’t have. My dad will sell his trouble free 7 year old Waja to me (yeah) and buy this hatchback. I see some people want more air bags but most of the cars that jam the roads have ony one diver in it?

• BMW vs PROTON on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:28 am

They thought they can use the airbag to sleep in the car.

• what ever crap potong is producing, it’s not fit to be called a car. look at their R3. Race, Rally , Research. Any development there? Stupid Malaysian still believe in a crap dr M. did just to make his family rich!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 56
    • farghmee on Mar 28, 2013 at 6:31 pm

cuba search latest R3 development. google jek. jgn malas type lepas tu ckp meraban.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
  • Abg Long on Mar 28, 2013 at 3:58 pm

from my experience, 1 thing good abt Proton is it’s ride n handling. seriuosly good. 1 thing so bad abt Proton is it’s QC. maybe every 10 car, 1 car got problem. where else toyota maybe every 100 car, 1 car got problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • no point having a car that handles but falls to bits as you get in the car, is there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • larsey on Mar 30, 2013 at 12:07 am

no point having a ford but cannot use because spare part coming late

• BMW vs PROTON on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:29 am

No point buying Peugeot Turbo but need to go even slower than Myvi when taking corners.

• For me it’s simple, if u don’t like it don’t buy it.
    U go ask your parent last time what car they bought for their first ride. Surely it’s a 2nd hand one. Don’t be too crazy hoping on our Proton/Perodua to produce something great. Their target buyers are the middle and low income. Proton and perodua are known for their affordability, not quality or performance.
    It’s the same, if u want comfort go for Merc, if u want driving pleasure (speed) go for BMW, want mix of both go for Audi. Get it?
    It’s like u open a stall, put a very unreasonable price and very bad service to it but alot of ppl still come, do u think i will do something to change it? Perhaps no

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • engnr on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Driving pleasure is not necessarily coming with speed. SOme cars have bad handling and ride at high speed so speeding is not really that fun

• gOOsh on Mar 28, 2013 at 4:22 pm

ala… kalau proton produce good car with better quality pun korang kutuk gak… period…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • ciplak lancer pun hancus…no QC at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
    • ah betul tu.. baik cam na pun..diorang kutuk juga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • Expatriate VN on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Let this Jaguh Kampung No. 2 give export quality to local market! Overnight, the complaint will reduce at least 80%!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Malaysian on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Expatriate VN – I don’t understand the hatred you have towards Proton. Were you sacked from Proton before? Please use a proper reference even when bashing. Using words like “Jaguh Kampung No 2” makes you look like a bully at the playground. In a simpler term, a kid with issues. Please grow up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
    • Peyno on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:13 pm

We can recognise them by looking at their post… If he claim anti national car.. Anti protection anti nap but only bash proton n praise perodua.. Yet we know he just a perodua fanboy.. Ah beng jaos wannabe but cant afford real japs car

• Expatriate VN on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Malaysian – You may right and entitled to your opinion but I never work for car company. Please give your professional view on proper referencing – is it world class player? Juara Dunia? Glocal? Towering car player? Etc. Please enlighten me, so that ‘cure me from kid with issue’. You are my master of ……… Your are my savior and waiting for your enlightenment!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • Peyno on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:00 am

Claim as anti NAP, anti protection..but praise perodua n bash proton… Soooo obvious
        Prffftggh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Malaysian on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:59 am

Expatriate VN – Just use their proper name – Proton, Perodua, Honda, Toyota etc. Is it that hard to do?

• that day i sit in to a preve in the showroom, i still feel the same shit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • atukkaubongok on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:58 pm

Today I read comments on proton, I still feel the same shit of MENTALITY! Unlike Koreans and Japanese who are much more supportive for their own products. Oh maybe they are not Malaysians, they are maresian, malesian or anyshitnationlity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • Bobvc on Mar 28, 2013 at 9:03 pm

bro, u must understand why we the rakyat so angly…we all have been ripped off by Potong who shove lousy pieces of junk with falling bumpers, semi auto power windows, ridiculous ergonomics..and we mostly dont have much choice!! We forced to drive e junk while rich ministers who ask the rakyat to be patriotik and buy potong drove BMW and Merc themselves!? Pui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • convr on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:53 pm

i know problematic cars worse than proton’s. btw it’s proton, not potong or plotong etc

• Medic on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:20 am

Today star papers show Malacca Chief Minister leaving PM residence in a New(not even launched) Honda Accord.All senior Gomen should be driving Perdana only.

• dewaSemut on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Could it be a made in Malacca Honda to be rebadged as Perdana?

First product from DRB-Honda collaboration? Hrmmm :)

• Many people hate proton because they think without proton they can afford BMW or Merc. The dont have enough money to buy those cars. For their inability to afford that luxury, they put the blame on proton. You see, its not that they are poor that they cant afford BMW, it is proton fault. That way, they can still maintain their ego, because the can put the blame elsewhere, not themselves.

i will only buy what i can afford. if i cannot afford bmw, it is my fault, for being stupid not knowing how to make money, not proton’s.

cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • Alahai on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Today I saw this car on treler. Lots of them. Maybe will be launch next month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Sparcov on Mar 29, 2013 at 1:28 pm

If you can afford a Proton price tag, please buy and enjoy your ride.

If you can afford more prestigious brand, please buy and enjoy your ride.

Since 90s, I believe most of the Malaysian has driven Proton Car. From Saga – Wira – Waja etc.
    My Family has owned 5 Protons before, I proud to own the no. 6 Preve without much complain.

So far, Proton cars rarely breakdown at the road side. Have you ever wonder why? and why no one praise the reliability of the Proton Cars? Or at least is still can bring you from point A to B.

For a new Protons, you hardly encounter any problem for the first 3 years or i will say 5 years before require any major service.

Problem starts when the car owner bring their proton cars to Mechanic shops and demand for a 3rd party spare parts as a replacement. Worst, using refurbished type spare parts in order to save some money. When the car breakdown more frequently, everyone start questioning about the brand name itself and start blaming the quality.

Ladies and Gentlemen, please ask yourself, how many of you will maintain the Proton with original spare parts when the car already 5 years old? How many of you will bring Proton back to the authorized service center after 10k km service?

So, please judge yourself again, how frequent you saw a Proton car breakdown at the roadside because of mechanical problem??

Thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • halo friend,
      a lot of freaky accident for the satria neo. of course no mechanical breakdown at roadside. they either cannot start at home or at office car park. how to break down at road side when you can even make them start? are u working for proton? please find yourself a better prospect job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
      • bonbon on Mar 30, 2013 at 12:53 am

keyboard warrior…

• NeoLover on Mar 30, 2013 at 8:10 am

I have been driving Satria Neo 1.6 campro) since it came out in 2006, put the pedal on the floor occasionally on a straight road. clocked 180kmh (cut off speed) without any problem. while enjoying corner road on the way to Genting, the car stick on the road like glue. NEVER face any breakdown. only had ONE problem with timing belt at 100000km because i didn’t change it when i was suppose to. then again, i NEVER miss the 5000km service interval. those who didn’t have the discipline to properly service their car who always whine about the problem when it is their own fault, but they blame the car instead. Please don’t simply bash…

• too many? how many? compared to perodua Myvi? but still perodua/vios is better in terms of safety for you is it?

• My dad once own a Saga, then a Iswara, then a Wira, now a Waja . All trouble free and yes, never breakdown. Now he is thinking of getting a Preve Hatchback after driving a trouble free Mum’s Preve which she bought last Raya. Mum’s Preve is very comfortable and safe. When it rains traction control comes into play for grip while ESP prevents stabilised the car if you hit puddles of water, other than having EDB and ABS. And this car has 7 speed CVT which actually saves fuel. Body is also made of Ultra High Tensile steel.

• Anonymous on Mar 29, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Initially planned to buy Preve but after hearing so many bad comments, now need to think twice. Is Preve really that bad? Any Preve owner can give more advice?

• Bro, here’s a link for you to get a better perspective. Over here ppl praise & bash blindly.
      Anyway good or bad you are the one accountable for it coz you paid for it.. peace
      http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2499762

• spec offered among the best in its class, but if u r willing to enjoy the so so quality built by proton, u can get it now – preve cfe owner with 9 years loan

• Preve is a good car. You get 7 gear CVT, light turbo, ABS, EDB, Traction control, ESP, 4 airbags, paddle shift, European handling, Japanese reliability, rain sensor, light sensor, follow me home light, and body made of ultra high tensile steel. My mum had it since august 2012 and is trouble free, has good millage too. Cheers

• bobo marley 13 on Mar 29, 2013 at 3:21 pm

just imagine their management : Oh our preve not selling very well what should we do:
    a) spend little money, lets improve the current car and find out what our customer want plus do a benchmarking.
    b) lets spend 100 million redesign a new car base on the old car qualities…new body but keep the annoying front grill,boring dash board and all the phethetic quality the old cars have.
    Boss : ok we choose B. ok who’s going for Golf…

thats the story of proton..
    Engineer : Engineering first class CGPA 3.9 ,
    Boss : Bachalor in Dance Art studies class 3 CGPA 2.5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • penner on Mar 29, 2013 at 4:28 pm

You are living in fantasy world. That’s too much imagination of you until you don’t go to find something to prove the truth.

Preve hatch is not something to cover preve sales. It’s already planned before the preve came out, codename p322a.

Haters bash without knowledge, please this is 2013, if you come up with something with only your bad desire to hate something without, that’s plain stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • bonbon on Mar 30, 2013 at 12:57 am

keyboard warrior, bring your keyboard to pasar malam too,,incase there is snatch thieves, you can hantuk them with your keyboard. but dont go to pavilion, hisham was there…

• why the hack ppl always say proton have very good handling…….blah3. If not because of the tax, with the same amount of money we are paying for a preve, we can get a Toyota gt86, which we can drift while using our leg! that is called handling. A heavy steering and low profile spring is not equal to good handling for Christ’ sake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 37
    • GT-Rider on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:33 pm

puny GT86, can show off a bit la but scary like shit when GT-R coming from back

• Dru-Zod on Mar 30, 2013 at 7:57 pm

We have to give credit where its due. Proton’s handling improved tremendously starting with the Waja, Gen-2 and Neo. Lotus would have helped them on these cars. Waja was a damn good at taking corners and nice to drive R&H wise.

• BMW vs PROTON on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:35 am

Believe it or not, Savvy more superior on corners than Waja. Perhaps because the body is smaller.

• lembu kondo on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:19 pm

it is very different platform to compare them both. proton are using FF, 86 is FR. both got the same front setup; macpherson. however, 86 use double wishbone for rear which is superior than multilink. ground clearance for 86 is 120, while proton, let’s pick preve, is 155, which contribute to lower COG, means, more stability. height is also different.
    if want to compare the handling of proton, just make it apple to apple, perhaps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • many estupendo bash here, got estupendo thumb downs

• encik boss on Mar 30, 2013 at 7:04 pm

My wishlist:
    1) better front bumper design
    2) rectify the autofold sidemirror issue
    3) to use 2.0 petronas engine or bigger turbo engine

• Dru-Zod on Mar 30, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 193
  • My mum’s Preve is a gem. It has Traction control and ESP which many cars don’t have. The millage is good too. My dad will sell his trouble free 7 year old Waja to me (yeah) and buy this hatchback. I see some people want more air bags but most of the cars that jam the roads have ony one diver in it? Preve and Preve hatch are value for money cars.

• Aku bangga proton pakai HPF body, which mean HPF (Huduh Punya Frame)..haha

• OSEMEDIA on Jun 09, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Mengapakah sangat lama??? proton, ohh proton!