VIDEO: Proton Preve Hatchback doing night testing

Here’s what we found on Youtube. User joe4g93 recently uploaded this video of the upcoming Proton Preve Hatchback testing in the night. Somewhere in Nilai, says the title. Those filming the video pulled alongside a white-coloured test mule before lining up behind the P3-22A at the toll booth. Nothing we haven’t seen before, except for the glowing tail lamps.

The most recent sighting of the Preve Hatchback was earlier this month, where a metallic blue unit was spotted for the first time. We’ve been told that the car will debut after Raya, so it will be at least a month more before we get to finally see the car. Meanwhile, check out Theophilus Chin’s rendering of the car, based on a leaked pix of the hatchback’s rear end circulating online.

Recently, Proton confirmed that a compact model will debut in the first half of 2014. Expect this to be a B-segment five-door hatchback that’s smaller than the Preve Hatchback. A naming contest for this compact car called Nama Siapa Hebat is ongoing – full details here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 198
    • Luqman_HKM on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Next month after Raya lah, pandai. Always read first. Even Alfa took ages to launch the 4C. Perodua? Not a single update. BMW is 10x worse : so many car variants that are not available here yet. If Proton built then just launch, I have no idea how Proton would be..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 37
      • Jimmy on Jul 16, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 319
        • What I mean it already 3 years since 2010 they produced prototype of Proton Tuah (preve) & Proton emas (the new hatchback). Monthly since then we read about prototype, prototype but it will not come out (new b segment hacthback) until next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • Jimmy on Jul 17, 2013 at 5:28 pm

You missed the point.
            3 years from now will be 2016, something is happening in 2017 or 2018. Gentlemen always tunaikan janji.

• Bmw lagi? Betul2 syok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 40
        • proton_basher-suck on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:09 pm

I cannot stop laughing as proton bashers got many thumbs down. Serve you right!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 12
          • Of course thumbs down. As an auto company, instead of working on quality, you go online thumbs down.
            Trying to change people’s perception online without doing the actual work? You have tried so many times with all the fake post … it just doesn’t work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
          • amoi_suck on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:04 pm

If it doesn’t have quality in metal, can preve get 5 stars australian ncap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
          • Since when NCAP equal to quality?
            You can’t even differentiate between safety and quality.
            With Proton hiring people like you, no wonder they are at this sorry state.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
          • amoi_suck on Jul 17, 2013 at 8:46 pm

@amoi, you read my words, I specified it to metal. I didn’t say airbags as any cars can be equipped with any techs. But metal, if it’s not good enough, it will give worse impact to driver/passenger in the test. please read more ok?

Still want to say it’s has no quality? LOL So dumbass. Go and create your own quality standard where all tin milo cars can get 5 stars. The car is intact but driver/passengers die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • Still want to about metal? The whole industry knows what kind of metal your crappy car use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
          • pirlo on Jul 17, 2013 at 11:39 pm

amoi, please enlighten us the material name of the metal. please include as well the properties and thickness. you seem to know the metal that proton use.
            please also gain some knowledge regarding HPF. jot down as well other manufacturers in the world that use HPF technology.

• amoi_suck on Jul 18, 2013 at 5:00 am

what metal amoi? lol. 5 stars aust ncap car use what metal?

• beager on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:31 pm

coz Proton handling is superb! It’s Lotus tuning legacy, now Proton’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 34

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 171
      • puihhh on Jul 21, 2013 at 2:28 am

test the aerodynamic of the new design la bongok. try to detect noise, vibration, drag, tune suspension and mechanical settings, etc…

• My assumption is that Proton wants to weed out as many reliability issues as possible.

When the Prevé launched in April 2012, most early owners had to re-flash their ECU, change the front headlamp bulbs, gear shift lever, etc.

Now Proton has taken care of the major problems, but they made made a loss both in terms of profits and brand image.

I think they’ve learnt their lesson. That’s why we can see so many P3-22A testing units on the roads.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 12
      • mystvearn on Jul 16, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Correct.

Keep calm people. Let Proton test as much as they want. If tak test kang orang complain car faulty. Tapi bila buat banyak test complain bila nak jual. Just relax.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 190 Thumb down 6
        • mystvearn on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:18 am

Yang dok complain memanjang ni pun, bukannya akan keta ni bila keluar pun. Proton dan orang yang waras patut abaikan jer orang2 sebegini.

Kalau hang betul2 nak beli, for sure hang akan lagi suka proton test keta ni sebaik mungkin. Takder complain2.

Haters are going to be haters. It also shows the immature thinking of those who keep cakap bila nak release. The date has been set mid August. Stop complaining if you keep seeing it testing until then.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 2
          • decifa on Jul 17, 2013 at 5:49 am

Yup, I believe they have lost their minds.

• mystevearn on Jul 17, 2013 at 8:00 am

Yes keep calm people…it’s not that we never hear such same fairy tales of Proton promise for quality control…Ha Ha Ha still many suckers believe on Proton promises…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
          • xilim on Jul 17, 2013 at 8:57 pm

New way of bashing? I see you trying to use similar names with some commentators here. Believe me, it won’t work as people can read.

• kadajawi on Jul 16, 2013 at 6:38 pm

They did a lot of testing with the Preve too though… you just can’t find all flaws.

They may be doing these tests now to fine tune the suspension etc…

I do think the hatchback should be less problematic from the start, since the car shouldn’t be so different from the sedan. Chop of boot, change design a bit and call it a day. Engine, gearbox etc. can stay the same.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
        • driver on Jul 17, 2013 at 7:35 am

once u chop off the rear, dynamic of the car changes.. u can’t just call it a day just yet. everything has to be re-considered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • kadajawa on Jul 17, 2013 at 7:57 am

Less problematic? What a joke. Heard that since 1985 lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 126
        • amoi_suck on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:27 pm

old basi story again, sigh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 6
        • pirlo on Jul 17, 2013 at 12:41 am

chill amoi. the car won’t affect your myvi s-series sales. different segment. don’t bother. run along.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
        • dear psyco amoi, u r so outdated la, it is old prob in Khazanah era, not DRB…

• Yea yea …What’s the different? It is still managed by the same clowns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • You have mistaken to call your name to them, kakaka

• ayamxxx on Jul 17, 2013 at 9:07 am

the gps they used are based on lokatoo gps, which based on the Telekom Malaysia maps.

However it is not updated frequently,Telekom Malaysia maps. Why can’t they buy the license from Garmin and put to their Sat Nav Radio. Toyota and Honda can done it, why can’t u.. PROTON

• Yeah, you just shoot your own foot. Now you admit Proton purchasing dept are crap.

• persona & persona elegance owner on Jul 24, 2013 at 10:47 pm

I have both the Persona first generation and Elegance. The difference is big. First generation, it can get a bit shaky beyond speeds of 120kmh and braking is as good as running a 100m race. The pick up was just bad.

But when the Elegance came out, and through mostly good reviews of it, I decided to risk it and bought the H-Line variant. Apart from the minor stuff like funny sounds coming from the seats (it’s not a Proton without it :p), it’s an awesome car. I drove it outstation many times, very comfortable and pick up is just enough to do overtaking.

I’ve driven cars around the same class (City, Vios, Latio, SX4, 1.5/1.6), while those Jap cars are better in some ways, I don’t feel the need to pay like 20-30 thousand extra. Road holding on highway driving, the Persona is a good contender and on a hot sunny day, Persona/Proton’s aircond definitely wins. Just acceleration can be a bit disappointing but hey, this isn’t a performance car.

Safety wise, for me, the most important safety feature in the car is the driver. The car can have all that safest safety features ever, but if you drove at 200kmh hoping you will escape unharmed if an accident were to happen, seriously, you have got to be joking.

So Proton definitely worked out some rough edges for the Persona. With the Preve, I’m pretty sure they are doing the same thing.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 139
  • Hasnol on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 299
    • no name on Jul 16, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Bro i dont agree with ur fact….in fact conti cars manufacturer like vw n other do lots of testing..please do ur homework b4 blindly bashing….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 278 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawi on Jul 16, 2013 at 6:40 pm

Conti car makers test much more. They test in Nevada in the hottest place on Earth, they test near the arctic circle, have their own testing facilities to simulate very poor roads, have high speed testing facilities, they are blasting down the Autobahn to do high speed tests, … they just don’t test as much in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 341 Thumb down 3
      • jammerlee on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:00 pm

That’s why conti car r nt cheap. think of the cost la. why preve need to test at those place?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 85
        • Dru-Zod on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:28 pm

These tests are needed for cars to be homologated properly if they are to be sold in foreign markets. Cold and hot weather tests are essential. Proton is right in carrying out as much tests as needed so that they can weed out as much problems as they can before their cars go on sale.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 2
        • ayamxxx on Jul 17, 2013 at 9:09 am

I think the test driver that done for Proton is a female, drive carefully and not rammed it to red-rpm

• pak lebai on Jul 17, 2013 at 8:08 am

As if those countries like Germany or USA fancy buying Proton. Cut my didi if true. Wanna bet?

• just a short word here.. they do NOT run tests on Autobahn. They are just using the autobahns to drive to their testtracks. The OEMs do have their own testtracks to run full load.

• pirlo on Jul 17, 2013 at 12:44 am

another brainless comment. is there any r&d for bmw or vw here in malaysia?
      only assembly plant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • driver on Jul 17, 2013 at 7:40 am

they conduct testing even more.. but since malaysia is not their homeland, that’s why u don’t see them around. whereas, proton is developing their car here.. hence people see more of them testing around.

• this entry will be full by many comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 29
    • Jason on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Entry involving ‘National car maker’ is meant to invite more traffic to this site.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 170 Thumb down 1
      • good strategy…

• spyshotX on Jul 17, 2013 at 10:14 am

spot on bro!! i remembered last time PT was crowned #1 local automotive site due to all of the postings on preve.. since then so many other local sites follow suits..

• Sid Alias on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 111
  • Lol.. Compact model debut in first half of 2014 but still dunno when PPH debut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 79
  • Mamat on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 123

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 189
    • CLEMENT on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 168
    • _xXx_ on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:16 pm

next test at Similajau, Sarawak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 95
    • kamal on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 229
      • LOL why so butthurt? ;P chill la..
        Btw they need to do as much test as possible to address the lack of refinement and lousy build quality which is the main issue of the current proton, give them sometime

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 3
  • NeoLover on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:54 pm

All other car dealer frantically offering new ‘offers’ in order to sell their cars for Raya and Proton is planning to launch this after raya. They should take advantage of this festive season and the nature of Malaysian like to buy product during offers or buying something new in order to ‘share’ with relatives and friends during festive season. I wonder what is the Proton’s marketing team strategy. They must be pretty confident that this Preve Hatchback can make good sales. Tired of seeing spy shots and testing already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 99
    • Green on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 217
  • Kuryakin on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:55 pm

meh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 70
  • its a local made Mazda 3!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 90
  • People already fedup waiting for so long… Proton might as well scrap this project looking at potential customers already jump ship with the launch of competitors A & B segments…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 97
  • BLUR SOTONG on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 359

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 127
  • United on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 203
    • basher-suck on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:00 pm

i can see from the vote numbers otherwise LOL. They unite to dislike bashers, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • ayamxxx on Jul 17, 2013 at 9:31 am

if Proton done a god job, then the basher will not bash them. so….

• basher-suck on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Nope, for them, all proton doings are wrong, nothing is right.

• Polo Saga on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 134
  • Same platform, same engine, same gearbox, same almost here n there with current Preve…
    Too much of testing and wasting of fund & resources. Should launch ASAP to capture market share fast. Wait wait n wait….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
    • jammerlee on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:06 pm

seriously you know these engine and specs details? how you know that? who told you? come on and be optimistic,proton oso know how to calculate one. If there’s no change why they need to do RnD n test runs..i’m expecting a petronas engine here=))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
      • tuner on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:02 pm

prolly more aggressive tuning, unlike T.N and H which give you same output

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
      • Petronas engine will be reserved & available only for upcoming D-segment replacement of perdana. Cost is another issue. Get your facts right before giving barking comments.

• DonkeyKong on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:54 am

You mean, you didn’t know that the P3-22A was supposed to have a 6-speed manual gearbox with a higher-output CFE turbocharged engine?

The output on the auto model (138bhp and 205Nm torque) was due to the limitations of the CVT3 gearbox and not the engine. But when coupled with a manual gearbox…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 0
      • driver on Jul 17, 2013 at 7:49 am

interesting! perhaps they need a higher load dual-clutch tranny. even a 5 speed is ok.

• why go for a DCT transmission when a AT Transmission by ZF runs smoothly. The torque interruption during gear change is fairly minimize. Hence you feel like a DCT gear change. Probably proton should start searching new suppliers.

• no name on Jul 20, 2013 at 2:07 am

proton still not afford to buy ZF gearbox bcoz of tight budget some management issues…

• mrlala on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:49 pm

nice! waiting for it to launch…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 12
  • Hawk5 on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:51 pm

No hurry, take your time, slow & steady…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • Pariah on Jul 16, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 129
  • Mamat on Jul 16, 2013 at 4:04 pm

tail lamp mcm tu je ke? BTW tak terang langsung!! mcm lampu belakang persona FL, lampu besar tapi bile malam alahai, sikitnye LED.. lagi lawa lampu LED kat kedai acc.. ni bkn hatchback, tapi hentamback ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 79
    • momok on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:05 pm

ok la tu, takkan nak banyak sangat macam beemer pulak. tu dah kerata mewah namanya.

• azmilsan on Jul 17, 2013 at 2:42 am

Nak byk LED pegi I-City laa bro.. typical basher..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Prebet Sapu on Jul 16, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Skoda Rapid hatch better lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 104
  • KillBox1Alpha on Jul 16, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 197
    • b’coz is proton ….everyone is excited to comment and cant wait to book one..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 273 Thumb down 1
  • mizzuddin on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 168
    • mine still ok..saga blm power windows

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 0
    • mizzuddin on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 119
      • Theres a huge blindly bashers and also blindly supporters lurking around. And if talk about pros and cons you will end up getting a combo thumbdown from both as a packages ;p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 75
      • maybe they do not realize that you are being cynical to the “unethical vendors”

• DonkeyKong on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:57 am

Moron still talking about power windows. They use scisor type mechanism now, no longer cable & pulley. I haven’t had any problems with my power window, central locking, air conditioning or anything at all although my mileage has just exceeded 100,000km. No squeaks and rattles, heck even the shock absorbers are all still okay, but I think I’ll need to get some bushings sorted out ’cause I’m a bit of a rough driver.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 0
      • mizzuddin on Jul 17, 2013 at 12:47 pm

moron?
        i myself own the top spec sedan laa kawan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
        • preve salesman on Jul 30, 2013 at 4:08 pm

preve is powerful car..better than japs car and europe car..please admit it and bersyukur..

• Kambing Gurun on Jul 18, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Last month proton sc changed parts related to power windows for my preve mt. So I guess you should get those replaced for free already?

• paultan reader love to bashing Proton product…
    but whenever news about others car maker publish by paultan, the reaction not as hot as Proton news..
    here i can see Proton’s Basher actually give a spiritual comment and they are concern about Proton..
    hehehe peace =)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 1
  • Add rear aircon, moonroof/sunroof to premium trim. Our localmakers really lack such innovation to combat with korean and contis offering

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 106
  • mizzuddin on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:30 pm

and i think people who bash proton like mad simply because they own nothing… don’t even know how to own their dream ride… and does not even know how bad other manufacturers suffer far worst with their own problematic offerings

look at volkswagen with their DSG and piston koyak TSI along with their megatronic… majority occured not even reaching 50k km running on the road… chirping paint

pugs with their battery life, cam pulley design flaw, broken valve and spark plug tip for their Prince engine… 5008 creaking chassis on crawling speed… gear selector and solenoid valve for their AL4s…

go figure… ask bmw owners… ask ford owners

well… batch blind would never agree

the biggest problem for proton is their batch themselves… there are a lot majority out there, malaysians, will simply perceived the batch as “banyak masalah” and buatan malysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 4
    • mizzuddin on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:22 pm

own nothing might as well translate to

– own a B segment Japs made in thailand CBU especially T

– own a C segment koreans

– own a Myvi or Alza

– a used over five years old import marques which facing never ending corrective maintenance one after another

all, more or less, suffer rattles, plasticky feels and other quality issues much like proton

no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 61
      • if they own something, why bash proton? it’s the ENVY to see proton cars live longer on roads. even the RV is not as good Japs due to cheaper price = cheaper RV, it’s handling is anytime much better than any Japs car

• mizzuddin on Jul 17, 2013 at 12:40 pm

to conclude “own nothing”, simply put, having nothing up to what they madly shouting about… not even close

• You really think that puny knowledge you got from Proton employment helps you in a blog here?
      Result speaks for itself. How many Preve have Proton delivered?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • You tried to say the best selling car is the best car? That’s old joke by clowns in PT, sudah basi and not funny anymore.

• Then crappy p1 car is best car ka? Hahaha
          You made my day ..hahaha

• hahaha you said it already when i didn’t suggest any. You really live in denial, please get consultation from your doc fast

• protonsucks on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 114

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 130
    • chill bro. i know u hate the gov. all gov products you bash. hahahahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 2
  • paultonned on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:43 pm

aiya. let them test how many time they like la. in the end, the customer will get the benefits. semua mau bising.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 2
  • After working hours so many proton supporters browse to this website, now i know y they love proton so much hehehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 78
  • All thumbs down for proton basher really made my day…I wonder whether all employee in Proton surfed paultan..hahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 20
  • peyno on Jul 16, 2013 at 10:49 pm

proton basher= perodua salesman.. dont act like real japs car salesman la..prrrfhhtthhh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 8
  • my next dream car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
  • Datuk on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:51 pm

Buy the current preve or wait for this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
  • Zulkifli SAlam on Jul 17, 2013 at 12:00 am

The thumbs down votes are amazing.
    I suspect some manipulation here.
    Paultan should verify this.
    Unless P1 staff smells retrenchment around
    the corner.

• hanana on Jul 17, 2013 at 9:07 pm

seems legit to me where people are more keen to vote rather than give comment

• Protonactuallynotbad on Jul 17, 2013 at 12:05 am

Who said Proton bad, should go fk yourself. Proton has the power! Power window problem? Please, my 4 years old saga blm boughted in 09 also no problem. Stop hating on it and freaking wait for the launch. Dumbo who comment don’t even own a car yet bash.

• CharlesPreve on Aug 05, 2013 at 4:53 pm

I 100% agree Proton now and last completely different….much much better…I own a Preve Turbo 3 months…It is amazed and I travelled from Ipoh to JB weekly.4.5 hrs-5 hrs…No other Japanese cars can give you such power with this value…from 120 km/h to 180km/ easily…match with Polo and even Golf…real 138 hp and really high torque at 4000rpm.it just kicks as you wish. What is Nissan Almera & Vios?? I tried all these… no fight… Anyway, I am still evaluating its parts durability.. But who cares..5 yrs warranty. Someone out there don’t just talk “kok”.and hate proton of the olden days…Just FYI, I do have my Polo, and that is my comparison…try drive it your own ..it is only RM 69k after discount….

• Vince on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:10 am

Talked to a Proton sales this weekend.

They were going to test the hatchback on Sunday.

selling 80k, same mechanics, but Proton is pushing every accessories to the max.

6 air bags, leather seats, reverse camera, body kit etc.. worth to wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • jaeger on Jul 17, 2013 at 8:28 am

80k?
      Preve, 60k or lower then P1 boleh lah beli though still over-priced to me.
      Majority of car owners buy car based on car prices due to the financial status they are in, not because they love the P1 / P2 brand.
      The saddest part is many people resort to getting 9 years car loans to purchase their cars.
      I thought Govt of any country should be helping to lessen the burdens of their citizens. Not to solve the “affordability” of cars but allowing 9 year car loans.
      Do not respond with, “then take public transport or ride a bike or any other stupid remarks”, you are missing the point of my message.
      Car prices should be going down, not up.

• Talked to Proton sales? Talked to yourself kua. Semangat ada, tapi acting failed.

• You are one who left bashing here, where are your friends (or dupes)???????

• yoolang on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:32 am

i think the proton is not have a trouble for sell the car when launch. all people is fight why see so many time got test drive but simply reason is because the proton is come from a malaysia.

if live the german also have can see they is testing everyday, maybe more test. local car always of course can see many test in home country like preve, forte, and myvi.

in one time there is have more the car in test compare for buy and make worth.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • basher-suck on Jul 17, 2013 at 5:40 am

Haters allways hate. Even they know all this, they will bash like no tomorrow. Suggest them to go to see psychiatrist for some treatment, Lol

• driver on Jul 17, 2013 at 7:57 am

i had difficulty appreciating your grammar, but i feel ur message. second that!

• yulang on Jul 17, 2013 at 8:04 am

No you are wrong. We rakyat simply sick and tired of Proton the root cause of our suffering.

Proton is the epitome of anti-competition and syok sendiri disease.

If Proton so good go sell it in Japan, Korea and USA. Pffftttttt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • frankfurter on Jul 17, 2013 at 8:09 am

agreed with u!! if u all go to munich, u will see everyday bmw testing their cars, in wolfsburg a lot of camouflage VW there

• Now Proton even asking their factory operator to contribute in this blog ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Paul, do consider to remove the “Hidden due to lowcomment rating.” feature as you know your voting system does not work in a “logical” sense anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • jersey on Jul 17, 2013 at 9:12 pm

It makes sense. The more people bash proton, the more people hate the bashers. ‘Nuff said. If you want to comment please give appropriate ones.

• autodriver on Jul 17, 2013 at 9:21 am

I might get a lot of thumb down from my comment below.

Proton did improve in its quality compare to the time of launching Gen2 which is the most terrible quality ever made by Proton. I had own one and visit more than 20 times first year.

Persona launched few years after Gen2 and few friends bought it. The quality of Persona improve obviously. However 1 thing Proton has NEVER changed and improve, the engine vocal is too loud and latest CVT response slow. I do test drive Preve CFE when it first launched, and when I rev the engine the vocal is terribly high. The response of CVT is also slow and sluggish. Despite of having great handling (beat all Japanese and Korean C-segment), the performance is disappointing to many as the engine power restricted by the slow response CVT gearbox.

I got few friends wanted to buy Preve, but most commented the engine vocal too loud and less response performance. At the end some go to Persona, Inspira or Forte.

In fact I am wondering how come Proton never realize its engine and air-cond compressor noise is so irritating to driver and passengers. That’s why I did not put high hope into this Preve hatchback if this thing is not being resolved. Proton had spent a lot of money for the R&D and I hope they will get their ROI back.

• autadriver on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Then why still buy Proton?

Shoot yourself in the foot lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • autodriver on Jul 17, 2013 at 10:57 pm

I am sorry coz I cant shoot myself down because I already sold my Gen2 years ago and driving a foreign car now.

• ayamxxx on Jul 17, 2013 at 9:37 am

so confirm no 6 manual gear?
    I just heard that it just like normal preve, with adding on accessory..

kinda sat, still using the CVT

• skyjuice on Jul 17, 2013 at 11:15 am

based on the video, that car is equipped with HID headlamp.

• supporter on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Many of the comment only bla2 without thinking properly. Proton have their own reason for anything.late launching?many they did not confident the reliability of the car yet they done the testing.later they launch without 100% confident u oll blame, bla2 again. next, u want a full sophisticated, quality, reliability car but when they announce the price, u say it mahal la,if want a good one, go buy merc, bmw other,it was equal quality to what u pay for.for the people thay say it all tin milo (amoi) do ur research.metel sheet is imported from Japan with different thickness. Preveis thicker than Saga.Yet HPF improve grain size of the molecule so that it toughfer and can withstand impact. Please put away your mantality, Proton is not perfect,goverment control tax,segment is different,they are many reason behind it. One thing also, compared to Honda, Toyota, Nissan, they only eksport car that has been laun 1 year at their country too.why..testing..so please be considerate

• Ahmadfaris93 on Jul 22, 2013 at 12:34 pm

Test here and there. We’ve seen the spyshots every now and then. Even the Mercedes S-class takes shorter time

• nieko on Jul 30, 2013 at 2:47 pm

I Think they are hiding something ,

if I remember correctly this car has everything you would expect from a 2014 model ie the car comes with

1)Hill Start Release
    2)Reverse Camera
    3)ESP/ESC/TC/BA/ABS/EBD/6 AIRBAG
    4)145hp /220NM (RETUNED ECU)
    5)NEW REAR DEFUSER DESIGN
    6)NEW FRONT GRILL
    7)DRL

so if you guys ask me I think its a good C segment hatchback ,plus if I were to buy this car I would go for the Blue car ummhh I just can’t stop looking at that colour …….