SPYSHOTS: First look at the Honda Accord-based Proton Perdana Replacement Model (PRM)

Proton-Honda-Accord-Perdana-Replacement-008

Here’s a first look at the car that government officials will be using as their daily ride in the future – the Proton Perdana Replacement Model based on the previous-generation Honda Accord, and not the current Accord. This black mule was sighted at R&R Gombak by sharp-eyed reader Khai RULE Cultus.

The government fleet story is a lengthy one full of twists and turns. The government currently uses the aging Proton Perdana V6 Executive for the speaker and deputy speaker of the Parliament, judges, members of the administration and selected Grade A civil servants. Selected Grade B and C category civil servants get the Proton Inspira.

With Proton concentrating on more affordable segments, there has been no focus on producing a D-segment car, and most would agree rightfully so, considering the lower sales volume involved, as well as the positioning of the Proton brand.

Proton-Honda-Accord-Perdana-Replacement-001

Over the years, there have been many candidates for a donor car to be badge-engineered as a Proton Perdana replacement – we’ve had rumours of the Mitsubishi 380, Nissan Fuga a.k.a. Infiniti M, and most recently the Honda Accord.

We first heard news of Proton using the Honda Accord chassis for the new Perdana in April this year, a follow up to an agreement between Honda and Proton to study the matter in October 2012. But then perhaps the government got fed up of waiting – it was announced in August this year that the Perdana Executive and Inspira will be replaced by the Honda Accord 2.4 and 2.0 respectively.

Then there was a sudden about-turn in October, when MITI deputy minister Datuk Hamim Samuri revealed in the Parliament that Proton had developed a replacement for the Perdana based on a Honda chassis, and that government officials had already inspected the car and decided to use it instead of the Accord.

Proton-Honda-Accord-Perdana-Replacement-005

This Proton-badged Accord has very minimal disguise, and still looks largely like a Honda Accord. The grille is covered up, which suggests that Proton has its own take on the car’s nose. The alloy wheels on this car look similar to those on the Proton Exora Prime.

Inside, there are minimal changes, with the Honda badge on the steering wheel simply replaced by a Proton badge. Visible cues such as paddle shifters and VSA switch means that the donor form is the 2.4 VTi-L variant. We also see some kind of ballast in the rear to simulate rear occupant load weight balance – in tandem with wired sensors on the air-conditioning vents, the car is likely undergoing AC evaluation trials under load. Also, the stock redline on the tachometer infers no change in engine, and should put rumours of the Petronas E01e engine being under that hood to rest.

The previous-gen Honda Accord took part in our D-segment shootout with the Camry and Teana – click here to find out how it fared. Will the “Accordana” (or if you prefer, “Percord”) be similar in the driving department, or will Proton infuse its much-touted ride and handling qualities into the package?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Seems to be that Proton just panicked after the announcement of government officials using Honda Accords and decided to plaster their badge on Accords to secure a deal.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 275 Thumb down 13
    • Doesntmatterwhatmynameis on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:18 pm

i don’t get it. this car isn’t for the public and will only be used by the government so why waste money and rebadge it to a proton? is it to support proton? is this where all our tax money going to?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 268 Thumb down 36
      • dino years on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:21 am

even mitsu is rebadging renaults, so rebadging isn’t really as malu-ing as some of you think.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 97
        • No.. this shame of the nation.. cant accept..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 59
          • wendy on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:40 am

i think Honda Malaysia who should be blame for this, if they dont think so much on profit for this deal and think about their existing buyer, they wont go into the agreement at the first place, what i know is Mitsubishi who knock the proton door to propose proton to rebadge their lancer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 14
        • Wake up from your dino years. I don’t think the issue is “malu” or not. The issue is about the effect of 2nd hand value + the degradation in quality which is usually associated with Protons.

When mitsu rebadge renault, does any of the above happen? I think not. So pls wake up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 53
          • wendy on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:56 am

Honda Malaysia who will gained a lot from this agreement, proton already knew that by entering this agreement they will jeopardize Proton national pride knowing that Malaysian people who thing they know so much about the industry will bash any decision that they make, i dont see any japanese make a noise to mitsu for rebadging the french renault, and most the world automobile manufacturer did rebadge so what is wrong with rebadging..at least we have the lousy proton compare to singapore/indon/Philippine/thailand…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 19
          • seriously wendy? what’s wrong with you? pls see my comment above. it’s not about malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
          • Sam Loo on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:21 pm

Good RV then just buy Toyota bro! Best RV even amongst the Jap brands. No one asked you to buy Accordana and now butthurt.

Want a Hilux?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
          • Service Perdana - RM300,000 on Nov 09, 2013 at 2:52 pm

This Accord or Proton Perdana is just a small issue. Remember many years back, a story broke and so fast it got swept under the carpet?

It is the contract for the maintenance of the car. Came out in the paper, each Proton Perdana, for 3 years, had a total maintenance bill of RM300,000 per car. Yes, you heard it right. For just 3 years, each Proton Perdana had RM300,000 maintenance bill on it. No modifications. No turbo boost. No bullet proof glass. Just normal car service. Oil change and the usual service interval parts changed like brake pads, spark plugs, tyres etc.

Hear it right again, each Proton Perdana, the Government of Malaysia paid RM300,000 over 3 years to service the car. Amazing. The Proton Perdana is only RM100,000 but each car incurred an addition RM300,000 in service bills.

The question here is, who is the service workshop and who is the service workshop owner related to. Dig deeper and you will see, it will be the kakak ipar, mertua, cucu cicit of some Menteri.

Now the new Accord also same thing. No pint making noise about the car. Find out who is the so called “agent” who will service these Accord. This person, sure will be a multi billionaire in no time.

I also got Proton Perdana and in 3 years, maximum my service bill is RM5000. Somemore, first 3 years got warranty, so how can one even spend so much on servicing your car? Since warranty covers everything, the most you pay for is tyres, speark plugs, brake pad, oil filter and air filter.

So, how does tyres, speark plugs, brake pad, oil filter and air filter cost RM300,000 for maybe 12 service sessions (3 years at 4 times per year)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 7
        • Aidil on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:24 am

Inspira use lancer, perdana use accord ….. soon proton will become what??? I think it is going further from its original goal. Shouldn’t hv spent so much money before if the end product is something like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 25
          • Julian Mok on Dec 11, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Senang saja! It’s called the NEP untuk memajukan Bumiputra at the expense of wang rakyat. It’s simply buying from Honda in bulk and rebadge it in Proton. Same like Naza…

• KnowItAll on Dec 14, 2013 at 7:21 am

Aidil, I suggest u to study the history of Perodua Myvi, and Alza. I don’t understand why our Malaysian have short minded like you.

• More Important Problems on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:05 am

Why revive the dead Perdana? The Perdana was a big failure to begin with. ANy local car exceeding the RM100,000 threshhold is doomed for failure. The Perdana was such a big failure that only government departments bought it. Nobody really owned a new one. Then when government departments disposed of their 3 year old cars, it went for a ridiculous figure of RM30,000. It was then the general public bought it. It is amazing how fast the Perdana depreciates when one buys it.

Normally, people who can buy anything RM100,000 and above are concerned with RV and depreciation. They will never cough out RM100,000 for something that becomes less than half the prioe in 3 years.

This is bad planning and marketing by Proton. Remember, no Malaysian will pay RM100,000 for a local car. As usual, government departments and ministries will be forced to buy it at the expense of our tax payers money. At the end of the day, you and me lose.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 27
          • Jimmy on Nov 08, 2013 at 5:26 pm

I think if the Perdaccord is asking for just RM108,888 for its 2.4L or V6 variant, with at least 4 airbags and ESP, there will still be buyers. The design is Honda, and original Accord spareparts are widely available, more durable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
          • nobodyatuk on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Jimmy,

More durable? Heard about their leaky power steering pump? Leak within 1 year!

• sharing model is ok, but proton is so “lazy” by just change the logo and claim it as theirs. at least face lift the front & back to make it look difference la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 19
          • Low Budget on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Don’t worry, changing the Grills, Bumpers and suspensions are Proton’s specialty, I am sure they will do it for the incoming Proton Accord.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
          • violet on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:52 am

Honda didnt giv proton the whole car maahh.. juz the chasis.. aiyoo

• Julian Mok on Dec 11, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Bro. You are buying at discounted rate in the Proton name. You buy that discounted price from Proton later rebadge back to Honda mah… Senang saja! Still an Accord from Honda. All engine parts Honda!

• violet on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:50 am

btw, its no rebadging.. proton juz gettin the chasis.. all others will b up to proton to develeop themselves.. dont fool ourselves by hoping it will b vtec 2.0/2.4 in there.. this will b a brand new car.. juz with the old accord shape.. why should malu mah?

• Sanzzo on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Its not about malu-ing, its about Merompak disiang hari.. ;)

• If rebadge to proton then more cheaper. Even ford got funding from US gov and holden from Aussie gov. Sometimes too much asking can reflect one’s effort and achievement in life despite the info and knowledge is everywhere on the net, sigh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 12
      • whether rebadge or not, its aledi d fact. but hope this proton accord wil b selling to public at <RM100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • abuya123 on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:53 am

This is problem when you only rely on web news and speculation. Pakcik-pakcik surau dan penunggu kedai kopi complain why go for Honda because we already have Proton. Shall be national pride. When use proton badge, then you start complain.

Buat tu salah, buat ni salah. So apa yang betulnya? Pakai Mercedes? Nanti ko komplen mahal plak, perabis duit negara. Dah tu nak suruh jalan kaki? Naik pengangkutan awam? Bos ko pun pakai kereta company. Duit gak tu… tu pasal gaji ko tak banyak.

This is BN rulez. If PR takes power, they go for Toyota. Again, you will start complain, why not use Perodua?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 24
        • Low Budget on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:15 pm

I love the idea that all Ministers and division one officers use Produa MyVi and Viva…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 14
          • abuya123 on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:39 pm

If you’re minister, you won’t say like this. No matter BN, PR or Bebas, you must ask for luxury car. Sudah la bro, different person same old story.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 7
        • Ironically..i have to agree with this statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • violet on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:54 am

@abuya123.. who r u? ur comment gets my both thumbs up..

• stinkymouthyouhave on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:55 pm

people like you guys will never have positive comment trust me.

if the government acquire honda accord, then there will be another comments comes out of your stinky mouth…

• violet on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:47 am

who said it going to b juz for the our “beloved” govt use? that was juz 1 part of it.. its like the old perdana use to be… lets hope this new V6 replacement will b worth it.

• there goes the 2nd hand value of previous gen accords. down the drain. well done honda!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 50
      • DonkeyKong on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:24 am

I don’t get it. Are cars supposed to be like gold art sculptures? i.e., never drop in value, hard to copy or never copied, and unique from one artist to another?

Get real. Cars are just constantly-depreciating liabilities. If car buyers don’t understand that then they should just take the bus or LRT instead of treating their cars like appreciating investments.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 29
        • Donkey, you are right – you really don’t get it. Nobody is expecting a car not to drop value. It’s an insult to everyone’s intelligence if you have that assumption. People are talking about how much and how fast a car depreciates in value. When Proton turned the Lancer into Inspira, the 2nd hand value of a Lancer got slashed. Because nobody keeps their cars to eternity, you will eventually sell it, and having to sell it at 10k lower is not something owners look forward to.

I can’t believe I have to spent this effort to explain this to you, Donkey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 52
          • batubata on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:11 pm

good for the consumers dy. when price depreciates at least consumers have the power to buy. quality at a cheaper price. why bother ur car price depreciates?get a car and keep it. no need to waste money. go to orphange and give them loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
          • watsittuya on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:02 pm

Haha gud la.. after the gomen lelong the accord perdana I will buy one for very cheap price.. slap on a real accord front, back and steering wheel and I got myself Honda Accord, nobody will know…smart me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
          • sigh.. another wannabe. so you’re one of those who buys a wira and slap a mitsubishi logo and lancer sign on it and act like you own a mitsu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
        • Maybe you should google what is Equivalent Annual Cost.

• MoFaz on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:45 am

this is the same model as “My Honda Tak Guna”… Proton can simply say it’s Honda problem if customer complains… smart guys get it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 6
      • Akira on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:14 am

Never thought my car would have to suffer the same unfortunate fate as the Lancer.

S**t, now I’m so malu to drive my car already. Why Proton? Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 35
        • batubata on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:08 pm

HAHAHA BETTER PUT ONE’S PRIDE ON A PROPERTY COZ IT WILL NOT DEPRECIATE. DONT GET A CAR JUZ TO SHOW OFF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
        • donkeysaressmart on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:26 pm

if one executive car is such an important part of your investments that you are getting all worked up over this, please, go see an investment guru tomorrow lol.

Either you are a guy who has spent his whole life working to pay for his car and nothing else, or you are a miser who hoards cash and dreams of Honda Runtuh.

Get real, you only get appreciating car values in Singapore. And let’s not get into that..

• I believe you are sleeping, staying and living in your Accord because you are HOMELESS spending all your money to pay it.

• Donchay on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:07 am

I’m surprised this comment is not denied by proton supporters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • Hero86 on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:34 pm

dont panick la.. this is just a mule or honda testing car for P1.. even though it got P1 bagde but i think the plate no. should be green colour right.. now, u see it is black which mean this car have been registered with JPJ.. how can non official car got plate no. from JPJ???

remember all the cars from P1 got green plate on it before launching..

• dino years on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:22 pm

I really am not digging that rear end. But the interior is well carried over, hope it stays that way because Proton does have a habit of getting interior design totally flawed. Wonder what the powerplant will be.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
    • Damn Right Nigha on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:46 pm

No wonder Honda has launched the new Accord so bloody swiftly !!

EVERYBODY…. Lets name this car the TONCORD!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 11
      • GenXMotor on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:16 am

TONDA sounds better….lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
        • Better don’t touch…you never know it may become the next PRM…..then you will be crying foul….whichever they land their hands on…there goes that brand….Mitsu is a best example….off them and now you see they are booming again.

• batubata on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:12 pm

PRONDA MAYBE?WAHAHHAHA

• Mamatwhyla on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:28 pm

Every accord owner of the model must be panic now. Faster sell off before used car price drop like durian.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 11
    • mark foster on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:07 am

do you guys know that this proton wont be available for public? Only if there’s demand for this car only they’ll produce the car, limited numbers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • CarsUnite1M on Feb 05, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Thank you for pointing out the obvious! Some of these guys just don’t get it: THIS PERDANA WILL NOT BE MADE AVAILABLE FOR PUBLIC CONSUMPTION, AND IS MERELY A STOP-GAP MEASURE TO SATISFY GOVERNMENT DEMANDS.

The Govt. wanted a Perdana-replacement, from Proton, NOW NOW NOW. Naturally, Proton couldn’t have developed a brand-new D-seg chassis and 2.0++ engine in 8-months, kan? So they went into a JV w/ Honda, and they applied minimal differentiation in order to have the cars delivered by Dec-Jan, as per Govt. request. So if you guys are all prissy-pissy about this whole thing, go point fingers at the Govt. la. Because Proton was merely satisfying their customers, whom I’m told love them.

If you guys don’t like this car so much, go la and buy Kia K5. Nak bash Proton tak berpasal tu kenapa? Kalau nak sangat Perdana yang berbeza, tunggulah 24-bulan untuk Perdana yang tulen, buatan Proton sendiri. Think about it: Lotus ride and handling, on the already well-balanced Accord chassis, with the 2.0 and 2.4 engines powering the whole thing along. And best of all: It’ll be much, MUCH cheaper than an equivalent Gen. 9 Accord. Relax ah, brothers. Perdana on the way.

• BTW, just asking, did the Lancer GT price drop when the Inspira came out?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
      • ShameLoo on Nov 08, 2013 at 7:55 am

The Lancer GT price is not drop but the sales drop!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
        • pirlo on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:09 pm

the increasing sales of inspira gives profit to mitsubishi as well.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:26 am

You should check out the 2nd hand prices in the market.. it’s already pretty poor compared to Camry and even the Sonata YF, percentage-wise. The last-gen Accord was a crappy car with many mechanical and design flaws that were gradually addressed. It would be good if Proton released not just a rebadge, but fix up the flaws as well. It will be a shame if Proton is so lazy that they copied it with all the weaknesses intact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
      • David on Nov 08, 2013 at 7:17 am

Well they did fix several issues that were in the Lancer. Even made it a better car. But too many people are so blinded that they cannot look beyond the badge… Which is sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • They did fix many flaws in the Lancer… So this might explain why they still run mule tests..

• theanswer on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:54 am

D segment is not the best segment in terms of RV. unlike C segment. just compare civic/altis price drop vs camry/accord. because of less demand.

• cheap cheap on Nov 08, 2013 at 5:58 am

If i own accord i wont sell.because we all know the class of H instead of P.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
  • If 2.0 price 90k i buy.
    100k proton go fly kite.rather buy a MB w203

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 34
    • sutheshkumar on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Oh please lar. Whats wrong with a 100k Proton? People really need to stop having this mentality that certain cars should be priced with some range just because of the badge. Just like how some idiots who think that the Cerato is overpriced but its ok to pay RM90k++ on a Vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 33
      • Because Vios is babe magnet. Who buy Proton Accord lenglui don’t come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 74
      • Lee Jack on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:59 am

PLEASE LA ,it’s proton so it should be TAX FREE. Our import tax is 200% , so if the car is 100k it should be at least close to imported brand’s 200k segment standard
        So this car should be priced for half of the price of the previous Honda accord’s price
        Vios is only 4xk for most country , so Vios is only overpriced in Malaysia,so do other imported brands
        Blame the government who wants to protect your beloved proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 34
        • Protect my foot. Proton got high tax too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
        • Proton staff on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:25 am

Proton tax free? Tidur dalam gua? Import tax 200%? Tidur dalam hutan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
        • kenji on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:06 am

Plz laa. compare also spec. not only prices. vios malaysia spec. and vios thailand spec.

• bhchiah on Nov 11, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Proton car taxes 40% only. The import cars tax 10% import tax + Ercise tax (min 80%). That explains Vios in Thailand is RM40K+ and Malaysia 80K+. Proton car price must be >40-50% lower than normal imparted car price.

• Hard to give 90k price because inspira and suprima already around 80-92k.. Maybe starting price 105k until 120k based on the current price of accord now (140k-172k)..

P.S. Seems the price will be big disadvntage to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
      • heyday on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:05 am

It’s a segment cheaper, D segment car for C segment price, still gives value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • I know its still value for money. But are u sure our Malaysian mentality has change? Please remember that the one that usually bought D segment is a rich guys that want their car to reflect their status. Do you think that Proton has change their mentality? I think not yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • alldisc on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:20 am

dont forget the last perdana v6 was going for 103k. and that was 5 years ago.

• w203 is old crampy car with star badge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • theanswer on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:54 am

low baller.

• Biscuit on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:29 pm

Does it has to be a Proton? Is there a Proton for our YDP Agung?….Any reliable good quality car will do …Mercedes, BMW, ….(Lotus!!!)..etc. Let Proton concentrate on high volume, low cost cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • Le Dentist on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:06 pm

I guess it is so just to show that the government SOMEWHAT support local products and maybe to show to the other country officials that Proton is SOMEWHAT still alive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • copy copy cat………25 years past but still cannot graduate……..still the same copy copy cat :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 203 Thumb down 92
    • Typical haters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 134
    • pirlo on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:09 pm

komen tidak membina langsung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 107
      • Potong on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:26 am

Potong wont care about comments here anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
        • kpong on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:16 am

6 airbags and VSC comments were from here too

• pirlo on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:31 pm

indeed. proton currently offered 6 airbags and esc to all preve variant based on comments given by you guys. proton heard that.
            bash your thought to toyota, honda and bmw. let’s see whether they want to drop by to read and change after that.

• You just don’t know to spell b u s i n e s s
      Please tell that to aston martin, pug, renault etc
      Grow up kid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
      • tunhisham on Nov 08, 2013 at 7:56 am

Aston Martin, Pug, Renault? All those are failure car companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
        • alldisc on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:25 am

aston martin yes, but renault and peug no. renault especially, since they can afford to makan nissan some 10 yrs back. that is no easy feat.

• MoFaz on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:38 am

Renault, Peugeot, Citroen, Mitsubishi, and many many other brands also rebadge. and Peugeot is already more than 100 years old but still rebadge from Mitsu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 15
      • David on Nov 08, 2013 at 7:37 am

Yes, every car company rebadge. But not every car company lacks the technical expertise to build a C and D segment car ( Proton Inspira and now this Honda based car). Btw, Peugeot is a failure in Europe. Might possibly be bought over by a Chinese company. Not a wise thing to do to emulate a failure company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • protroll on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:52 am

For Proton – Rebadged is another solution how to become a global player!

Well Done Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • kecoh on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:43 am

Kau kecoh kenapa? Honda sendiri pun ok pasal rebadge ni, ko pulak melatah. Pelik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 35
      • Because he is a butthurt proton basher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • takkecoh on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:14 am

Copy cat after 25 years in automotive industry. Can’t effort to make your own executive car. Honda pun honda laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
      • valeo on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:13 am

Honda memang ok la dengan rebadge ni sebab model lama yang telah phase out pun ada yang bodoh nak beli untuk rebadge. Ini Proton bole pergi hangus pun banyak orang tak peduli la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
        • defty on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Vios lagi dah lama, recycle enjin dan gear yang sama dah berapa generasi, tak kecoh plak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • bhchiah on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:01 pm

kerana banyak car user pun bodoh. Malaysia user yang manjakan pnejual kereta sampai sekarang – D segment car dengan 2 air bag etc.

• prayboy on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:39 pm

yelah, masa Perodua copy Daihatsu pun bising juga…

• cheaper to buy from others than build from scratch..but the problem is due to them all others cars become expensive that is something pissed us off…if you say they can make excellent cars…i don’t mind we pay high for stupid Fking duties…but take others and re-badge then say our Potong is damn chat good…please support us don’t buy others if you don’t agree I increase that fking duties and see how can you afford it and you will die-die buy potong! Whose MFker fking idea is that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Abg Long on Nov 11, 2013 at 5:37 pm

i’m ok with this. but still i want car prices to drop.. that 30% within 5 yrs.. imagine next yr drop 6%.. 320d is mine :)

• According to an article on The Star, this PRM will launch next month.

Judging from the Inspira, typical hater/ basher Malaysians are gonna kutuk Proton extra hard after this because Proton didn’t build the PRM from the ground up, but smart Malaysians will know that this (and the Inspira) are smart moves by Proton (from a business & economic standpoint).

Anyway, this new PRM won’t be Protons saving grace, that role is reserved for the GSC, which will launch in early 2014.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 47
    • I agree with you, its a smart move from proton, hope the money they save is used to improve their product quality.

There’s a possibility that the next gen preve could be using the current civic platform?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 17
      • Potong on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:27 am

This is what you call smart? The smart move is eliminate Proton, they shouldn’t exist in the first place and sucking all Malaysian blood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 74
        • vteic on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:21 am

As if imported cars are cheap if proton doesn’t exist. In your dream!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
          • Gegary on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:41 am

Actually, yes. Imported cars might be cheaper if Proton didn’t exist. Even if not cheaper, millions (?) of ringgit won’t be wasted on Proton’s inefficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
          • pirlo on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:58 pm

confirm ke imported cars would be cheaper if proton doesn’t exist? with this greedy BN govt still in helm? i doubt so.

• APlotong on Nov 08, 2013 at 7:40 am

No so smart move. Even rebadge, should get cars that not in malaysia market instead of using back other brand old version car.

Rebadge in not bad. Most brand now rebadge car but need to rebadge smart way.

Example . Perodua, they rebadge daihatsu boon as our currently popular myvi with a lot of cosmetic improvement.
        Daihatsu boon not in malaysia market and make myvi really fresh in malaysia market since it 1st launch.

Proton nvr Learn. Their proton inspira not in good market as its not fresh in Malaysia market due to Mitsubishi still sell their lancer.
        Now proton toncord, proda percord or whatever, n even worse use Honda accord old machine as proton brand new car n serve the gov. It’s not a good move. I suggest they move to redesign proton preve to b D segment ride rather than use so call 90% accord design as persona replacement. Tat show pure proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
        • You are missing the whole point here.

This PRM is all about politics. Proton is just a tool.

Mahathir wants his BN to use/support Proton, which he ‘created’ in 1985. DAP Penang government recently upgraded to the new D-segment Toyota Camry. If BN upgrades to a Japanese D-segment car now, it would be a big slap on Mahathir’s face. The Inspira is a C-segment car, it was just a stopgap and BN knew it. So Mahathir and BN have once again plundered Proton’s limited resources, asking Proton to rebadge the old Accord (btw Honda MY is owned by Syed Mokhtar, a BN tycoon). So this is a win-win for BN and Mahathir, but a big loss for Proton. Very few Malaysians want to pay 100k for a Proton, a big percentage of the future PRM owners will be civil servants. This limits Proton’s profit margin. The D-segment is not their volume selling segment, Proton specialises in the B and C segments (Saga, Prevé, persona etc.).

Like I said before, Proton is just the victim, the obvious scapegoat. Proton is not our enemy. Our current Federal G is. Even without Proton, car taxes (excise duty) will probably remain, and prices won’t go down very much because UMW Toyota, Honda MY and ETCM Nissan are just as bad and greedy as our Federal G. Pakatan already said, if and when they win, they will not shut down Proton, they will probably fully-privatise and allow non-Bumi people to hold prominent positions in Proton.

Only then will Proton and Malaysia prosper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 12
          • gtrgti on Nov 09, 2013 at 1:20 am

Double thumbs up for u, bro

This is by far the most insightful comment i’ve seen here.. well said!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
          • sumbody on Nov 09, 2013 at 1:31 am

u know wat, now I understand what this is all about. thx for the enlighment. now I can sleep nicely.

• victor tan on Nov 09, 2013 at 5:11 am

What a comment, deserved my respect and thumb up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • fast but not furious on Nov 10, 2013 at 8:42 pm

what a comment..

nonsense…full of bullshit i supposed…all u want is to escaped reasons by blaming mahathir with ur stupid excuses man…

u must be missing the point that proton now is much likely under drb-hicom management…the way u say it as if proton is like a man that having an erectile dysfunction problem for sex or in this case proton didn’t have the desire of making profit…& everything else is own & decide by the gomen when proton is likely owned very much by drb-hicom…

most likely proton is exhausted of tech & capital to design, R&D new car to replace perdana..but of coz proton always & will be use the protection as the national car maker policy & you must be comfort to yourselves with the word ‘lobbyist’ ? to the gomen buying their car…that is why at the beginning there is a suggestion/news that gomen want to use honda & nissan as their fleet… hence no time, no capital, no tech, honda also looking forward to gain easy money selling its tech to proton…hence a win-win situation to proton,honda & also the gomen…

not the other way around mate…

as much as i also would want car prices to be cheap…but giving stupid political mileage excuses only will make u insulting paultan’s readers intelligent…
            not EVERYTHING IS CONSPIRACY though..
            some want profit,some want to sell something, some want to maintain status quo..that is it.
            if i use your theory, mine also would be simple…penang govt. using camry bcoz toyota dealers are chinese and toyota brand is only as a tool…
            got it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Cheers.

There’s no need to base the Prevé replacement on the Civic, or any other model. The C-segment is Proton’s strength. They can spend hundreds of millions developing an all-new C-segment car, and make up the loss within a few years, then start over with a new C-segment model. The same goes for the B-segment.

The D-segment is not like that. If Proton spends hundreds of millions developing an all new D-segment car, they will take 10 years to make up that loss because very few Malaysians can afford 2.0 litre RM100k cars, and those who do don’t choose Proton, not when there are better choices. About 3/4 of all cars sold in Msia are B/C-segment cars with 1.6 litre engines, mostly in the RM80k to RM30k range.

For the above reasons, Proton chose to rebadge the old Accord, because it saves them the cost of developing an all-new platform (as you’ve mentioned), and this means they can make up that loss in a few years instead of a decade.

Given the choice, Proton would not have made a D-segment car at all, but because the Federal G demand they do, Proton is forced to, at a loss. Proton is just doing their best to keep that loss to a minimum. That’s why Proton must be fully-privatised and liberated from their government ties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • What a joke!! How many Inspira can one find on the road. I saw more Vios and City compared to the Inspira.

So, Inspira can’t even sell at RM90k, what make one buy the Proton Accord above RM100k??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 47
      • people dont buy inspira cos ignorant or judging a book by its cover only.
        I own 1.8E manual and its a good car. Only 75K after discount. Mitsu engine and lotus handling mah!
        “A smart choice for those have an open mind (not biased towards Msian or Korean cars) and care to study the details.

• Smart? Wat smart? If only for official use then better buy exist current car.. how many oficial wil be using this. Also y the oficial hev to use spesel car? Wats the problem? Use inspira la.. if the built a new car frm scratch atlest rakyat pn bole guna ma.. THIS IS NT NECESARY IF OFICIAL LOWER THIER NOSE DOWN AND FEEL WAT RAKYAT WEARING FOR SO MANY DECADE.. no need to be smart to think.. just don be idiot..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Guna Otak on Nov 09, 2013 at 12:38 am

National car? Slapping a badge on an existing Japanese car and call it a national car? So what is so national about the car that it deserves all the tax incentives? Does proton learn anything technical by slapping a badge? Way to go, Proton!

• Rebadging = Slapping a badge ? LOL
        I think you are still a kid who never works hard for money. It’s easy said than done. Grow up.

• kin0512 on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Proton, is this all you can do? Badge changing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 53
    • unsopen on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:36 pm

You don’t know what’s rebadging is all about? Pity coz you can easily read anything you want nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Don’t tell me you don’t anything about rebadging in this ICT era, lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • What more can u expect honestly from a corrupted GLC which is run by mentally retarded, shameless, damned lazy, racist, greedy colonies of leeches which were installed by a corrupted & incompetent govt. since its formation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • Matchy on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Proton fugly-ize-ing another model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 35
    • Why proton? Toyota always does it, even from design stage, lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • alldisc on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:04 pm

toyota’s project is often a collaboration, or JV.

example is passo and boon and also GT86 and its subaru sibling.

they are never rebadged. same goes to aygo/citroen c1/peugoet 107… they are of JV thing.

what car that toyota may have rebadged from other manufacturer? aston martin cygnet? ford focus ST?

• You are Toyota fan? lol
          I mean they come up with fugley design. Nothing to do with rebadging.

• lalor on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:57 am

I’m pretty sure it won’t be as ugly as a camry! lelelelelel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • If only they could based it on the current-generation Accord. That would actually get me very excited, not only on how Proton will improve/ruin the looks, but the idea of a 120k new-gen Accord! But yea, that will totally kill Honda, so no surprise Proton are forced to use the old Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • CarsUnite1M on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:16 am

Actually, some people have told me that Proton and DRB specifically chose the 8th-gen Accord due to its larger dimensions (and Honda even offered the 9th-gen for them to tool). Also, the 8th-gen offers superior comfort compared to the 9th-gen (tak percaya, go and test drive them back-to-back), which fits the criteria of their targeted customers (read: 3,000 Govt. officials who were sick of their problematic Perdanas).

Again & again I must mention, Phase 2 of the PRM project will see only the chassis and drivetrain remain, while the rest of the vehicle (including the suspension) will receive bespoke Proton parts & design. The “Accordana” aboveis merely a stop-gap measure to ensure that Govt. officials continue to use Proton vehicles, symbolising national unity and pride in the domestic manufacturer.

But, IMHO, if someone said I could have the comfort and size of an 8th-gen Accord, with Lotus handling, and a Proton pricetag, I’d take out my chequebook.

Also, the blind bashers here should zip it, because the “Accordana” isn’t meant for them anyway! Govt. officials seem to like their new rides, and that was Proton’s goal to begin with. So what’s all the fuss about, anyway?

• i was juz thinking of getting the new accord but come to think of it better don’t coz 3-5 yrs later it will be a rebadge proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
  • evardo on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Only in BOLEH land

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
  • Luqman_HKM on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Guys, don’t trust the covered badges. May seem that proton is rebadging the Honda, but in reality, it’s another test mule by Proton. Just like how they use Savvy for the GSC (Global Small Car)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Here they bash first, say it’s the real car even if it’s camoed and judge it fugly before seeing the end product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • apa ni on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:54 am

Guy, for the final products please refer to Eight Generation Honda Accord from secondhand dealer.

• Luqman_HKM on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:27 am

I guess it seems that way. But obviously they can’t see the rear seats in the wrong position

• tan sari on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:48 pm

if price is 100k, should have good sales, many car makers also share platforms, since Proton cannot sell much in this segment, it is wised to get the old accord at good low price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Blaze on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:10 am

While i can agree with your point of price and sales volume, this is more of a rebadging rather than platform sharing.

• CarsUnite1M on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:17 am

Actually, some people have told me that Proton and DRB specifically chose the 8th-gen Accord due to its larger dimensions (and Honda even offered the 9th-gen for them to tool). Also, the 8th-gen offers superior comfort compared to the 9th-gen (tak percaya, go and test drive them back-to-back), which fits the criteria of their targeted customers (read: 3,000 Govt. officials who were sick of their problematic Perdanas).

Again & again I must mention, Phase 2 of the PRM project will see only the chassis and drivetrain remain, while the rest of the vehicle (including the suspension) will receive bespoke Proton parts & design. The “Accordana” aboveis merely a stop-gap measure to ensure that Govt. officials continue to use Proton vehicles, symbolising national unity and pride in the domestic manufacturer.

But, IMHO, if someone said I could have the comfort and size of an 8th-gen Accord, with Lotus handling, and a Proton pricetag, I’d take out my chequebook.

Also, the blind bashers here should zip it, because the “Accordana” isn’t meant for them anyway! Govt. officials seem to like their new rides, and that was Proton’s goal to begin with. So what’s all the fuss about, anyway?

• UMNGOK on Nov 07, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Words fail me. Like how we all know BN didn’t win the 5th May elections, but keeps living in denial, is the same way Proton touts its cars as competitive material etc. We all know deep down inside what garbage we get. Many choose to live in denial that what they have is a quality product. Go ahead and buy this product of ultimate desperation. Another badge engineered car which Proton fans previously spat on the faces of Perodua. There you go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 58
    • Then I can ask twisted question too : where is Perodua car that’s started from scratch? Can’t they do it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
      • Different story.

Perodua rebadge vehicle NOT sell in malaysia shore b4, u do not see daihatsu boon before when myvi launch in malaysia.

Proton rebadge old design vehicle that SELL in malaysia market.

This is how perodua success. Bring something fresh to malaysia. Only myvi no boon..

Proton, got inspira got lancer. Incoming got so call percord, got accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • pirlo on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:54 pm

which one is better, rebadging none-existing model in malaysia (daihatsu boon) which is very low grade and not well-known to malaysian with higher price (40k-50k price tag with tin milo and cut down features and accessories), compared to rebadging well-known and proven model (lancer and accord) to malaysian with low price comparing to the existing model.

• eterna on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:24 pm

For proton bashers, everything done by Proton is wrong.

• Quality Guy on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:57 am

You all like Honda Accord. But exchange the Honda logo with a Proton one, bring down the price cheaper by 10-15%, and suddenly the car got so many problems lah, no resale value lah, rebadge car got not innovation lah, blah blah blah.Now even linked to May 5th elections? Wow! It’s not perfect to have a rebadged car & I still don’t get the necessity of this car, but better a rebadged (proven) Honda Accord than something disastrous, rite?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • mambang on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:00 am

your name suits u dearly.

• errmmm why do they need to test the car ??? just put proton badge only mah!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
  • Chow 1 on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:01 pm

I’ll buy this if it’s 100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
  • sudonano on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:03 pm

Initially I was quite apprehensive that the Last gen Accord would be used as the next Perdana. Bid looking t this it seems almost 100% confirmed.

Considering that usually if Proton got a competitors car for testing and benchmarking, they would fix a steering that is existingly used on other models. They did that when they used the Wish as a Exora benchmark in 08/09. This has an exact fit Proton airbag module fitted to the old Accords steering.

However, is Honda going to allow Proton to use the iVTEC engine back? Considering the 2013 Accord carried over the 2.0l engine, I doubt Honda wants to allow Proton access to that as Proton might spec it on par with the new Accord 2.0 and price it easily 20k less.

This unit may just have the new Petronas engines that Proton acquired. They could starts with the 1.6CFE as a base spec engine and have a Petronas 2.0 Turbo on th range topper. And who knows, they may use back the frame and some body panels but redesign the others. Cause I am still finding it odd to see a proton badge on a Honda. Mitsubishi was not too bad since Mitsubishi was with them from the Saga days.

Whatever happens, expect the heat to be on. Especially if they directly use the old Accord, give it ESP, 6 airbags standard, leather on higher models etc. accord at 90k. This would be the people’s Accord then.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
    • Celicazz on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:29 am

there won’t be any proton logo up front…

There will be jata negara instead.

• CarsUnite1M on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:23 am

Ekcheli, I highly doubt that Proton will be using the Petronas 2.0, for the simple reasoning that there will be compatibility issues with the drivetrain. They’ll probably retain the engines, and look to use the newly-acquired Petronas tech for a brand-new in-house D-seg car, in about 5-10yrs.

Also, has anyone bothered to notice that Proton ADDED TWO MORE AIRBAGS TO THE ACCORD? That’s right, this “Accordana” “rebadge” now has side-impact protection, which Honda removed to keep costs low and profit margins higher. And yet, despite a lack of need to upgrade the vehicle, Proton did that, and sold it to the Govt. for PEANUTS compared to the Accord it was based on. Good job, especially considering the manic timeframe!

• haha next time thailand pm come visit…. what will malaysia pm say errmmm that is not an accord its a proton haha…. you see we just change the brand and its ours!!! and people will buy because there is no tax on it … smart right…. so malu weh to jawab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 18
    • Jazzer on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:56 am

Thai doesn’t have its own ‘proton’, they are only assemblers, why malu to them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
      • so..so..so… we better than Thailand bcos they assemble and don’t change badge but proton assemble but change badge is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • Eh, where you put other cars like persona, saga, exora, preve. YOu want to say that’s changing badges too? lelelelelel

• Fapper on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Thailand not assembly, they are manufacture foreigner vehicle and 50% for exported.

Unlike Malaysia, all are just assembly for local market.

• bikers kental on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:55 am

macam mana people nak beli accord with proton badge if they do not open it for public?

baca artikel kat atas ke tidak?

bodoh ke cerdik ni?

no wonder our BN ruler kept on giving stupid statement (e.g. higher sugar price to reduce diabetes risk) if there is some minority of rakyat are ignorant and bodoh sombong. that’s why they win only 46% popular vote.

• bhchiah on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Really Malu. Using other car then re-badged, and says this is Proton Car – COPY CAT!!!! We should build our own car with own badge, then all Malaysia say “We are PROUD!”! Some more this car is for government official use – can be seen by other countries leaders when they pay visit to Malaysia.
      Imagine when they see that and ask:”Is it Honda? Why come with wrong badge?” Hwo to answer that??Really Malu!!!

• bhchiah on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Really Malu. Using other car then re-badging, and says this is Proton Car – COPY CAT!!!! We should build our own car with own badge, then all Malaysia say “We are PROUD!”! Some more this car is for government official use – can be seen by other countries leaders when they pay visit to Malaysia.
      Imagine when they see that and ask:”Is it Honda? Why come with wrong badge?” Hwo to answer that??Really Malu!!!

• zamzama on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:16 pm

petronas E01e V6 powered car?? not bad if it happens…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Annoynimouse on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Awwh!! Would have been nice if they go for the Euro version. That way, the cars (Hondas Accord and Protons Accord) wont look too similar to each other the way the Inspira-Lancer is.
    May have been down to production constraints and cost I guess. Otherwise, I stick my neck out and say poor marketing strategy.

• Euro version accord is crampy, who wants D segment crampy car?

• Sam Loo on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:26 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
  • protonsucks on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:27 pm

EH this proton no 5 star ANCAP rating , so my perspective to proton changes back lo.remove your stupid proton advertisement on the radio la please. Memalukan only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Since when ANCAP safety rating based on company? It’s car besed rating.

• Proton staff on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:29 am

Sudah removed. There is new radio ads replacing the annoying ads. Proton do listened people feedback.

• suka sangat cinta Rosman on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:29 pm

well done,p1,is the great car ever copy by p1.i gonna have1 for my lovely rosman and shake her in the back seat.

• Manusia on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:32 pm

adoii ape tu kat cermin tepi tu kantoi ade logo honda !! stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • If no honda logo also people know this is an Accord, so why so much fuss?

• Dejavu on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:40 pm

“It looks like me, sounds like me but not me…” yup I missed lingam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Fahmi on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:43 pm

8th gen Accord looks great, so Proton, please don’t screw this thing up.. Pricing should be kept under RM120k, else it will become too close to “real” Honda Accord…

• I have mixed feelings about this.

1- If this is just a test mule (remember “Toyota Wish” Exora prototype?) then I am extremely happy

2- If this is the final design.. I will be disappointed.

3- If it came with new Petronas-based turbo engine, I will be extremely F-ing happy regardless of design.

4- If it came with same boring Honda engine…disappointed.

5- same boring old engine + this old design…*kill myself*

Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Don’t think proton will put their petronas engine in this model.. Why you want to increase the cost in a rebadge car after your objective of rebadge is to reduce the cost.

• What a shame..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Malu betul la Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • helli on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Why malu? This is called rebadging. It’s not like you who did copy paste job everytime, lol

• bhchiah on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Agreed. Rebadging of a car may takes lots of thing to do. Just think about this is government official use, other countries visitor (leader, government staffs or tourist etc) will come and see. What would you think if they say “Is it Honda, rite? Why car badge change?”
        Already more than 25 years established , still doing re-badging, and for governemnt official car. Malu…lar.. Malu…I wonder 25 years later, I have to say again Malu…Malu…
        SHAME!

• CarsUnite1M on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:26 am

• norman on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:13 am

1st model 95% use 8th generation Accord with minor changes in steering wheel,grille,seats,rims and a bit of lotusride n handling
    2nd model which is probably by late next year will be 100% Proton

• Omg, Honda why Honda u married Potong?? Should we kol yur lovechild “HonTon” or “ProHon”o”???

• norman on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:20 am

Sales of Inspira is 60% Mitsubishi 40% Proton
    And to think Honda is dumb enough to let Proton kill their sales?Very naive eh
    1 unit of this sold sure will go majority Honda cause of the agreement.Proton use this as a stepping stone to produce
    Their own D segment cars in future..Thats the collaboration for,and Honda use the opportunity to assembletheir cars in Proton plant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Unforgiven on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:06 am

This Proton cord is the future, stepping stone was way back during the Perdana era, pls wake up! LoL!

• This is so unfair to those who own ORIGINAL HONDA ACCORD..Proton, could you please stop copying others and start designing yourself?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
    • engine` on Nov 09, 2013 at 4:42 pm

sell your Accord and buy BMW quick before this proton model comes out.

its just business nothing personal

• Next is BMW turn- Proton.. hehe

• bhchiah on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Honda Accord 2nd hand car price already dropped compare to last 2 months. MY friends who own the same version Accord plans to sell his car, and found out this lately!!
        Really to Honda Accord owners!
        Shame on you, Proton!

• Skycab on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:32 am

this is malaysia innovation… Bolehland…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Skycab on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:34 am

this is malaysia innovation… Proton no more designer??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • Goa and ask same question to Pug, Aston Martin, etc..they rebadge too.

• hate_me on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:35 am

Well like the joker said.

International rebadge 2 or 3 cars no one bats an eye. Proton decide to rebadge 1 or 2 car everyone loses their mind.

Typical Malaysian now days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 14
    • unsmart on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:58 am

If a proton car got rosak a part, it’ll be cursed until 7 generations! If T got rosak a whole car, no curses heard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Gegary on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:07 am

International marques don’t survive based on unfair competition and protectionism, while being inefficient. Proton very mediocre in international stage. And to protect Proton, all imported cars have to be super expensive. Did you not know you can almost buy a BMW for the cost of an Accord in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • sighman on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:38 am

as if you guys don’t copy anything at work or life or whatever shit you guys do. negative negative negative… don’t like, don’t buy. go be “classy” somewhere else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • I am honda accord owner. Iwont buy honda car forever.Honda will kill their car sale bcos of proton. Good job honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
  • Biskut on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:41 am

Seriously, I was expecting Proton to come up with something brand new and only sharing the CHASSIS with the Accord not THE WHOLE THING. The Preve and Suprima really got my hopes high thinking that Proton will be a fully independent car company in the near future. But now…sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Proton staff on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:33 am

There are few phases of PRM. The first phase is rebadging nothing changes but the logo. The second phase still cosmetic changes. The 3rd phase is using NE01 engine on accord platform. If DRB-Honda joint venture continue further, the future PRM will be based on accord platform with proton powertrain, and might be sold to public.

• Biskut on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:23 pm

If that is true…then put a 2.4l NE01 on the PRM. And if there is even a next-gen Satria coming up, put a 2.0l Turbo NE01 in it. And about this PRM, keep the Perdana name. Don’t change it.

• m faizul on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:41 am

As harcode traveler using the previous honda accord, from the picture, it have a paddle shifer and stability control that very similar with my 2008 2.4 CP2. I think using the 8th gen chasis is the right choice for proton but the engine possible that Honda allow proton to use k24A 2.4 engine as it already an old engine compare to 2.0 R20A3 much more fuel efficient.Anyway honda also have it own set of problem , no car is perfect.

• nationalcarsalesman on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:01 am

Preve was born the leaking gearbox since day one after delivery to customer and the noise engine sound then delivered the new baby there call suprima s… bloody stupid marketing planned.setel problem2 tu dulu then baru launch suprima s la…aiyoooo there make salesman cannot cari makan la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • Sam Loo on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:02 am

Proton wont re-badge Camry like what it apparently does to Accord. Owners of eight generation Accord will be so hailat upon rapid plunge of RV. Another lesson learned, Camry is always a wiser option to opt for in D-Segment Sedans ascertained by its reliability, high RV and performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
  • Gegary on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:08 am

They better add keyless go/Engine Start to this!

• jolly_idiot on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:09 am

Good move for proton? But I’m sure its a suicide move for honda.

After this, nobody dare to buy honda considering it brand in comparable to toyota in high end jappy market. But end up to proton.

Thus, I really miss DSZ time with proton. He is making something out. But sad he left and see what happened to proton? Went back to same cronies cultured company with dr.m still haunting around.

• limbu on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:11 am

rebadge or not goverment also earn u …………

shame that u all fight for a piece of metal

• This is a joke! Proton will never change…look at where the Koreans are today!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Robert on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:17 am

When proton tried building cars, people complain, when they rebadge cars people complaint. Lets just get over it and stop complaining. They have improved alot if U happen to drive one of it. Words of encouragement will be better than having a life full of complaints.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • fast5 on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:23 am

I stop complain IF “G” start to drop car price to original rate and stop overpriced the car in malaysia !!!!!!!!!

• bhchiah on Nov 11, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Agreed. People complaining because of super expensive imported car. Reason given by Government is due to Proton. if car price drop to normal rate, then no complaint liao.

• Sadly I own an accord gen8. Will this impact my resale value?

• GenXMotor on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:29 am

I think its only for Government use.Honda not stupid to allow proton simply rebadge because it will kill their current Accord 2.0 and Civic 2.0….. UNLESS THE ENGINE IS PETRONAS EO10 OR THE CFE TURBO….it is not called rebadge, it falls in platform sharing term…. example is Isuzu DMAX and Chevrolet Colorado share same chassis platform but use different engine…..

• Sam Loo, his Camry friends, as well as Toyota fans will laugh like hell now. Pity previous generation Accord owners though.

• Sam Loo on Nov 11, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Dai sei ma, Accord owner will eventually suffer marginal lost of RV thanks for Accordana, comparing to the RV of Kimchis or Sui Kwai, it would be more disparaging. Get a Toyota, High RV & reliable. They need not implement fancy gadgets like what kimchis usually does, and yet the majority of Malaysians are smart. they know what they are choosing is in fact a means of transport that unfailingly carries them from time to time, unlike Sorhais that hv chosen Kimchis often kwai dai in middle of the road and the RV of their rotten cabbages is so rock-bottom low that would eventually emerged the greatest known “HaiLat” expression on their face.

• Sam Loo on Nov 11, 2013 at 6:01 pm

Get a Toyota, High RV & reliable. They need not implement fancy gadgets like what kimchis usually does, and yet the majority of Malaysians are smart. they know what they are choosing is in fact a means of transport that unfailingly carries them from time to time, unlike Sorhais that hv chosen Kimchis often kwai dai in middle of the road and the RV of their rotten cabbages is so rock-bottom low that would eventually emerged the greatest known “HaiLat” expression on their face.

• PerdanaEterna on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:05 am

I am Perdana owner and I hate this. wtf Honda. no more Galant brothers eh? haha

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Still owning a Banana V6? How many sets of GB have you replaced so far?

• facelift models already have gearbox coolers and can also retrofit to pre-facelift models…

no need change gearbox la.

• Chill brother. This happen to exora when they used toyota wish as a mule. Insider report suggest a big ‘woohaa’ on the way from proton dockyard

• That why the Proton brand can expand like Hyundai & Kia, copy & paste works everyone also can, protected by Gov, not even produce a single gearbox but consider good lah, still can produce campro engine, this engine can last a decade, just only know sucking our Malaysian money, this is call a distinction for this Proton.

• megatti on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:37 am

Datuk Hami Samuri? Did he sell satay before joining MITI by an chance?

• Ahmad on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:42 am

Guys, cool down ya. Read the post properly. This car is only for high-ranking govt officials who are now still driving / be driven in the oldie Perdana.

• MoFaz on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:44 am

this is the same model as “My Honda Tak Guna”… hurmm, Proton can simply say it’s Honda problem if customer complains…

• mapko on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:36 am

good for current accord owners, cheaper and more sparepart available if proton localized. bought the last ver of this model and if proton localized this….no prob buying another one and put 3.5 inspire in it. woohooo thanks!

• Proton at its best: copying/rebadging…

Wonder how come some people still can live by the ‘Malaysia Boleh’ slogan…

• delll on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Why not? Rebadging is common practise. Preve exora saga etc, they did it from scratch. Proton boleh!

• alldisc on Nov 08, 2013 at 5:30 pm

preve designed by bertone.

exora by a korean design/engineering consultant, same goes to Saga BLM. dont know? ask proton.

• madi890 on Nov 08, 2013 at 7:40 pm

Kia also hired non-Korean designer. Remember Peter the K5. Haiya!

• delll on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Consultant is different from permanent worker, proton did it from the beginning then along the way they get the consultation. Go out from your cave.

• Azmi turbo on Nov 08, 2013 at 7:36 am

I can see that this place is full of users who r directly working for drb. Trying to defend this old car re badge. Why rebadge old model? Get a grip and look at reality. There is no chance you make a car popular by jamming this portal and try to defend a brand. Dirty tricks here. I’m out

• not a wise move by honda.

• Pronda on Nov 08, 2013 at 7:59 am

Dear Proton,
    Can you also rebadge BMW, Benz, Jaguar, Bentley, RR also in near future? We are smart Malaysian here, don’t want to pay so much for the real car, a copy will do…… Oh I mean a rebadge will do, come on, please….. Make us even more proud can?

• theanswer on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:56 am

copy je la. no use spend so much on r&d but still ppl complaint abt crappy preve or suprima.

• our proton now only left 1 active department in their R&D which is “Re-Badge Department”. everyone working so hard to re-badge other cars.

• robot boy on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:52 am

Agreed, maybe the Re-badge Department is run by a drb executive brought from Alam Flora or Pos Malaysia. just look at their marketing methods . this is not car marketing it is like Child’s play. all the professional Engineers are gone and replaced with kids or people who are in proton only because they are from drb family. what a move. pity proton.

• goodproton on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:21 am

then, other department should be closed right… Please re-badge more car and proton will easily get more profit, you don’t need a lot of staffs anymore..

• norman on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:11 am

Before i move on pls eradicate your stereotyping mind on gov protection to Proton,FYI Proton is no longer a gov entity since DRB buy over and its seem epic cause they pay taxes too just like any other brands.Im so confused to those who bash Proton like no tommorow but themselves either drive a lowly budget cars or even only ride kapchais,In the first place its Honda that offer this rebadge issue cause theythemselves want a piece of cake for their sales,Proton definately will build D segment Perdana on its own once the sales is encouraging.If u think building a car is so easy then i challenge those who bash join the RnD,Ride n handling and design dept,They still need manpower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Manor on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:38 am

Building a car may not be easy thats for sure, however younger companies like Hyundai and KIA are more independent and developed their own platform without resorting to protectionism. And the protection goes beyond paying tax (though, Proton has more tax exemptions than non national car makers). Its the duties applied to non-national cars.

• alldisc on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:21 pm

younger? go home bro… ur drunk.

• bikers kental on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:50 am

apa yang younger nya dengan Kia and Hyundai comparing to Proton? no local car maker protection in Korea industry?

fail sejarah dan pengetahuan am?

• David on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:21 am

…if this really materialized, HONDA, WHAT ARE YOU DOING????!!!!! I am disgusted! :(
    …as for Proton, I am speechless….apa-apa boleh la…siiighhhhh.

• CarsUnite1M on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:34 am

• Mozart on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:26 am

Firstly, the Government should be using Hybrid to promote environmental friendly.

Anyway, why would Honda allow Proton to fumble around with their cars with cheap plastic and ugly badges?

• Honda also uses cheapo plastic lor. Saga ride and handling is way better than City.

• fel33 on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:31 am

Cantik la ….. bravo Proton! To Honda, you are genius. will sell off my CR-V soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • prohon on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:02 am

why not you just say sell off your honda accord and change to proton accord…duh

• fel33 on Nov 11, 2013 at 9:48 pm

That’s a good idea. You are such a genius like Honda. hahahaha

• namanama on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:19 am

if you want to sell your motorboat also nobody care lah..

• This Honda or so called Perdana rebadge I think would arrive to the same state, i.e. people is hesitant to consider or buy it. Design wise, I think it’s a grown-up Saga FLX – nice!

I appreciate Proton’s hard work to come up with new models. I know Proton has the capability to manufacture their products. However to me, what’s missing in Proton, or the greater issue to address is, the effort in trying to gain back the confidence of the public – again. You can throw in features and safety goodies in your car but what’s the point when people is hesitant to even consider buying it. For me Proton should produce good cars, not only produce cars – its 2 different things. When you (proton) is good, what separates you and the rest is so minimal that people find it difficult to not considering Proton as their choice. There was an excitement about Proton once but now it’s gone.

No bad intention at all to Proton but that’s my view. Good Luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Eyesrolling on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:33 am

Shame on you Proton. 27 years in existence, still rebadging cars? Younger companies like Hyundai and KIA have taken over and progressed. No wonder till now still crying for protection and make us pay more for other cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • So much for a company with technology and resources.

• Unforgiven on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:38 am

The cost price to produce Protoncord will always be moreexpensive than ckd the original Accord.

Inspira price in Langkawi is more expensive than original Mitsubishi Lancer.

Original is cheaper to produce as compare to R&D the Proton badge. Huge amount of money will be wasted for the R&D of the badge, millions and millions gone into the pocket.

Another Dr.M project that get free money into the pocket system. Money channel into the pocket system, both left right pocket by not using any brain to develop a D-segment car. This is very very sad only!

• what the…another copy and paste..hopeless proton,another rubbish project

• SUV lover on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:47 am

The only main reason proton rebadge this is to provide a Perdana replacement for gov officials…no pt bashing unless u r gov official

• apalagiPROTONmahu on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:53 am

Stop pretending saying other brand also rebadge bla3… Pro2 rebadge something that isnt available in msia market while proton just take anything on the road.. Tahniah beribu-ribu tahniah.. Even you give chance 20years more for proton, they will still copycat other car because those company are run by a joke.. Comeone proton, make audi tt as another prm (putra replacement model).. I know you can

• heeart on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Proton has other cars in the pipelines, go and read, it’s not rebadged.

Grow up and please go out from cave.

• Azmi Turbo on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:55 am

I wonder how many people in this section are actually working for drb comm and marketing department. almost all!!!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Mike Dude on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:57 am

I’d rather buy a rebadged Honda than an in-house designed Proton. It’s like buying a Honda with cheaper price. You get good value for your money! So, be smart, people!

• Agree with you dude.
      On the other side of the coin, people is buying Honda, not Proton. Still a lost to Proton.

• Insane on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:00 am

If they do not have the technology to make car or unable to produce their own car please it is not advisable to keep the ‘P’ running. This is totally rubbish.
    The cost to run the company ‘P’ is a waste of the citizen hard earned money!

• Boyzle Classic on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:06 am

I think we can call it PROHON for new Automotive Company….and for the model we can call it
    CORDANA…..I think everybody like it…What all of you think? hahahahaha

• VoidDance on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:12 am

The term is “REBADGING”. NOT Copy Paste or stealing someone else design.

Honda is willing to let Proton rebadge their cars. Most readers here are really ignorant and knows only how to bash Proton because of their hatred towards Proton. I bet you that most of these people never own a Proton or even drive one, only read other people comment or listen to what other people said.

• feindf on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:55 pm

I feel that bashers here were copy and paste students when in schools. Now unconciously inside themselves are envy and deep inferiority to successful people / company. Pity.

• bhchiah on Nov 11, 2013 at 4:27 pm

I will support Proton if they re-badge Audi, BMW, Mercedes, or at least Lexus with much lower selling price. Then Proton can stop produce/design own new car, and just doing rubber stamping, also can earn money. Win-win and all happy.

• The key point here under the hood is Petronas E01e engine…

• Proton please rebadge ferrari 458.. i like it cheap. Tq.

• heybadigol on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:35 am

Wow, this looks like a handsome car, if we are still in 2007 :) One hopes that the finished product actually has same colour seats in front & at the back (in the picture, its black for front seats, and bright colour at the back).

Seriously, why bother rebadging as a Proton, when it still looks like the Accord? Why not just buy the Accord lock, stock & barrel from Honda Malaysia rather from Proton? Can make some money for HM, so they can offer lower prices for current Honda cars (hahahahaha, like that will happen).

• CarsUnite1M on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:37 am

• MUNIANDY on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:37 am

100% copy is good.proton engineers r training their copy & paste skills maybe next time hopefully we get audi, benz n bmw.

just bring to accessory shop after collecting your car and rebadge it. settle la macha.

• Pronda on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:11 am

Yeah, I support you dude!
      Boleh, boleh, boleh!
      Soon, I can drive a Proton 911, proton Enzo,or even a Proton zonda?

• silvia13 on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:44 am

Well done proton.the project is on going now..dont care about what people saying just finish it and you will get something to learn from honda excellent quality level.That is more important to proton to develop next segment D with own platform and engine.
    well done!!

• iluvhonla on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:46 am

Can i bring this car to honda for service?

• CarsUnite1M on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:40 am

If you have this car, then you’re a Govt. official. In which case, your driver will be servicing it, not you.

Let me say this once more: PERDANA PHASE 2 WILL SEE A BESPOKE BODY AND INTERIOR PLACED ONTO THE EXISTING CHASSIS AND DRIVETRAIN. By that point, if you were still dumb enough to send to Honda, then good luck trying to convince the service attendant that it isn’t a Proton Perdana….

• beejayss on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:50 am

it’s pretty amazing how proton can make easy money by just sticking a new badge to and old car. I am pretty sure it would have been cheaper to buy directly from Honda without Proton as the middle man. I think the decision is sentimental rather than practical. And tax payers always pay for sentimental decision.

• engnr on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Easy? The ride and handling should be tuned like Inspira. I believe it comes with some parts mod too

• confused on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:01 am

Just curious, with all these re-badge… what does the R&D team doing anyway?

• Ayrton Honda on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:18 am

The R&D team is busy testing what custom/special paint colour to give the car. “Hello kitty” pink might be popular with wives of government officials.

• pirlo on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:34 am

what all these rebadge? inspira? accord? other than that?

• confused on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Hi pirlo, I m not bashing. Just frustrated why we couldn’t do better than we could have after so many years. Or at least we could be on par with the Korean. Would support locally made cars if it is competing on level ground instead of forcing down with taxes/policies to the ppl to buy them.

• pirlo on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:46 pm

i blame the failure to be on par with Koreans more towards top management changing and govt intervention which different top management brings different company’s vision and mission. hence, half-baked idea will come out even though the previous idea is still in the progress and suddenly need to stop.
          hoping that DRB own Proton long enough (if they perform, could be forever).
          mind you, proton is also being burden with tax same like other CKD and CBU units from asean.
          i praise naza on their bravery to put a price tag for forte on par with vios though the forte’s features are far ahead. both are being taxed, but why vios need to sell higher?

• they should use vios… more luxury

• Honda seems does not appreciate their customer’s support. this is the “Reward” give by Honda. Pity to honda’s supporter. now only they realized paying money to buy shit to eat.

• Jeffrey Chew on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:09 am

I don’t see any different, just a re-badge, obviously is an Accord! Hey PM, is that so important? This only can trick to kampung folks! Joke of the day…

• seager on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Of course it’s Accord, but the price is different, trick what?

• simon on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:11 am

Why don’t just rebadge VW Passat or Peugeot 508??

• vincent on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:47 am

I don’t mind to buy the Accord perdana if it cost around 100k +/-, just hope that they can do some tuning on the handling because the previous generation accord got a very light steering wheel and it doesn’t have much road feel driving it.

• mr_em on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:51 am

If you read between the lines, and put rebadging aside…
    consider the story from the beginning:

i) Govt wants to replace the old Perdana;
    ii) They then considered Honda Accord first (Honda is assembled by DRB Hicom, owned by you know who) they dont want Camry because Opposition chose that already (haha!)
    iii) But they backtracked when someone told Parliament that Proton is “developing” a Perdana replacement
    iv) But in actual fact the Perdana replacement is still an prevous-gen “Accord”
    v) Govt is in a win-win situation as they can put on paper at least that they bought a Proton as their official car, but they got the Accord that they wanted from the beginning in all but name.
    vi) The Govt officers will all be smiling & laughing as they will not be using old Perdana as their official car anymore… (haha!)
    vii) Proton is now a happy middleman as before only Honda will get the share from the sale… but now through this latest deal, Proton can booked-in some profits too for their part in rebadging… much better than Govt buying direct from Honda Malaysia… either way DRB-Hicom gains from the deal…. the losers are mostly taxpayers, old Accord owners and those who are too emotional about this whole thing…

Imagine the size of the deal… how many Perdanas to replace? 1,000? 2,000? RM150 million or RM300 million? Or may be more… and also the lucrative fleet maintenance contracts that come with all these… And now you see why Proton would want to have a share of the profits even as some “commission” will do…

• hondaman on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:14 pm

weii…it will involve less than 300 units only lahh

• CarsUnite1M on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:46 am

Ahem. That’s 3.000 units.

You guys must all be blind, because time and time again Proton has said that this is merely a stop-gap measure to ensure that Proton remains the preferred choice of the Federal Govt. (which it IS, in light of the fact that the Govt. shoved Proton into providing a D-seg car that they themselves weren’t interested in pursuing).

Also, this is not for public consumption, and the Phase 2 Perdana will show the public what Proton can do, under the purview of DRB-Hicom. And that, will lead the way to the introduction of a 100% Malaysian Perdana in 5-10yrs time, with the 100% Malaysian Petronas engine.

Be proud, damnit. We’re getting there.

• b sensible on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:24 pm

good write mr_em! i see so much business transactions here…proton paying honda royalties in exchange of accord, gov buy proton rebadged accord, proton pay tax to gov…the bottomline is simple-gov also thinks like businessman. whatever flow out from the gov pocket (buying car) will be recovered back in the form of tax paid by proton! gov can even tax honda for the royalties money received too! very smart move!

• Yes, it makes sense when you want to revive the slow business of Proton. However I disagree that it’ll help Proton to sustain as a brand. Short term gain, long term loss!

• I think government registered car are tax-free, anyone knows?

• bhchiah on Nov 11, 2013 at 4:33 pm

It is tax free as what PR government did for their new Camry cars.

• mr_em on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:06 am

I think Proton will break the record for fastest “rebadging” in the history of the automotive industry… Proud of you, keep it up… Keep breaking records for Malaysia… Proton Boleh!

• Pronda on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:14 am

Yeah, I support you dude!
    Boleh, boleh, boleh!
    Soon, I can drive a Proton 911, proton Enzo,or even a Proton zonda?

• Pronda on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:54 am

Risky to buy any Honda car from now since Honda and DRb are endorsed business partners, who knows anytime soon they may rebadge the CRV or Jazz… Im staying out for sure.

• pirlo on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:49 pm

i can assure you there is no that kind of project – cr-v, jazz, city, civic etc.
      except for this accord for govt official car (300 units only – only for govt personnels)
      later on, will have platform share of that accord for new d-segment replacement to mass public (means upper body, powertrain, feautures & accesories all are different).

• Polo Saga on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:58 am

Why do we need Proton? To rebadge more japanese cars?

• Marco Polo on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Answer :- to make some japanese car more affordable in local brand.

• bhchiah on Nov 11, 2013 at 4:37 pm

More japanese care in local brand with unknown quality. Remember most of accessories will be then localized. How good is the quality we should know – those we owned Proton car before.

• ktard on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Honda Accord owner butthurt.

• When talk about why we need to protect our local made product – it is a pride of nation

When talk about why rebadging – it is normal practice in the industry

whatever it is….

Consumer here always the loser

• Accordana TYPE R!! some will stick Spoon/Mugen badge too ^^

• Uncle Honda on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:36 pm

What is wrong with rebadge? It is a common in car manufacturing.

List of rebadge cars:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_badge-engineered_vehicles

• Maserati on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:45 pm

After reading like 90% of the comments posted here, its true from scientific surveys that 90% of Malaysians are ignorant and to a certain extent, stupid. No wonder you have this government ruling you. Truth hurts.

It’s common knowledge that this is for gov officials, why are the public butt hurt about this news? You aren’t getting your hands on this unless you are working highup the songlap chain.

• silver on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:48 pm

i think this is a good move asthisD -segment sales are low anyway.. hope proton focus more of its effort on smaller cars and engine and transmition.

• Someguyonthenet on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:08 pm

It looks like the Honda Accord…Alot! Are they going to do it like they did with the Inspira? At least try to change it here and there. It looks like proton just got lazy.

• samlu on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:23 pm

It does happens sometimes, tell that other automakers too, why only proton?

• Turning Point on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Look at the bright side, consumer may have better option they can choose either genuine or pirated.

• Honda Boleh on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:52 pm

Why Honda…..why would you let the worlds worst car manufacturer rebadge your accord. …really stupid move to make a small profit.

Good luck to all honda owners especially for the accord owners previous & current gen, honda brand will be rubbish after this & RV for your cars will be a joke ….Honda boleh !!!

• feindf on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Is Proton the worlds worst car manufacturer ? Where you got that, in your dream? LOL

• Bataman on Nov 08, 2013 at 1:58 pm

I don’t really see the point of this….why spend money and resources to rebadge an old D-Segment car just to sell to Goverment??? Can’t the Goverment just buy some other cars? This car is not going to sell to locals (maybe 1 unit a month!). Why can’t goverment official drive Inspira, Preve or Suprima S? They’re too fat from eating too much corruption to fit in anything less than a D-Segment car????

• you name it on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Disgusting looking creature. Re-badging make it even worst! Why waste so much on your R&D team and end up using some other ppls car? i know you guys have so many talented ppl inside you.. come on, use them. make them appreciate with their conribution! Proton please..

• bikers kental on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:33 pm

rilek la. DRB baru take over proton not more than 2 years. to organize back the structure and company’s direction do not take 2 weeks to finish. can’t u see the progress so far? proton have bought petronas engine pattern (mind you, not only the infamous ne01), secured collaboration with honda, restructuring back lotus (close china and malaysia office, sack danny bahar for overspending company’s money), launched suprima.
      they just revealed their 5 years plan. to be fair, let us judge their performance after 4-5 years, then we can bash.

• Logic Thinking on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:26 pm

As long as Proton, all will consider as wrong..you rats will bash ’em like hell when Proton developing thier own platform, saying what, wasting people money huh? When this Proton rebadging other marks to reduce the cost, you idiot will call it no creativity, bla & bla? haven’t you learn from the economy class?Or all the basher here never ever step into the University? I believe the no brainer basher here will give a million of credit if let say the Persona or even Preve are carying Honda, Toyota, or perhaps a BMW,Merc, Ford,etc emblem on it right? But things will never happend like that if the badge are Proton.You idiot previously kepe crying like a little baby asking for Proton to improve all the technologies and equip the car with all the bell & wistle, but when they try to deliver all those request,all you know is only blame there and here. Wonder what car are you guys driving right now? If you reach enough to look a Proton like a grabage then don’t buy this mark.End of story. But there is a lot of people out there who still need a car and Proton is one of their hope, coz they may not so wealthy like all of you no brainer basher. Rebadging is normal in auto industry.If Aston Martin can rebadge Toyota so why not Proton rebadging Honda or whatever it is?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Mike Dude on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Ehem…so, this Perdana model is gonna last for another 20-30 more years? LOL!

• hahaa on Nov 08, 2013 at 2:37 pm

nowadays proton are not even trying, rebadge? this “car” is a disgrace to honda. what a piece of rubbish.

• yippy on Nov 09, 2013 at 7:02 pm

You don’t the whole article, only come to bash? That’s proton basher trademark, bash blindly, when asked then no answer given, LOL

• Guys! Latest news! Based on the market feedback DRB is getting, they have decided to make major changes to this initiative… they have decided to change the name of PROTON to ………

PROCOPY!!!!! Yay!!!!

• Sparcov on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:00 pm

Proton rebadge Lancer get Mivec Engine
    Proton rebadge accord get Vtec Engine
    Proton own Campro also have CPS or CFE Engine
    Proton also owned EO1 Petronas engine

Combined all technology above, Proton still not learning ? to produce next generation engine? also I cannot say anything already.

• Ride and handling tuning is done by locals.The design too.

• RnD is not easy la. especially with very little manpower.

I think zaman belajar dulu you tiru assignment orang lain pun ambil masa berzaman…

• upalk on Nov 10, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Sebab dia ingat dah pandai sangat la bagi komen macam tu. Rebadging pun ada banyak jenis, kalau takat cam tampal sticker je baik tak payah buat.

• proton…what are u doing?
    proton…sthap

• Why don’t Potong appoint Honda (Melaka) be OEM.. So no more re-badging issues.

• Many are using ‘disgusting’ word and I don’t know why..probably Honda owners, well I feel sorry for them. On a serious note, Proton should think ahead. They should develop C & D segment vendors more. Why this Prohon or Honton comes out (Or inspira for that matter) is a reflection of Proton’s vendors capability in these segments.
    Better late than never..good luck Proton.

• nocrid on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Damm honda for copying proton. Damm mitsu for copying proton

• berann on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Look exactly the same. Just change back to Honda badge, steering and rims…Here you go.. you get a Honda accord and RM 30-40k cheaper..why not? haha
    nobody knows.

• Ray 7 on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Proton should name this rebadge Honda Accord as “PROTON PRONDA”. As this car is used by Government Executive going out meronda-ronda….

• arrow on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Reality is that:-

a. Rebadge – Kena taruk.
    b. New & fresh design – Also kena taruk.
    c. Scrap down proton – Confirm kena taruk punya.
    d. Other issues about proton – Sure ramai yang mau taruk.

Malaysia build aeroplane also sure kena taruk kaw-kaw

Sometimes bashing is good in order to improve and move forward but over bashing will simply kill. Hmm…

• Rebadging? Don’t throw stones when you are living in glass house.

• Proton City on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Next to rebadge will be call proton city, C-segment car….there goes the honda city cars RV …. !! Proton got so much thick skin….kena kutuk from rakyat & everybody knows what a crap car company they are, KLIMS 2013 also proton dare not masuk… yet they are so proud to continue on & on doing the same crapy things all over ..it’s like a circle…..when shit hit the ceiling, they restructure & continue to produce crap & if cannot rebadge from others but agiant it’s crap coz of the quality being produce by them & round and round we go….proton will always be a failure but will continue to be around as long as our G keeps protecting & feeding easy money for them to survive. Rakyat will keep on paying for crap coz we are only given crap by them keeping all other car makes out of the poor/middle income reach giving them to settle with crap & round and round we go again ! Such a waste of our tax payers hard earn money while this monkeys sit & continue to produce crap !!

• nzain on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:40 pm

i cant imagine proton badge on these honda car…it might looks odd….instead the car seem floating…

• ahmad zul on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:51 pm

can we as Malaysian’s honestly compare ourselves wit the Japs and Koreans ? especially in their work ethics and national pride. n yet some post compares KIA/ Hyundai cars with Proton cars. Is it wrong for the government of a developing nation to protect their industries n the ppl whose livelyhood depends from these industries?
    Malaysia is the only developing country that is able to produce a car from the ground up, n all other developed countries do also their rebadging to ensure good business. haters will always b haters n they will eat their words when they later see where Proton is going with this project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • KIA and HYUNDAI is a younger company than proton and if they can excel better than Proton, it just says alot about our work ethics and national pride is about being proud and keep improving. Can we say the same for proton? And would you think that over protecting proton in the long term is good for the livelyhood of proton? We are not saying to close Proton. We are saying to make them competitive and stop protecting them before the overprotectionism forces Proton to close and all those who depend on the livelyhood will be out of the job and yet have not marketable skills because of the protectionsism.

• ahmad zul on Nov 09, 2013 at 9:39 am

owh… then let’s push government to reduce and end subsidies on food, petrol, diesel n LPG coz those too r initiatives for Malaysians. i guess so many here knows wat happens at the highest level of management/government, understands in detail the Malaysian macro & micro economy & able to think and decide w/o considering grey areas whatsoever

• chrono on Nov 09, 2013 at 11:36 am

KIA and HYUNDAI is a younger company than proton?

This is joke of the year in PT.

• ksckt on Nov 09, 2013 at 1:46 pm

I see there are still people who bashed blindly. Please do some reading, bashing without facts shows how naive you are.

• m4a1 carbine on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:51 pm

OMG! for me is a stupid move.. This current Accord is a 2008 designed model and sooner and later it will be outdated, for it”s technology and design……imagine/predict that this “perdana” produce from 2014-2018, than it will be an old car by that time…..Thats y ppl say proton car are lousy and outdate……After nearly 30 years of producing cars, they still want to other brands car
    and this is a shame…. I knew that there are some in house car by proton, such as preve, waja, exora… But the technlogy is still borrow from other car companies…

May proton go bankrupt and kaput and close shop, proton causes many foreign car to have high taxes due to the stupid protectionism policy…..Stupid maha devil (Dr M) and yr stupid proton……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • bikers kental on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:22 pm

the technology borrow from where? preve, exora, waja. waja used renault and mmc engine. other than that?

• ilsan on Nov 09, 2013 at 7:36 am

Toyota is even lousy and outdated, overpriced too.

• m4a1 carbine on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:54 pm

If this car sell, can sell below rm80k? In overseas brand new (latest generation) accord cost around that also.. ey, can cheaper ah? Since is an old model and rebadged….

• shazzy on Nov 08, 2013 at 5:23 pm

i will definately buy this car….its an opportunity for all malaysian to buy such a RM149K car at lower price…its the same concept as ispira from mitsu…

those who barking like no other biz is juz people who are jelez since there bought it at higher price from the honda, not from pronda……

• shazzy on Nov 08, 2013 at 5:26 pm

i will definately buy this car….its an opportunity for all malaysian to buy such a RM149K car at lower price…its the same concept as ispira from mitsu…

those who barking like no other biz is juz people who are jelez since there bought it at higher price from the honda, not from pronda..

• vee-oh on Nov 08, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Proton you don’t need to jump into this segment..revise your products planning & focus on small & medium car only la.your image is so bad, recover it first. this move is like you want to play play only, not serious in building car.i thought when private bought you, you will think differently, but..oh my

• tkhengong on Nov 08, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Lo and behold! I just posted a comment in regard to the hybrid exemption for next year and how it could probably be intended to bolster the coffer of the no. 1 crony of Malaysia who incidentally owns Proton & Honda distributorship in Malaysia besides others like Audi & Volkswagen. It’s unbelievable – I am now reading the 2008 Accord will be the next Perdana! LOL

• Protiga on Nov 08, 2013 at 7:27 pm

To own and drive an Accord at the Proton price may still be a dream for many as the rebadged Accord will be used only for top government officials. Existing Accord owners should feel proud that the model is chosen for ministers and judges.

• National pride sial

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • KIMYSTERY on Nov 08, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Proton Camry for next few year PLEASE ~~ ^.^

• Pokok on Nov 09, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Oh yeah, let’s be fair.
      Then how about Nissan? Pontenna or Pontianak?
      Mazda, Suzuki…

• i support this on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:29 pm

I somehow support this because car price in Malaysia is damn expensive. Hopefully proton retain its original honda engine and gearbox and whatever which is crucial. the price for this might be rm110 – 120k just like inspira which shed off rm20k from the original lancer.

those who has so much money go buy bmw and other conti cars and let gov / cronies used up your tax money.

• i support this on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:35 pm

I somehow support this because car in malaysia is ridiculously expensive!. i hope proton retains its original honda engine, transmission and this car should be priced around C-segment car rm110 – 120k.

just like inspira which shed off rm20k-30k from the original lancer price.

for those who have lots of money go buy bmw and other conti cars and those gov/cronies will laugh their way to the bank with all the car taxes gains.

• Thinkdis on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:04 am

If there was no protection for Proton, Original Lancer is 20-30K cheaper.

• my name is pronda on Nov 08, 2013 at 9:47 pm

I somehow support this because car in malaysia is ridiculously expensive!. i hope proton retains its original honda engine, transmission, interior and this car should be priced around C-segment car rm110 – 120k.

just like inspira which shed off rm20k-30k from the original lancer price.

for those who have lots of money go buy bmw and other conti cars and those gov/cronies will laugh their way to the bank with all the car taxes gains.

• Potong+Honda=The Power of Nightmare
    POtong+HoNDA=PONDA, or PONDAN

• wow.. hopefully it improve all the complaint from last Perdana

• Katak on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Why not just buy from Honda directly. For government, they can buy at discount price. No need to go through Proton. Furthermore this rebadge car might not be available for public anyway.

• They might have plans to use the platform later

• bhchiah on Nov 11, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Government Car is tax free like PR government bought Camry 2.4L with 90K+ only. SO it should not buy through Proton.

• Dejavu on Nov 09, 2013 at 12:17 am

Soon adolf hitler will get mad about this news…parody

• Guna Otak on Nov 09, 2013 at 12:24 am

National car? Slapping a badge on an existing Japanese car and call it a national car? So what is so national about the car that it deserves all the tax incentives? Does proton learn anything technical by slapping a badge? Way to go, Proton!

• Rebadging = Slapping a badge ? LOL
      I think you are still a kid who never works hard for money. It’s easy said than done. Grow up.

• Thinkdis on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:08 am

Actually Guna Otak is not far off. Its CKD and then Slapping a badge on. Lols.

• YOu are blind not to see those wires inside, certainly not for slapping badge. LOL

• Thinkdis on Nov 09, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Obviously you are ignorant what the CKD process is like…… :S

• Obviously you didn’t read the whole article, LOL

• icann on Nov 10, 2013 at 2:06 am

It’d be stages, but I could say, for mass production, the end product is different from original Accord.

• Alfa 147ss on Nov 09, 2013 at 12:31 am

Haha.. This news really make my day. I do believe that certain group of people bought the same Certain car that kinda mirror their inner self. Dont get me wrong, i had a lot of respect in honda tech especially their bike division. But god, now those snobbish boring hag gonna learn that ur car are nit that great.. Haha

• west end boys on Nov 09, 2013 at 3:44 am

memalukan , after 20+ years ,proton is still rebadging

• platte on Nov 09, 2013 at 8:06 am

Common thing among automakers, why so fussy?

• Thinkdis on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:06 am

Correction…. common thing among NEW Automakers for mass marker not 20yr olds!

• platte on Nov 09, 2013 at 11:29 am

Holden – 1908, you know how to count?

• Thinkdis on Nov 09, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Great example…… and where is holden now? Just in Australia and NZ mate! And with a lil reseach with google you will find out amazing things like GM owns it and uses it to share the cost of R&D across it other brands like the Vauxhall/Opel brand for Europe.

• platte on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:36 pm

So what, it’s still running business. There are other makers too, I’m sure you were too spoon-fed last time. Pity.

• Thinkdis on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:51 pm

So, ur example was a terrible one and your only pathetic rebuttal is to make personal insults. Lols. Good one! :D

• platte on Nov 10, 2013 at 2:11 am

Why terrible? It was established loooonnngggg time ago, suits your answer. Or if you want to know more ‘successful’ and older company you have to look for it yourself.

• Jilbaber on Nov 09, 2013 at 7:43 am

Although its officially only as a gov. cars so far. I retain my hope this PRM model will make into production for general users. This is actually good move from Proton (maybe Honda too) to balance the ridiculous ‘Resale Value’ phenomena in this beloved country.

• Proton Saga on Nov 09, 2013 at 8:22 am

Anyone recall Francesca Peter’s Song.. PROTON SAGAAaa.. KEJAYAAN MALAYSIAaa..

• Its funny how some people argued rebadging is common and we were wrong to critisize Potong…if u keep rebadging, why become a car manufacturer?? For national pride? Why not become auto assembler instead and saves hundreds of millions of rinngit for so called R&D? Kia Hyundai tried and successfully produced bigger engines and premium models, they dont chickened out and forever produce small cars in a protected home market, they conquered the worlds toughest market unlie Potong jaguh kampung tanam jagung

• vivos on Nov 09, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Kia and Hyundai are way older than Proton. Economies of scale does matter. In short term rebadging is ok but for long term knowledge is power. money and knowledge which comes first? If you say money then why there are schools or you never go to one? Are you one of school leavers that got rich without any learning? LOL

• Smirks on Nov 09, 2013 at 7:14 pm

KIA technically started to build proper cars in 1986, Proton 1983, Hyundai 1967.

• purple on Nov 09, 2013 at 12:39 pm

this car will enter KLIMS 2013 next week or not
    its ok for rebadge, people will buy, just like inspira. so dont be shy

• public on Nov 09, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Hahaha, what a joke, can rather buy a second hand accord than this so called ” proton accord”?!

• gengzi on Nov 09, 2013 at 6:59 pm

Rebadged Accord got Lotus RnH. Much better than ori one, lol.

• pok mang on Nov 09, 2013 at 5:47 pm

if don’t mind please rebadge the new odyssey too…logically after 2-3 years (even 5-6 years) msian still hunt those japanese model around recond car showroom

• Pokok on Nov 09, 2013 at 7:10 pm

Good News for Old Accord Owners!
    Buy purotong badge and stick it on, there you got a new car, congratulation. ButtHurt.

• Keeper on Nov 10, 2013 at 7:33 am

Using an ‘old’ model to rebadge as ‘new’ Perdana… What logic…. I hope the money spent on R&D was not used to ‘research’ which car model are we going to be rebadging next. :S

• samlook on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:29 am

why not take dugong and rebadge to PROTON VIOS. sure got many people will buy because of good RESALE VALUE!!

• Mat Long on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:41 am

Can Proton rebadge Ferrari or Lamborgini? Or maybe Porshe and BMW. At least try to get in Dodge. I like Proton rebadge Mitsu. I can get Mivec at cheaper price. But i wish to have supercar. Rebadge la….rebadge la banyak sikit. I dont mind using Proton logo as long inside got what i want. That look Lancer drivers have was priceless.

• mizan on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:36 pm

This is all about doing business… this is business strategic thinking by Honda and Proton. But for me, all things happen in doing business… it’s good for proton and honda too

• old dog on Nov 11, 2013 at 4:12 pm

protong become holden…however, Au Gov did not penalty their citizen like bolehland of such high tax…all those R&D to protong can throw into tong sampah, why not protong changed into a rebage company, and just do all old model even with bmw46, but abolish those tax since we have no longer any local manufacturer, and let protong survive itself.

• bhchiah on Nov 11, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Proton will only stay locally if they keep on doing re-badge, and always way behind other car maker. taking other car technologies by doing re-badging.
    As we are rakyat, we have to continue pay world tope 3 higher car price to own a car. What a pity we are.

• Just tanggal the badge and tampal balik “H” logo macham Naza Kia, Inokom Matrix, and Naza Bestari. Dapat kereta baru tapi model lama aje. Dulu Honda warranty, now Proton warranty da. Honda sell the old models to Proton at 2nd hand value cost (to off load old stocks), and Proton jack up the cost to cover profit and sell to the Gomen without tax and import duties. Honda menang. Proton menang. Middleman paling menang. Rakyat ? …bayar tax aje ler.

• Homestay Melaka on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:00 pm

just like honda accord :)

• Saikia on Nov 12, 2013 at 6:12 am

The only phrase in the world that can describe the look – It is just plain ugly.

Copy E46 with minor mod is better and no need to pay loyalty.

• Norman J on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:22 am

If Proton continues not to perform, then government may continue to PROTECT Proton and we the Rakyat, will continue to pay excessive excise duties for non-national cars. Haiya!!!

• THE DEAN on Nov 12, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Wow. They can’t even remodel the taillight or bumpers? Rebadging is often done with subtle but distinguishable changes. This is not rebadging. This is piracy. I pity those who own this model Accords.

• thedarkside on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:01 pm

and this accord will be escorted by the likes of XC90, S60 volvo police cars not to mentioned the CBR motorcyles and the mitsubishi evos.
    Hmmm…something is not right here.

• Central Bongek on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:26 pm

What ever it is , Proton don’t have new ideas and own identity , The team don’t have R&D no Technology and of coz no Money , just be re branding the others car like “This is Clown in the Car” , Change everything – mind set, ideology , “sharegy” (sharing technology), and Identity ……the we can claim ” This is Malaysian Car “

• Chipmunk on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:46 am

Luckily i manage to sell of my accord,dun ever buy a HONDA again,i still have a 2009 Jazz bought 110k,now new car RM74k,HONDA dun take care of their loyal customer at all,they made car totally not sincere as my 2010 accord from new until sell off, the engine vibration really like sitting inside a proton wira as i had before too.No wonder Honda can work out with proton.Congrat…shabas

• honda tsubasa on Nov 17, 2013 at 2:08 am

long live malaysia and japan automotive technology co-operation, we both can together aim to be the world technology pioneer and market leader :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nLBPUWiOMp8

• TheOne on Nov 18, 2013 at 1:53 pm

It a mule, they are testing petronas engine

• Abg Long on Nov 20, 2013 at 1:49 pm

why can they just use 5 star proton preve??? govt. of the day must support national brand..

• interesting to see whenever news pop up related to proton, there are endless thread and comment posted.

Anyway, to cut short, proton must improve how the car looks like from outside. This must be taken seriously…if they master the modern car lookalike…they can at least give satisfaction to the public.. Engine,chassis,safety,fuel consumption..pretty much so call they are crawling rigourosly to get among the top..

• Already give this perdana to PM today

• I am personally strongly object to Proton-copy cars since Proton Inspira came out. Because I disappointed Proton such a make decision to produce these kindda things.

• Jokers on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Proton has done Malaysian proud by producing another car! I am really excited .It feels like waiting for a new iphone release. Malaysian should celebrate this new car!Probably declare another public holiday.Thanks to Proton as now I live in a squatter rented home.Proton has rob Malaysians from having a good standard of living.Advisor to Proton should be given higher recognition CarTun!

• jojiboy on Dec 24, 2013 at 12:33 am

saya fikirlah kan, kalau proton bukan dimiliki oleh saham kerajaan dan saham orang orang melayu pasti ‘haters’ ni semua tidak akan buat bising. disebabkan mungkin idea semua dari hasil anak tempatan terutamanya melayu ,ramai yang katakan proton tidak bagus, kereta yang dibawa masuk oleh tan sri vincent tan tidak pula dikutuk,dihina,dicaci dan dimaki sebegitu rupa oleh ‘haters’ kereta buatan ‘MALAYSIA’!?! walaupun mereka tahu ianya adalah kereta buatan china ;)

• Rebadging is better than stealing…many many many years when most of you were still babies or did not exist,Fujitsu of Japan was sued by US for stealing technology from US and many of the Fujitsu management were implicated. and charged with bribery.
    Now most manufacturers will design cars that look alike their competitors…MyVi is based on a Toyota or Daihatsu model that was pulled out from the Australian market due to poor sales.

• car enthusiast on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:13 am

okay, so here’s a quick history on proton. proton saga was based on the 1983 Mitsubishi Lancer Fiore. proton had the right to copy another car’s design – okay la for our first national car, considered as a quick kickstart into the world of automobile. This was back in 1985.

2014 – tadaaaaa! proton announces the Accordana! what?! wait..! Can’t everyone see? Rather can following another car’s concept and design, now we’ve taken a SHORTER ROUTE by pasting the THUNDERCAT logo (don’t even get me started on this -_-) on the front and back!

Come to think of it…quite smart what? i bet their R&D has discussions like “so, its 2014 – what other car can we copy ah?”

C’mon Rakyat…Malaysia BOLEH..! ANYTHING CAN ONE IN MALAYSIA.

• can some9ne tell me if this accord-perdana is for sale to the public?

or is this solely for govt officials?