VIDEO: Perodua Axia Advance walk-around tour

Our newest walk-around video sees us get up close and personal with “Malaysia’s first Energy Efficient Vehicle” – the recently-launched Perodua Axia. Being the little Viva‘s successor and the car with the lowest starting price in the country, this is about as significant as cars get.

We’ve told you all about the Axia – in our extensive launch report, exhaustive gallery and initial driving impressions from not one, not two, but three points of view – but as we always say, nothing beats seeing things move, work and come to life before your very eyes.

The range-topping Perodua Axia Advance is the focus of this video, but we compress all there is to know about, and everything surrounding, Perodua’s new baby, including a breakdown of the specs and pricing, safety and warranty, and how it got its EEV status.

We also show and demonstrate all the different seat configurations (how much stuff can we cram in?), how much room there is for occupants in the back, plus target-specific features like the anti-snatch hook and built-in tissue compartment.

We hope you enjoy the video, and don’t forget to subscribe to our Youtube channel for more! And in case you’re wondering, this isn’t the last you’ll hear from us on the Axia. Not by a long shot…

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Àlahai (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Popcorn? Checked.
    1..2..3.. Bashhhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:48 pm

credit to kereta info

1) 1.0 liter engine is like too suffering to bring this car with loads.
      2) Engine noise and vibration is terrible
      3) The body metal sheet is the thinnest we have ever seen and easily get dented
      4) Bad front looks on standard version
      5) Super bad speedometer design and practicality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 66
      • Wisdom on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Bought 1 for wifey to go to market. Yellow Advance version. Going to collect d car tomorrow.
        Not expecting much from the cheapest car in the market. Though d arguments between proton & perodua fanatic seems really amusing. Keep up d good entertainment guys…
        *I foresee some fanatic may argue my nickname with my purchase. Come on, its cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:20 pm

wooww so fast can get… p2 salesman said this model hot long q waiting period 1-2 years you know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 36
          • Vader (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 7:45 am

There might have some salesman over praised the car, but i not think they will said waiting period 1-2 years, it more likely is your own creation.
            Ppl smart oredi.. hehe.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Low Budget on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:22 am

P2 said that waiting period is between 1 to 2 months, some early birds do get their units starting from this week, nothing unusual about it.
            Your claim of waiting period of 1 to 2 years is purely B.S. no matter how you condemn and comment negatively on P2 cars, most neutral people will not believe in your comments.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:48 am

The car good or not, it is all fact based.

No need syok sendiri before the car is launched (Iriz) or 2 years waiting period bashing (Axia).

As you always said: Rakyat smart already, why don’t you get any smarter, Peyno? lol

A Perodua, is a rebadged Daihatsu.
            A Proton, with this and that, chicken wings smoking feature bla bla bla, still a PROTON. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 3:22 pm

dear macai if 10 years ago u said this car daihatsu la japan tech laa… ppl will trust u… but now ppl smart oredi .. u cant hide behind their name anymore… esp after indonesian made daihatsu produce the car n p2 later

dear all macai
            i know u r lazy read all comments but there was conversation btw two p2 macai saying that the manual low end will be1 year lead time n now become 2 years leadtime

rakyat smart oredi

• Same L0rrr on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Some people believe Perodua is Japanese quality, some don’t not.

But once mention it is Proton, EVERYONE say “No, thank you, bye bye!”

Thus why 2013 Proton were sold at RM8k discount last month.

Peyno, stop bullshiting around lar. Time to cool down and face the fact!

We all know you love Proton so much, but Proton, is still a Proton after all.

• samelorsark on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:10 pm

p1 is going forward, nice car with right specs for 2014 while p2 is going backward. For 43K Axia still doesn’t have VSC.

• policeman on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Why torture your wife like that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 23
        • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:43 pm

some people always said safety is important, must have many airbags, must have ABS, ESP, EPS, DVVT, JPG, HTML, MKV, AVI… must have soft touch material, must have this, must have that, and so on…
          Then they buy an ’empty’ car for wife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 5:44 am

becoz.. he is not driving the car… anything happen.. his beloved wife, child yg kena…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
          • grow up on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:38 am

please grow up. if the car is intended for short distance trip to fetch children or going to morning market, do u really think ABS, ESP, EPS, DVVT, JPG, HTML, MKV, AVI is necessary? is 8 airbags and ESP needed if the car hardly exceed 50km/h?

people buy car based on their needs and purpose. stop acting like rich guy and bash without reason. if u are indeed rich then stop browsing for Axia news, might as well go buy a supercar instead!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
          • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:54 pm

People asking Proton to put all the things and expect the price to be cheap. while the same people can accept empty perodua cars thinking it’s cheap, so it’s ok. but perodua is not cheap. if you compare proton and perodua cars by price, proton cars are usually better in size and specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • What make you think your car cant lose control or your wheel cant locked up at 50km/h?

• M/T is KING on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:32 am

Yeahh it’s cheap. It’s your money. U decide.

• Scrooge on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:24 am

Your wife deserves better.

• Wisdom on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:18 pm

1st day with d car.
          Really not bad at all…
          Really2 not bad…

Its easy to please a ‘tame’ wife really. Its for her market trip anyway.

Longer journey for d family still up to my 6 airbags, vsc equipped, double wishboned, all wheel drived, isofixed, auto levelled hid and 5 star euro-ncaped car to secure them. Thanks for your concern guys. Really appreciate it..

• Wisdom, just ignore those fucktards Proton cybertroopers especially Peyno. It’s really getting irritating to see them bash every post there is on Axia……..

• malaysian00 on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:54 am

so quick meh?
          i already book the car month before, the salesman said the quickest i can get in 4month time meh

u bullshitting me or what?

• Wisdom on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Yes. Got d car already.
            Its faster if u booked d Advance version.
            My sa told me G or SE gotta long q.

• riz (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:31 am

Cheapest new car in Malaysia .. what do you expect ?

• riz (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:56 am

Wow, have to turn off the engine to open the boot ..
        Leceh gak…
        RM42 pun bukak pakai kunci ?
        still have 80s-90s features…

Also as per video, the rear seat are very spacious..
        but if the car was hit from the back , the passenger gonna suffer whiplash…

This car is a guy buy start from RM37k for its SE & Advanced model.. because of its safety features.
        without tilt steering wheel, wow thats a big problem unless its fit nicely..
        Some features that even the old Viva are better.

its a nice looking car, big boot , very light..
        For 2nd car or city car , this car is a good buy.
        but still need to wait for Proton Axia review..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:32 am

It may not have tilt steering adjust but it has a proper driver’s seat height adjust. Pump style, so seating isn’t tooooo much of a problem.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:34 am

And, Proton Axia again? ;)

• lazyf on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:17 am

Proton Iriz la

• 1.0 load? As like 1.6 for the big mpv is so powerful. Lihatlah cermin dulu.

• common sensor on Sep 23, 2014 at 8:51 am

Axia for wife; Jazz for girlfriend … implied but not stated

• Same L0rrr on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:25 am

This is a low class car for low class people. It is mainly for the kampung people whose intelligence are in question. Kampung people know nothing. All they do is pro-create. They don’t know anything else.

They don’t ask safety questions. They just eat, sleep and pro-create. That is all they know. Many have come to bandar and all they do is the same thing in the kampung, pro-create. They cannot think much and question why this car is so low in quality and safety specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 38
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:02 pm

When kampung people is mentioned, you know it is FAKE Same L0rrr.

Aren’t you tired of masquerading me, Peyno/Ah Beng?

Real Same L0rrr has no discrimination on kampung/city people, but only on junk build quality car.

• samelorstpd on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:37 pm

There is no different between Same Lorrr or real Sam Loo, both suck.

Sudah kantoi dengan KZM last time lagi mau kencing

• kzm (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:15 am

both axia n iriz have ugly auto/cvt gear knob..but axia look little bit ok la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • Oh My English on Sep 23, 2014 at 5:48 am

“No Watching Video When Driving ?” OH MY ENGLISH !! its “WHILE” Driving ! Proof of Malaysia’s Disastrous Education System

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
        • Gargantia on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:45 am

Will bolehland proud of this ???
          Or this we call bolehland EEV standard of English??

Hope the children won’t learn this kind of English.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:04 pm

You are right partially. You also part of MDES. lol

It suppose to be “No Video Watching While Driving…”.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Best just put “Video function is disabled when the vehicle is in motion. Please drive safely and pay attention to the road ahead.”

• Wisdom on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Thats is to long to read and may also distract drivers.
            Might as well just disable d function, leave d screen blank or just put cross mark.

• Nissan on Sep 23, 2014 at 3:55 am

good enough to tabao Proton……bicycle.

• Sorchai (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Saw the car in real life over the weekend by chance. Unbelievable package (Advanced version). Seats are comfortable. Space is amazing for a car this size. Engine bay is very spacious. Boot space is huge.

If I need to get a small car to get to and fro work, this is what I would get. I am seriously considering this car now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 25
    • riz (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:32 am

engine bay spacious ? whos gonna sit in there ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
      • Oh My English on Sep 23, 2014 at 5:50 am

The Engine, Idiot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • Obviously (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:33 am

If you have the mind to maintain the car yourself, you’ll think about the engine bay space for ease of access. A motorhead friend looked at it and found that it is quite easy to maintain, except for the oil filter which is tucked in quite a remote location.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 7:27 am

How old are you kid?

Big engine bay is for kaki modify.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • ha ha ha on Sep 23, 2014 at 8:40 am

riz… nope… gonna sleep in there… ha ha ha

• Engine bay spacious so next time can put in a bolt on turbo and a huge intercooler…

• bigman on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:37 pm

if waste rm40+ thousand to buy a se version ,i better buy 1.3 myvi se. more spacious cabin, a more powerful powertrain .

• leoRNado on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:01 pm

impressive for 1 litre model. But do not make direct comparison with Iriz as these 2 models are diff segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • hvannees on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:04 pm

So how booking numbered now? Now waiting this 25th and then go to showroom and compared both eventhought different segment. Both nationals

• M/T is KING on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:57 pm

U can’t compare both cars.
      It depends on what do u prefers.

• Hamdi on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Same with me. It’s either Axia or Iris. My wife don’t care nor bother about the car segment as in *real life*, what’s the significant difference in size between A or B segment? She just wants a relatively small car to replace her Kancil 850 Auto for daily driving, easy parking and bringing kids back from school.

My budget is between RM40K to RM45K with some extra to topup further if really need be. After my wife’s needs as priority no 1, comes my needs which is for a safe car. FC is a mid level priority. As long as it is not worst than the Kancil auto. And RV is not in the priority list at all.

Would have booked Axia if Iris had not “declared” itself recently. Willing to wait for both of us to test drive both cars, a few times, before deciding.

• Rahman on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:12 pm

I’ve visited the Perodua showroom yesterday and their SA was good in doing explanation. From my observation and experience, this car can sell very well and I’m quite surprised with the quality inside a small car like this.
    1. Using timing chain
    2. Daihatsu Aluminium Engine
    3. New transmission unit from Japan
    4. Good fuel consumption (21.6 km/l)
    5. Bigger luggage space
    6. 1.0L means good performance for small and town car
    7. Comes with different variants and starting from 24k
    8. Highest spec for Axia is cheaper than lowest spec Proton Iriz
    9. 2 airbags which is good for a small car
    10. The cabin size is just a bit smaller than Proton Iriz and bigger than Suzuki Swift
    11. Axia using E-throttle system which is can be found in Toyota Prius, Camry and all modern cars nowadays.
    12. Perodua is an established name for good after sales service in Malaysia.
    Malaysian should consider this car as a town/urban car as our country is towards green and eco-friendly…plus the fuel price is keep hiking. I really believe that this car is suitable to all students, junior executives, ladies & senior citizen out there. Perodua has done a good job this time which is miles better than the previous Viva.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 92
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:33 pm

r u p2 salesman??

prfffthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 25
      • Yes.. I think too he is P2 salesman..aiyo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:56 pm

p2 salesman pretending a customer vist showroom???

sooo desperate … see 30k booking actially kencing jee
          if 30k booking they dont have to do this cheating laa hahaha

prrdthhhh

rakyat smart oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 28
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Credit to kereta info
      The power to get to 100kmh is very frustrating. Cannot feel the engine is pulling like what we can feel in a Perodua Viva. Maybe due to the engine management that plans the fuel very well for fuel efficiency.

The engine noise get into the cabin and is very annoying when accelerating. But once you are on cruise around 80kmh, the RPM stays at around 2.0-2.5K and gives less noise for your ride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
      • Low Budget on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:32 am

Small engine mah. Want more power go get Iriz or Proton Saga lah.

• mizzuddin on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:14 pm

warrghhh hahahahaaa

• ruffstuff (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Perodua after sales service is below industry average. JD power survey.

• M/T is KING on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:51 pm

Clearly you’re a salesman.
      But I’m fine with it.
      I wish u success with your sales.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:44 am

Lurking around paultan.org will have given you much of the info…

Didn’t know that they are using a new (lol) 4-speed auto. That explains the relative smoothness of the gearchange.

Of course highest spec Axia cheaper than lowest spec Iriz. SO MANY DIFFERENCES! Even the engine displacement is different. And Iriz comes with VDM.

ethrottle is a given. Every Proton car that has Campro is using an ethrottle (because even the very first Campro engines are drive-by-wire), so what more to say Perodua who source their engines from Daihatsu who has more advanced engine tech?

• Burong on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:48 am

Good car. Great value. Am thinking this for my kids in near future, better than a motor bike, at least something to cover them from direct impact. And this one can’t run fast. Good move Perodua. Saw so many kancil still moving strongly on the road and the reliability of the car is definitely proven.

What more do you expect for this price range? My advice, get a premium spec and you will not regret in future.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:24 pm

last time when you sell viva to customer u oso said the same thingx.. get higher spec viva elite n they wondnt regret

but now… what happen to viva elite owner?? nobody wanna buy

• azrai on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:29 am

Ermm…the transmission unit come from Sendaya, Negeri Sembilan plant actually..

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:16 pm

I missed a few things when tested the car. Thanks for the video.

Nice.. good audio.. loud & clear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • policeman on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Misleading.

“Nice.. good audio.. loud & clear.” you’re referring to the quality of this video right?

Cos I checked out the Axia, Radio pun takda, speaker takda.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:48 am

From Motorhead’s comment wording, looks like he was referring to the video above.

As for the Axia’s sound system, I tried the one in the Advanced version. Bass was muddy. Other than the bass, clarity was ok. Nothing outstanding. Short test drive, didn’t focus on the sound quality.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:09 am

Yep obviously. Correct

You show your high mentality.

Kudos.

• riz (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:35 am

P2 never have good audio ..
      yeah 6 speakers in Myvi , but the sounds are rubbish.
      No bass at all.
      P1 better audio,
      but never mind all that,
      u can get aftermarket audio system … ;D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Jenny on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Why pay 42-60k Proton Iriz with DRL, VSC, 6 airbags, bla..blaa..bla as we already know Proton can’t even afford to provide long-lasting power window & door handle?
    Do we need to talk about engine leak and lousy after sales service from Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 82
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:34 pm

why u need to die n danger ur self in unsafe car??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 17
      • Alex Lam on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:11 pm

I still don’t understand why people support Proton. If you want a car instead of a bike, you can choose this Axia. Perodua has been serving its customers well since it was first established. It has consistently deliver satisfaction to all of its customers and consistent in its car making process. All the way, it utilizes Daihatsu technology. And it even nurture our local talents to Japan for training etc. What about Proton? ONe minute Mitsubishi, and then Renault engine, one minute back to Mitsubishi, and then came up with its Campro engine, and suddenly rebadge a Honda. Omg. Don’t you see they don’t seem to have a freaking plan? And now they have this Iriz. It is beautifully designed I must say, but I won’t be surprised it die a natural death like the famous Proton Tiara or Savvy. And also, if you buy and support Proton, you will forever be paying so much more for a mediocre car.

I just want to stress, the company that helps Malaysian afford a PROPER car instead of a bike, is already done by Perodua.

Proton, you don’t need to exist really. Is just the ego to continue to survive.

If Malaysians can afford a better car, it will not be Proton. What R3 and all, they are rubbish. Take a Waja and put in a Nissan Silvia engine. They call that R&D.

I heard someone said that Proton should not be building cheap cars anymore. Maybe let Perodua take that baton of building cheap and reliable cars.

Proton can become a company that produces more luxurious car. Arab has its fastest car called Lykan Hypersport. Maybe Malaysia should follow suit too.

Proton Niamasport R Quadturbo. Suspension by Lotus, GTR engine from Nissan-Renault, chasis & power window by Proton (ANCAP ready).

I think this will put Proton in the top headline of TopGear. Something Malaysians can be proud off.

Proton really need to re-strategise and focus on its directions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 47
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:22 pm

typical p2 macai

bash proton skit… praise pwrodua skit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 33
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Die in danger? LOL

Proton should STOP selling Saga, Persona, Exora, Satria NOW! Coz none of them has VSC and 6 airbags.

When Proton has 1 or 2 models with more safety features, the fanboys hoohaa like gold dropped from the sky.

When Toyota has only a few models with less safety package, they potrait Toyota as milo tin.

Typical Proton 6S lifestyle:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Sales Carnival
            5. Semakin Mahal
            6. Semua Subjective

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • samelorstpd on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Toyot 7O

1.Overpriced
            2.Overhyped
            3.Obsolete
            4.On garbage lorries
            5.Out of proportion
            6.Outdated
            7.Overrrated

Toyoto and p2 good quality control:

1. Looks Bad
            2. Sounds Good
            3. Promised Good
            4. But never Good

• policeman on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:55 pm

TL, but I did read.

Proton needs to exist. How else can we buy affordable/proper cars?

I wanted a 4-door c-segment sedan with manual transmission. Only Proton has such models. So cheap some more only RM79K. If not for Proton I would have paid over RM280K for the next cheapest 4-door c-segment sedan with manual transmission – Subaru WRX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
        • M/T is KING on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:25 am

People support Proton. Arnold said No problemo.

• farghmee on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:52 am

its good for proton to exist.
          its good for perodua to exist.

do u ever know the word “competition”?

i forsee perodua is going the way proton was..complacent.

• Burong on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:55 am

You get a lot of points. Thumb up for you. Proton is lost in direction, not sure where to go and keep on begging protection for its headless direction.

Proton is struggling, this is what I can feel, always learn from mistake, fail but manage to clim up, fail again and climb up, fail again and seems like not learning from mistake.

It is not like Perodua where it has a steady plan, move steadily and we can feel the quality and reputation provided at SC or sales team. And more importantly the quality of product they give to the consumer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • no name on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:28 am

it’s look like u have miss lots of buses about proton development story…proton have been improved a lot since DSZ… all u mention is the drawbacks during Tg.Mahaleel era…hope u can update the facts…

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Thumbs up Jenny..

Actually. . P2 Sales person don’t ve to work hard dy..

No need even to comment here..

Let’s the numbers speak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:52 pm

p2 salesman need to work hard telling bad about rival to convince ppl buying her crap p2 cars

ppl smart oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 33
      • M/T is KING on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:12 am

Numbers is for their shareholders don’t u think?

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 7:32 am

Yep.. correct. Its also to justify shares.

Let me ask you.. buy want shares in flop companies? Answer honestly please.

Plotong delisted since 2007.. that’s why numbers not so important. . Flop also can. Nobody want to buy.

Please ask thosr ve shares in plotong. . How much lost they are making. .

Hahaha. ..

• Why pay 24-41k Perodua Axia with empty features, cheap materials used, ugly interior look, bla…blaa…bla as we already know Perodua can’t even afford to provide proper safety car body, and also always have malfunction power windows & gear problem?
      Do we need to talk about this Perodua very unsafe and dangerous to other car owner on road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • M/T is KING on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:49 am

Maybe they have tight budget. Nowadays house is too expensive. So they buy this cheap perodua. Maybe they buy more safe cars later.
        In Malaysia every car on the road u can consider it dangerous to other car owner. LOL!

• Low Budget on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:42 am

Yes, all cars irrespective of makes on Malaysian roads are extremely dangerous, not because for the lack of safety features but the dangerous drivers with super high ego, we have seen enough of high end cars ‘penyek’ on the highways, don’t we?

• riz (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:38 am

The P2 door when close feel its door very thin..
      so light… very empty ….

P2 got EPS issues, thats can cost life ,,,
      power window, door handle problem dont cost lives..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • no name on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:31 am

my myvi also have same problem with the EPS…very scary when it suddenly didn’t want to go straight after turning on sharp corners..

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Please explain the EPS issue.

• Winston C on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Today i just manage to see this the new Perodua Axia, and Jonathan i agree with you about the leather seat for this advance model. Most of the thing for this car, i feel very satisfy with it just only i dont like the leather seat, when i sit i feel not very comfortable with it. And i was shock when i saw the Perodua Axia radiator it was so small, i can’t believe this small radiator manage to cooling the system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • farghmee on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:54 am

maybe axia using super-duper grade heat absorbant as coolant?

not to mention 0w-20 EO ya!

• Razif on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:19 pm

This car is superb in its class!
    I’ve test driven and already placed my booking. Perodua you better get my car quickly, if not i will serang your customer service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:09 pm

superb among its class?? u mean kancil n viva??

u really make my day p2 salesman

prrfthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Yea, this Axia is no way superb compared to the Preve/Suprima S.

I had never seen such showroom/warehouse cars need to equip with so many airbags and safety features, like the car will explode suddenly in showroom/warehouse.

Now you still can get 2013 stock with RM8k discount, but just be patient a bit till Jan 2015, you can get RM16k discount on these showroom/warehouse cars.

Superb, right?

• Proton Iriz next

• I’ve visited the showroom, the Advance variant amazed me. The quality of the materials is good and i love the fact that it’s spacious.
    I’m gonna buy this car (SE) fro my son.
    I hope I’ll get the car within 2 weeks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:53 pm

u dont love ur son too much rite???
      anytihing happen… well ur son drive.. not u

predthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:11 pm

We saw a lot of fathers so regretful buying their kids Saga/Iswara after the car accidents. That’s why Myvi/Viva/Axia are selling like hot cakes.

Reasonable logic.

• Buy 3 la, p2 SA is desperate enough to show the sales number!

• policeman on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Buy for your son?
      Don’t forget to get him a matching skirt.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:53 pm

During my test.. get few hundreds meters reached 100kmp.. in D4.. can feel the rpm still can go up some more..

Unfortunately. . Time for me to move on something bigger. . If serious buy.. I would test it on highways. . Fortunately. . I ve a sporting P2 friend for that..

But.. enough small cars.. this is for you.. rezeki you all lah.. salesman & buyers.. I envy you.. my Kancil 850ex was 29K. .. Perodua give back my money. . Hehehe..

Kampung folk who only own bikes.. can get these to send kids to school.. happy for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:08 pm

crwdit ti kereta info

The engine vibration is quite bad before starting to accelerate. That is when you press the brake pedal to prepare to enter the main road and up to a cruising speed.

Overall, we are not happy with the engine and gearbox setup. Maybe Perodua can fix something on how the engine behave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
      • policeman on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Really? Perodua can change the engine behaviour? That’s news to me.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Anything as long as not Proton, Peyno sure unhappy.

Anything as long as Proton, Peyno sure jumping dancing.

So simple. He no need test drive one, he only ask the brand name.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 8:43 pm

as long it is not p2 umw…im happy

woii i live 6 years injapan driving JDM laa

• peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:58 pm

sooo many p2 salesman comment here n pretending as customer??

hahahha

rakyat smart oredi… the best actir goes to rahman p2 salesman

prrrfthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Yeah..

& you pretending to be a monkey..

Better try solve the dwindling sales of your own..

Ppl smart dy..
      They stop buying plotong. .

Btw.. how’s Iriz bookings?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • NVM laa…predicted Perodua SC will parked a lot of scrap AXIA.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:15 pm

You predict Perodua SC will be packed with scrap Axia?

The fact is so many Preve/Suprima S junk can’t even be sold in showroom/warehouse.

RM8k discount no one interested, pity Proton lar…

• kay-oh on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:20 pm

That cannot beat number of unsold New Vios

Hahahahahahahahahaha

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:27 pm

I kinda feel bad cause I was laughing when Jonathan was making fun of Hafriz lol.

Anyway back to the car, yeah, I guess it is a bit of a disappointment that for more safety, you have to put up with the ugly front and garish LED rear lights. They just were trying too hard on the look. Surprised that in this day and age, tilting steering is not a standard feature. I would have gladly traded chrome sills for a tilting steering at least.

What is more interesting is that, if I am not mistaken, the older Viva did have a boot opener on the outside. I feel that in any hatch, this is a must have feature now.

• Ray (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Nope, the Viva’s boot lid opens the same way, very frustrating when you don’t have a key with you. But the boot lid release lever is positioned at the centre console near the handbrake, which is a pretty neat and practical design unlike most cars that have it under the seats. Push down for petrol lid, pull up for boot release.

• Ray (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:36 pm

Very practically designed small car in fact. Thumbs up to Perodua (or should I say Daihatsu?) for the space optimisation.

Spec sheet? Nah. I’d go for the Iriz.

• magpie on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:39 pm

I see several positive comments posted by the same person with different name. Lame.

• Bad Memories on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:44 pm

The bashing shouldn’t be for the Axia… It should be for the Nautica that was even mentioned in the video. Perodua ‘moved on’ rather quickly from that ‘collaboration’.

• ‘No watching video when driving’

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Hi, would humbly request for a similar walkaround video for the basic spec (24k spec) as well. Can’t find a single Perodua showroom with the basic spec for me to look at it.

• this is daihatsu.. perodua just change d badge only..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:12 pm

not daihatsu laaa toyota u know… toyota.. i repeat toyota

macai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • policeman on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:05 am

They change a lot more than the badge. Almost everything they change to cheaper parts.

But I can’t understand below.

Original Daihatsu Ayla auto only RM27K in Indonesia.
      Why even after using lower quality materials, removing various parts and features and assembling in Malaysia price become RM33K?

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:25 am

we have different tax rate than Indonesia. Other cars are also cheaper in Indonesia. and must compare equipment and specs too, cheap car in Indonesia is without airbags and even no aircond! but we never know how much tax exemption Axia get for EEV status.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 5:55 am

indonesia is exporting this car to all over asean countries.. why they cudnt sell it to malaysia???

• kzm (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:03 am

ayla do not has airbag at all for all variant..ayla quality material even worst than axia.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 5:53 am

last time got p2 macai said.. the engine of aylanoso different with aziah… aziah engine better he said

prrrfthhhh

rakyat smart oerdi

• moluska on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:24 pm

Just visit showroom in front of giant sec 13. Back seat quiet spacious but to upright. Interior is ok, nice but too simple. Just my opinion.

• proton vs perodua vs proton vs perodua….

• Josh Ling on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:18 am

i don’t like the front look on se and advanced version either. the “holes” on the grille are seriously distracting. it’s like they make those “holes” just as they like, one here, one there, oh….another 3 here, another 5 there….

• peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 5:50 am

wait until u turn on the engine n test rest the car…. then the the color of aziah will appear

engine vibrate.. sluggih n hard to mive really under power.. engine noose into cabin all this

need to open rear boot with the key???

hajahhaha

• shawal on Sep 23, 2014 at 7:53 am

Vsc is omitted…. Even on advance model…
    Dis car’s price makes it accessible for youngsters….who likes to drive fast, ‘darah muda’

• foolpeyno on Sep 23, 2014 at 8:24 am

peyno=desperate p1 salesman yang sudah goyang=x boleh terima hakikat protong make a crap car..pity you.

rakyat smart oredi..that’s why malaysian not choose protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Bungkus on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Peyno dan Proton sudah lama goyang rugi RM1 billion.

Nasib baik sudah delisted dari Bursa, tak payah public announcement rugi besar RM1 billion. Malu lah tell rakyat 30 tahun bisnes monopoli tapi masih rugi RM1 billion.

How to recover RM1 billion loss? Sell Iriz 1 million units?

Hahahahaha! Proton hidup segan mati tak mau. Memang menyusahkan rakyat!

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Bungkus checklist.

1. Mentality high. Checked
        2. Facts. Checked
        3. Figures. Checked

All checked & correct. Kudos bro..

FYI. . Plotong market shrink to 19%. In her own home country.

Mari bungkus hantu plocong.. ehh.. protong.

Hahaha. ..

• Went to see the car on Sep 23, 2014 at 8:43 am

Went to see the car over the weekend. Didn’t test drive it though. The Good and Bad IMHO is:
    Good:
    Very spacious interior. Better than Myvi in some seating arrangements. Not to mention the boot space.,
    Lots of hooks and compartments to put stuff. The tissue holder is a nice touch.
    Cheapest car in town.
    Bad:
    The parking brake uses some low quality soft plastic. Kinda annoyed how it felt compared to my wife’s MyVi.
    How the 2-Din Audio system is fitted. Does not look good at all. Seems like they went with cost-cutting instead of doing a good design.
    Leather seats in the advance… is very underwhelming.
    I already seen the Proton Iriz up-close, and if forced to choose, the Iriz seems like it’s the more fun to drive with more features. However, I’m holding out for Perodua’s Sedan and Proton SAGA that’s based on the Iriz launching late next year. Can’t wait!

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:24 am

Yep.. Buddyz will be one of a kind.. if P2 roll it out.. it will be the first.. Even Daihatsu Japan & all over the world don’t ve it yet.

It will the mixture of Myvi hatchback dimensions in sedan form.

Im looking forward for buddys too.

Peylirno will ve to say.. Japan copy Perodua. . JDM copy perodua. .Produa not jdm.. not Daihatsu. . But toyota.. p2 copy indon.. bla bla..

Hahaha. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Went to see the car on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:39 am

Looking forward to the Buddyz too, though I do hope they change the name and restyle the back. The Bezza had a nicer back but a sliding door for a sedan is.. eyyyhhhh. The Buddy’z back looks ok viewed from the back, but the side profile is horrendous.

And to anybody saying P2 copy this or copy that, seriously does not know how P2 works. How can you copy when your parent company gives you the original design and tells you to adapt it for your own domestic market. The Axia would have to be approved by Daihatsu Japan anyway before it can even start production.

• Bungkus on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Until today, Honda Japan never announce in Japan media about Honda Accord being rebadge as Proton Perdana.

Macam kena paksa saja Honda kasi Accord kena rebadge oleh Proton, malu lah nak bagitau newspaper Jepun TV NHK.

Kahwin paksa by Proton. Hahahahaha

• The Keyword is on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Keyword is DRB-HICOM. They now own both the DRB-HICOM plant that produces the Accord for Malaysia and Proton outright.

The thought is that Proton did not specifically negotiate the deal for the Accordana. It was DRB-HICOM who married them off since it’s a very cost effective move. They only need to get approval from Honda which won’t care what we do with a last-gen product. Then just transfer the tooling from the Melaka plant to Proton’s or just have it manufactured there. Without incurring high R&D costs for a new platform.
            Definitely a cost effective move but since Accord is popular here, a very unpopular move. Should have rebadged an Opel/Vauxhall or GM cars, less scorn from the public.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Ok Went to see the car let’s wait for buddyz..
          Hopefully sooner. . & EEV.. more incentives. . Can sell cheaper.

Your statement on adapt domestic market.. is 101% correct.. . They adapt & listen.

Kudos high mentality.

• kzm fanboy on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:09 am

If Proton iriz fuel economy 30km/Liter (better than Perodua Axia), I’ll walk half naked from Tanjung Malim to Shah Alam wearing only tiger-stripes seluar dalam.

Wanna bet? Any takers??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • farghmee on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:59 am

why dun u just say if axia can get 30km/l u do as such?

ceh.

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:51 am

The only way any car can get that much mileage is either using a Diesel engine or a hybrid (and the Prius barely reaches that).

Please engage your brain before talking please.

• ngvuser on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:33 pm

wait till i install ngv….can u wait?…RM0.05/km

• I’d still like the cheapest version. Don’t need all the fancy stuff, audio system can install 3rd party.

• RPM meter on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:01 am

Do remember that there is no RPM meter(tachometer) for the cheapest version. Kinda troublesome since it’s only offered as a manual. I know you can switch gears based on the sound of the engine or depending on speed, but that takes some time getting used to.
      New car buyers who follows the driving schools “Change gears around 3000RPM” rule will be at loss until they get a handle of the car.
      Not sure about this but adding it third-party might also not be an option. Need to take out the meter first, but there is a chance the tacho sensor output is not even available from the connector or worse, no sensor in the engine.

• speed on Sep 23, 2014 at 2:43 pm

I will get the standard version. will get the car this week. now thinking to install a good audio and speaker, any recommendation? budget and recommend shop for basic audio?

the RPM meter on other model is also so small, almost cannot be seen though.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:08 pm

Any accessories will ve to wait..it’s a new car.. accessories towkays need some time to do mould for manufacturing. Sabar sikit.

Soon Axia fanclub will rule the streets.

• rosli on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:11 am

kepada bro peyno,

aku uji pandu axia auto, tak ada pun enjin bergegar, macam mana bro kata bergegar. betul ke? Allah swt Maha Melihat dan maha Adil. hhhhhhhhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Bungkus on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Peyno mulut besar pelir kecik. Proton sudah rugi RM1 billion, mana tidak bergegar kalau Iriz sales tidak sebesar yang dijangkakan.

Hidup segan mati tak mau. Terpaksa lah macai Peyno tiap-tiap hari kencing Axia cemburu buta.

Iriz tak akan selamatkan Proton. Tunggu masa saja minta tolong EPF atau Petronas bail out Proton.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 3:31 pm

see
        kan dah cakap
        yg lelebih kutuk proton ni hanya macai perodua je

pastu nak menyamar kununnya owner ket impaort yg xde kena mengfna dgn gomen BN n protection

mmg set2 tu jer

prrfthhhhh

• peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:12 pm

ikut majority opinion laa… kereta ni dah setahun kat indone n eeview from them also complaint about engine vibrate n underpower issues

jgn nak kata engine aziah lain dari ayla cam salesman p2 kencing

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Retarded legend.. Majority opinion? In Indonesia?

Peylirno also sell butut in Indon for 6 years. That’s why he know how Japanese & Indon mandi.. he sell butut.

People smart dy..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:30 pm

ueah
          last time p2 macai easily can cheat rakyat.. myvi ..
          out of japan only in malaysia..

but now
          out of japan… indonesian first

n rakayat make comaprison indonesian vs malaysian… not japan anymore

• peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:49 pm

pity p2 salesman

last time so proud japan dna la bla2

now malaysian see indonesia made better n look nicer

bue2 malaysia

sayonara maresia.. ore indonesia ni idou shimasu yoo

• TheDean on Sep 23, 2014 at 11:58 am

Perodua would’ve nailed it with LED DRL at the front. It’s only current, and more attractive.

• Just be honest with yourself. This is a very practical car, spacious for a compact car, cheap, ‘should be good engine’, and decent interior. The bad side must be not a very safe car, exterior is not handsome, and NVH maybe not good. The point is if you can tolerate with your life, then this car is quite a good choice for you ;)

• Pengguna Bijak on Sep 23, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Asalkan bukan Proton.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 3:29 pm

confirmed
        p2 macai

kalau real import car owner/ salesman anti NaP n protection .. they will say
        asal bukan kereta national ( p2/p1)

rakyat dah masak tektik macai ni

• Jonathan, there IS a remote boot release in the Axia next to the driver’s seat.

• May i add a little bit more to the standard specs.
    After more detail inspection, You may notice that the std version’s front grill does not connect to the front corner of both of the headlamps. As a result you may see the front headlamps’s corner protruding outwards… WEIRD!!

• Proton is better.The Iriz is 5 Star crash test,6 airbags and got so many features.But not just Perodua.Even Proton is better han the junk car,like Honda Toyota and others.GO GO PROTON!!!!

• there r pros n cons on this car.. but for me, more on cons.. people hv their own views, pls respect them.. no need to be rude.. focus on cars pls bcoz this is all abt cars..

• Aiman Tak Kisah on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Aiman lebih suka Iriz.. tapi Axia pun ok juga.. tapi Aiman lebih suka Iriz..

• Verne on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:59 am

Very good walkaround. Top stuff Paultan.

• LimPuii on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:50 pm

p1 n p2 all r cronies of BeeEnd.. i’ll never buy p1 or p2..

• bigboy on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:04 am

to website designer, can you please make mobile version of this website zoomable? it really hard to read when you have small phone. Btw, I use chrome on android..

• Engineblock on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Its all about affordability…ths car jst gd enough,for low income who jst nd new car style ,economical, easy town manueverity & easy to maintain..previous models jst little bit overprice,compare to ths axia packages.

• Allysa on Dec 18, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Personally I feel Axia is not matured looking at all. For the price is not worth it. How low can he fuel consumption be compare to Mitsubishi Attrage. Attrage looks even nicer. LOL !!