Proton Suprima S spied on trailer – Standard variant?

proton-suprima-s-standard-spied-1

A partially-camo’d Proton Suprima S has been spotted on a trailer near the Pedas Linggi exit on the PLUS highway – we thank Asraf Hadzwan for the pics.

The car wears the same capped steel wheels as the cheapest turbo Exora – the RM69k Exora CFE Standard. So could this be a Standard variant of the Suprima S to join the existing Executive, Premium and Super Premium variants?

We spotted a Suprima S equipped with a six-speed manual ‘box some time back, but there has been no follow-up on that since, so it could be for overseas markets only. Still, here’s hoping – a 1.6 CFE turbo-6MT pairing would be quite nice.

proton-suprima-s-standard-spied-2

The Exora CFE Standard does without the reverse sensors, Bluetooth, DVD, steering wheel buttons, cruise control, auto-fold wing mirrors and fog lamps offered on its posher Premium sister, although the ABS, EBD, dual airbags and all-round disc brakes stay put.

We can see the Suprima S here retains its tailgate spoiler. Since the Exora CFE Standard is RM10k cheaper than the next rung up, will the same happen here, bringing the Suprima S into the sixty-grand playground?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• najib on Dec 02, 2014 at 1:58 pm

no matter what, it is just a suprima

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 32
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:51 pm

No matter what, Suprima is the best hatch in town and affordable. You may not get a turbo and best ride & handling with that cheap price like Suprima. Well job PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 73
      • Scrapyard on Dec 02, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Brand new old stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
        • Same L0rrr on Dec 02, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Turbo engine but not powerful (no way close to ecoboost)

Best handling (everyone doubt about that?!)

Cheap (RM76k!! Not RM7.6, are you blind?)

Again typical Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 71
          • Sam Tow Truck on Dec 02, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Hey, it’s on my tow truck. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Haziq Aftar on Jan 03, 2015 at 5:16 am

To be honest, Surpima is one of the best cars ever produced by PROTON. I’m not vouching for them. But i’m just stating a fact.

• Same L0rrr on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Whatever, facelift lar, upgrade lar etc.

A Proton, is still a Proton after all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 77
      • kzm (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 4:49 pm

u hope it become toyota or wat? if u want SS to become toyota SS just buy the badge online with led summore in lelong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
      • Albert on Dec 02, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Insider source at proton said there are no more space to stock the unsold higher specs Suprimas .So they have lots of brain banging,and came up with a temporary solution.
        “S” version.,just like the Saga SV(special value) and persona SV.
        Sounds familiar marketing strategy?Capture the attention of diehard proton fanboys who could afford 60-70 k range of Protons with maximum loans.No need downpayments.
        Unknowingly,these buyers have become9 to 10 years hirepurchase slaves.
        Brilliant marketing strategy,Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrr on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:43 am

When GST comes, the diehard Proton fanboys will find petrol is out of their affordability, considering Proton’s awesome fuel consumption. So what they do?

Weekdays ride motors. Weekends only drive out the Protons. Pity them and the 9 years 100% loans. End of the days the money they buy the SS can actually buy an Altis.

If buy the Axia at the begining, every problems solved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
    • Sawwi on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Waiting for Proton Iriz SV version. RM25K. No radio. Poor man Honda Jazz.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • Abu Sayur on Dec 02, 2014 at 3:06 pm

suprima junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 45
    • Ibrahim on Dec 02, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Just like saying: no matter what, we are just Malaysians i.e very third world mentality.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
    • oh really on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:35 pm

We want Suprima R3!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • OMG….Poor sales…so now need to bring down the price for intro std variant…LOL…no wonder i very seldom see this on the road…pity.

• rogaz on Dec 04, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Anyway it drive faster at top speed than Wish or stream or Harrier or estima and more

• thedarkside on Dec 02, 2014 at 1:58 pm

they revised the rear end design? whats up with all the stickers? hopefully they also do something with the interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • kusochon on Dec 02, 2014 at 5:56 pm

nothing wrong with the rear end. only wrong is the side of the car which is too plain. they should revise it to match the rear end.

• dr.terror on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:03 pm

hopefully all the safety equipment are still the same. rm65k maybe? suprima its quite rare to see on the road nowadays, hopefully this standard spec will be a better choices for malaysian. Its good to compete again vios, city and almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • put it this way if some one owning suprima s would they upgrade to city or vios.?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Put it this way..PROTON offers better safety, ride & handling and spec than city or vios..People who drove PROTON SUPRIMA will feel proud of owning C-Segment car..Hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 49
        • Put it this way, despite so many goodies, this junk still failed to sell, why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 31
        • Same L0rrr on Dec 02, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Ah Beng: People who drove PROTON SUPRIMA will feel proud of owning C-Segment car = SYOK SENDIRI! The driver is proud of the car only.

With a Vios/City/Almera/Attrage/Elantra/Cerato, everyone around you is proud of you.

Sendiri Syok vs Everyone Happy. Your call.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 37
          • sepul on Dec 02, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Yeah, everyone else is proud of you because you own one of those aforementioned cars, but are you proud of it yourself?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrr on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:47 am

Why not? Comfort and reliable sushi cars. That’s why we have so many coming back customer for their second/third/forth/fifth Japanese cars.

You proud of yourself in the Proton? Please continue to be proud and syok sendiri while you waiting in garage repairing your car.

Proton Murphy’s law: Everything could break MEMANG break down GUARANTEED.

So many Proton victims in Malaysia, ask any of your friend around then you will know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • ayooo on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Proud of driving a vios? your standard so low la Sam Lorr.

• Malaysians on Dec 02, 2014 at 5:35 pm

I own Suprima S.. No doubt about it, is the best handling car in tht price range. Dont forget, the power from tht turbo. I’ve killed many Vios and City. No turbo lack. before you all(narrow minded) start mumbling about Suprima faulty. i suggest you guys go for test drive. Then come back and talk with your honest answer, not your ego or hypocrite. “There Is No Perfect Car”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 16
        • Same L0rrr on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:54 am

How many of us were not Proton owners?

It is easy to smoke Vios/City, it is even easier to break down at the roadside.

We all drove Proton before and we come back talk to you with our honest answer: “Yes, there is no perfect car, but there is junk car.”

You may not have turbo lack but you definitely will have wallet leakage. Write down your maintenance, repair, spare parts cost, tow truck expenses and mark my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
          • Bristol on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Vios is worst than junk, always breakdown at roadside and even worst that car owner get killed in accident. So sad that the owner can’t told you don’t go buy Vios but everybody still believe Vios is reliable car. Yes. Proton have to go garage many times but Vios just only go one time for repair at workshop. You know why? Because can’t repair due to total lost…is same case with Vios siblings. R.I.P

• Bimmer on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:19 am

My bimmer smokes Suprimau anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
          • ayooo on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:30 pm

My Mclaren also smoke BMW in my dream. So what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • It’s quite rare becoz it’s a shiok sendiri project by P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
      • Same L0rrr on Dec 02, 2014 at 6:14 pm

As usual. P1 need these project to burn money, they are begging for RM1.6bils anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
        • Macai on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:23 am

P1 just close shop lah. No one is excited to see your products based on the comments. Rakyat is more happy if you just close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • RM 6xxxx

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Please no more rehash of current models, Proton. We want to see newer models being rolled out. Trying to cash in on your previously ‘failed’ models are not going to cut it anymore. Want to improve? Don’t just stop at Iriz and be complacent with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • I actually do like the proton pervert and the adult diaper problem is that they are both ageing a little, hopefully they have updated the styling on the bumpers and lights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
  • Ismail on Dec 02, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Clearing old stock…

Too many stock cannot sell cos no one buys proton crap junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
  • Pass by on Dec 02, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Who cares?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • almighty tokong lim guan eng on Dec 02, 2014 at 4:14 pm

aiyaa, paul tan. Obviously this protong rosak and they have to tow back to SC. The sticker is there because owner felt ashame of buying protong sperma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
  • SSS- Suprima S Supervalue

• john doe on Dec 02, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Sup Rimau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • nabill (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 5:25 pm

I feel da suprima s is a very underrated car… If its cheaper variant thn even better… Bt yes… A cfe with manual is awesome… A friend of mine who works for a reputable tuning shop in pj, tells me the cfe in da suprima is very tunable… Which aparently does not have da same ecu with da preve cfe… And da welding on da chassis is quite comprehensive thus a very solid chassis… Jus a little info to share…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
  • Mr.Nami on Dec 02, 2014 at 5:35 pm

tak laku lah tu

• TeacW7 on Dec 02, 2014 at 5:57 pm

I am all-in for this car when its sold under 30k mark. No matter what, its still a local car and the price tag just doesn’t seem to fit…

• Low Budget on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:09 am

Cannot get Proton for under 30K lah, go buy Axia for under 30K.

• mim (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Plot twist: this is Suprima R3 6-spd manual in disguise lol.

Proton has only 2 choice to increase SS sales. Either by stripping out many non-safety gimmicks and make it 10k cheaper, or plonk in the promised 6-spd Getrag and increase power.

• ae101 on Dec 02, 2014 at 6:17 pm

pity la suprima ni. sell in boleh land langsung tak laku. sell in oversea also cannot. the stock will keep in warehouse until basi and rust. please give at least 30% discount la. like chinese always say lose some consider win win.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:12 am

Sell the warehouse stock as ‘SV’ version and after that discontinue with this model just like the Tiara.

• truely malaysian on Dec 04, 2014 at 11:33 am

I would say give 70-80% discount…

• manual turbo at rm55,000. then it can sell.

or else, report huge loss next year and ask money from government.

i actually feel sarcastically and relievingly good now… i see more city, vios and almera on the road than gen2/waja/persona/preve. suprima? once in a week if i am lucky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Dolly parton on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Vios city Almera fiesta suprima preve
    Somebody is feeling happy seeing more vios city Almera than suprima on the road.
    Why?
    Is he the director of Honda? Of toyota? Of tan Chong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Pondan on Dec 02, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Hahahaha…….. Earlier Suprema asking for a real premium… Can’t sell, now create a cheapo subprema…

• Amei (Member) on Dec 02, 2014 at 8:46 pm

ffs. If Proton makes a up-market hatch, you basher say syok sendiri, stupid price, overpriced junk etc2 but if they tried to make a a base spec car you also said junk, fail to sale, x best etc. What a ignorant thing say. If that car have a T or H badge. You people would say otherwise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Low Budget on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:17 am

Sorry lah bradder, T and H brand are world renown brand. Even hundred of thousands of units need to recall each year people the world over still choose to own it.
      Proton may be a superb brand in Boleh Land but really ‘Tak Boleh’ in foreign countries, therefore Proton must make it ‘Very Boleh’ in International market 1st before convincing the Proton bashers in her own country.

• Aggreed!But usually Proton already enter foreign market like Australia,UK and US.So I think Proton have do a great job.And I see a documentary about Proton US last month said that mostly the young people will choose because….IT AWESOME!!!!Go go Proton!

• truely malaysian on Dec 04, 2014 at 11:36 am

Hi Amir, Proton in US, no way dude, you better get your eye check

• *go to checkup my eyes and take the result and it’s okay*Hey,if you don’t believe,kumpiul duit and go to USYou will se it.Cheers.Go Go Proton!

• Suprima ?good car….except for the super heavy body and sux fuel consumption

• normal_user on Dec 02, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Rare? I saw many SS being driven in shah alam. The design has kinda grown inside me to be likeable despite earlier rejection. If only the CVT & interior quality issue can be addressed. Other than that, its a brilliant car to drive. Ask the SS owners whether they want to go for City or Vios. Their answer will be surely Hell No. Its like downgrading from iPhone6plus to iPhone5, spec-wise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Contender on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:01 am

Ever since DRB-HICOM took over Proton ….. all they have created the SV series, Premium series for almost all of the range of proton cars. What else did they add value ??? I belief Proton Iriz was conceived before DRB-HICOM bought them right ?

• Aero (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:49 am

It is sad that the mighty Proton Suprima S has been reduced to this. The Suprima S was supposed to be a ‘luxury’ Proton. It’s not a particularly bad car, and neither is it brilliant…. but it is good value for money. Yes, it costed almost RM80k at launch, but now you can get one from as low as RM65k with all the rebates and discounts… but tell me, which car gives you this much space, power, toys, safety and handling excellence at under RM80k ? Only the Honda City V comes close, and it still costs much more.

It looks like most Malaysians are not ready for an ‘expensive’ or ‘luxury’ Proton. To most Malaysians, Proton is only considered when they can’t afford the RM70k and above price tag for most B-segment Japanese cars like the City, Jazz, Vios, Almera etc. To most Malaysians, if you can afford a Japanese badge, that means you have ‘graduated’ from the ‘Proton level’, that you are no longer… ‘poor’. Because that is what most Malaysians think when you buy a Proton which costs RM60k + (Prevé, Inspira, Suprima, Exora), that you are ‘poor’.. even when you can clearly afford a City, Vios, Almera etc. Whether the car is any good or not, it clearly matters not, because that Japanese badge is worth the sacrifice. This is all so sad and unjust. By this logic, even if Proton makes a brilliant car, it STILL won’t sell (as well as it should)… don’t believe me ? This is happening to Hyundai-Kia and Skoda today.

Again, I’d like to iterate that the Suprima S is not perfect, it has its issues, but tell me, which popular car under RM100k doesn’t ? The Honda City has poor build quality (for a Japanese car), the Toyota Vios is a ‘luxurious’ death trap, the Almera is ‘not-so-luxurious’ death trap, the Jazz isn’t a 4-door (which is what Malaysians want at that price range), the Attrage is just ugly and so on.

If ‘downgrading’ the Suprima S’s premium image would mean improving its sales, I would have to say that this would be the financially sensible move from Proton, but not the wisest move when it comes to image and brand appeal.

Financially sensible, because the Suprima S already feels old and dated, and it has already lost whatever advantages it had back in 2013 (or 2012 if you count the Prevé)… it’s almost 2015 already and the competition has really upped their game. Even if Proton facelifts the Suprima (and Prevé), they can only do so much because the damage has been done. Even if Proton wants to export the Suprima now, it’s already too late, they should have done it full-swing in late 2013 / early 2014 and not stop at just Indonesia and Australia. Seeing that the Suprima S isn’t getting any better with time, I think Proton has done the sensibly right move by introducing a low-spec model to drive sales. Yes, this low-spec Suprima will not have that ‘luxury’ feel, but right now, Proton desperately needs the money to keep afloat. If it means cannibalising their older models (Prevé, Suprima) to provide a fighting chance (globally) for their newer cars (Iriz and new 2015 Saga), then so be it. This will however have repercussions on Proton’s image and brand appeal. These ‘bajet’ Protons ( Saga SV, Persona SV, Exora CFE Standard ) are only fuelling the fire for those who believe that Proton is only a manufacturer of cheap cars. This is not the image Protons wants, they know that in order to survive in the near future, they will have to move upmarket into more expensive territory. Very soon, China will beat Proton at this ‘cheap car’, value for money game, because China has huge economies of scale. Proton MUST move upmarket or they won’t stand a chance globally.

Anyway, I hope this Suprima S Standard will help boost sales for poor Proton. They really need the support in these difficult times.

Sorry for the long karangan… again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
    • 4G63T DSM on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:10 am

The Suprima S was a mistake in terms of product planning by Proton. It would have done a lot better with a wagon version of the Preve instead of a hatchback.

The pricing didn’t win it many fans either. 80k is a lot of money for a Proton, let alone a hatchback.

I have had a long drive in it. Yes, it was proton’s best car to date when it was launched, but it still left many rough edges and left a feeling of it being unfinished and rushed. The lack of a manual didn’t win it any favours as the CVT is dimwitted and unpredictable.

Keep the safety gear and throw out the garnish and lower the price. It might be the only way Proton can sell the Suprima. Manual 6 speed, cloth interior, dunk the useless HU.

As for performance, yes, it may have a turbo, but performance is soft due to the small turbo, heavy chassis and CVT. The old Satria GTI (which I whould hold as Proton’s best car – the one that it got the most things right) would run rings around the Suprima S.

And one more thing you have not included in your post, whether if it was for PC reasons or not, Proton will forever hold the stigma of short-changing the Rakyat with questionable sales and marketing, and poor products for a long time. being an Bumi exclusive company will do it no favours as well. This takes a lot of getting over.

• Aero (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Hmm, I wouldn’t say it’s a mistake, but rather poor execution. The hatchback Suprima was never going to sell in Malaysia, which prefers sedans, and Proton knew it. It was meant to be exported from day one, but for some reasons, Proton didn’t export the Suprima to the markets that really like hatchbacks, chiefly the U.K. and Continental Europe. Don’t know why they didn’t, maybe they knew it wasn’t competitive enough, who knows… but now, they’re stuck with a good car, but with the wrong body shape… Ever wondered why the Prevé doesn’t get leather seats, a reverse camera, more gadgets and whatnot like the Suprima ? Because if the Prevé did, then it would effectively render the Suprima redundant, and no one would want the Suprima then… Proton knows it, that’s why they’ll never off a ‘luxury’ Prevé, for now at least… Proton wanted to establish the Suprima as their ‘luxury’ Proton. But clearly, the plan didn’t work as well as they’d hoped.

Sadly, I’ve seen somewhere that the Suprima S Standard won’t get ESC and TRC, and airbags are a mere 2. Not sure what to say.

That’s one of the biggest problems right now for Proton… the government should not come to mind whenever Malaysians think of Proton. Judging by the new Perdana, Dr. Mahathir becoming Chairman and whatnot, I doubt that stigma will change very much. The best way to change it, if you ask me, is to prove that Proton can succeed on the world stage (export a lot of cars), despite their social stigma.

• Low Budget on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:26 am

Thank you for long karangan but make a lot of sense. Proton will bounce back if the owners need to visit their service centers less and less as compared to the old Saga, Wira, Waja era. I am sure most of the Proton bashers were owners of such models before.

• Aero (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:16 pm

You’re welcomed, and thanks for reading my long karangan. :] Yes, I agree that right now, the quality control and services centres are two main factors which need the most attention. The new Protons are all great cars, but they’re being let down by greedy and unethical vendors and unprofessional service centre staff.

• Sarah on Dec 03, 2014 at 7:49 am

Suprima SS = Suprima Sampah Shit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Conner on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:27 pm

SS = Syiok Sendiri

• Whatever, Vios is still junk!

• I know right!!Until now,Vios just use the old technology.But Toyota already lie us saying that they are using new technology for that car.So to people who hate Proton and love your junk Vios,Audi please,stop it and love Proton.Because Proton use the new technology for our car.1 car,New technology.To Proton Haters,don’t act like a #similanjiao

• ayooo on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:47 am

suprima was never meant as a high volume car. C-segment hatchback that are not ‘hot’ will never sell in Malaysia. Proton just need to up the power and put a manual in the car but somehow they failed to pick up on this. Selling this car cheaper will not add more sales.

• Blown Off on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:12 am

Hopefully there’s MT version of Suprima..I’ll eventually bolt on blow-off valves..for sure.

• There is interesting things that i have came across. Proton might be one or the only one that mostly received better review from owner than expert review for all their car ranges. You can check this from the car base website. It’s very astonishing.

• The premium and executive variant already lower price. Now launch this standard variant, the quality will be worst than 308 and focus

• suresh on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:24 am

agreed.a 1.6CFE Manual 6speed Turbo would be sweet indeed.

• I know right!!Until now,Vios just use the old technology.But Toyota already lie us saying that they are using new technology for that car.So to people who hate Proton and love your junk Vios,Audi please,stop it and love Proton.Because Proton use the new technology for our car.1 car,New technology.To Proton Haters,don’t act like a #similanjiao.Go Go Proton!

• YeapyEvo on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Proton always fail to produce what people really want, people are worry about the CVT, so just product a Manual SS and Inspira 2.0 and it will sell better than then auto version.