With fuel prices on the rise, time for a hybrid or diesel? Here’s a complete list of what’s available in Malaysia

Yesterday’s announcement of fuel prices for February 2017 saw an across the board increase of available fuels retailing at the pump – RON 95 is now at RM2.30 per litre (up 20 sen compared to January), RON 97 at RM2.60 per litre (up 20 sen), diesel at RM2.15 per litre (up 10 sen) and Euro 5 diesel at RM2.25 per litre (up 10 sen).

It has certainly been a steady increase in the past five months. Back in September 2016, RON 95 was priced as low as RM1.70 per litre, so the jump up by 60 sen a litre isn’t insignificant.

Fuel prices being what they are, we thought that some may be finding it timely to take a closer look at hybrids and diesel vehicles as well as the odd EV or three, as something that may be worth considering.

As such, we’ve prepared a simple-to-peruse list of such offerings available in our market to make it easy to compare what’s currently available out there, if you happen to be shopping for such a vehicle. The list is made up of base level offerings under RM100k to premium units; for the diesel list, we’ve omitted pick-ups and pick up-based SUVs.

Here are all the alternative fuel and diesel choices currently available on sale in the Malaysian market, as well as their prices:

Hybrid

• Hyundai Ionic HEV – (RM100,328 – RM114,008)
  • Nissan Serena S-Hybrid – (RM132,978 – RM143,063)
  • Toyota Camry Hybrid – (RM160,140 – RM169,892)
  • BMW 330e Sport – (RM248,800 – RM258,800)
  • Mercedes-Benz C 350 e – (RM289,888 – RM299,888)
  • Lexus ES 300h – (RM370,900)
  • BMW X5 xDrive40e – (RM388,800)
  • Infiniti Q50S Hybrid – (RM390,375)
  • Lexus NX 300h – (RM397,800)
  • Volvo XC90 T8 – (RM403,888)
  • Infiniti Q70 Hybrid – (RM420,000 – RM445,000)
  • Lexus IS 300h – (RM452,100)
  • Lexus RX 450h – (RM520,200)
  • Mercedes S 400h – (RM598,888)
  • Lexus GS 300h – (RM631,700)
  • BMW i8 – (RM1,188,800)
  • Lexus LS 600h – (RM1,419,000)
  • Diesel

• Kia Sorento 2.2 LS – (RM150,518)
  • Mazda CX-5 SkyActiv-D – (RM169,040)
  • Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi – (RM181,385 – RM201,134)
  • Citroen Grand C4 Picasso BlueHDI – (RM190,337)
  • Peugeot 508 GT – (RM195,566)
  • Mazda6 SkyActiv-D – (RM202,830)
  • BMW X1 20d – (RM255,800)
  • BMW 320d GT – (RM278,800)
  • BMW X3 20d – (RM316,800)
  • BMW 520d M Sport – (RM317,800)
  • Mercedes-Benz V 220 d – (RM434,888)
  • Land Rover Discovery Sport 2.2L SD4– (RM450,000)
  • Mercedes-Benz GLE 250 d – (RM486,888)
  • BMW X5 30d – (RM533,800)
  • Jaguar XJ V6 Diesel – (RM800,000)
  • Range Rover Sport 3.0L SDV6 – (RM820,000)
  • Range Rover SDV8 – (RM1,010,000)
  • EV

• Renault Twizy – (RM86,800)
  • Renault Zoe – (RM145,888)
  • Nissan Leaf – (RM180,566)
  • You can compare the specifications of all the vehicles above in detail against their regular counterparts on CarBase.my

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nabill (Member) on Feb 01, 2017 at 5:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 202
      • Gaviny on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:00 pm

Mate, you are so right , I keep telling these to all the prospective hybrid but nobody believes and I keep hearing them raving how hyvird saves petrol on highway . I’m like it’s not the hybrid its the Atkinson cycle that’s saving fuel . But many refuse to believe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 88
        • Low Budget on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:09 am

Fully agreed with your 1st paragraph, most existing car owners can’t afford the mentioned Hybrid cars, may be only about 30% of them can afford this kind of pricing, most will be better off to downgrade to KapChai.

• Operation Manager on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:10 pm

The gov driven hybid program to promote (1)green (2)economical: all *bullshxt… !!! Based on the list shown, 82% is LUXURY brand where all COST >100k. The reality already bias to its original objective, the current setting present the purpose of lower down luxury car price to serve for the rich. Where options outside from bolehland, eg. Honda Grace(City) 60k, & etc…

• Gargantia on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:11 am

Government misleading Rakyat most, car high price that cost a fortune to own… NOW THEY ABUSE petrol oil price to other high-end price !!! The poor will only get poorer by 2018 !!! Rakyat never wakeup to look at the whole situation !!!

• Kennedy on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:33 pm

You must see the bigger picture ! If you can’t afford a hybrid then don’t own it buy a normal EEV vehicle like Axia or even Iriz ! FYI hybrid maintenance in other countries are affordable, don’t blame hybrid tech blame our currency exchange rate and the societies acceptance towards hybrid tech, just accept the fact that the future is EV/hybrid driven cars. If more hybrid users on road sure the maintenance fees will go low as well cuz of simple economics theory said so. Don’t blame anyone if it’s your income can’t afford such cars. They don’t price their car according to your income.

• Honda insight battery does not cost you arm and leg..it is less than 10k..last time honda quote it 3700+..its IMA anyway..but serves the purpose…unlike prius, yes may be high..its come with warranty..

• Camry Hybrid on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:12 pm

D-segment hybrid came 3rd on the cheapest list. Din know Toyota car is so cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Kunta Kinte on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:11 am

Do you know why Audi dropped their A6 Hybrid?

Do you know why Honda and even Toyota dropped their Prius and Civic Hybrid in Malaysia

Do you know why BMW dropped their 320d and 520d?

Even Ford also dropped their Ford Focus Diesel?

Do you know why? Ask yourself why? I think the car companies are hiding a lot of truth.

Are they sincere enough to tell you service cost for electricals and battery cost? All SO SO silent on battery cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
      • Sammy Loo on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:32 pm

clearly you did not own a hybrid before. Hybrid is not really efficient in traffic jam as the battery is not able to charge plus carrying the extra electric motor and battery weight made it even worst.

Go to a Toyota showroom and test the Camry Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
        • Lemonguy on May 23, 2017 at 1:59 pm

Traffic jam not efficient? Are you kidding? When you brake, thats the time it’s charging.. I knew coz I own it. That’s the reason hybrid suitable for city use rather than highway

• alldisc on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:38 pm

Diesels only efficient when moving. In start stop driving, the engine is idling at a similar rpm with any other petrol engines. Hybrid will switches off the engine at stop (for Toyota cars, below 40kph). Diesels can do 1,400rpm while cruising at 100kph. Wait, Honda city CVT and nissan sylphy CVT also capable of doing the same. Advantages of diesel in a passenger car? Almost none.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
        • vincent on Feb 01, 2017 at 11:50 pm

So lets take a real world scenario , a 320d can get 850 km on a single tank, of rm 119 euro 5 diesel, so what is a hybrid car can get? with the sluggish power and meaningless driving compare to a diesel car that have full of touque? you choose

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • paparadzi (Member) on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:36 am

A Camry hybrid will do about 800 to 900 km per tank, I know of some who crossed the 1000 km mark. Sluggish? I’m sure you haven’t driven one. 0-100 km/h of about 8 seconds is not sluggish by D-segment standard.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 02, 2017 at 7:10 am

You are conveniently forgetting diesel fuel itself has more energy per litre. Meaning for all things being equal, you can go further on a litre of diesel then you can on gasoline. Then you add the higher termal efficiency of a diesel engine.

That figure is about 30% advantage, give and take some, added to the cheaper retail price of diesel, it means a lot for highway warriors.

I wonder why people here are so quick to discount diesels.

• helo friend, diesel engine uses less fuel for same distance

• Hamtaro on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Keep Calm & Buy Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
      • Omong kosong on Feb 01, 2017 at 9:38 pm

Remember last time MAI said a local electric or hybrid car price below RM100k.

Mana itu kereta sekarang, bila mau jual? Takut tidak laku kah? Atau mau minta lagi soft loan 1.5 billion?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Feb 01, 2017 at 10:29 pm

buckets loads of torque and all kinds od advantages, ya, but how come more and more european manufacturers are making more and more hybrids audi, merz, bmw, etc and european cities are starting to ban diesels? Why ferrari , mclaren and porshe produce their current flagship naming La ferrari, P1, and 918 spyder with hybrid instead of diesel? Disillusioned huh??

• I dont totally agree..do you drive like maniac on the highway? I own a hybrid car for 7 years. No trouble..average fuel consumption for me, combined 21per litre for 100km..i travel a lot.in fact my car have been as far as phuket..i have been through the up and down of petrol price..i believe i can survive whatever fuel prices are. this year fuel price may reach RM 3 per litre..i strongly believe it is so..so better get yourself fuel efficient car or drive sensibly…mind you used 4 years old honda insight now only 35k. Still reliable.. Hybrid battery last long..seriuosly..mind 7 years still full bar..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • autodriver (Member) on Feb 02, 2017 at 9:16 am

Agree. msia current fuel price is not as high as in Europe (average about RM5.70 per litre) or countries like Japan about RM5 per litre. And also the replacement of battery will cost about RM8-10k at least.

Since msia had launched diesel euro5, the use of diesel will benefit more compare to petrol and hybrid car. The huge torque from diesel helps in city drive as well as hill climbing condition. If gearbox with long ratio in final gear it will allow diesel car keep the RPM lower which help to reduce engine noise and getting higher top speed.

I think it might be good time for car manufacturers to launch more diesel engine B, C and D segment passenger car in msia.

• Lemonguy on May 23, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Hybrid only good when drive in City

• Najib ABU on Feb 01, 2017 at 5:49 pm

Amboiii Paultan,bukan main murah lagi harga kereta,tak der lagi mahal ker?…kah..kah..kah

Mahal la kereta di Malaysia,mana mampu pakai kereta mahal..kos sara hidup tinggi,gaji raise x setimpal….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
      • tokmoh. on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:10 pm

Yet, mercedes, bmw pecah sales record. Honda sell more than proton.

Rakyat terjejas? Wat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
        • Strangerm on Feb 02, 2017 at 8:42 am

When talking about general rakyat, you need to see total cars sold. 2016 see much lesser cars sold. Honda sales increase because Toyota not selling well, BMW drop price sooooo much, people are buying cheaper car thats why P2 selling like hot cake. Get your fact straight tokmoh.

• Low Budget on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:14 am

Sales record with respect to their total cars sold in the previous year, so nothing to shout about if compared to total volume of all manufacturers combined.

• Sapeder on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:44 pm

2014 BMW 316i RM126k saje….

• Kereta(pi) BMW tak mahal pun. Lagi takde jam, takde cost tinggi, sentiasa on time, dan takde beban environment. Lets make Najib vision a gr8 success!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Labuan Guy on Feb 01, 2017 at 9:52 pm

Its time to remove the car excise duty. Only 2 choice for govt:

A) Minyak murah, kereta mahal
        (Eg. Petrol RM1.20/liter, Proton Saga 300% duty tax)

B) Minyak mahal, kereta murah
        (Eg. Petrol RM6.60/liter, Toyota Vios 0% duty tax)

So which one you prefer?

• I prefer keep car prices high and petrol as near realistic as possible, and instead shoving all that moneh into more public transports & paying bus drivers what they really deserves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
          • What a shellfish person. I hope u like ur jakarta-esque 10 hr jams.

• john is otak batu on Feb 01, 2017 at 11:09 pm

I offer the 3rd choice. . Tukar gomen & kereta murah

• But they say janji xsemestinya ditepati. If cannot trust alredi so how?

• I’m coming from year 2019 end. almost 2020..I believe you statement is false. I hope you learnt a wise lesson now. I know, I’ve been cheated too..

• ya la, kereta mahal tak payah tulis la, duit minyak tak ada hal punya

• Susukotak on Feb 01, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Serena shoudnt in the list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Alonso on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:02 pm

As you can see, all car listed in the article is rm 100k and above, save only for the renault twizy. So which income bracket is actually enjoying the benefit of tax exemption for hybrid cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
      • Inokom workers. Cuz only ioniq is tax exempted due to assembly in kulim.

• Segway on Feb 01, 2017 at 9:42 pm

Rich people also need tongkat subsidy.

• You say that to car dealer who claim their car is Hybrid/EEV but sell it for almost zero reduction in price. Expecially those CKD JAps Hybrid/EEV.

• I rather swallow the fuel price hike than to pay sales tax and excise duty again with the new cars. We ain’t stupid, do we?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • AhBoy on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:10 pm

Good car price list. anyhow it would be better with fuel consumption rate of each car, either with l/100km or km/l.

• EV’s are not really a viable option in Malaysia yet. Not many people have the option for charge points. Especially those living in condo’s. What’s on offer is pretty sad too. The Renault Twizy is more a motorbike, then a car. Not really a valid option. And the Zoe and Leaf (both very similar) are low range over priced options.

In Europe you have much better priced EV’s (like the Ioniq, i3 and Outlander, and a wide range of plugin hybrids. Will take a while before we will see these offered here.

I do applaud Sime Darby for bringing in the Ioniq. It’s well priced, locally assembled, well packaged and comes with all the safety features! Wish Toyota would do the same with the Prius and Yaris, Volkswagen with the Golf and Polo and so forth. For now, hybrids and PHEV’s are the best bet for Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Mana Jazz hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Lee Chin Shyan on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:21 pm

You must be kidding me. What’s the 20¢ impact to potential buyer of these vehicles? (except the ionic and twizy?) Maybe the cash convert into fuel will flow like river…

• Other than ioniq, the rest of hybrids means u pay the fuel cost upfront. So no savings there, instead u will pollute environment when dispose the used hybrid batteries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • used hybrid battery is likely to be recycled rather than disposed

• Only when recycling infra is available, what about those in halfcut junkyards?

• dimitriy on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:24 pm

All of the above cars are not affordable to Rakyat Marhaen. As usual, they will always tersepit, yg miskin terus dimiskinkan lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • MRTless on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:37 pm

Ini machiam I go to work on foot

• So that’s why p1 dun produce hybrid yet because obviously other automakers make hybrid cars for higher profit. B segment is cheap? Nope, it is still expensive, changing the battery alone coz you same TCO with petrol cars

• Mikey on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:42 pm

After looking at the most expensive Hybrid Lexus LS 600h – RM1,419,000.00 – The Mercedes S 400h at RM598,888 looks like a bargain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Mazda6D on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:44 pm

Mazda 6 2.2 Diesel FTW. !

• I hope there are chargers around my flat, I wanna buy a zoey

• Mikey on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:47 pm

I would say Anthony got it right when he put the Ioniq Right at the top of the list. Beside it’s value for $$$, it’s the most sensible $$$ can buy car in this section.

• My dream car is BMW X5 xDrive40e, you know when it’s broken I can always say to my neighbour who owns 10 years old Saga that I am still charging it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • allan chang on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:56 pm

hybrid? most malaysians earns mediocre salary, how to invest in a hybrid/electric vehicle? cheapest hybrid is already 100k, whereas electric is 86k. not many charging station, especially along major highway, available mostly downtown or shopping complexes.unless buying Tesla, per charge is about 3 to 400 km range…..

• Sonyman1 on Feb 01, 2017 at 7:17 pm

Why is the Serena so called hybrid even here. It’s just a start stop system and they called themselves hybrid. like that mazda 6 and those car with start stop should be included

• RicoT on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:31 pm

Slap on a hybrid on your proton and you can park hybrid parking. It is an easy job, so why complain?

• Bapok on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:25 pm

We can include Bezza Advance too if Serena is in the list.

• TheDean on Feb 01, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Looks like only the rich can afford to save money and become richer. Why Proton or Perodua haven’t come up with a diesel variant is beyond me. Countries become richer only when the middle class grows.

• Low Budget on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:22 am

This country Middle Class is now slowly degrading to Lower Class. This is why we see more than 60% of the cars on the roads are of P1 and P2 variety. Another sign are plenty of old junk cars on the roads.

• kiasu on Feb 01, 2017 at 7:31 pm

WTF, how come Santa Fe cost more than Sorento, they practically same vehicles!

• BOYRACER on Feb 01, 2017 at 7:33 pm

Looking at the list of cars above, seems that there is non that I can afford.However I’m fortunate that I’m able to ride a motorcycle to work everyday.Have a car for the weekend.For those who have to drive due to no other alternatives by all means,please don’t take heart.I am sure you guys will find a way to reduce expenses.
      And please do not bash every drivers or bikers for their choice of transport.I am sure they have their reasons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • RM1.5mil for what is essentially a 9 year old Lexus?

• Sonyman1 on Feb 02, 2017 at 7:31 am

Yes totally agree here. That’s why rich buggers get s 400 h. Rather than the old dinosaur

• Kakiku on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:06 pm

I hope people here dont confused with Crude oil and Petrol. Its simply like beli Padi or Beras. Pls State ur fact source:

According to global prices, including refining and transportation plus dealer incentive, Ron 95 should only be about RM1.30

As I doubt this information is valid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • Kunta Kinte on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:16 am

In 4 months Malaysia has increased 60 sen. Singapore which follows the real float system remain the same fuel prices.

Dont follow blindly bang. Think a bit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • Ollie on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:08 pm

I see your comments all over the place. Typical wet market pasar malam statistics you throw around. One of those people who don’t deserve nor need to pour good petrol in their junk car. They should give you RON 90 to use.

• page3 on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:13 pm

Fuel prices has actually gone up slightly in Singapore. Caltex (Singapore) selling Ron 92 at $1.97 in Nov 2016, now selling at $2.05.

• marieta on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:49 pm

Wow, never see this Twizy and Zoey on the road to a point I never thought they are actually sold in this country.

• If one could afford to purchase any of the vehicles above, there are probably not bothered by the fuel price increase at all. What is the point of the article? People that are affected most by the price increase are unable to purchase the so called alternatives listed.

• Jeremy Clarksons on Feb 01, 2017 at 10:05 pm

Haha, when I see the price list…
      Better go and buy cheaper car that price around 30-60k and can save summore 40-60k for fuel for the next 10 years…

• i think pug 208 puretech also can be considered..good fc(base on spec) even not a hybrid..

• Illya on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:35 am

do Hybrids still get favorable exemptions? I though exemptions ended end of 2016
      BTW I just pumped 45.18 L (Rm94.98 Jan price) for travelling from KL to Sg petani n back to KL on Plus hiway in my Camry Hybrid. I bought the car for its comfort, low NVH and power.
      I use my Triton Diesel around KL town.
      Both have loads of torque.
      But you are right, Hybrids are expensive in Malaysia, so a 20sen rise does not justify buying one

• Illya on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:39 am

KL to Sg Petani and around town and back to KL (790km) on 45.18L=17.48km/L at 110km/hr.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:54 am

car price still so high…beribu ribu tahniah

• To be fair, PT should list the cheapest car with best FC too.

• I just transfer my Mitsubishi Attrage 1.2L 3 cylinders to my relative and the car average fuel consumption was 18km/l. I shouldn’t do that when petroleum cost more than Rm2.20 per liter now.

• Ahlap on Feb 02, 2017 at 6:53 am

Hi all,

Im considering to change to a hybrid recently n went to chk out the offering of Volvo n BMW. Then I went to see Benz n ask for opinion on hybrid cars.

To my surprise, the Benz sales guy told me something about hybrid car that really no one has explain me that way.

He said hybrid car is undoubtedly cheap when buying n of coz fuel efficiency is great. However down the line, hybrid car is v costly to maintain when the hybrid battery reaching end of year. Eg he said the battery replacement of hybrid car could cost around 30-50k !

Worst thing is, even u have combustion engine, but u cannot ignore the battery replacement n it must b replaced. In this case, when u about to replace your car say in 5 yrs time, the resell value will be v v v terrible, as the buyer might need to replace it.

To get u guys advise on it, let say we use the hybrid car , us it mandatory to replace the hybrid battery pack? Can we bypass it n just use it like a normal combustion engine ?

Thanks

Eddie

• tokmoh. on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:20 pm

Honda announced last time their battery costs only rm4k, umw toyota announced theirs cost rm8k.

Conti cars way more expensive, but Japanese ones doesn’t sound too bad.

A used Honda insight now costs from rm35k, even if set aside rm4k for battery, still costs under rm40k. Fully made in Japan CBU, VSC available, that’s good value for money.

• Ollie on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:10 pm

I’d check on battery warranty. Toyota and Honda offer 8 years replacement… but.. hard to say with Merc/BMW money grabbers

• azrai on Feb 02, 2017 at 8:42 am

Today, went to work. This morning it is just like school holidays. Too few cars on the road. They are using biccyle and MRT I think. :-)

• Tolol on Feb 02, 2017 at 9:16 am

Yes. to save up RM20 petrol, i shall get a RM400K Volvo XC90

• tokmoh. on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:14 pm

Cukur it is rm1mil cheaper than Lexus LS600h, ubah gaya hidup!

• clutch_plate on Feb 02, 2017 at 9:19 am

The listed car price is more on ‘mampu tengok’ rather than ‘mampu milik’ for marhaen like me..

• wawawa on Feb 02, 2017 at 9:21 am

the best option at the moment is not buying a car at all.
      if your installment period is over, besides regular maintenance, you only spent money for fuel……
      hybrid? no thanks

• Expensive list on Feb 02, 2017 at 9:30 am

Seriously? Those who can afford 90% of vehicles on that list won’t be bothered by even a 50 sen increase in Ron 95.

• Ben Yap on Feb 02, 2017 at 9:32 am

when petrol and toll gets too expensive, taking uber / grab makes it looks much cheaper.

• Faiz Roslan on Feb 02, 2017 at 9:37 am

good to see so many options on the road for hybrid

truth be told, not many people are worried about fuel prices. case in point, the road are still jam up, even when we have, lrt, mrt, monorail operating. our public transport is on par with 1st world country, not sure why malaysians cant change their mentality, apart from complaining, why dont they take public transprot if fuel price is burden to them?

the simpel fact is, maalysian want everything easy for them. hello, work hard la, malaysia is a country of meritocracy. every policy is driven by rewarding hardowrking ppl.

constanatly complaining wont help u achieve anything in life

and tot those saying malaysia is an oil producing country and must sell cheap oil to rakyat, get ur heads checked. we are exporting our good quality oil and import cheaper oil, which is stil much much much better than other 1st world country whos still stuck in rom8x or ron92. we are using a minimum of ron95, so why should we pay less?

the gov has done enough and its hitting their coffers. its only reasonable for them to cut their cost before we are in a critical stage. syabas to the government!!!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • i’ve done an oversimplified maths on my part…

if you somehow have no car loans whatsoever ( either no car , or inherited a set of debt-free wheels)

with availability of internet nowadays, it is much cheaper to simply use public transport or uber/grab to go around ( work and leasure) , and use online shopping services for heavy items , then travel to market to get fresh ones…

without a car , you could save on petrol , maintenance , wear and tear , insurance n road tax

however ,once you r stuck with a car loan ,it is better to use the car instead….

• CORRECT! Deswai Najib says use public transports. Lets make his vision gr8 success!

• Nonsense Logic on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:08 am

How many years of driving Hybrid, electric car to realise/break-even the petrol cost savings?

15 years? 20 years?

After that then its worth buying, not to mention the battery replacement cost (at least RM10K) which means another 10-15 years worth of petrol forgone?

So you see, this whole thing hybrid electric car craps is really stupid and self-defeating.

You want save money and petrol? Simply keep on buying Perodua Axia and avoid the rest especially the problematic jerking 10km/Liter jaguh global nonsense car.

• klguy on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:47 am

i’d rather get a used ford focus tdci

• people who needs to worry about fuel price, I can’t see any of these models will fit them. I mean they are all quite expensive. (seriously?! a Mercedes S400h in the list to counter fuel price increase?!) not to mention the loan interest is enough to pay for the fuel.

it should be a balance between, safety, reliability, frugal and practicality.

if you go by pure fuel efficiency, kapchai is still the best transport available ( not to mention saving on toll)

• azrai on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:46 am

Please google “penny wise pound foolish’ everyone..

• Ollie on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:10 pm

I saw the Ioniq last night – and it looks really good at night. Good price, considering Malaysian market.

But looking at public transport options, I’d rather not own a car now, Uber/Grab+LRT+Komuter+Monorail+MRT is good enough. Good to see more and more people feeling the same way.

• Ollie on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:20 pm

Could you please list the battery-only range for all these models. Actually, anything above RM200k is not really an option, but since you’ve listed please show that.

The Ioniq quotes 112 miles or 180km in the US. I checked Hyundai Malaysia’s website and no information. In dark ages – the website doesn’t know how to communicate hybrid vehicle specifications – shows engine performance only.

It doesn’t seem to be a plug-in – but it should! For 180km I’d gladly charge and recharge – 180km is a week’s worth of driving for many people, or at least 5 working days. No petrol needed whatsoever. That should shut-up the ill-informed ignorant hybrid bashers.

But Paultan – come on you should show these figures straight up, you should know these things as a car blog.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:29 pm

The Hyundai Ioniq HEV sold in Malaysia is the “plain” hybrid version, not plug-in hybrid or full electric (this is the one with the 124 miles/198 km electric range).

Normal hybrids have very short all-electric range, less than 5 km or so. Plug-in hybrids have a longer range (37 km for BMW 330e, 31 km for Merc C 350e), but it’s no where near enough to be used as a pure EV, and they were not designed that way either.

• Ollie on Feb 02, 2017 at 1:13 pm

The plug-in hybrid quotes 27 miles of electric-only range – about 40km. This mild hybrid could probably do 20km before the ICE kicks in, so by all rationale, wait for the plug-in or all-electric that can do 200km on a single charge.

• page3 on Feb 02, 2017 at 1:58 pm

“According to global prices, including refining and transportation plus dealer incentive, Ron 95 should only be about RM1.30”

Calculations to back up your claim?

• LOK CHYI YEU on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:58 pm

Really want cheaper solution…. buy a 4×4 or a van tat run diesel. U can do part time as uber or delivery too with those.

• Ollie on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:28 pm

For financial CBA, every 1 litre decrease in FC means RM750 in savings. Assumptions: 30,000km/yr, petrol at RM2.50/l. So yes, being very conservative.

So, for a hybrid its 3l/100km vs around 8l/100km for a regular option. Again, being conservative, many cars are doing 6-7 l/100km now.

So in this example, 5 litres/100km, or RM3,750/year savings. Lets take 8% interest, which is possible if you have good unit trusts and/or ASB.

Let’s say you plan to keep it for 5 years – thats almost RM 24,000 from fuel savings. If 10 years, you’re talking RM 58,000.

I did another scenario – at 5% prevailing interest and RM2.00 petrol price, and the results are RM 17,000 (5 years) and RM 40,000 (10 years).

That’s pretty impressive…… this means that if the difference in price between regular model vs hybrid is less than RM 17,000, you’re pretty much guaranteed long-term cost savings.

And with the savings, its enough to buy a new battery! At least the Toyota/Honda price (RM8,000).

• Kenny on Jul 18, 2017 at 2:36 pm

Your figures are unrealistic. A more proper estimate would be:

For every 1L/100km at 20,000km a year at RM2.00 = RM400 saving a year

Hybrid typical FC = 5L/100km, average car = 8L/100km

Difference = 3L/100km = 3×400 = RM1200 saving per year.

As most hybrid batteries can last 8 years, we base on 8 years ownership.

Fuel saving over 8 years = 8×1200 = RM9600.
        This can barely pay for the cost of a new battery and the hybrid owner has typically higher maintenance.

If you refuse to replace a depleted battery it will be taken out of your resale value so there is no escape.