Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

New Saga replacement Proton BLM sighted with minimal disguise on the road!

Proton BLM Undisguised

Now this is something really really strange. The upcoming replacement for the Proton Saga codenamed the Proton BLM has been spotted on the road, without any camouflage, and registered! Yes, the car had a proper number plate instead of a trade plate, but I’ve censored it off these photos. If you notice, there’s even a road tax sticker on the windscreen. The car only had its Proton badges removed/covered up, but other than that it shows pretty much the full details of the car.

The Proton BLM looks rather decent, and the rear will remind people of the outgoing Mercedes Benz W203 C-Class. Proton has taken the conservative route to the BLM’s styling as it has to have a huge mass appeal, and being safe is always a good idea when it comes to designing a car for volume sales, just look at Toyota’s design language. There are no oddities like the step-up window line of the Savvy, or the bling turbine wheels of the Satria Neo.

It looks like a nice, compact and anonymous-looking small B-segment sedan, with a boot that looks like it could store an estimated 400 to 450 liters of luggage. If Proton continues its new philosophy of designing cars for the consumers, expect nifty conveniences such as hinges that do not intrude into boot space, a decent amount of interior storage space, and a frugal 1.3 liter engine with both manual and automatic gearboxes.

The interior design should take cues from the current Proton Saga, which has had its interior updated with the latest facelift. Expect the interior to be a sensible one, something more Persona than Satria Neo - this means no crazy bright blue lights to light up your meter panel unlike the current Saga interior.

The word through the grapevines is that Proton is looking to a launch date sometime in the first half of January 2008. I cannot wait to see the old Proton Saga finally replaced! Not sure what the name is, but Proton might decide to keep the Proton Saga name for continuity, just like how it kept the Persona name for its new Wira replacement, as Persona was the Wira’s export name.

Spyshots snapped by 0hmyg0d and posted with permission.

Two more spyshots after the jump.

Proton and the Indian automotive industry
Black and white Proton BLM spyshot
New Proton BLM spyshot - this time in turquoise!
Another rear shot of the Proton BLM
Is this the new Proton BLM?
Clearer Proton BLM side profile spyshots
Proton BLM Artist’s Impression by Maru

Proton BLM Undisguised

290 Comments »

1. klk said,

December 23, 2007 @ 4:39 pm

Nice exterior, I think this would be a competitive model between Perodua MyVi and Perodua Viva. Any estimation about the price? Looking forward for this model.

2. zane said,

December 23, 2007 @ 4:54 pm

Hey. This looks kinda good to me. Kinda classy even (for its class). Should be good enough to satisfy a lot of people out there. This is what Proton should do for all of its models. Keep its styling decent and practical to attract the majority of the buyer. Then come out with a spruced up versions (e.g. GTi, SE, GT, etc ) to satisfy the racer boy niche. Heck, with the economic of scale that they are able to achieve by having more sales, they can knocked themself out and get a bit more crazier on their design for the special versions!

IMHO, they should retain the Saga’s name. This will show how far they come since 1984. The car’s heritage and lineage should be retained. At least, the grill still looks similar to the current Saga Iswara ;P

Just hope that this model’s interiors, specs and pricing wont disappoints. This could probably be my first Proton (or at least my wife’s). LOL

3. jehutyz said,

December 23, 2007 @ 4:56 pm

I think this is a nice car.
    For the design can see improvement from Savvy.
    Heard the price is below RM40k rite. Then really can beat the Perodua market.
    Seriously i think Viva and MyVi is too pricey already.

4. ilmondo said,

December 23, 2007 @ 5:58 pm

not bad!
    make sure its reasonably affordable!
    retain lotus character + family sensibility…

5. owaief said,

December 23, 2007 @ 6:08 pm

can’t wait to see it for myself!!

6. droll said,

December 23, 2007 @ 6:30 pm

cool. i think this will be well accepted by the public (assuming it will sell in the rm30,000s price range). good work proton!

7. nanashisan said,

December 23, 2007 @ 6:33 pm

already booked the car on last wednesday and second person in puchong branch. now waiting to touch n drive it.

8. nmh said,

December 23, 2007 @ 6:59 pm

Proton really admire City and Latio design. Good luck

9. xenith said,

December 23, 2007 @ 7:07 pm

Yay… A new proton…

10. ezralimm said,

December 23, 2007 @ 7:14 pm

#nanashisan said,
    December 23, 2007 @ 6:33 pm
    already booked the car on last wednesday and second person in puchong branch. now waiting to touch n drive it.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++

It’s for sale before launch o.0?

OT: has anyone read macosrumors.com? PT’s writing style is like that site’s one for this post. lol.

On Topic: looks classy, subRM40k perhaps?

11. szw said,

December 23, 2007 @ 7:18 pm

to tell da truth , the car looks really nice…

12. Liam Lim said,

December 23, 2007 @ 7:24 pm

Looks quite decent. Hope interior quality is good.

13. mzfnd said,

December 23, 2007 @ 7:27 pm

Squint a little bit and you can see the savvy in the 2nd pic. Nice design overall. A serious competitor as far as P2 is concerned.

14. finalfantasy said,

December 23, 2007 @ 8:04 pm

im confused coz its look like mahindra renault logan..though..does p1 just copy and paste? paul, plz answer

15. legacy88 said,

December 23, 2007 @ 8:29 pm

Nice but C pillar kinda thick. Maybe for rear crash crumple zone protection, but how about blind spot?

16. kei9 said,

December 23, 2007 @ 8:52 pm

Blindspots you say? Most cars nowadays have big c pillars.

ANyway, nice car with practicality to match.

17. mr. proton said,

December 23, 2007 @ 9:11 pm

price from rm 29k for basic model n the middle line at rm 35k. it comes both with auto n manual including Intake Air fuel module (IAFM) for better fuel consumption without sacrifice power. the name remain Proton Saga. proton plan to launch middle of january. maybe with the gen 2 facelift. this what i can say. and its True….!

18. ariff said,

December 23, 2007 @ 9:19 pm

front view look like Toyota Altezza, don’t u guys think?..
    hehhe..a bit awkward on c-pillar..
    nwvertherless..its goood looking caar..haha

19. Francis KethoN said,

December 23, 2007 @ 9:22 pm

The Proton’s journey has just begun!!!

20. MyBoy said,

December 23, 2007 @ 9:32 pm

Quite an old news already.

21. Francis KethoN said,

December 23, 2007 @ 9:38 pm

Hey…Try to imagine for the 2nd picture by putting Evo spoiler..It can be look nice…

If really selling 35K with great accessories…Im going to get one..

22. BW said,

December 23, 2007 @ 9:46 pm

HEHE I’ve seen this model in the net before and sent it to Paul but then the ones i sent doesn’t really looks like that, I mean it’s 99% the same just the grill a bit diff… Abyway nice car… Hope the quality and etc won’t dissapoints me…

23. mr. proton said,

December 23, 2007 @ 9:48 pm

francis.. rm 35k for auto transmission with single airbag, cd player, alloy rims, reverse sensor, fog lamp.hmm…i forgot la… anyway.. highline also available in future if got high demand. but pls guys… dun expect pay rm 35k but get a car like honda civic ok… be fair when judge this car after it officially launch k..

24. mitlanevo said,

December 23, 2007 @ 10:01 pm

looks a bit like Korean car….

25. MisterBenjo said,

December 23, 2007 @ 10:17 pm

finalfantasy said,

December 23, 2007 @ 8:04 pm

im confused coz its look like mahindra renault logan..though..does p1 just copy and paste? paul, plz answer

……………………………………………………………………………………………..

are u a basher or what? which part is the same with logan?
    is it unbelievable that proton have their own design?
    whatever it is congrat to proton
    this new saga is awesome for lower income group!

26. Paul Tan said,

December 23, 2007 @ 10:20 pm

finalfantasy: i think it looks very different from the logan, maybe you want to double check your comparison again

27. cbljkkj said,

December 23, 2007 @ 10:25 pm

Looks like a Honda City and a Skoda Octavia made love and this is it’s lovechild. I meant it in a good way =)

Glad to see Proton coming to terms with practicality and not just flashy products. This should provide healthy competition and stimulate better automobile growth in the lower RM50, 000 car segment and offer the trim level we should have been entitled to years ago.

28. altis_fan said,

December 23, 2007 @ 10:32 pm

I wish they strongly consider safety feature to be included as standard package - ABS with EBD at least. I just remember during last Hari Raya holiday, 4 proton cars skid at PLUS highway near Senawang,and ended up in the drain. ” Safety First and Profit later “

29. LittleFire85 said,

December 23, 2007 @ 10:53 pm

Well, it sure look good… But having a merc like butt will it be sue by merc later?

Anyway if got VIM sure it will be better then the normal CamTakPro. Anyway what i found out is that they will have 2 air-bags & ABS for high spec, while medium and low line will be almost same wif Persona.

Now we can only wait for the price. For what i found out the price may not be cheaper then savvy, is like between Persona & savvy.

30. BuLaiEn said,

December 23, 2007 @ 10:57 pm

pretty decent lookin car, and from the news from various sources probably confirm that it will be priced at around 29k til 35k region.
    with that price it would surely sell, good job i’d say to proton…

hope the interior doesn’t disappoint tho.

31. hyundai said,

December 24, 2007 @ 12:25 am

nice exterior!

32. bobdbilder said,

December 24, 2007 @ 12:53 am

I can vouch that it is possible to drive this car at 150km/h with a passenger on the highway. Too bad it wont have AMT on this one. Was hoping Proton would keep that as an option for the Neo. Well at least something that is less bone jarring as the current one.

33. duffayoi said,

December 24, 2007 @ 1:33 am

i already saw this picture in another forum…the plate number was WKC191…kinda weird coz WKC was the number register in 2005 -2006….these car was a new one..is these pic was fake??? no comment on that….but the final product will look similar to these picture..no doubt bout it….peace!!! good job proton..support our local product!!!!!!…

34. esong82 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 2:17 am

Nice appearance. Why BL sell at 29k but not 25k? Why ML sell at 35k but not 30k? Why must pay more but not less? Demand fixed the price or profit fixed the price? It seems like only follow market price regardless the cost.

35. legs said,

December 24, 2007 @ 2:40 am

Rear taillight & design looks like OPEL VECTRA…

36. namiabeeR1 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 3:19 am

Proton BLM full specification:

Engine= CAMPRO 1.3 + Intake Air Fuel Module (IAFM)
    Engine output= 70KW(94BHP)/6000rpm
    Rev=120/4000rpm
    L x W x H= 4257mm X 1680mm X 1502mm
    Cabin size= 413L
    Petrol tank= 40L
    Colors = 5 metallic, 2 solid .
    Metallic = Genetic Silver, Mountain Blue, Zircon Green, Tranquility Black, Grey.
    Solid= Red , White
    Warranty= 3 year or 150000 KM
    Petrol Consumption= Manual: 5.5L/100KM ,Auto: 6.0L/100KM

Price range:

N-Line
    -Manual
    -Solid White (bumper & side mirror no painting)
    -13″ wheel (175/70R13) *no sport rim / wheelcap
    -2 speaker
    Price: Rm33000 ++

Base Line
    -Auto / Manual
    -Metallic / Solid (Full body colour)
    -14″ Wheel with cap (180/60R14)
    -4 Speaker
    Price: RM34000 - RM37000

M-Line
    -Auto / Manual
    -Metallic / Solid (Full body colour)
    -14″ Sport rim (185/60R14)
    -1 x air bag & Pre-tensioner seatbelt
    -4 Speaker
    Price:Rm37000 - RM39000
    —————————————————————-

dunno if its true or not.. just copy and paste one..

37. rollo said,

December 24, 2007 @ 7:07 am

I can’t believe so many people actually LIKE this atrocity. It’s like a really malformed Hyundai Accent. It looks really horrible. If enough people in Malaysia like it, then fine it might sell in Malaysia, but this really doesn’t stand a chance in markets like the UK where Proton has a bad reputation anyway and is going backwards. Something looking like this can only accelerate that trend.

38. naikmotoje said,

December 24, 2007 @ 7:49 am

[quote]namiabeeR1 said,

Rev=120/4000rpm
    Cabin size= 413L
    Petrol tank= 40L
    Metallic = Genetic Silver, Mountain Blue, Zircon Green, Tranquility Black, Grey.
    Solid= Red , White
    Petrol Consumption= Manual: 5.5L/100KM ,Auto: 6.0L/100KM[/quote]

wahh the spec so nice. cant wait to see the launching of the car.

39. mystvearn said,

December 24, 2007 @ 8:05 am

Does it come in a AMT setting like the savvy?

40. nescartel said,

December 24, 2007 @ 8:23 am

hmmm… this will kill the 2nd-hand value of kancil/kelisa,
    and might as well kill the current viva!
    but quite nice to see that later more students
    will drive a compact sedan car compared to kancil/kelisa with no butt! :p

41. timber8115 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 8:32 am

Wow! Great car and look! Bravo Proton! Finally Proton is the pride of nation will continue its legacy of being the leader in the car market! Keep up the good work and prove to our Rakyat that you can produce good cars!

P/S: By the way, the wheel arch lining looks too thick for this 14in rim…. hehe

42. Infinitt said,

December 24, 2007 @ 8:38 am

Simple design but nice. If that the price, i’ll booking one. wait n see.

43. ys said,

December 24, 2007 @ 8:47 am

too early for us to judge the car now.
    lets wait until it launched and we shall see.
    if the price is around 30k then i foresee it will be another hot selling cake in town. P2 need to watch out on this.

44. ys said,

December 24, 2007 @ 8:47 am

too early for us to judge the car now.
    lets wait until it launched and we shall see.
    if the price is around 30k then i foresee it will be another hot selling cake in town. P2 need to watch out on this.

45. Dogster said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:00 am

Wow. This makes me feel like regretting my decision to buy a MYVI. @!@@@#$$$$$$!!!!@!@!!!!! The butt to me looks like a skoda sedan :) front an R34? hehehe. by a long shot! Its a gen 2 modified version of the front ..!

46. calvin5189 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:07 am

not bad, if selling

47. tHe CuLpRit said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:09 am

For a 1.3l car with a boot, with an airbag and priced at circa rm37k, I’d say not bad at all!

It definately fits into many of the low & middle income group. Good job Proton, this is what you guys should be doing all along, provide value for money car for the raykat, instead of ripping us off with 25year old car, no matter how cheap it is.

48. zanggief said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:19 am

It’s a nice car and this is what consumer need. Our Proton should realise this earlier but late better than never occur.
    There was source said this model designed by korean’s LG design studio so I can see some Kia or Hyundai taste there especially the front looks like Optra5 or old Accent….
    The interior still can’t see yet so hopefully not so plastic feel like the recent Savvy.
    If the price for low line model cost slightly more than rm30k, we can see a strong fight between Proton & Perodua.

49. proton.GL.. said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:22 am

proton always neat and tidy design, and beautiful,

id say manner of how proton was formed is as the uncluttered and the cleanliness line of the audi cars,
    simple volume, straight foward, yet bold enough sometime more exciting in its certain model with individual character without being too radically different to out of its models family gene,

50. farghmee said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:37 am

cool~ :)

letak evo spoiler + side skirts + rim ala rally…pergh!

51. narrowband said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:38 am

I just hope they change their vendor who supply:

1. Power window motor
    2. Auto gearbox

Do a quality audit on that vendor and its products.

52. dzat46 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:46 am

Gud wk P1….look like city/Latio styling wt high roof & boots which will translate into spacious cabin & big luggage area……another practical car from p1 which would definately sells in volume…keep the price low (25k - 35k) it will be a winner!

53. naikmotoje said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:47 am

#
    narrowband said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:38 am

I just hope they change their vendor who supply:

1. Power window motor
    2. Auto gearbox

Do a quality audit on that vendor and its products.

[b]setuju [/b]

54. skywalkers said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:55 am

Only for 1.3L? Why no 1.5?
    Exterior i think it is ok. I prefer the rear portion, it looks like mercedes benz (rear light).
    But the front is not very decent especially on the side view, maybe if added with a bit aerodynamik curvature….”facelift” the front bonnet. Maybe just wait to see the actual model next year.
    I hope the interior will be “SOLID” + “STYLISH” + “EXCITING”.
    Anyway…. i will not consider Proton as my first choice….. because i have had bad experience in my WIRA 1.5A before….bad quality…hmmm… just cannot take any more risk….it will be my very last choice.

55. timber8115 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 10:18 am

the dashboard, still the same as the savvy ones as you can see from t he side pic with the sahpe and contour.

56. Alifz said,

December 24, 2007 @ 10:22 am

Good works…Proton,

Sure most of people will buy this model. First day lauch will be very crowded..

All the best..

57. feeze26 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 10:35 am

wow.. i will buy this… maybe white or genethic silver..

58. namiabeeR1 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 10:40 am

hmm.. i can see it already this car converting the front into the new evo x..
    haha.. maybe look dumb but it will look great..

59. fairozee said,

December 24, 2007 @ 10:42 am

oyl78 said,

The Real Proton Saga BLM Pictures at website.. google proton BLM…

Urm… that was the oldest pic of BLM on the net dude..in fact, it was not a real car! Just a clay model. The real BLM is the one that you are looking at Paultan’s now….

Anyway, went to their showroom yesterday. I was intended to have a test drive a Neo, but they were unable to provide one since they don’t do a test drive on weekend (wtf?)

Anyway, the staff was kind of enough to enlighten me with some info bout the BLM and they even showed me some fresh photos of that car (those pictures were ’supplied’ from proton not from net one)

Overall what I can say is, the car looks okay to me. Too bad, they don’t have any pic of the interior. But from I’ve been told, the interior is ‘practical’ and spacious with generous headroom and legroom!

The launch date as been informed by other people here is correct. Expect date is mid of Jan. The price also correct but I’d rather wait until the official numbers are out….

For the time being, I just wait and see. If everything looks alright I might get myself one…it is a better buy in anyway than the overpriced VIVA. Perodua should take note on this matter and don’t be so greedy. Your big brother has learned their lesson well. Hope it will stays that way. Good job Proton!

60. 4G63T DSM said,

December 24, 2007 @ 10:54 am

It should do pretty well for itself if it can hit the targeted 30 -35k price.

Not a big fan of converted hatchbacks….same goes to the city/vios/latio/sx4.

Competition in the market is always good for consumers. This should steal some of Perodua’s thunder.

As for other maques, it doubt it will make a dent in thier sales. The BLM is in a different price category alltogether.

61. afkar said,

December 24, 2007 @ 11:03 am

nice..i notice that the roof looks like the honda city

62. Xylan said,

December 24, 2007 @ 11:59 am

good looking car and i think proton will go further after this .This car makes me proud to be malaysian

63. ENZO said,

December 24, 2007 @ 12:01 pm

good job , proton!!!
    i wish to trade in my old Saga for this new Saga!!!!!

64. waimak said,

December 24, 2007 @ 12:10 pm

So where is the teaser site????

65. ted teh said,

December 24, 2007 @ 12:11 pm

looks good, the price is good too BUT proton never had a problem with these two things, i personally like the Looks of Gen 2, being a Proton owner now it is always been the finish that disappoints, never much the engineering of the product. proton needs to buck up on its quality control and it can be a success…

66. engtaokia said,

December 24, 2007 @ 12:22 pm

although looks abit weired from side and rear, plus C-Class tail lamp, but overall still acceptable design. not bad mah…

67. fairozee said,

December 24, 2007 @ 12:24 pm

yup… the one white is the clear photos of BLM so far… sorry, I didn’t see the latest photos… just hope in few days or so we will get to see some interior pic as well…

I still wonder why the other day, when they showed me some photos of the BLM (white color also but different angles), they said they don’t have interior pic with them… and when I asked about how’s the interior looks like, he gave this puzzled look and said, “dia punya interior design ikut cita rasa masing-masing” (basically what he tried to say is, some might like it, some might not - aka savvy interior fiasco? LOL!)

Hope I was wrong and can’t hardly wait till this baby finally comes out!

Cheers

68. theking said,

December 24, 2007 @ 12:27 pm

The dashboard similar to Savvy.

69. orangetribal said,

December 24, 2007 @ 12:29 pm

the back part looks very similarly to Nisssan Latio…but its nice,not bad for the price range.really~~~

70. fairozee said,

December 24, 2007 @ 12:31 pm

theking said,
    The dashboard similar to Savvy.

Dear theKing,
    How similiar? Care to elaborate more? Thanks!

71. gtmaniac said,

December 24, 2007 @ 12:50 pm

Nice.. and cheap!

Will it come in aeroback too, later?

72. wildthingz said,

December 24, 2007 @ 1:20 pm

Nice design hope it will help p1.

73. mo_say said,

December 24, 2007 @ 1:22 pm

Unfortunately…I think their styling dept didn’t worked hard enough!…I know U all want a decent look car but if U look if not 5 or 10 years, at least 2 or 3 years from now car styling will be different even for RM30K less car! This BLM is just a normal styling (MyVi much more advance-nearly 4 year old car). Even though price and quality is 1st factor, styling is also big factor to attract buyer!

74. intermilan said,

December 24, 2007 @ 1:38 pm

[quote]namiabeeR1 said,

Rev (Torque)=120/4000rpm
    Cabin size= 413L
    Petrol tank= 40L
    Solid= Red , White

bhp & torque look very decent for a 1.3 NA engine..
    Anybody know how heavy its weight? quite an important info this one.

75. moha774 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 2:32 pm

[quote]namiabeeR1 said,

Rev (Torque)=120/4000rpm
    Cabin size= 413L
    Petrol tank= 40L
    Solid= Red , White

bhp & torque look very decent for a 1.3 NA engine..
    Anybody know how heavy its weight? quite an important info this one.

____________________________________________________________________________

I suppose we can assume that it weight wont be too heavy, say around the weight of Vios that is about 30- 50kg more than Savvy

76. whodz said,

December 24, 2007 @ 2:36 pm

I might trade off my myvi for this. New car but with same value of my 2nd hand myvi. I think it’s worth. By the way, what is the pcd of the car?

77. proton.GL.. said,

December 24, 2007 @ 2:38 pm

that the use of IAFM,
    ‘initial push power’

78. freeze said,

December 24, 2007 @ 2:46 pm

The width mentioned here is 1680mm. The Iswara is 1655mm. I know the Savvy width is shoter than Iswara

79. freeze said,

December 24, 2007 @ 2:47 pm

So what is it going to be? Either the width here is incorrect, or it cant be te exact dashboard as Savvy. Or manybe same dasboard as Savve but the doors are extra fat, and means that the interior width is smaller than current iswara.

80. cecibo said,

December 24, 2007 @ 2:48 pm

Hmm… Front view looks promising & improve but overall shape look unbalance and a little bit boring, the body seems higher up, wheels looks to small, if the car is just for replacement it’s not good enough. what can this car promise in terms of technology, ride comfort and safety ??? I’m sorry but the car is not perfect for my eyes… still

81. Peanuts said,

December 24, 2007 @ 2:51 pm

#
    mo_say said,

December 24, 2007 @ 1:22 pm

Unfortunately…I think their styling dept didn’t worked hard enough!…I know U all want a decent look car but if U look if not 5 or 10 years, at least 2 or 3 years from now car styling will be different even for RM30K less car! This BLM is just a normal styling (MyVi much more advance-nearly 4 year old car). Even though price and quality is 1st factor, styling is also big factor to attract buyer!

Styling is a very subjective. Like saying MyVi is “much more advanced”, but to me it’s just normal. Viva is not exactly appealing either. Generally, most ppl that have commented that the BLM’s styling is nice and decent. You don’t expect a BMW kind of styling for a model at this price range anyway right?

82. mo_say said,

December 24, 2007 @ 3:10 pm

I dont think styling effect the price. It will be more or less the same…all new tooling!. Sometimes styling does not include advance technology…it just outer shell. You still can have BMW styling with BLM interior or even engine as well.

83. sxe10r said,

December 24, 2007 @ 3:30 pm

next year will be sell ??? 35k-40k ?? wait n c …. wat is the name of this model ?

84. skywalkers said,

December 24, 2007 @ 3:38 pm

EVER THOUGHT ABOUT THIS “WHY I WANT TO BUY PROTON CAR?”

PRICE VS SPEC?
    GOOD QUALITY?
    FEEL PRIDE & PROUD TO SAY THAT MALAYSIA BOLEH BY OWNING ONE?
    or
    No choice because of the government policies….other model (honda/toyota/nissan) has a high price (minimum RM75k)…..

85. Peanuts said,

December 24, 2007 @ 3:47 pm

#
    mo_say said,

December 24, 2007 @ 3:10 pm

I dont think styling effect the price. It will be more or less the same…all new tooling!. Sometimes styling does not include advance technology…it just outer shell. You still can have BMW styling with BLM interior or even engine as well.

You’re right, but think of it this way. If the styling for this price range going to be really really advanced, then the styling for the top-end model have to be at least many times as advanced or else, the perception of the top-end styling will seem cheap. Thus it makes the higher end model harder to style.

86. juanbeibei said,

December 24, 2007 @ 3:48 pm

wow.. a new proton.. nice!! da rear looks innocent n cute as well as da front.. waa.. their design is getting better.. =)

87. ezralimm said,

December 24, 2007 @ 3:55 pm

i dont think it’s possible to design a small sedan that would look proportionate and “not boxy”. It’s a limitation of the size of human beings that dictates how much legroom/headroom there must be. And the size of the cars cannot be increased.

The BMWs mentioned are all much bigger cars compared to this budget car. Bigger cars are easy to design such that they look proportionate. Eg. The vios ends up looking like a dugong (ok, it’s subjective so pls dont flame me), while the same styling cues on the Aurion looks sweet…

88. dm010 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 4:19 pm

This is what WE (Malaysians) wanted to see…IMPROVEMENTS!!! Even if it’s small in details but there are NEW bits and parts in every product they produced. This shows that they are FINALLY listening to the MARKET, and not just sales charts…I dunno about people who LOATHE P1, but to me THIS is the way P1 should go. Let them say it looks like a KIA or a Hyundai or even a Mahindra; like those marques were really ORIGINAL from the get go :p. ( I despised Korean cars…They’re the biggest cheat of them ALL).Can’t wait for the launch,though…I want to see how FAR P1 have gone with this new model…

89. mofo said,

December 24, 2007 @ 4:34 pm

Good work Proton !

Pretty sure, this car would sell like hotcakes. Suggest you guyz who really plan to get this book the car earlier to skip the Q.

However, expected the price would be abit higher that all of us predicted.

Cheers

90. nmh said,

December 24, 2007 @ 5:33 pm

I think they shud update savvy once again alongside this model….maybe new interior (door panel etc, color) and engine as well using the same 1.3 BLM engine….AND hothatch vers of savvy using 1.6 campro maybe if it can fit…or maybe 2 doors

91. BigFish said,

December 24, 2007 @ 6:32 pm

This model if selling like hot cake, will likely not expand the Proton market share but “replace” existing Saga share, and likely eaten into Savvy, Persona, Waja, or perhaps MyVi or Viva.

92. BigFish said,

December 24, 2007 @ 6:36 pm

As usual, there are many congratulatory and patriotic statements from Proton supporter, blind defender alike. Hope this is not “hangat-hangat tahi ayam” @ “hot-hot chicken shit”.

93. BigFish said,

December 24, 2007 @ 6:38 pm

If this car price below RM 40K with decent design, at least Proton are response to market expectation.

94. mel said,

December 24, 2007 @ 7:39 pm

not great looking but can close one eye if priced below RM30k.

95. gey2718 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 8:47 pm

mmm, not bad
    only 1 thing, the rear overhang is somehow feel far from the rear wheel, c pillar is thick, rest all not bad

96. zaen said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:40 pm

Way to go PROTON!

Its show that Malaysian also can make car…

Not a rebadge car like Perodua or NAZA, even I love my small little Kancil but that is a fact..

:-)

97. Paul Tan said,

December 24, 2007 @ 9:43 pm

rear overhang has to be far from the wheel otherwise the boot will be small!

98. BigFish said,

December 24, 2007 @ 10:43 pm

Is this car with expected price range from RM 30K to RM 40K is “too late” for international market like emerging market (e.g. China & India) since they can and/or plan to produce car below RM 10K?

99. BigFish said,

December 24, 2007 @ 10:45 pm

Anyway, BLM will start a “precedent” for really affordable car with decent quality that offer value for money in our auto industry! Hope this is just the beginning of the end of crony vendors, bad quality car and eliminate monster NAP.

100. BigFish said,

December 24, 2007 @ 10:47 pm

In future, those 1.3 cc and below “butt-less” car like Viva, Savvy, MyVi, Chery QQ, etc shall sell from RM 15K to RM 30K.

101. ENZO said,

December 24, 2007 @ 10:57 pm

will it come with all the body kits ad the Saga SE later ,juz like the P2 done to myvi & viva?

a BIG spoiler would be nice [like the lancer 2.0 gt's], i think…..

102. nizam80 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 11:50 pm

RM39K for the full spec is quite a value for money. With that same price, if Proton added one more Airbag and also ABS, then the car would be a steal!!

103. nizam80 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 11:51 pm

RM39K is quite a value for money. With that same price, if Proton added one more Airbag and also ABS, then the car would be a steal!!

104. nizam80 said,

December 24, 2007 @ 11:53 pm

At RM39K, the car is quite a value for money. With that same price, if Proton added one more Airbag and also ABS, then the car would be a steal!!

105. hctiu said,

December 25, 2007 @ 12:15 am

GREAT job , proton !!!
    i wish to trade in my old Saga for this new Saga!!!!!
    Reply: Me too. I will definitely trade in my Ford Laser S (KB) with the white color BLM :)
    White = Very nice for mee and looks CLEAN :) Dont u agree ? Black also i like but i rather go for bright colors :)
    ooo, by the way, how is the scrapping policy going on ? ? ? seems like quiet already. anyone ?

Had been admiring the enhanced Perdana V6 and Satria NEO for a long time but its too costly to own one :(
    HAI HAI

I would say that this new baby proton will sell well in the market (for sure!)
    I am very confident with Proton this time since ever after the launch of the Persona . Well done to P1 ! :)

106. zack_keyme988 said,

December 25, 2007 @ 12:27 am

GOOD JOB PROTON..

NOW OTHER CAR COMPANIES( NAZA N PERODUA ) OPEN THEIR EYES..

THEIR BROTHER ( PROTON ) GETTIN ANGRY… N WOKE UP..

A NEW REVOLUTION OF PROTON..

IM PROUD TO OWN A PROTON..PERSONA 1.6 HI-LINE..

IT IS A GOOD CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

107. ob8 said,

December 25, 2007 @ 12:51 am

good work on the blm.i hope the’ll introduce two or at least onether new car next year.a new perdana maybe or an mpv.very important to keep up the momentum.BLM is means base line but i hope the car will be more than reliable in moving people from A to B.

108. zack_keyme988 said,

December 25, 2007 @ 12:53 am

Toyota Cars > Passenger Cars > VIOS > Specifications

ViosMy Design. My Pride.
    HighlightsGalleryConfigureSpecificationsPrice

Short SpecsFull Specs

Use the dropdown(s) to select the car for which you want to see the specifications.

–> G –> E –> J

1.5 G A/T (w/ Leather)
    1.5 G A/T
    1.5 G M/T

CHASSIS
    Transmission Type A/T w/ Super ECT A/T w/ Super ECT M/T
    Suspension Front McPherson Strut with Stabilizer McPherson Strut with Stabilizer McPherson Strut with Stabilizer
    Suspension Rear Torsion Beam Torsion Beam Torsion Beam
    Brakes Front 15″ Discs 15″ Discs 15″ Discs
    Brakes Rear Discs Discs Discs
    Tires Size 185/60R15H 185/60R15H 185/60R15H
    Wheels Size 15″ Alloy 15″ Alloy 15″ Alloy

1.5 G A/T (w/ Leather)
    1.5 G A/T
    1.5 G M/T

ENGINE
    Model 1NZ-FE 1NZ-FE 2NZ-FE
    Type VVT-i, 4 Cylinder In-Line DOHC 16V EFI VVT-i, 4 Cylinder In-Line DOHC 16V EFI VVT-i, 4 Cylinder In-Line DOHC 16V EFI
    Displacement cc 1,496 1,496 1,496
    Bore and stroke mm 75.0 x 84.7 75.0 x 84.7 75.0 x 84.7
    Max Output (EEC NET) 107HP/6,000 rpm 107HP/6,000 rpm 107HP/6,000 rpm
    Max Torque (EEC NET) 142Nm/4,200 rpm 142Nm/4,200 rpm 142Nm/4,200 rpm
    Fuel Supply System EFI (Electronic Fuel Injection) EFI (Electronic Fuel Injection) EFI (Electronic Fuel Injection)
    Fuel Tank Capacity 42 42 42
    Catalytic Converter With With With

1.5 G A/T (w/ Leather)
    1.5 G A/T
    1.5 G M/T

DIMENSION
    Curb Weight Front 640-675 640-675 620-650
    Curb Weight Rear 400-435 400-435 400-425
    Curb Weight Total 1040-1110 1040-1110 1020-1075
    Gross Vehicle Weight 1,520 1,520, 1,485
    Overall Length 4300 4300 4300
    Overall Width 1700 1700 1700
    Overall Height 1460 1460 1460
    Wheelbase 2550 2550 2550
    Tread Front 1470 1470 1470
    Tread Rear 1460 1460 1460
    Min. Ground Clearance 150 150 150
    Min. Turning Radius 4.9 4.9 4.9

( L ) ( W ) ( H )

New Vios Dimension.. 4300mmx1700mmx1460mm

PROTON BLM ………… 4257mmx1680mmx1502mm

Honda City……………. 4390mmx1690mmx1485mm

Aveo Notchback…….. .4310mmx1710mmx1496mm

Hyundai Accent 2008…4213mmx1668mmx1448mm

SEE THE DIFFERENT?????

109. cecibo said,

December 25, 2007 @ 2:32 am

Jeremy Clarkson will once again blow this car to hell!!!!

110. namiabeeR1 said,

December 25, 2007 @ 3:09 am

i heard rumors said its going to be launch on the 11th jan..
    that would be erm friday..

111. tHe CuLpRit said,

December 25, 2007 @ 7:53 am

zack_keyme988, how can u compare BLM with vios/city/accent?

Those cars are priced at rm68k-rm83k. BLM is priced around rm35-rm42k.

Vios and gang should be compared to Persona instead.

112. ezralimm said,

December 25, 2007 @ 9:11 am

#cecibo said,
    December 25, 2007 @ 2:32 am
    Jeremy Clarkson will once again blow this car to hell!!!!

lol. even though i think it’s gonna be a decent car.. i still wanna see it go under Jeremy’s sledgehammer >:-)

it’s just cool.
    =
    =
    =
    =
    tHe CuLpRit said,
    December 25, 2007 @ 7:53 am
    zack_keyme988, how can u compare BLM with vios/city/accent?
    Those cars are priced at rm68k-rm83k. BLM is priced around rm35-rm42k.

Even without govt protection, the proton BLM would still be cheaper by at least RM15k as the vios/city would cost about RM55k (for teh most basic version).

113. fairozee said,

December 25, 2007 @ 9:47 am

Well, if you want to talk about govt protection, cheaper price, please go on… I don’t think so it will change anything… what we should take notice is, Proton is trying to give the rite price and the rite car for the people. Priced from 29k-36k is good enuf for this class of car.

114. topgunthang said,

December 25, 2007 @ 12:01 pm

what you should take notice is that they could have given that price 20 years ago but they didnt. only now when they are about to go down and VW have forsaken them then they decide to price it normally.

115. BigFish said,

December 25, 2007 @ 12:02 pm

ezralimm said,
    December 25, 2007 @ 9:11 am

Even without govt protection, the proton BLM would still be cheaper by at least RM15k as the vios/city would cost about RM55k (for teh most basic version).
    —————-
    Without NAP and greed from Chery QQ distributor, this entry level car can be sale at Bolehland starting from RM 15K, unlike now it is selling more than RM 30K.

116. BigFish said,

December 25, 2007 @ 12:06 pm

topgunthang, you are write, they are “force” to adjust ot this price range in response to full FTAs in 2010. It is a folly by the blind defender said that it is “cheap” in its class. It is not yet the lowest but at least Proton don’t treat consumers as a fool by offer low quality yet relatively high price car.

117. BigFish said,

December 25, 2007 @ 12:07 pm

“you are write” should be read as “you are right”

118. BigFish said,

December 25, 2007 @ 12:12 pm

Now the world is flat, NAP is no longer relevant to stimulate our car industry. Indeed it is actually a tool for cronies and AP king to flourish.

At least Proton now demonstrate that even they are not the world class player. At least it don’t give shit product to the consumer with the launch of this BLM. BLM is a “tectonic shift” from crap-triotic talk to consumer oriented product.

119. leongylun said,

December 25, 2007 @ 12:54 pm

recantly a spotted this car nearby KLCC for commercial shooting. ascotted by police and it can run very fast. the exterior is not bad..better than what we saw in the recent post. well done…when will launch? i think most probably before chinese new year..hehe

120. cbljkkj said,

December 25, 2007 @ 2:26 pm

The exterior can always be modified at a later time (future facelifts, revisions, at the hands of third party car parts shops or even itchy hands of modifiers such as myself) but the interior and it’s final spec sheet will tell the whole story.

I’m not exactly a fan of the Savvy’s interior but since this is a car for the masses, one should not be too picky about it. Build quality and Q.C are what I’m most interested in. That will determine if Proton takes us consumers seriously. If so, then bravo Proton but if not, I hope they close up shop and learn from the industry’s big boys before attempting car manufacturing again.

121. _xXx_ said,

December 25, 2007 @ 2:28 pm

mcm Hyundai Accent yang berlabel motor RX-S tu. Kalo nak copy, pilih model yg lawa sikit lah!

122. cbljkkj said,

December 25, 2007 @ 2:34 pm

Do the brake lamps of this Proton BLM remind any of you of the new Nissan Latio sedan’s brake lamps?

If anything, I think they look better than the Latio’s lights.

123. MisterBenjo said,

December 25, 2007 @ 8:30 pm

what a stupid comparison by a basher….vios even with minimal tax cannot cost below 50k okay …how can u compare it against BLM ? and people buy savvy in thailand because it is the cheapest car over there but still it is cost 40k over there…Do toyota owned perodua pampered u all with low price,refering to viva price, i dont think so . So which dreamland country are u all refering to?

124. transformer said,

December 25, 2007 @ 9:09 pm

Good things doesnt comes cheap…

So, its just a usual P1…

For those peanut brainer, Price comes first!
    Quality, Reliability, and Ergonomics is a must for entry model!

More life would be at risk when these BLM are OTR as its safety are not included(ABS, EBD & BA)…

125. PTAllTheBest said,

December 26, 2007 @ 3:00 am

looks like he wan to show up his new vios.
    i admit although i’m a basher but comparison between vios and BLM is not fair. the gap is so huge. they are not from the same segment.
    since you bought the new vios y dun compare your new vios with merc e-class. stupid idiot…!

126. nescartel said,

December 26, 2007 @ 4:00 am

how come the BLM in the pic already got registration number?
    can people buy BEFORE it is launched?

127. Apathy said,

December 26, 2007 @ 9:37 am

hurmmmm marketing wise, big car with price

128. Apathy said,

December 26, 2007 @ 9:39 am

hurmmmm marketing wise, big car with price less than RM50K, …a good move but i wonder about the fuel consumption, big body aka heavy car with peanut engine…..hurmmmm even my 1995 1.3 iswara very kuat makan minyak. just my 2 cents…..

129. farghmee said,

December 26, 2007 @ 9:46 am

someone gave a comment on safety features..
    it’s good to have all those goodies installed :)
    but bear in mind, safe driving is the priority.
    too much electronics won’t do any good either, for me lah..
    pure driving, pure excitement :)

130. khimfoh said,

December 26, 2007 @ 10:51 am

The front and rear design of this BLM looks decent. The rear resembles the Skoda Octavia - nice and decent. However when viewing it from the side, it kinda looks disproportionate. Pricing wise…well it’s quite reasonable.

Will I get one ? Well…just hope that the Campro 1.3 doesn’t disappoint us. I drove the Gen 2 1.3A and it was bloody sluggish and a fuel guzzler.

131. yippi33 said,

December 26, 2007 @ 10:58 am

agree wit u farghmee..safety driving is more important above all..all those features are only technologies to assist us…even if ur driving a volvo but ur driving like hell, ur life aint going to be guaranteed either..

i like the exterior design of the new saga..interior wise, i prefer savvy’s dashboard and center console design compared to other proton models(minus the yellow odometer)..more to european style ..and not lotus wannabe..

looking forward to the launching..

132. kanazai2001 said,

December 26, 2007 @ 11:14 am

no bad… except for the C pillar is too thick and rear wheels are located too front not matching the overall outlook of the car…

133. gokibin said,

December 26, 2007 @ 11:35 am

Boleh makan la ini kereta… for something that would cost below RM40k, it’s ok ok la… Only wish that the front wheel not too up front n the grill design be more daring. But it’s family car so it’s ok to look demure. Kinda reminds me of Honda City which I don really like but as long as quality is good inside n outside, I’ll be more than happy to purchase it n park it next to my kancil…. ha ha ha… keep it up u guys…

134. terracottaz said,

December 26, 2007 @ 11:42 am

Stop bashing here.

If you like, you BUY.If you don’t like DON’T BUY.

To me is a GOOD effort from Proton to launch this BLM after more than 20 years SAGA on our road.

If your equipped with ABD,EBD,BA,VSA and etc, if you drive like hell you will end up in a COFFIN!

Example is the new SL 350 totally crashed at Jalan Tun Razak middle this year.Driver is dead.

135. tec96248 said,

December 26, 2007 @ 11:49 am

rollo said,
    December 24, 2007 @ 7:07 am

I can’t believe so many people actually LIKE this atrocity. It’s like a really malformed Hyundai Accent. It looks really horrible. If enough people in Malaysia like it, then fine it might sell in Malaysia, but this really doesn’t stand a chance in markets like the UK where Proton has a bad reputation anyway and is going backwards. Something looking like this can only accelerate that trend.

–malaysian taste or should i say asian taste is different. just like rover, ford, renault can’t stand a chance to compete with other japanese makes. mate, one man’s meat, another man’s poison. u don’t know this? hahaha.

136. Brutall1 said,

December 26, 2007 @ 11:58 am

You guys/gals gonna luv this. From what I gather (very reliable sources), the starting price would be below RM29k.How about that?

137. tec96248 said,

December 26, 2007 @ 12:02 pm

PTAllTheBest said,
    December 26, 2007 @ 3:00 am

looks like he wan to show up his new vios.
    i admit although i’m a basher but comparison between vios and BLM is not fair. the gap is so huge. they are not from the same segment.
    since you bought the new vios y dun compare your new vios with merc e-class. stupid idiot…!

–my friend, this car is the same segment as vios, city or accent. b-segment. the only difference is the car price and engine capacity. the huge gap is the price and the technology may be. do u know it or not? hahahaha. see the real car for urself and find out more, this car is a joint effort with hyundai. similarity to accent or rio.

138. tec96248 said,

December 26, 2007 @ 12:20 pm

this car is quite alright and date of launching might be on 11 january. the overall car is similar to chevy aveo notchback in terms of looks and size which i do like it. thinking of buying as a weekend car. the interior looks better than persona from my point of view. selling price around 35k can consider the cheapest in malaysia market.

139. deepthroat said,

December 26, 2007 @ 12:48 pm

what an ugly piece of shit. look like a bastard offspring of Waja and Gen2! if this model is a major part of Proton’s recovery plan, the money is better off spend on flood relief and building Hindu temples.

140. BigFish said,

December 26, 2007 @ 1:20 pm

terracottaz said,
    December 26, 2007 @ 11:42 am

Stop bashing here.

If you like, you BUY.If you don’t like DON’T BUY.
    ———–
    This shall apply to those supporter, stop the praise as well?

Buy or not buy? I don’t think it is so simplilistic as that.

141. BigFish said,

December 26, 2007 @ 1:22 pm

tec96248 said,
    December 26, 2007 @ 12:02 pm

–my friend, this car is the same segment as vios, city or accent. b-segment. the only difference is the car price and engine capacity. the huge gap is the price and the technology may be. do u know it or not? hahahaha. see the real car for urself and find out more, this car is a joint effort with hyundai. similarity to accent or rio.
    ——————
    This is technically correct statement. Price wise, BLM is lower than City or Vios in this crap-NAP prices.

142. kuikui said,

December 26, 2007 @ 1:25 pm

i heard from one of Group purchasing manager(proton).
    this car will use acicikai (if i not mistake) gaer box. Nissan also use this gear box.

i already test this car a few month ago.
    still comfort for 5 person.

interrior like saga (keter kebal). audio from clarion.
    design by LG, thats why u looks like koreans car.

143. cecibo said,

December 26, 2007 @ 1:55 pm

Amazing PROTON is the malaysian car manufacturer & the only car manufacturer in the world that making the most advance, high tech, sophisticated POST BOX. I’m gonna buy it & put it on my front gate permanently (glue the tyre) lower down the window a bit, so the postman can slide in my letters, bills, postcard and easily he can open the door or the boot so that he can insert the bigger, heavier parcell & at the night i can simply lock my post box only from my house using a remote so that nobody is gonna have a chance to steal any of my letters….BRILLIANT!!!!

144. wheregotcar said,

December 26, 2007 @ 2:48 pm

cecibo said,

Amazing PROTON is the malaysian car manufacturer & the only car manufacturer in the world that making the most advance, high tech, sophisticated POST BOX.

apa merapu punya orang.. it doesnt look anything like a postbox. konfius lah

145. BW said,

December 26, 2007 @ 2:58 pm

Amazing PROTON is the malaysian car manufacturer & the only car manufacturer in the world that making the most advance, high tech, sophisticated POST BOX.
    ______________________________________________________________________________
    It doesn’t looks anything like a post box pun

146. orang kampung said,

December 26, 2007 @ 3:04 pm

cecibo said,

Amazing PROTON is the malaysian car manufacturer & the only car manufacturer in the world that making the most advance, high tech, sophisticated POST BOX

——-

hello friend!! my advise ::: plz look back what u have done for you country:: if u got so much money u can buy it as a “post box”::people from lower income range with big family will really appreciate this car and their developer:: orang kampung which don’t have stable income also like this car::what type of car is perfect??:: GOOD JOB PROTON, CONGRATULATION

147. orang kampung said,

December 26, 2007 @ 3:07 pm

#
    deepthroat said,

December 26, 2007 @ 12:48 pm

what an ugly piece of shit. look like a bastard offspring of Waja and Gen2! if this model is a major part of Proton’s recovery plan, the money is better off spend on flood relief and building Hindu temples.
    ———————-

but other people like it::

148. khimfoh said,

December 26, 2007 @ 3:56 pm

Well the BLM has a ‘love it or hate it’ look about it. Some like, others despise it.

I guess looks is in the eyes of the beholder.

149. cecibo said,

December 26, 2007 @ 5:26 pm

I didn’t say i looks like a post box, but if i buy it, it would be!!!
    it’s the car design by a man with no passion, no sense of style, ugly, hideous, it’s rubbish!!! same with a man who design the proton logo who’s just inspired by joining the kids at saturday evening in front of a tv and watching THUNDERCATS then came out the idea and loudly shout EUREKA!!!!!

150. bmpower said,

December 26, 2007 @ 5:51 pm

!!!! to many monkey in the PT.org now…