SRM in Australia early 2006

Proton’s media release department seems to favour the foreign markets more than our own local market. In a release by Proton Cars Australia, Proton says the new Satria Replacement Model three-door hatch will be released in Australia together with the Proton Savvy during the first few months of 2006.

At least now we know the SRM is coming in 2006.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• marquis on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:58 pm

i wonder wats the price for tis new SRM in Malaysia.

• HANG JEBAT on Nov 29, 2005 at 9:00 pm

…what? damn… your right Paul, Proton will & always favour foreign than us…

• SEE FU on Nov 29, 2005 at 9:08 pm

See due to Paultan Blogger's comment about SRM ,…3 doors lah no market, no good.. is and that lah…bla..bla…bla…..almost everything is Badddd…maybe lah!! :) Now POTONG launch this SRM in Other country first.

Australia market!!?? 3 doors car demand is higher? and better in Malaysia?? Hard to believe this move, anyone out there from Australia….give us some comments…Pls!!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 29, 2005 at 9:09 pm

Ueah.. better that way..

if launch in malaysia.. almost GOOD thing gonna be BAD THING.. so better out of malaysia first..

let we see this thread gonna be bashing thread or not..

// if paul notify.. seems there's MOST NATURAL USER were leaving this blog during excessive flooding of basher.. same as me.. bosan dengan 'talk without fact and keep repeat the same thing' kind of basher.

Gud luck SRM! .. 'handling by lotus or not this one ah? '

• Better , foreign 1st then us …if launch here also…As always!…you ppl sure kutuk kaw! kaw!…right?…

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 29, 2005 at 9:10 pm

sory.. not Natural , but NEUTRAL .. :D

• I think it will be launched here first, just that Australia announce first.

• there's a malay saying which more or less translates like this: the monkey in the jungle you feed, your child at home die starving. Lebih kurang like that laa. so in this case child at home = us, monkey = australians, or other foreign countries la for that matter.

• wonder what is the spec for SRM in Aussie? hope it would come close to R3 spec..

i think proton has new strategy… launching abroad.. IF aussie show the good interest (respond) then it will be use as a market strategy in malaysia…

• Heelll oooo on Nov 29, 2005 at 10:38 pm

anyway people will say protong or gentut or anything

come here first no use lar

maybe perodua shitting people says it is no good and blah,blah blah……………

don't know to appreciate!

yau mou gao chor! like the see food.

• It's not uncommon for manufacturers to launch new models outside their native market first. Actually its not uncoomon for any business to launch products where the market is more responsive. Its called business.

It is possible that PROTON has identify Australia as a more feasible market to launch the SRM first. That's fine…the cars will still be build in Tajung Malim by the same hands and robots that build the Savvy and Gen.2, I don't see any reason to believe that we are getting any less of a car.

Introspectively, we should seek answers to these questions before passing judgement or comments…Is the Oz market more receptive towards this type of vehicle? How has our attitude been when a new model from this make breaks into the market? Is it feasible for them from a business point of view, to launch a vehicle in a smaller market rather than a larger one?

PROTON is a business it needs to do what is best for the business in order to best serve its customers.

• SRM booker on Nov 29, 2005 at 11:21 pm

U GUYS LISTEN:

If u hate Proton so much, dont buy it. Nobody force u to buy Proton. Proton gonna bankrupt? Not ur problem anyway. Jeremy Clarkson also hate Proton? Just leave him bluffing alone like peniaga ubat at tepi jalan kaki lima.

If u dat smart n rich, buy Merc/ BMWs every new model release 2 feed ur talk cocks. Cannot afford it? Dont worry, buy China cars, its cheap n some looks like BMW/ Mercs also what, nobody knows.

• they say gonna release onli mah…they also say together with the savvy…so, both are releasing…not first time unveiling….probably they launch first here slightly earlier mah…u think proton so lousy that everytime they need time first before they can ready for export market meh.

• I dont see any problem with them launching SRM that early in Australia. Satria GTi was awarded best imported car of the year 199x Austrialia (forgotten exact year) but i know the second price winner is the peanut eyed C-Class !

Friends from Australia also told me that Satria GTi sells in bucket loads there.

Malaysian markets however, are more receptive towards hatchback cars, such as the common comments from parents or old folks, saying hatchback cars being not practical, susah nak naik, raining how to go to the back seat withou getting wet, belakang kena langgar terus kena orang……. etc etc etcs… hence Malaysians, still prefer sedans.

• The PROTON Satria GTi also received honourable mention in the 2001 Autocar Car of the Year Awards.

• crash on Nov 30, 2005 at 12:31 am

Haiyaaa…. apa susah.. if aussie willing to buy, ok la.. tau kutuk saja… as i know, aussie buy proton cars for 2nd car… so.. 3doors model is suitable. Kalau sendiri pun ada duit, nak beli 2nd car, why not beli 3doors model.

• srm booker.. i like u

• flamesz on Nov 30, 2005 at 12:34 am

Many different manufacturers release their products in many other parts of the world other than their homeland. Proton is no different from other car manufacturers other than (the low quality, lack of creativity and capability to compete).

Now, there are ppl who hates every lil bit of Proton and there are ppl who wants to be proud of Proton but are let down by their incapability to impress time and time again. Most belong to the latter camp, criticising in hope that by doing so, Proton might listen and improve, nevertheless, this method has also failed.Proton seems to be a stubborn donkey.

Proton sees its losses increase, capability to compete decrease.WHY? Because it doesnt listen to the ones who care for it the most, Malaysians. If it would just listen for once, comply to the demands of the people, I bet it would be doing quite ok by now.

I feel i have the right to criticise Proton because I've been thru the dissapointment of owning its' product. Many ppl criticise without even been 10 meters near a Proton before. They too, dont provide a solution. I've provided 1 solution that will for sure turn over the negative future of Proton and that is" LISTEN TO THE PEOPLE".

• @ bong on Nov 30, 2005 at 12:38 am

i read from newspaper, the SRM will be launch in late January. they intended to luanch it in Dec but. got some problem. Anyway.. SRM is sure eye catching to us. Even to those who are anti-proton. Can't wait to test drive and know the price. Hopefully bellow rm55k.

• Spyder on Nov 30, 2005 at 1:03 am

SRM Booker,

Have you been living on earth or the moon? what you mean no one forcing us to buy Proton? what do you call it when the prices of the competition is raised by taxes? The suzuki swift seems like a great car.. made in japan. Cost 81k in malaysia… did you know they just released the same car in indonesia and it will effectively cost about 66k? … depending on the currency exchange rates…Anyway.. Peace.. and I hope you enjoy your new car…

Amin,

I agree that all these cars are beeing built at the same factory, but do you think the Savvy when released in Oz will come without airbags – like the one you find in local showrooms? Just in the tradition of Proton.. the cars released in local market ARE inferior.

However, the SRM may be the car we are waiting for, and could reverse Proton's fortunes. it should cost between the Savvy at 45k and the Gen2 at 58k. Sounds good… but depends on the features.

• What i'm going to emphasize is not a matter if the darn smart loking proton will be launch in Australia soon. U know why, so that u people will see how it will impress the aussies'. Then, only we will see that proton is somehow a good car maker too. But for me the exterior and design of the car is superbly crafted. Since years back, we know that proton are not too "safe" from the aspect of safety. soft body construction. some say the car was made from ' tin Milo'. So we hope that this lovely machine will roam the streets with pride. Not only Beauty from the outside but 5 Star rating for safety too…….

• then again.. another long debate about proton car..

BTW, how much it would be? the price? of SRM?

• [Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau on Nov 30, 2005 at 1:31 am

well… just wait and see lah…. we wait… till the day it’s officially launched then only we see again lah… we kira how much the day of launch until the very first complaint is publicly lodged…

previously they say Proton improved and the proof is Savvy. now we have a savvy owner writing complaints to CBT of NST… how many days since launch?

die-hard supporters… u never see the true picture… ppl don just bash without even the least evident fact… it is very obvious, Proton is anak-tirikan us malaysians…

cars sold to foreign market, packed with full features and being sold at cheaper price (plus shipping fee some more!!!) than empty cars offered to us malaysians… that is HARD-FACTS (go check for Proton car prices in Qatar and UK then convert back to RM) and how do you justify that?

well if u think that it’s ok with u being exploited paying more for craps so that Proton can use that money to subsidize foreign exports, that’s ur problem, majority of buyers ARE NOT OK with that, clear? so dont stop ppl from voicing their opinions, we live in a “democratic” nation!

and lastly talking about tax, for ppl who say proton’s price in Malaysia is higher bcoz of tax structure, i say to H3ll with him… buying local made products also have to get taxed??? so what’s the point in the “Kempen Belilah Barangan Buatan Malaysia”??? since i’m gonna get taxed might as well i pay abit more and get a better (better means definitely not a Proton) car?

• JubZero on Nov 30, 2005 at 2:06 am

I heard somebody from Proton rnd that they need to redesign the engine bay for SRM GTI because it doesn't fit the VW engine…??? They gonna put one of those?? Amin I'm preety sure u 're working with Proton, did u heard that too??? or it just a bulls**t we always hear…

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 30, 2005 at 2:17 am

spyder is REPEATING FARKING BASH .. stop doin that. u're starting shit.

The tax is already discussed to many time.. no need to repeat lah!. Wasted post.

Look alike this thread got better post. Wish no one make flood like before.

I see.. some point of view = proton 'merajuk' ?? .

Satria GTI awarded is a good ticket to gain more buyer.. Most of the Australia can afford the car that we think high price . But make sure enough power.. not under power ie :satria 1.3 etc.. GTI 1.8 , soo that's setup some standard for Satria.

In another view is.. Launching there also to clear the savvy stock maybe, eh.. why savvy = city car? not call it SUV ? .. :D is it the same ah? .

SRM price? = more people will to pay abve the RM70- 80K, if the engin = 1.8 + satria gti related stuff . And Handling by lotus is a MUST i think.

• great post on Nov 30, 2005 at 2:59 am

dont worry, SRM will have handling by lotus

• Arena a.k.a Jumbuck in Australia sold like 'goreng pisang panas'. No wonder Proton try to concentrate on the market. Whatever they do, market survey is very-very important. Remember that.

• Chapree Da Grande on Nov 30, 2005 at 4:40 am

Well, is there any indication that they want to launch the car in Australia FIRST? From the media release, I think they are talking about Savvy launch in Jan/Feb. No mention about SRM exact launch.

Chill la…lepak lu, minum teh tarik. =P

• Prometheus on Nov 30, 2005 at 4:59 am

as long as they don't have a putra replacement model, my car 2nd hand value will be good..

• burn72 on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:27 am

i think Paul knows that if you want a responsive blog, post anything about proton….hehehehe..i'm not complaining though paul.

• Heelll oooo on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:38 am

Other shit , i agree wit Spyder .

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:56 am

Aiyoyo, people talking about facts why you wanna shut him up coz he's repeating?

Nothing wrong about saying that the protection given to Proton is the reason why the Jazz, Swift etc is highly taxed. It's the truth anyway.

I think mitsu and SRM Booker are really Proton Diehards. Good luck guys. You make me sick, bashing people for saying the truth? Pfft..

• infinity on Nov 30, 2005 at 6:27 am

aussies dun kutuk proton as much as malaysians..so, better launch there 1st..then the aussies praise the car..then malaysian will think "wah,mat salleh also say good,sure good la"..then only can sell ma…this is call strategy…this is my point of view la…

• kanasai on Nov 30, 2005 at 6:35 am

SRM booker

U GUYS LISTEN: -> Booker Listen!!

If u hate Proton so much, dont buy it. -> we just want quality product, that's y nobody buy junkky product.. got it?

Nobody force u to buy Proton. -> my fren, pls read more books and news paper

Proton gonna bankrupt? Not ur problem anyway. -> we are Malaysian… sure is our problem!! that's y we want Proton to improve

Jeremy Clarkson also hate Proton? Just leave him bluffing alone like peniaga ubat at tepi jalan kaki lima. -> y u care about this guy anyway?

If u dat smart n rich, buy Merc/ BMWs every new model release 2 feed ur talk cocks. -> you r not smart either to talk even a cock about 'nobody forcing u buying proton'

Cannot afford it? Dont worry, buy China cars, its cheap n some looks like BMW/ Mercs also what, nobody knows. -> my advise, pls read more news paper.. u might think that China produce low quality product like proton all the while, well..think again as they have send their men to space my fren… in future, china will play a big role in Car Manufacturing Industries

so who is talking cock,SRMother booker?

• Why we dun kutuk China cars? cos the pride it carries, or the insult it brings; doesnt concern us. Proton do. I do think most people here can remember the days when our country launched our first car, Proton Saga, everyone went to Dataran Merdeka to see it, everyone was so happy, joy, proudness and the joy being a Malaysian was so overwhelming. Now? what's up? YAO MOU GAO CHOR !?! like wat SEE FU said.

Anyway, i do hope Proton can really get mature abit with their interior ergonomics design, study more on the use of materials for interior trimmings and stuffs. The interior starting from GEN2 dissapoints till "Le New Saga" and Savvy. Where is the guy who did Waja? Thats at least better. And from the pics i saw from internet, the interior trimmings of SRM better not be handled by the same team who did Savvy.

Just my 2 cents

• Initial D on Nov 30, 2005 at 7:11 am

if the car is launched here and it is affordable, in just a few moments, there will be many variants of SRM…….just like the 'famous' wira. hope they made it affordable, so tat many ppl can buy and wa……….many srm variants in malaysia…er…..not by proton but by malaysian. hehehehe….so many variants just like malaysia, multiracial la, multicultural la and multi in almost everything!!!

Wow!!!!now that's nice. just need to watch out for the build quality though.

• i think proton supporters consists of non-proton owners.

• biggie on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:25 pm

i believe likeSavvy will be like Gen2 where its highline (with ABS and Airbags) will also be available for M'sian.

• stewpid on Nov 30, 2005 at 6:03 pm

har har… i think boths side are right…

i think there's no di 'anak tirikan' this time.. if p1 dare to launch the new SRM outside, and well accepted, just go on, why not? (but make sure they provided the powerful engine, not just Satria 1.3 here, heard a lot of complain from aussie there about satrias and they decided to plug in 4g93T in theirs). If there's no bashing,and the aussie like it soo much… :) proton will win this time.

then p1 should sell to bolehland the same specs (mana boleh kereta kosong aje…) with reasonable price. hope not see more craps…

the booker's not really the proton die-hards, they just the malaysian that wanna car with competative price, easy maintenance (but usually 'tak apa' with safety features??.. )… Both proton and import cars have taxes you know, but the taxez for imported cars usually more to protect p1 & p2. Yeah you're right [HatukNgkau], buying local made products also have to get taxed. We dah lotsa time discuss about taxes applied to cars in this forum, but we absolutely can do nothing about it. its the G desicion meh… that why aa u see the p1 models sold outside somehow is cheaper from inside and some imported models is cheaper outside than our domestic market. p1 must go global. they must realize that they cannot rely more on domestic market… if they do they will close shop…. In the news today, p1 conformed have lost (before tax) RM163.1mil. this mainly due to liabiliy on MV Agusta and disposal of 3000 old Renault engine parts. haiya… manyak lugi ooo….

• Spyder…

I do understand that some drivers/buyers place an emphasis on items such as airbags and reverse sensors etc. But fundamentally with or without these ammenities in doesn't make a good car any better or a bad car any good. Having said that…it does feel good to have all the bells and whistles in one's (p)ride and joy.

PROTON is trying its best to incorporate all the latest features into its cars, the Waja for example before release had automatic rain sensors and turn indicators build into the wing mirrors along with ABS, EBD, TC, SRS…but to include all this items would be too much for the end user to bare.

The reality is…as much as we would like all these added extras, not many is willing to pay the extra cost.

eRis-Aeir4s…

Assuming PROTON is to blame for the pricing of other comparatively priced cars in our market today…wouldn't PERODUA be as guilty as PROTON? What about Naza and INOKOM? Aren't these manufacturers as much as protected as PROTON thus are equally to blame for the high prices of automobiles in Malaysia.

What about the AP issue that has been implemented way before PROTON was even conceived? Doesn't that have a more influential control over the prices of cars in Malaysia more so than the national car manufacturers?

Speaking of truths…I think you should know that importers enjoy a healthy profit margin from selling cars thus driving the prices to an exuberant amount hiding behind the veil of AP, Import Taxes and PROTON.

What about the lack of transperency in Malaysia…how acurate would you think the assumption that PROTON is the driving force behind high prices in Malaysia when facts are obscure at best?

• LangkawiCar on Nov 30, 2005 at 7:12 pm

Observing from all the blog all this while, I can conclude that Malaysian would tend to have a negative perception to all Proton cars even before it is launched. For example, ever since the first spy picture of Savvy, ppl started bashing the model. But after it was launched, the bashing turned into bickering and later turn to silence.

If you guys got a baby, would you have negative thought of who he might be when he/she grow up and scold the mother for that? You will teach him/her to be a better person right?!

What I see happen here, the bashing ppl r saying they kutuk to make Proton better. They actually bulls**ting themselves.

Think possitive la guys. Look at a glass as half full rather then half empty.

If you dont have anything good to say then dont say anything la… If u nak kutuk get your facts right and give productive recommendation on how it should be. … not kutuk.

For me is simple – "DON'T LAUGH AT IDEAS, LAUGH WITH IDEAS"

• this baby must have a lotus engine ! :(

• gegaoff on Nov 30, 2005 at 7:58 pm

sorry guys… but will satria SRM wil come with Air bag as standard safety feature? or an option package??

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 30, 2005 at 8:47 pm

option package more like it… wont come standard as our law does not make it compulsory, and of course proton will want to reduce cost (to get higher margin mah!) as much as possible….

so like it or not we malaysians will continue to bear higher prices, no matter how many new models being introduced, compared to those being sold elsewhere, as in ALL the proton cars that has ever been exported and also sold here…

there is solutions to overcome that, but then i guess all ppl here already knows wat it is… so up to u all to do what u think is right la!

• My friend said, "Cakap ngan Proton macan cakap ngan tunggul"… no action… no improvement… finally everybody bashing lah… nak salahkan sapa? Proton Bashers TM la jugak… pity Malaysians… Proton tak salah…

• KISIO on Nov 30, 2005 at 9:57 pm

bila masa cakap dgn proton nih, aku tengok banyak yg ckp dlm blog jer pkai nick mcm2.. tulis paper la dgn nama, no ic, model dan nomber plat.. baru diorang tersentak.. skg pakai sms plak, lagilah takleh pakai…. :-)

• savvyamt on Nov 30, 2005 at 11:19 pm

for sure SRM will be launched here sometime in january.

that's what i read in newspaper the other day.

• toolan on Dec 01, 2005 at 1:54 am

proton 'merajuk' already. tu la bashing proton all the time.

• rasco on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:20 am

eagerly waiting… hope there's test drive.

waiting… waiting… waiting…

• Proton already 20 years maa… so many complaints on news paper… television… what else they want… servis center more worst… "Biasa la… Proton maaa"… "oh…. itu masalah biasa jer, semua pun macam tu"… YAU MOU GHOU CHOR… kereta kebal pun masih lagi air masuk kat lampu… selepas 20 tahun? pissed off la… last time RM18K… after 20 years RM38K but still have this kind of problem… kawan aku nyer Satria pun dah jadi akuarium…

• superman on Dec 01, 2005 at 6:34 pm

Proton , like some other manufacturer, has several specifications for any given Model. For GEN 2 they have:-

Low Line (base model specs)

Mid Line (Electric /power windows, CD and alloys)

High Line (Airbags, Leather)

As the Regulation in this country doesn't specify that Airbags are compulsory Proton doesn't put them in all the models .

However you do have a choice. The Waja and Gen2 have airbags-equipped model. The choice is up to the buyer.

For me , I bought a airbag equipped Waja. It cost a bit more, but hey, what price your life?

• wafiess on Dec 04, 2005 at 9:26 am

lol … y aus ??

• Love the SRM. If you want a three door get a SRM, if you want a four door, get a WAJA/ IMPIAN, if you want a five door… get a SAVVY or GEN 2 or SAGA, thanks proton for producing a variety of cars

• I am a proud owner of 3 previous protons (Saga and two Iswaras) and supports proton. I have now a WIRA auto and wife a gen 2 1.3. Got no problems with our protons since I first used one in 1988. These cars goes on and on…. Thanks proton and keep improving.

• sadam on Dec 12, 2005 at 11:08 am

Now Malaysian are free to buy any car models, AP issue sudah quite. Many models are flooding Malaysian market ,the Chinese cars , the Indian' s Mahindra , the Korean's , the Japs, the Italian's, the French, the Britsh , to name the few. Now selling cars like shopping at hyper market. Malaysian likes to bergaya. Car loans 10 years maybe next few years to come 12-15 years boleh hutang. Hutang ….hutang…hutang….. that's the lifestyle of most Malaysian. Hutang along.. hutang …cheti …hutang bank…hutang education semua cannot… settled…. just for the sake to buy cars. Now to customise the car also can hutang. hidup nak bergaya tapi papa kedana. Survey shows the lower income Malaysian spent about 30 of their income to spent for a car ( car loan-petrol-customise-insurance-road tax-repair & maintenance) . Food 20% and 30% housing ( some 0 tumpang rumah famili) 5 % clothing – 15% entertainment – saving zero 00000000.The most important thing is get the right car with your budget. All cars have the same objective can go places as you like.

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:21 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.