Proton Satria Replacement Model Launch this Friday

srm_100306_thumbnail.jpgThe Edge Daily reports that the Satria Replacement Model will be launched this Friday, on the 16th of June 2006, confirming many of our speculations on the actual launch date of our national automobile manufacturer’s long-awaited three-door Satria hatchback replacment.

I am sure most of you have seen the leaked product pages from Proton Edar’s site. Come back to this blog on Friday evening for a full review of the car specifications including a track test drive experience.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 3:56 pm

waaaa…nice…good news……….

• swarty (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 4:10 pm

I just checked out the car! Cool and great nice car.. The body looks solid then Naza 206. One thing I am amaze is the door, its looks sporty and not protons' signature more like lotus' signature. Downside, I hate the plastic fuel cap. Come on guys plastic fuel cap!! And the back seat looks crampy. Over all it looks great and better then savvy.

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 4:21 pm

I agree with you that the plastic fuel lid feels cheap. Overall, the car looks great. But if the spec sheet that I have seen is true, then they are repeating the same mistake by launching a car without ABS & Airbags again. I thought MD Syed Zainal said yesterday that this time they are going to improve on their previous mistakes. Hmm makes me wonder what are they referring to. Hopefully I am wrong for Proton good sake.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 4:37 pm

Paul can you clarify what you mean by "this is a standard case of misreporting".

• kendo (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 4:38 pm

ANY RAKYATS-SUBSIDIED

BN PROJECT???

• Paul Tan on Jun 15, 2006 at 4:41 pm

joe: they've fixed the typo.

• catborg (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 4:51 pm

saw their ads on tv last night.

desire.com.my ..

Proton Desire.. good name btw.

• rexis (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 4:53 pm

Quite a positive comments here! Do we have any pictures? I hv seen the big eye enough, wanna see some real eye opener.

• assimo (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 5:01 pm

Proton Neon or Desire?…Satria Neon or Satria Desire…better Desire, because Neon names belong to Dodge already,and without Neon name also later the younger owner will put 'neon kedai Tom Yam' multicolor under the car…hehe..cheers….;-)

• drkhrs (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 5:01 pm

Ah.. I missed the protonedar leaked product page. Does anyone still happens to has some kind of screenshot or something?

• Mb_321 (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 5:01 pm

Paul, you went to the media drive x you, anything 2 share?

• jet (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 5:01 pm

guys, check this link

http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/2708/satrianeo9x…

• jet (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 5:02 pm

it's proton satria neo

• mankrm (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 5:03 pm

I heard from one unofficial source that the name for SRM would be "Neo". Starts at RM43K for 1.3 version and RM55K for 1.6. Lets wait tomolo to confirm.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 5:28 pm

Wooo 1.6L RM55K. Same price with Gen.2 rite……

Aihhhh

• waimak (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 5:43 pm

Neo sounds ok and it means something too. From what I know 'neo' is greek. It means "new" or "recent" form of something, or a revival.. I think goes well with the model..

• revver (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 6:19 pm

seen the car in catalog.

nice chick but then again how long the power windows, centre lock , rear arm etc etc would last? 1 week? 2 weeks? not to forget how long it would be rattle free.. x

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 6:45 pm

i like the side profile…looks ok…and the wheel arch too…btw…jz c how it goes this friday…and paul..cant wait for ur report…and frm other journalist…local and outside…

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 7:01 pm

Yup, is called Satria Neo, saw news on newspaper just now. but the pic just de front only. so didn't saw the fuel cap there, maybe soon… Hope the quality control can improve… hmm…

• hazri99 (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 7:03 pm

the detail picture here..proton satria neo..

[IMG ]http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h304/wisedownerclub/satrianeo9xc4tp.jpg[/IMG

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 7:16 pm

form the pics, its quite ok, the style, arch and so on.. have to wait to see the actual car.. but as for the name, for me satria neo is just fine, rather than changing it to some new name..

• Initial D (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 7:24 pm

heard tat the engine is the same louya ones……….hope they do sumthg abt the torquey glitch at the initial rpm….if nt……this car oso can bungkus liao….

Cheers!!!!!!

• hiyajac (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 8:01 pm

hey guy, check out this links:
    http://www.lowyat.net/v2/content/view/591/2/

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 8:20 pm

from the leaked pix, the rims looks ugly to me

i m ad admirer of proton, what i admire most is the one who started proton

• aksMs (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 8:54 pm

Just by looking at it, already gave me a few bodykit design up inside my head. Hehe…Pimp-My-Ride, anyone?

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 9:02 pm

Huyoo.. thx thecrash… 1.3 can go up to 180kmp?.. dasat nie… yesterday MD SZ said, they will not do any mistake this time, this will be their best product… well, looks like they have done so many mistakes b4.. no doubt.. but since Savvy, everything is getting better (except sales).. P2 has overtake no1 title.. Can Ultraman Neo helps?.. well, dunno yet… if there's 4 doors neo.. maybe they'll get 1 more customer.. hehe.. i wait if theres any 4 doors neo announcement…

ps: Fan of ultraman neo & matrix neo…. Neo sounds better than mamak stall Bestari or ulat Sutera….

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 9:13 pm

wrong typing again,

an admirer

• outspoken (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 9:20 pm

great looks.. however, questions still hangs on quality on the launching day.. hoepfully no more complaints of gen2 quality

• purity (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 9:48 pm

tomorrow launching already ma… wait for a lil' more. meantime, save up and support ENGLAND tonight man!

c'mon ENGLAND, c'mon ENGLAND, c'mon ENGLAND!!

p/s: Satria Neo will be good. I am optimistic about it…. 1.6 with BK, EBD, ABS, 16" rims, Airbag and fantastic curves (particularly the front view)… all at MYR55k or less (speculated), slurrp slurrp… see yall at showroom tomorrow!!

• dip (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 9:48 pm

there will be a new waja coming out this friday too.. some sort of facelift… not bad also…

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 10:02 pm

supercharge waja?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 10:07 pm

aboo- your http link to no where? Better take off the link if it is "empty". Why you keeping repeat posting statement on "I'm an admirer of proton, what i admire most is the one who started proton".

Are you P1 agent "entrust" with the task of doing this "repetitive work". Or you too scare of other not paying attention on what you say?

• BOYRACER (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 10:29 pm

I've seen the car in the flesh and sat in it actually.looks good with those bulging wheelarches.high waistline.definitely very sporty.dashboard looks like the gen2 with those dual pod look.interior quality looks better than gen 2.driving position is normal unlike the waja which is set a bit low.the 1.6 comes with the bling-bling rims and side bodystrips.that car will look great with 17 or 18 inch wheels.

fyi i dont work with proton.

• i'm run (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 10:44 pm

It is finally here… I've seen the car already.. Overall I happy with proton because they decide to change the interior colour into black. The black interior look sportier than the beige colour that are in Gen. 2, and the previous spyshots of the SRM. The front side of the car looks very good. And the bling2 rim are actually look alright.

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 10:46 pm

nope, just a normal person who love to put sign off

after my comment, i just admire them… and let me

make this clear again, it's a SIGN OFF, what's wrong with that?

i do not work for proton or anything that relate to proton

in fact, i am a victim of proton

if it makes u happy, i will put a sign off on every other car

maker forum here, shuould sound like this if i'm at subaru's

forum (i dream driving a subaru, most of all i like the last 2.0 WRX)

i do love car tho'

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 12:12 am

Anyone 180cm tall try sitting at the back? If this is really a gen2 with less doors, then your head will hit the rear mirror/the roof before you are able to lean back completly. I will try to visit the showrooms tomorrow to see how well it does.

Yes, neo means new.

• thomas (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 1:08 am

mystvearn,

2 doors car not for family usage, normally low roof; so expect it just like GEN2, 6 footer not so comfortable & also short of leg room.

pls take it easy.

• DrA (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 1:16 am

Let me guess. Satria neo? Meaning the old Satria (Satria oldeo) will still be in production? Pls P1 don't do this. Cut the c**p and just produce new updated models.

• rave (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 2:26 am

come on Dr. A…give them a break. Proton does not produce the Satria old model anymore. further, this is a whole new car. Lets all check it out ourselves in the showroom tomorrow.

• kendo (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 2:32 am

Anoy kampong car"

without ABS / EBD/ Airbag!

• tanasi (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 2:51 am

Ugly car. Low quality. Not enough pick up. No resale value. After so many kilometers have so many problems. SC also not supportive. Power window failed. Very petrol thirsty engine. Not like Toyota.

• thomas (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 2:56 am

Refer to HIYAJAC

spec almost same as GEN2, same weight

1.3 MT top speed 180km, really powerful.

MYVI 1.3mt weight 945kg top speed 168;

0 to 100km/hr 12.6second

Satria Neo 1.3MT weight 1145kg top speed 180:

0 to 100km/hr ?second

anyone can tell me?

Really a powerful car!

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 2:58 am

tanasi, "Ugly car. Low quality. Not enough pick up. No resale value. After so many kilometers have so many problems. SC also not supportive. Power window failed. Very petrol thirsty engine. Not like Toyota. "

the car not for sale yet, how come you no all that?

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 3:09 am

Well, the design still look ok for me. n the safety features there I think can be use gua… wait for some time to see some crash test held by foreigners.. but local ppl won't get any airbags n ABS for it… u wan airbag? get it at foreign countries… and i got heard Gen-2 owners complaining the campro engine not enough pick up and quite thirsty. But i think is depend on how different ppl think bout it. Hope Proton will be more careful with its QC as I got heard a lot about Gen-2 failures, mainly electronic problems.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:18 am

yeah, can't wait for lauching. .I'm in Sabah, KK. i saw the SRM fully loaded on trealer outside Proton Edar this morning. . waiting for unloading. . .

Is it Sabah also launch by 2moro??

• DrA (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:30 am

I think the Neo will be a fine car. The design is by far more modern than any koreans/other malaysian cars. Its not tacky, OK its a bit of mix and match but the overall effect is quite stunning. From the pictures, the fit and finish and possibly the quality is good. We just need to see it in metal to judge. In all I think this would be a positive (re) start for P1.

(I really… really hope so… for P1 sake)

• Isamu (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:39 am

Looks very European. The rim looks similar to the Mclaren SLR rim.. :)

• thomas (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:55 am

DrA,

P1 already have 1 good car (but not good looking & good sales) –SAVVY.

this is 2nd good car.

• thomas (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:02 am

P1 need time to improve;

WAJA take 3 yrs to improve,

GEN2 take 1 1/2 yr to improve

SAVVY is fine, (ppl can't accept the look)

hopefully, SATRIA NEO can change ppl's thinking;

Last advise, P! really need to control SC quality; most of the SC only want make fast money & ignore cusumer's right; so the r the one keep spoiled (may be DESTROY) P1.

we ppl is the white mouse, P1 take Malaysia as steping stone.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:17 am

Confirm Satria Neo – Unlike all previous P1 models, there were no 2nd generation? Then by 16/6/06, P1 set "history" and Satria model set "precedent" by become P1 1st product have continuity and 2nd generation! Good luck got improvement in this aspect.

• tanasi (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:32 am

honda_driver – simple – it's still a Proton. Without that Toyota (okla, or a Honda) badge, whatever I said will be solid statements.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:54 am

Dear Aboo (the proton admirer),

"in fact, i am a victim of proton"

motorhead: Are u admire ur own victimizer?

"toyota vios and honda city selling at RM30K and satria R3 at RM45K

i’ll buy R3, simply because it’s my PREFRENCE!!!! (some of u may figure

out why, for some who dont, dont worry…"

I respect ur personal preference.. so go ahead buy proton for the rest of ur life and don't buy anything else in the future (respect ur own statement)…

Gosh.. this is the 1st time I ever met (in auto blogs) a proton admirer who is victimized by proton itself…

ps: Sorry, but are u nut Aboo??

• punchmenot (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:14 am

i think proton are improving themselves since gen2.srm and savvy are old design but newly produced (T.M vision).perhaps new car will be much better under new CEO.my opinion-i like this new SRM looks from these pictures.good luck proton!

• Beyond Here (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 7:03 am

By referring to these figures:
    http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b317/abemae/Pro…

I think Proton is exaggerating the facts again.

My Perodua Kenari consumes approximately 6.25 litres/100km.

I poured RM30 worth of fuel everytime, RM30 / RM1.92 = 15.625 litres

My car could travel 250km with 15.625 litres, so 250km / 15.625 = 16km/litre

If 100km / 16km/litre = 6.25 litres.

I don't turn on air-cond in the morning, I travel very often on highways and i travel 80kmh most of the time. 1.6L can achieve 6litre/100km, you teach me man!

Proton's old tricks may work on my poor old grandfather, but luckily my cikgu taught me how to mengira, so i can identify and rule out illogical claims.

I despise proton (and the cronies) for it's endless attempts to fool the rakyat. Will there ever be an end to it?

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 7:24 am

Actually I quite like Proton's design so far, just disappointed that its quality control not meet the standards, and the safety features as well. If the safety features n quality of materials improve, Proton will be a better car than Hyundai which is nearly same age as Proton, cos till now I think I only think the Sonata NF is a better design from Hyundai and other Hyundai models really cant catch my attention actually. Just too bad that Proton is only trying to catch up after 20 yrs while Hyundai already sold many cars overseas.

Savvy is a better car than before actually, and can see its improvement, but still have to wait some time cos the Neo is just going to launch, lets hope that The Neo dont hv any problems like Gen-2. By the way, seldom heard Savvy got problem right? I think is because its sales is not very good so can't get too many responses. any Savvy drivers here? mind share a bit?

Looking forward to tmr's launching of the Neo.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 8:28 am

correction…proton still dun hv a good car…still below xpectation…but..they already hv a better car than b4….and hopefully they will improve and not gv us shamed frm the outsiders…i want to c a lot of improvement frm this car…

• abe (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 8:32 am

the bling-bling rim look match.

looking to the spec ;fuel consumtion is slightly higher than gen.2.

could be the effect after re-tuned the torque curve.

let see the real data tomorrow..nope this morning.

the front? oo.. looks great and better than rebadge wat? wat ? bes.. weks.. ooo. bestari.

• superman (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:44 pm

jtshin said,

June 15, 2006 @ 7:09 pm

….. but local ppl won’t get any airbags n ABS for it… u wan airbag? get it at foreign countries… and i got heard Gen-2 owners complaining the campro engine not enough pick up and quite thirsty.

—————————————————————-

Proton do offer Airbags and ABS in the Higher spec LOCAL models. Check again friend. Proton calls it "High Line" . Bothe Waja and GEN.2 have them.

You heard CAMPRO not enough pickup?? what else you heard?.

I think it's better to experience first-hand rather than commenting based on something you heard.

But yeah the CAMPRo does lack low end torque campared to other similiar capacity engines. And the spaced out long gear ratios don't help either.

• superman (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 4:48 pm

punchmenot said,

June 15, 2006 @ 10:14 pm

i think proton are improving themselves since gen2.srm and savvy are old design but newly produced (T.M vision).perhaps new car will be much better under new CEO.my opinion-i like this new SRM looks from these pictures.good luck proton!

—————————————————————-

Old design but newly produced??

GEN.2 based on Mitsu 90's platform but all NEW exterior panels was newly designed by Proton.

Savvy also all new styling design by Proton.

I think we al should give credit to proton designers for the designs they come out with instead of saying "Old design, newly produced"

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:06 pm

The airbag n ABS are optional items here but standard items at foreign countries while selling it at local prices. exported so far but they get it at malaysian same price?? hmmm…

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:09 pm

Are they goin to launch at the Kota Damansara Proton showroom? If is there then will go n check it out since i'll goin to the curve for fitness.

• shaif (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:12 pm

The credit goes to our local designer and engineer who can comeout with this car. One of the best car from Proton I hope.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:22 pm

but they should make the airbags and abs as a permanent one…not optional…it should be no optional abt dat…it is our safety ma…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:23 pm

ok…wut im saying is not for p1 only…it is for p2 too…they should make this features as a standard…not optional…

• KY (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:51 pm

good luck proton.

• haterade (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:54 pm

ppl, its already tomorrow out there. n i don't see much news about our new satria neo. nothing like the last savvy launch. either proton keepin extremely low profile launch or its not happening today. anyone heard any news about neo launch on tv or radio? its too quite to be happening today i think. neway, i havent watched tv or listened to the radio today. but don't tell me they didn't even advertise it in the newspapers. anyone?

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:55 pm

wait a minute, are these designers local?

• thomas (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 5:57 pm

to all,

WAJA, GEN2, SAVVY & SATRIA NEO; all Trully MALAYSIAN product, MALAYSIAN design, & MALAYSIAN made.

it create thousand (or hundred thousand?) job opotunities for us; the cars already improved from time to time.

We should support it, the only thing that PROTON need to improve is the vomit blood & blood sucking SC; a GOOD SC is really hard to find.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:38 pm

I don't think all designers are locals… some of them are Lotus ppl…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:48 pm

not all local ppl…still got outsiders…to waja..x ngaku truly m'sian design…how come to be a trully m'sian dsg in fact i know they hv the alfa cars in thier hq as a reference to design the waja…shame on them…

• superman (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:52 pm

jtshin said,

June 16, 2006 @ 9:06 am

The airbag n ABS are optional items here but standard items at foreign countries while selling it at local prices. exported so far but they get it at malaysian same price?? hmmm…

————————————————————–

Next time you visit a Proton Showroom ask for a GEN 2 High Line price list.

You'll see that ABS , airbags etc are listed as Standard Features, not optional equipment.

And as to the comment that prices here are expensive. Check again.

In Malaysia The high line GEN 2 Manual is RM 55K,933.33.

In UK, the CHEAPEST, 1.6 Manual (with Airbags) GEN.2 is GBP £9,595.00. At todays exchange rate RM 64 , 759.29.

http://www.proton.co.uk/gen2/specifications/price…

So why do you justify saying overseas cutomer pay at same prices?

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:59 pm

on my opinion, I think they pay nearly same price as locals cos at that rm64,759.29 maybe some duties added and some transport charges added into it. and its nearly that price and it comes with airbag. standard features for HIGH LINE MODELS… u also say its standard ONLY for high line models, that's wat we call optional… after adding it then it becomes high line model… Myvi also did the same thing… the price list also write airbags are optional items which can only be found at SXi or EZi models.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 7:07 pm

yup superman..it is jz a standard features for the high spec…for low end???…they should consider ir too…dun jz making money to fix the airbags as a optional…to perodua too…they should fix the airbag as a standard features for all version…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 7:50 pm

This morning around 10.30 AM I went to Jalan Ipoh Bt. 3 1/2 Proton Edar showroom, all Satria Neo car cover-up. The salesman told me after 4.30 PM only can view the car, perhaps after Pak Lah launch it today. 200% confirm Satria Neo will be launch by today!

About ABS or airbag, I am in the opinion it shall be as a standard and compulsory features in all cars as these items are something important on the safety of the car and user, not additional features to enhance the look of the car.

• shaif (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 8:11 pm

Receive invitation about the launching at Proton Edar Glenmarie, Shah Alam on 5pm afterwards. Anyone going there. Any satay for the launch.?

About the Alfa thing, nothing to be shame as cars looks almost the same, unless the premium price car. After all they taking shape of proven marketable car. I don't see anything wrong as the designer need physical reference to understand on body design, wind effect etc. At least, its not 100% identical as what the China producer imitate the German and Japanese car. What matter most, can it be marketed, or sell as if end user happy with it, producer can meet the needs and demands.

• superman (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 11:31 pm

jtshin said,

June 16, 2006 @ 10:59 am

on my opinion, I think they pay nearly same price as locals cos at that rm64,759.29 ..… u also say its standard ONLY for high line models, that’s wat we call optional

————————————————————–

Dude,

You need to learn math all over again wei…………….. And Airbag IS standard equipment on the high line model…meaning when you buy the car it is included.. Not optional…. which part of English don't you understand?

heck, are you even a car owner? Or have bought a car…. or just blind commenting………. based on what you heard…..

raybrig,

I agree that passive safety features such as airbags should be included in all vehicles. But as Govt is not making it compulsory for all cars and the average punter is still willing to buy "unsafe" cars without the safety feature the manufacturers will still make them.

Anyway, the SRM is going to be launched today.

I'll be making my way to My nearest showroom. want to catch a proper glimpse.

instead of just speculating based on wat i heard…..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 12:17 am

it is still wrong 4 me…same as the china onela…still…if they jz make a reference for other part of the body…its ok..but then…IMITATE the front grille…sah2la kantoi…its jz like they dun hv an identity for a front grille…and they dun hv a license to imitate the alfa front grille like wut is happen to the ssanyong…still we saw the dsg is like merc…but they hv license frm merc and allowed to do so…neway..it is jz my opinion…its ok if u still thinking its ok to do so…but 4 me..still wrong to do it…bt now…im quite happy wut is happening to thier front grille on the gen.2,savvy, and srm…looks ok…x kantoi sgt mcm tiru….

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 12:37 am

superman, I saw brochures and it tells that its optional. even for newspaper advertisement its marked a * beside when it tells the safety features(Airbag) then below the advert the * explains that its an optional itme only for bla bla models… That's wat I think, and it doesnt seem to be connected with maths.

If u think U can't accept wat ppl are trying to say, I feel lazy to argue also. as that's my kind of logic. if u got ur kind of logic, I respect your logic and I'm just telling my opinion thats all, anyway, as I've said before this's a public forum right? everyone can comment on wat they thought. And I'm not commenting it BLINDLY even though I didnt own a car at this moment. I've been collecting various car brochures around… so I know it… Please be kind when commenting on someone's comments. thanks.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 12:43 am

by the way, superman, the word optional, wat i mean is optional for a model of car, and the H-lines are a package for a car's model. eg Gen-2 H-line package and ordinary package, yes its standard feature but only for H-line, so for the model its an optional item that which is only available if u buy the H-line package. wat raybrig85 is saying is that all packages of the models should hv airbags as starndard features but not only available for H-lines only. that's wat we mean it. Just forget it if superman can't understand it.

• armada (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 12:55 am

I saw its advertisement in lowyat.net yesterday and can't help noticing that P1 is promoting speed as its main characteristics, mean machine. No offence but did they realised that the top speed in Msia is only 110km/h. Doesn't make sense at all. They should have concentrated on the car accessories,made as many features available and made it as standard features. These should have suited well in our market instead. Are they asking us to collect hundreds of police summonses due to its demon speed ability? Sorry guys but its my own personal opinion.

• kruzer (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 1:57 am

Saw 2 units being driven to showroom during lunch today. Same look as those in untaped photos.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 5:37 am

just came back from showroom…man…the car looks great…and the interior is nice also….glove compartment kinda small… simple design but yet effective…i like it… overall, maybe the car is meant to be small lar…but that's my only complain lor… i think back seat probably 2 ppl can seat…and you can't put much stuff inside the boot…

but i still this car rocks… feels solid…nothing flimsy….

if only it's 4 doors…then it would definitely beat 206 hands down….

• szw (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 6:40 pm

looks promising