Satria Neo: 2,000 bookings so far

small_astria_neo.jpg

Booking figures for the Proton Satria Neo for the past month has reached over 2,000 so far, meeting it’s initial sales target of about 2,000 to 2,500 a month. These are combined booking figures from both Proton Edar and EON. Proton says the most popular colours are twilight blue, iridescent white and metal grey. I personally like the twilight blue and the brilliant red colours the most. How about you?

Proton has already handed over cars to the early buyers at a ceremony on Tuesday, so we can expect Satria Neo owners to be posting their experiences on various forums on the internet soon. My comments are always open to anyone who wants to share their Neo story, good or bad.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• edwin2 (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 2:24 am

Saw the car in showroom only, hope to see one on the road soon.

"BOOKING" did not mean "DELIVER".

Anyway, this look like a better car compare to savvy. Lets all just wait for the "dare devil" who started driving already for their feedback.

will read again soon.

:D

• Paul Tan on Jul 14, 2006 at 2:36 am

they have already delivered, what do u think a handover ceremony is for?

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 2:50 am

hahaha,maybe he think the ceremony is for see see and makan-makan onli, hahaha..

p/s hope to see satria neo on the road soon… =))

• harsher (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 2:55 am

there is 1 on the road… at my office… leisure commerce square… silver colour 1.6 H-Line model… plate number 6767

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 3:05 am

huhuu.. no comment..

• ninjai (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 3:07 am

I heard there is a news saying that the price of proton will drop 5% – 10% … izzit true?

• ninjai (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 3:11 am

i heard that proton price will drop 5-10%… izzit true?

• KingKong (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 3:20 am

saw neo twice, quite nice. but over-price.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 3:21 am

saw one black color near Gombak…really looks scarey..the front looks like a python head com to tink of it!..bt with '18 black rims..this car will shout 'Im Too sexy For Everyting'!…its seriously a good looking car from outside…imposing..

• ninjai (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 3:34 am

heard someone said proton price will drop in august.. izzit true?

• my accord has gone.. (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 4:38 am

I have see already NEO got in an accident oh….

twice door in passenger side was gone….

but the nice face still alive….haha

• szw (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:15 am

in da long run these figure will increase , not like sum cars production not enuf hav to wait 4 yrs .

• DtG (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:27 am

saw twice already on the road… i must say it looks better when moving than when it is parked. looks pretty appealling on the road.. hmm… no owners here ke????

• WIRA (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:34 am

those tall people will not like NEO. The car is nice from outside but tiny inside…. it will be better then savy for sure but not better then myvi

• karheng (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:36 am

i see it almost every other day near my office. This black one has the similar feel to the Myvi when i first saw the black one. Rather outstanding. But I still insist that there should be bigger flared arches…R3 SO SLOW ONE!?!!

• dandalao (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:40 am

Agree with KingKong, I feel over price !

• Wai (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:45 am

Saw few Neos on the road, maybe its still new so it looks fresh and good on the road, different from other cars :)

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 6:24 am

I like red & black ones!!… i think the price is ok.. i u can feel arr, for neo, proton is very generous with the steel… neos r so solid.. try la ketuk2 with ur hands.. steel is not cheap 2day… btw i dah test neo.. performance is value for money.. solid drive, responsive handling, tuned for long high speed, town driving wud be boring & high FC…brake very good, i couldnt forget the drive eperience.. best proton's car so far… heard the 4 doors version rumors… my fren from EON konfem this rumors.. if no major complains about this car, i may consider buying…

• nikalas (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 6:37 am

welll the inside size = current satria ,although satria neo look wider outside

• yytellmey (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 6:47 am

hmm…..Tuesday huh?

so i can expect to see this car OTR soon

im still waiting for Toyota Yaris OTR now =P

• v0ices (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 8:14 am

FYI yytelmey, Yaris is already on the road.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 8:16 am

On tHe rOad sEEm preTTy tOO…Pretty nEo RuNNing on thE StreeT….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 3:03 pm

so one with the black color in the highway…quite nice…

• shaif (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 4:30 pm

Saw one black and one metal coloured Neo at Lumut. Looks pretty good. Really like the design and material of the front and rear lights. Looks premium too me.

• RCM (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 4:56 pm

True ka about the 4 door Neo? Any more info? Its a very good thing…since a lot of people like the design so much, but wont buy it bcause of just 2 doors..

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 4:58 pm

Awww… everyone see it on roads.. wat bout me? I still didn't see any in my town… so pity… even old Satrias are few on de road in my town… n no Yaris oso…

• Nemo (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:08 pm

The 4 Door Neo is Gen-2 (The front looks similar).

• harsher (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:16 pm

who say tall guy wont like this car? i'm 6'4" and i love it… the only problem is… if i sit in driver seat, no 1 can sit behind me already… and also my hair touching the roof…

thinking of selling my wira to get the neo…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:36 pm

ninjai said,

July 13, 2006 @ 7:07 pm

I heard there is a news saying that the price of proton will drop 5% – 10% … izzit true?

yes..it will just dont buy Proton wait until they come with super desperate deal…by 1 car free 3 years installment/road tax/service/spare part….:-)

OR..bUY 1 Perdana free 2 savvy.

my advice BETTER NOT TO BUY PROTON if not you are putting yourself in a condition that you will looose lots of money/time..too much UNCERTAINTY about Proton.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:53 pm

RCM, my fren is EON dealer.. he the one gave me pusing2 around with one neo in his shop.. he knew i ve a children, so he said better wait a while, since he heard from proton officials about the 4 doors version.. of coz no official announcement, but anyone wouldnt mind with 2 doors, can book la… ok what.. solid body, even many japs car oso not as solid as neo…sure can tahan one.. exterior la.. interior dunno yet..

ps:goin to check with my pomen, if neo's engine change possible or not in the future….

• harsher (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:54 pm

neo engine can be taken out and put in 4G63T

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:58 pm

Oo.. really ka?.. thx, that info was pretty fast… body dah kuat, then no need to worry about the engine.. so no worry for long term…

• KY (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 6:22 pm

buy one already, paul. what are u waiting for?

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 6:50 pm

i think arr… mr. paul fell in love with neo.. well, cant blame him, whoever tests it will feel the same, when i tested it, i wish it was my car…

• revver (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 6:54 pm

i manage to get a short distance t.drive with 1.6 manual. overall, the layout is quite ok. looks bigger then the previous BUT the interior is more crampy. those behind will surely get legs cramp easily. ride quality is the same with gen2, only feel shorter. Until now i did not hear any complaint yet. HAte the plastic fuel cover and the steering wheel.

• drM (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 7:35 pm

better wait. i tell u why. since the days of saga – contolled by mitubisi, the quality control has been totally RUBBISH. what they do is they sell all those cars and when problem arise, then they will repair and take all the datas and improve the next in production. i'm not talking rubbish here. the QC is just dissappointing. I dont mean to say 'DON'T BUY', but it is worth to buy.

ps- other car makers test their upcoming models and engines for years! they even got BETA version, beta2, beta3, bla-bla..

• drM (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 7:38 pm

nope. a little mistake there. i mean, the years after mitubisi tight grip lossen a bit, the QC has become catashtrophics. start of wira production, i think was the problem starter in QC area.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 10:50 pm

gen2 and neo have a similar problem.which makes the interior feel cramped…the steering wheel is jus too low…thy either should have raised the wheel rack or raise the entire dashboard abit instead..it seems thse who test the gen2 n neo during testing b4 introducing thm..are ppl who r definalty not taller than 1 meter…the neo seats are easily the best made by p1 so far wen it comes to comfort or body support..bt the steering wheel is siting on ur lap..jus too low…

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 11:44 pm

Steering wheel too low? can't adjust? or already highest position still sitting on the lap?

• Jiun 88 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 12:17 am

OK. So now I know how many units of the Satria Neo Proton wants to sell. Coz, believe-it-or-not, I asked a Proton salesman in a Proton showroom what was Proton's sales target for the Satria Neo, and he couldn't produce an answer.

=P

• superman (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 1:23 am

e-nabill,

It isn't the steering that's too low but the SEAT that is too HIGH, even at it's lowest setting and the steering at it's highest, for both GEN2 & Neo. lanky folks would agree with me as the roof is really close to our heads.

• johanbey (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 2:06 am

Saw one on the road this morning in puchong heading cyberjaya, in metal gray. followed from behind and over-took it later. it look much better on the road than in the showroom. it really look good and solid but gen-2 looked good as well, then all the little nick-nack quality issue hampered the model overall image. still waiting for some feedback before i place my booking.

btw, paul, need to ask in regards of the over-drive switch in my avanza, i have checked your back dated posting on MyVi, stating that it will be lower the wear & tear of the gear box if im drive at low speed, eg housing area. can you eloborate and does avanza and myvi share the same gearbox? thanks.

• ckengyo (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 3:26 am

Well, Neo owner here. Will give comments over Neo, compare with my last ride: metalic black Wira 1.8 Manual 95. Trade in 4 used car dealer 4 11k. Borrowing 40K. Interest at 3.9%, high if compare 2 imports. 7 Years loan.

My Neo is a White 1.6 M H-Line. Mile age till now below 300. Here r my comments so far.

Pros

Airbag available, obviously.

Solid chasis, especially the door, european feel.

Automatic Air con.

Streering feel solid.

White paint feel much cooler after park under the sun.

Foot rest.

Cons

CRAMPED interior, seriously cramp.

Limited storage or no at all, after the proton booklet, no much space left in the glove box.

Valueble stuff cant leave in car cos visible in every angle, if not, prepare 2 pay 4 new window.

Rubber interior plus streering.

Need 2 close the door harder inorder 2 close it only once.

Funny smell dont know from brake or exhault pipe, after ride.

Low visible from driver side cos the rear view mirror block 40% of the left side.

Campro feel like 1000cc only, very under power especially climb hill. May b not run in yet cos I'll never go above 3000 rpm.

Gear shirt very tigh especially from 3rd shift 2 2nd & reverse.

Having a difficult time installing my foot peddles.

High consumption cos drove less then 200 so far 4 mileage, only 1/4 petrol indicated in meter with 1st time filling of RM75 green petrol from shell.

Will update if have any new though.

• ckengyo (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 5:48 am

Crapy sound system n sales person cant confirm on self upgrade, may void warrenty.

The door handle feels like going 2 break any time.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 6:51 am

Will Neo be a success for Proton? Nowadays, most ppl are going for mid-size MPV ans sedans, not much ppl interested in 2-door hatchback. (no offense to Satria owners!) But anyway, still hope that Neo's sales will be as good as the Gen2. The Satria Neo looks great, but just lack of something on the exterior part, maybe some bodykits perhaps….

• chayroul (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 4:34 pm

i collect my new neo last tuesday…..as a car user im quite satisfied with a new product launching by proton…no bad smell and no feel like under power or wut…i did a right way to trade in with my myvi 1.3 and feel i do the right way to upgrade my car…………thousand of comment after read here, it is human produce item not god…..even proton produce same standard as ferrari aslo…the comment is still there blieve me….who ever had a new neo …enjoy it .

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 6:44 pm

Seen a few running on the road. It looks nice but there are two protruding problems that seem to stick out in my mind.

1) Petrol filler cap looks like it came from Brothers

2) The rims are god-awful, let's hope someone saved enough money to change them then I can change my opinion ;)

• aksMs (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 12:05 am

"chayroul said, July 15, 2006 @ 8:34 am – ….even proton produce same standard as ferrari aslo…."

OMFG!!!!! I can't believe you said that. How old are you?

??!!!????

Anyway, I've seen a couple or more on the road already. Seen it in Putrajaya, Puchong, Sunway, Ampang. Heck I even over took one on a high speed chase, down from Genting tunnel towards KL in my Citroen. I must say the car looks very stable on cornering. Only that, if the Neo's driver/owner had more guts, he could've gone faster than that on those bends.

But what I'm looking for right now are those Neo owners who'd copycat the Symphony and Desire Neo. Oh, I love those makeover!

• aksMs (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 12:05 am

"chayroul said, July 15, 2006 @ 8:34 am – ….even proton produce same standard as ferrari aslo…."

OMFG!!!!! I can't believe you said that. How old are you?

??!!!????

Anyway, I've seen a couple or more on the road already. Seen it in Putrajaya, Puchong, Sunway, Ampang. Heck I even over took one on a high speed chase, down from Genting tunnel towards KL in my Citroen. I must say the car looks very stable on cornering. Only that, if the Neo's driver/owner had more guts, he could've gone faster than that on those bends.

But what I'm looking for right now are those Neo owners who'd copycat the Symphony and Desire Neo. Oh, and the R3 too. I love those makeover!

• LMF (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 12:38 am

This is wat i read from other page, but seem slike no feedback there. so i post it here.

Kent said,

July 10, 2006 @ 11:27 am

I got a satria neo recently and i encounter problems, just wanted to share and hope to let everyone know the feed back of the newly launch car. First is the rattle sound from the dash board. I got my car around 6 days ago and I started to hear noticeable rattle sound coming from the dashboard near to the glove box. i am sure i din put anything in the glove box and the sound definitely came from the inside compartment. The door near to the driver seat also has noticeable rattle sound. Second thing is the gear. Sometimes it’s very difficult to engage the 1st and 2nd gear. There was once I have to turn off the engine and restart the car to get the gear to shift and engage properly. Mine is manual btw. Third is the most disappointing. Last few days there it was raining and after the rain i drove my car, i heard water flowing at the back seat whenever i pedal the brake. It was obvious. This morning i heard it again and i check the floor on the back seat. To my surprise, the floor was very wet and floor at the passenger seat at the front too. There was no leakage on the window nor the door. It obviously comes from below. The seat is dry. I suspect that should be a leakage somewhere underneath the car. I am now about to bring the car to Service Center to see what is going on. Hope the can rectify the problem asap. Would appreciate if can let others know about it, so proton can improve their quality. I’m neither a proton basher nor a proton fan.

• LMF (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 12:45 am

Yes i know now among Malaysia car, i think Neo is very nice for the sporty looks and the interior is nice too (if compare gen-2). I seldom will fetch a lot of people or even family members. Eevrything is nice for me but i still hestitate about this 2 door car. 1 more things is the rear boot. The space not large at all. If i going travel wif 4 members, how can i put my laguage? And even i wan to put my guitar into the boot i think also got problem.

Steering just like cheap plastic or rubber. If buy H-line wif airbag, want to chnage to momo steering also feel hurt coz we waste an airbag. If buy wihtout air bag and we dun have ABS brake. Haihhh….

By the way Myvi interior is not bad but the look really a bit sucks. I can’t imagine if i drive Myvi with fast speed and turn with a sharp cornering….duno Myvi will “terbalik” or not.

I plan to sell my 10 years old wira and get a new car. For Malaysia car we really dun have any choices. Now we got Waja, Gen-2, only Neo the most nice and Waja look like "uncle"….

Ohh..heard that Proton and Mitsubishi are combine and will launch new car on August or September?

The brand should be Pro-Mitshu??

lol….

Well…i really hope to hear from u again Arcane and also hoep more ppl can post me a commend here ok. Thanks ya…

:>

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 5:20 am

wei.. no offence.. satria NEO good what.. u all got too many complain.. lots of complain.. just give proton a chance laa.. even i noe sumday proton will bungkus sumday.. but.. come on.. give it some chance too proton.. our national car..

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 6:28 am

I heard quite some complaints about underpower campro 1.6, especially during hill climbing.. well, i am not so techno.. but i guess it is bcoz the engine is tuned like that, to maximize its max speed… to achive its max speed proton ve to sacrifice its pick up… like a motor with small spocket.. need so much power to gain max power, but when it does, it spin damn fast, and start saving power… i think driving neo wud be boring in town, or hill side… but highway oklar… SUVs suit hill side drive, bcoz many of them ve max tork at low rpm..

my point is, dont expect a car… any car can suit all kinds of driving condition… or else we wouldn't need so much model types of car like SUV, MPV, sports, sedan, compact & etc.. tepuk dada dan tanya selera.. which car can suit ur driving style, need & purpose.. unless u can afford high performace SUV, like Volvo SUV.. or AWD Evo mitsu and WRX Subaru….. this kind of cars suit almost any kinds of driving condition…

ps:Crampy interior is neo's serious weakness…

• swarty (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 7:14 am

Haa haaa… swarty got his first Proton thats Satria Neo three days ago. Here what I have to say, I got myself a nightmare. Yeah! true nightmare… every nite the alarm turn on automatically blasting the night out of me and neighbour.The BEST part, when they cross checked the engine serial it seems like they knew before they shipped it! They didn't even fixed it… nice jobs guys.

"Proton Lulus" means what? And what quality control that Proton really improve? Come on guys this is first release, and already have serious quality issue.. not unknown issue but known and buat tak tau!

Now I had to disable the alarm by removing the fuse every night until schedule fix date [tips from regional manager]. Isn't that cool? New car without security system.

Friend of mine again and again encourage me to get VIOS, I feel little regret on my decision. Lets see what else Proton has store for me. I will open up another site just for my Proton Neo.

• Bigjoe (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 9:04 pm

My theory has alway been that Satria Neo will sell well initially but sales will drop of quickly. I actually thought they would hit the high end of 2,500 or more initially given some hard core supporters. If all they have done is hit the low end of their target, sales will quickly drop of new models of other makers come to market. Based on history, Proton sales of new model keep falling faster and faster. GEN 2 had OK take up initially, so did Waja but it quickly fell faster and faster.

Bet you if you ask numbers 6 months from now, they may not answer.

• szw (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 12:04 am

i saw quite alot on da road lar .

everytime cruisin on da road .

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 5:45 am

Swarty,

if what u said was true, then its a thumb down for poton.. 4 years of neo development was for what??.. buang karan ajelah… it seems that they still fail to control the QC… new product, but poblems heard here and there, is really2 not good… bad news la. Those who still have faith, think twice la… I lost my faith towards p1… my ex850 goin for 6th years, but still use the same old drive shaft, same cluth plate, same old power windows, same alarm system & same gear box, milage almost 130k … any protons can match that? So, I no need think twice to spend my money on p2 products again..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 6:20 am

wa…a lot of complain frm u guys….nightmare ma…hhmm…takan x improve kot abt quality wise…gosh…

ckengyo…

i think u should wait till 1000 km…mabe it feels a bit ok for the engine…but..yala…jz heard frm others that the neo engine a bit underpowered…but…mabe it still new…i dunno…jz wait a bit longer…mabe ok kot da engine…

chayroul…

“chayroul said, July 15, 2006 @ 8:34 am – ….even proton produce same standard as ferrari aslo….”

sorry if this rude…but…for..wutta idiot statement comes frm u…how come u knoe the proton is as standard as ferrari…hv u own a ferrari b4???

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 10:20 am

Here's my 2 cents: Design-wise the Neo is very accomplished, and you have to admit that if there wasn't a badge on the car, you would think it's a Continental make. Some may say it looks like the Rover 200 or the Mirage Cyborg but the point is that the car is a statement that Proton – our own national carmaker – can design something that even the matsalleh can be proud of.

So its a crying shame for Proton to not make the Neo a complete car, that is, something that is sturdy in build and offer better packaging(space) inside.

I have also noticed that in some Neos that I've driven, the gearshift tend to be reluctant to engage. The Campro engine meanwhile is unbecoming of what a sporty hatch's engine should be like. Maybe it can get better after 10,000kms but I can think of many hatchbacks that is able to display better engine performance (at low revs) than the Neo. And at 5000rpm, there's a nasty, gruffy noise from the engine.

Otherwise, above 3000rpm, it's OK and can be fun accelerating out of a corner. The suspension is typical Lotus, very supple yet firm in corners.

The Neo is a handsome car and it's hard to disagree on its looks. But like I said, it could've been a super affordable hatch if niggling QC problems doesn't exist. I have heard alarm problems and from the forum, leaks, which is appaling at this stage of Proton's business. I hope they are listening…

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 4:43 pm

Raybrig, what Chayroul means by that is, 'if' only. not that it is already as good as ferrari. is only an 'if'.

Well, really disappointed the new Neo has a all new design with old problems… bad… Really hope Proton will make some changes in QC, or else, no matter how nice the looks are, the car still piece of crap… leakage, alarm system problems, underpower, high fuel consumption… all old n 'traditional problems' of Proton.. izit the culture of proton to make low QC cars? maybe…

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 7:39 pm

Even if there are some QC problems, I won't go so far to call the Neo 'a piece of crap' because all production cars, no matter what make, will have some QC troubles, that's why we get warranty all the time.

Still, it's not an excuse for Proton to 'let go' of the troubled cars and paste a 'Proton Lulus' sticker on when it hasn't been properly scrutinised.

The Neo as a whole, is still an attractive choice for people who can only afford something that costs RM50,000 or less, iffy build or not…

• imrik82 (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 9:13 pm

everything is overprice when u cant afford it lol. Was about to book one but wana wait for the R3. I always like the satria use to look at the gti and went i want one when i start working… i love 2 door hatch backs and since i like only having 2 ppl including me in the car the neo is my 1st love. lol wife drive city (kids) and mother inlaw me drive hatch lol!

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 10:06 pm

The main pic of the Neo in this thread is actually me and an ex-writer of Hypertune magazine, exploting the chassis in turn 2 of Sepang.

It's very easy to let the back step out in the Neo: Simply enter the corner deep, left foot brake and let the rear step out. A simple correction of the steering and getting back on the power gets the front pointing back towards the next corner…

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 1:05 am

my opinion, all proton's cars r craps.. like it or not, thats my opinion.. other brand cant afford to make craps like poton did.. nama busuk wo.. & poton punya nama mmg sudah busuk.. pls read today's star page 2… it seems suma pun tunggu bungkus saja.. too bad.. pity oso those who gets affected.. its too late for damage control… now neo problems arise… worse la..

• DtG (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 5:31 am

wow… looks like this Satria is screaming " I'm a load of crap! " at such an early stage according to some of you guys who own one.. Never expected a new car to have leaks in the roof or unreliable alarm systems… so sad… Proton just NEVER SEEMS TO LEARN!!!!!! the gear shift problem existed in the Waja (first 1 or 2 thousand kms only) and yet, here it is again to sadden the hearts of Malaysians.. This Satria tells us that Proton is and will always be a disappointment… Proton can only redeem themselves with a new car which is as reliable as a Japanese car… design semua i think they sudah pandai… only thing, they think Malaysians are all shorties…. TAKE NOTE LAH PROTON!!!!!!!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 18, 2006 at 3:13 pm

owh…ok…dats my fault…didnt notice dat word…sorry…;)

yala satriaguy…ure rite also…a lot of complain ive heard…

• Arcane (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 1:09 am

IMHO, no matter how much proton’s effort are to ‘improve’ their cars, problems..and major ones is almost religiously present. Sheesh..I think it’s true that the ‘first batch’ of proton cars would spring problems..look at the Waja – have u seen one without the peeled-off black matte paint of the wing side mirror? The first batch of the Gen.2 has door problems..and frankly, most if not all proton cars have power window problems. I for once had seriously thought that the Satria Neo would be ‘different’ this time, coz all the delay and launch postpone was due to the time proton took to correct all the problem that have been evident on proton cars before. The Savvy's QC was collaborately done with foreigners and it was a very high investment by proton. Now, the LULUS sticker supposedly carry with it some higher standards. Luckily I’d followed my instincts to delay the booking of the Neo for awhile..

By the way, I’m neither a proton fan noir a proton basher too..and I’m NOT in any way affliated with proton, eon, or whatsoever.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 6:55 am

Maybe its the vendor collaboration that's screwing up the Neo…the door mechanism for example, was fitted by at least three different vendors.

Now, when the first did his, it was OK but when that arrives at vendor no.2 his system affects vendor's no.1's unit.

This is just an illustration of how things can go wrong and we, the customers get the so-called crappy cars.

The vendor relationship in Proton's business seems like a couple who never dated but got an arranged marriage…

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 8:31 am

http://dondon83.blogspot.com/2006/06/satria-neo-t…

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 8:45 am

i dun think i wan to be in the back seat when that happens.

btw now i now where to get a new fish tank

• BaronZ (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 10:13 am

OMG HELP MEEE , swarty my alarm also turns on automatically during the night waking up the whole neighbour hood ! Like telling everyone that i bought a new proton lulus neo -_- .

Oh btw did u fix your problem swarty ?

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 8:11 pm

This is what happen when we ve rojak a car… (system & parts sana sini bikin) as long as proton keep producing rojak cars this problem will continue to happen.. QC mcm mana pun kalau vendors keep buat tahi, susahlah nak control.. no future la for rojak cars…

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 1:00 pm

Calm down people…

The accident happened when the driver 'overcooked' it coming into a turn on a wet road. The car spun around and the side smashed into the kerb big time. If this were to happen say, on a Civic, the damage wou'd've been similar. Nothing to do with Proton bodyshell strength being weak and all that.

But I have to remind you that the Neo's back will 'step out' easily if you lift the gas in a corner. So don't. Unless you want another accident photo like this one of you!

• chrisbangle (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:17 am

SAtriaGuy, when are you ditching your "GTi" and getting the new Neo?

• terencelhl (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 12:19 pm

Hello all,

Will book 1.6M H-Line next week. This car was chosen due to:

1) solid body

2) within my budget

3) fit my usages (60% city; 40% highway)

4) air bag

5) gps

6) european looking

7) iridescent white

8) high performance

Modification in future:

1) 18" sport rim (like the one shown in COE) =D

2) rear roof spoiler (heard is R3's design)

3) spray metalic white and some decorative stickers as shown in COE

^_^

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:22 pm

I have no idea what you're talking about….hehehe

• ninjai (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 1:47 am

really poor service from a proton dealer. told me can take my car today. but dunno wat chasis number wrong and some problem with roadtax… ask me go on monday… jam all the way back. i shouted at them and saying that im gonna take it by saturday. really poor services from them…

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 2:17 am

hermm.. i got nothing to say.. but, can we just wait for 3 more weeks.. and the complain will start.. lol..

=.=

if thier any complain or not.. just wait and see.. 3 more weeks guys.. lol again..

> .

• ninjai (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 4:13 am

car chassis number also can be wrong… u guyz better check it out whether ur car chassis number is correct. else u will be caught that urs car is kereta curi…. haha… watch out… this is their mistake…

• terencelhl (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 3:57 am

ninjai said,

July 21, 2006 @ 5:47 pm

really poor service from a proton dealer. told me can take my car today. but dunno wat chasis number wrong and some problem with roadtax… ask me go on monday… jam all the way back. i shouted at them and saying that im gonna take it by saturday. really poor services from them…

Thanks for the feedback and will look into the chasis when I get my car. By the way, where did you made the booking?

• terencelhl (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 5:03 am

ninjai,

Which dealer is that? EON or Proton Edar?

• sipi the penyu (Member) on Jul 29, 2006 at 12:52 am

yeah, I had expected that malaysian will luv this car.the design is very cool.

• ninjai (Member) on Jul 30, 2006 at 8:37 pm

proton edar.. not eon…. from cheras somewhere lensen there.

• terencelhl (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 5:56 am

I made my booking at EON branch in my area and cancelled off due to their poor services. I am looking toward QOS from COE itself.

• ninjai (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 10:09 pm

wtf man…. i encountered a problem with the power window on my right hand side.. wat is this.. i tot after few years improvement of proton will be better then… but it still the same.. proton popular with the power window problem. sad lar like this. believe me guyz.. feedback them at proton workshop.

• ninjai (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 10:10 pm

another 1 thing i wan to ask… for those neo owner, is there a light from the gear box? mine seems dun hav

• sipi the penyu (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 12:54 am

HwaHwaHwaHwa,I have seen one on the road.Looks better in reality.

• andyyap (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:49 am

I has bought Neo 1.6 h-line , so good , wow ! and fact , proton, you did good job this time . Satria Neo it really good car .

• OPRAH WINFREY (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 3:44 pm

PROTON MUST :-

~PUT 2.0L TURBOCHARGE ON SATRIA NEO
    ~5 DOORS
    ~BIG WHEELBASE

Good Luck Proton