Mazda MX-5 Roadster Coupe Video

miatahardtop.jpg

I previously blogged about Mazda introducing an automatic hard top version of it’s MX-5. Check out this promotional video of the Mazda MX-5 Roadster Coupe, a hard top convertible version of the popular Mazda MX-5. The top comes up in 12 seconds, and when the top is taken off, there’s no loss of boot space! Video is after the jump.

Video: Mazda MX-5 Roadster Coupe Promo

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• szw (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 9:53 pm

it would be cool if dis ad appears at our local tv .

but tokin bout ad , da new vios ad was funny .

• johanbey (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 10:20 pm

nice promo video, better than the neo promo vid. i think its because the MX-5 vid doesnt have v.o. only stunning visual with text. the effect is much better than vid with tonnes of script. btw anyone have the link to the new vios ad?

• bigcow (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 10:45 pm

Great ad, wanted to see it "transform" while the car is moving :D. Anyway, anyone knows where can i download all this kinda ads?

• drM (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 10:50 pm

everytime i see something very beautiful like this MX-5, my mind spring back to P1. dont want to try convertable models aa?

ps-who gonna asnwer? hehehehe..just asking maa, better answer my Qs..hehe

• terenceg (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 11:21 pm

nobody lower their roofs while driving ! is suicidal and stupid :P unless the folds from back to front :)

Malaysia's soft/hard top will cause massive vandalism :) Secretly i really do want to cut it open and steal something….jealous ? maybe…but more to itchy hand

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 11:30 pm

ya lor.. cnnot work it.. vandalism.. >.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 11:31 pm

The best-selling roadster in the UK…

• ckengyo (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 12:28 am

Is a dream come true 4 MX-5 fans. When NC launched in the begin, I was shocked that Mazda still stayed with soft top cos even COPEN can offer automatic hard top convertible. Soft top is history & for last century. Hard top provide more benefit in security & safety feature. It may drive down the loading for insurance as well in hard top. They do the right thing finally.

• craziqbal (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 12:32 am

oooo…if i have the money, i'll buy this…

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 12:35 am

I wanna own a convertible in the future… cool…

• Deodorant (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 1:04 am

What's the OTR price for a new MX5 here? Doesn't seem like Mazda officially sells it here so I haven't been able to find prices …

• ckengyo (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 1:24 am

Well, few weeks ago, there were a Mazda road show in 1U. MX-5 was one of the displayed model. The price of the soft top in Japan: RS & VS 6MT is Yen2,500,000 VS 6AT 2,600,000. Just depend on exchange rate. but the final price times 3 & you will roughtly know how much is going 2 sell here. Some may ask why X 3? Bcos 200% duty plus the original 100% value equal to X 3 cos is a CBU model.

• retrofuturism (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 1:29 am

nice ads and nice car..hehe, i would buy one after i get my mazda 3 mps..i have seen this car in klims06 and 1 U, the first impression was this car is incredibly compact and it looks very agile, it must be very good in handling, i wondering what is the price in malaysia

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 2:08 am

Few month back, an inexperince driver in SGP actually crash this car during test drive and killed the sales lady sitting beside him. Never like to drive without anything over my head.

• bigcow (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 2:13 am

found the link to the news
    http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporel…

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 2:22 am

When you actually look at the pic of the car, I dont think it was actually the lack of a roof that resulted in the death. The whole passenger side is completely destroyed. a crash like that would have the same outcome even with a full roof i think.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 2:24 am

tats the one….. poor thing…..

Paul, any idea what is the NCAP rating for this car??

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 2:40 am

The 2002 mx5 roadster has a 4 star rating, the current model with a stiffer chassis..etc.. more safety features should easily rate at 5.

http://www.euroncap.com/content/safety_ratings/de…

ncap ratings do not equate guranteed survival in a bad crash.

• Deodorant (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 5:02 pm

2.5mil yen = about RM 90k = Affordable.

BUT! NAP Tax for CBU non-ASEAN for 2,000cc = 100% so that makes the car about 180k.

Le Sigh.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 10:26 am

been waiting for this one. hopefully no need to pay extra like u pay for the permanent hard top mx5. this is one of the rare 'drivers' car, im sure mazda made sure the added elec roof didnt hurt the performance much. i must agree mazda buyers might be a bit confused with the launch of the mazda 3 mps even though both are complete different cars….esp with both being the same price and that makes the mps a smarter buy. which one would u choose?

• sam ong on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:08 pm

ONLY 1 WORD’S ………………………AWESOME :)